How to join Merchant Navy?

A career in merchant navy is adventurous as well as interesting. Those who wish to take the career are always inspired by the pay and promotion. In earlier times career in the marine field was open only for men. Now days the career opportunities are opened irrespective of the gender and women take up the role of doctors and radio officers in Merchant Navy.

Courses for joining merchant navy

The following courses prepare the aspirants to join Merchant Navy.

• 1 year course for Graduate Mechanical Engineers
  • 2 year course for Diploma Holders
  • 3 month course for Deck Cadets for (10+2) students
  • Marine Engineering for (10+2) students, 4 year degree course
  • Nautical Science for (10+2) students, 3 year duration course

For students who have completed their 10th

• 3 month Pre-Sea Course for Deck rating.
  • 3 month Pre-Sea Course for Engine rating.
  • 4 month Pre-Sea Course for General Purpose (GP) rating.
  • 4 month Pre-Sea Course for Saloon rating.

Training institutes in India

There are many institutes which offer training for aspirants both in the public and private sector. The public sector organisations include:

• Lal Bahadur  Shastri College of advanced Maritime Studies and Research, Mumbai.
  • Marine Engineering & Research Institute (MERI), Kolkata.
  • Marine Engineering & Research Institute (MERI), Mumbai.
  • Training Ship Chanakya, Navi Mumbai.

The course these institutes provide include Pre Sea and post sea training which makes the candidates to face even the toughest situation in their career.

Qualification for joining merchant navy as officer

The candidates who wish to pursue a career in Merchant navy should complete the 12th class with physics as the optional subject. Chemistry and Maths should be the other subjects of study. The candidate’s physical and mental health should be sound and the eyesight should be sharp i.e 6/6.

Those candidates who are really interested in the merchant navy need to have a Bachelors degree in Nautical Science or their degree should be in Marine engineering

Qualification to join as utility hand or Petty Officers (Fitters)

The qualification for joining the merchant navy as petty officers or utility officers include

• Personal Survival Technique (PST)
  • Fire Prevention & Fire Fighting (FPFF)
  • Elementary First Aid (EFA)
  • Personal Safety & Social Responsibilities (PSSR)

Type of entry and its Qualification to Join merchant Navy

Direct entry to Merchant Navy: Students with a pass in 12th class with the optional subjects as physics and chemistry along with maths can join as deck cadets and those with a bachelor’s degree in Mechanical/ Electrical/ Technology Engineering can enter the merchant navy as Engine Cadet or as Fifth Engineer or as  Junior Engineer. They need to attend a pre –training program in Marine Engineering by MERI.

81 Responses to “How to join Merchant Navy?”

1. 81
    arif:

My age is 27..nd i want to join merchant navy on the bases of Ssc . How can i join merchant navy

2. 80
    iqbal:

Dear sir, Iave passed BE Mech. Engineering.I wish to join merchant navy. Please guide me and tell me the procedure. Also tell me the related offices

3. 79
    Somnath:

I completed my B.Tech in marine engineering fro Odessa State Maritime Academy(now Odessa National Maritime Academy)in the year 2000 with 12 months on board training.Now I want to join the merchant navy.I am 38 yrs old. Please guide me.

4. 78
    Roushan raj:

I am diploma holder for mechanical engineering. During for three year and complited in may 2014. I want to join merchant navy. But how i don’t know. Please help me sir/mamm.

5. 77
    muktar ahamad:

i have completed my 12th paased student with 58.8% marks, now i am pursuing b.sc 2 year i have all certificate.And who’s tred best for me.and how is possible to join merchant navy.And i also i want 2 a join merchant navy.Please give me some advise for me.thank you

6. 76
    ashutosh:

how to join navy on metric base

7. 75
    patil Samadhan madhavrao:

plese vacancy for 2013 please mail me

8. 74
    sarvesh singh chauhan:

i done my b.tech in electronic and communication 4 year. And i join marchant navy which course to do . Plz suggest me

9. 73
    Hitesh singh:

Sir…I am already completed my polytechnic diploma in mechnical engineering(production) ..And i want to join marchant navy as a junier enginéer.., ,..pls give me some advise….Thanke you..

10. 72
    manaswini rout:

i want a detail information abt merchat navy… am a female science graduate with physics and i obtained 54% in bsc n also an mba stdnt and having ncc army wing b certificate… so how can i join in merchant navy pls inform me..

11. 71
    Osman Aslam:

Im ro eager to take admsn in navy merchant.so i want sme suggestns.cn i get admsn on the basis of 10th pasd.i’ve been 12th pasd in com.bt i have so well performance abt pcm.n i hope i’ll give defentaly as more prfnce.so plz i wants jst suggestion abt how will i get admsn.n anther a que.tht cn i get admsn in september.i hope u would be replyd so earlier. Im thnkful,to all hounrables.

12. 70
    ajinkya:

i just gave ma TYBsc computer science. now i want to join merchant navy, i am 23 years old pls suggest mi how can i join???
    i also did sea cadet course when i was in 10th.

13. 69
    LAKSHAY THAKUR:

Dear sir, i am a student of pre final year in ECE stream,So i want to ask you that how i should apply for merchant navy?

14. 68
    Sanjeev:

How Can i join Merchant Navy after completion B.Tech in Computer Science and Engg.(CSE) ? Please tell me soon.

15. 67
    Sanjeev:

How Can i join Merchant Navy after completion B.Tech in Computer Science and Engg.(CSE) ?

16. 66
    Akshay Gawali:

I have completed my 10th std with 64% marks, I want 2join merchant navy as a deck caded. So can I join???? If yes then pls tell me how.

17. 65
    amit kumar:

i have done 8th and i want to join merchant navy
    and is my qualification reliable to do this course

kindly send me wright option………..

18. 64
    amit kumar:

i have done 8th class and want to apply merchant navy

kindly send me

19. 63
    murthy:

i pass 10th & diploma in mecanical engineering & mecanical engineering now my age=24

20. 62
    sagar vyas:

respected,
    sir i have pass hsc exam recently and i have got 35% in pcm and 56% in english can i give entrance exam of merchant navy.
    please reply as fast as possible
    your faithfully,
    sagar

21. 61
    Snehasish Sinha:

i am a arts graduate, ITI diploma in diesel mechanic and also 2 year apprenticeship in diesel mechanic. My age is 29 can i join marchant navy in any post? If yes tell me how, when and where?

22. 60
    akshay bathe:

My name is Akshay.I am doing diploma in mech.engg. i want to career in marchant nevy.
    plz tell me what qualification req to joint 2 year cource for diploma holder &how fitness req to join the marchant nevy?

23. 59
    manoj hadkar:

I am manoj and I am graduate in information technology
    Now can I join merchant navy?
    Or else which course do I need to complete in order to join merchant navy?
    Please help me with this…………

24. 58
    bishal shaw:

can i join in m.navy…with commerce strem…i got 50% marks..sir…

25. 57
    hafiz mehboob kazi.:

how are you ? I am Hafiz mehboob kazi. my Birth date is 19/02/1986.I am 27 years old. I am living at ratnagiri state Maharashtra.I am S.S.C passed.I have done I.T.I carpenter trade and also I have passed carpenter apprenticeship (NCVT) examination from ratnagiri I.T.I. I have spent 3 years to complete this course. I have all certificates. I want to apply in merchant navy. will you please give me information which course suitable for this qualification in merchant navy.how is possible to join merchant navy.

Thanks and best regards,

hafiz kazi

26. 56
    Manoj kumar sharma:

can i join merchant navy my stream is commerce with maths

27. 55
    Suyog Nichat:

Hello sir, now I am in B.Sc 1st year in sub. are computer,physics,& maths.& I have 68% in 12th class

am i eligible admission for merchant navy
    how is the procedure to join merchant navy?
    & where are the best colleges for merchant navy in India?

28. 54
    niraj:

sir, i don’t get admission application form pls help me how to apply

29. 53
    VITTHAL MUNDHE:

how can i join navy plse help me sir

30. 52
    vijay:

How can i join marchant if my stream is arts ?

31. 51
    sourav nandi:

what is seaman course

32. 50
    karan kuntal:

I wanna know that can we join merchant navy without entrance exam test, after done 12th
    plz sir……..must your reply for me………….plz give reply immidiately

33. 49
    ashish kumar choudhary:

I have done my b.tech in ece and i want to join merchant navy so plzz tell me the procedure how can i joined merchant navy my b.tech is going to be completed in june 2013 so tell me how can i do that i join merchant navy in june 2013 any course that i have to done plzz i am in need og money nad job ma gf is going to be married in next year due to which i am very much under process and i think merchant navy help me this is the way i got job and earn money and then tell my parents for that girl plzz tell me its emergency full procedure to join merchant navy i shall be very thankful to u

34. 48
    krishna:

sir ,i hav passed my 12th science in year 2012, i hav scored 42% in pcm and 48% aggregate. 65% in english…..i want to make my career in merchant navy….pls suggest me options to join merchant navy by any how i want to join navy….pls give me solution.

35. 47
    dubey dhirajs:

iam diploma in chemical engerring in final year how apply merchant navy

36. 46
    Nikhil.k:

Sir,i want to compleate SSLC& 2 commerce with maths&iti carpeter trade.i want to join for murachant nevi?pls tel me sir age:19

37. 45
    Deependra singh Chauhan:

Hellow sir, myself Deependra singh chauhan . Rightnow i am in 12th stand. only but i am myself inspired to be an marchant navy officer …. will u give me little bite support for how to do all the prepairtion for being an Indian merchant navy officer .In 10th std. my % wa 55.4 . I am allso from PCM side . If u get some time then it’s my kind request to u Please ans. my mail ” [email protected].

38. 44
    Alok kumar Chand:

My qualification is B,com i am eligible for officer course yes or no please answer my question

39. 43
    harshness singh:

I have passed 10th with 70% marks. I am very intrested in merchant navy . Please send me the process of joining merchant navy . And sir please tell me the starting salary.
    Thankyou.

40. 42
    swapnil nakte:

sir i was complited 2yer i.t.i turner/fitter and also complite 6month c.n.c machine and 1yer advans mechanical engineering services diploma and stil i doing fire engineering diploma. I want to joind marchand nevy please tell me sir what can i do

41. 41
    Abhinav singh:

sir i want to join navi

42. 40
    Mritunjay chaurasia:

How to join marchant nevy?
    I have 61% in 10th & 69% in (10+2)2h. Please reply me sir.
    my email id- [email protected].

43. 39
    Amit sharma:

How to join merchant navy. I am 10+2 with science.

44. 38
    Harwinder singh:

join to merchant

45. 37
    suraj:

what diff b/w artificier apprentic and SSR

46. 36
    amal:

i want to join marchant navy after plus two help me please

47. 35
    gagandeep singh:

i want 2 join marchant navy i m with commerce with maths side cn i join it fast help me

48. 34
    PRATIK KUMAR SINGH:

I WANT TO JOIN MERCHANT NAVY AFTER 10th,SHALL I JOIN?
    WHICH COURSE WILL BE BETTER FOR ME?

49. 33
    dharani:

sir i have 21 years old and i have completed b.tech (ece) how to join merchant navy ?

50. 32
    khushpreet:

after +2 we join the merchant navy in the based of commerce not commerce with math.

51. 31
    SURAJ DAGEKAR:

hello sir ,
    i want to join navy on 10th stnd ,
    how to join merchant navy.

52. 30
    ASHUTOSH SINGH:

My brother is completed 12th with pcm 52% and he want to join marchent navy so please gide me please.

53. 29
    Alok beura:

Sir i am in indian navy.Right now my rank is MCEAR.My branch is electronics and also completed B tech in electronics and communication engineering in AMIE.Please tell me how i can join merchant navy.My email is [email protected]

54. 28
    Virendra nagle:

Sir i am virendra nagle. I am passed 10th class 75% in 2009-2010 year and I am18year old. I’m colifay merchant navy.

55. 27
    BHUPENDER SINGH:

i have done +2 with pcm 53% and i have done BCA

56. 26
    pramod narayan masurkar:

which is indian nevy entrance exam web site?
    which entrance exam want for nevy?

57. 25
    pramod kumar rai:

I am passd in 12th. Can I apply in merchant navy. If yes, when forms will be availed ?
    What are the qualifications do they need ?
    Please provide me a suitable web site from where I can get all the informations regarding merchant navy

58. 24
    V Shipping management:

MERCHANT NAVY JOBS IN INDIAN SHIPS OR FOREIGN SHIPS FOR ALL THE 964ALL TYPES OF CDC HOLDER CONTACT FOR INTERVIEWS REGARDING JOBS PLEASE CONTACT MR.SINGH MOBILE NO 08896476525 OR MR.ASHISH MOBILE NO F 07838140337 / O8924933621 AND IMMEDIATELY SEND YOUR RESUME WITH CDC PHOTOCOPY EMAIL : [email protected]

59. 23
    Odalonu kenneth.c:

When will the merchant nevy form going to be out?

60. 22

i have 68% in 10th std plz tell me how to join merchent nevy

61. 21
    nitish:

how can i get entry into merchant navy without appearing for any entrance exam, only on the basis of 12 (sci) result?

62. 20
    rajesh kumar:

MBA in finance join merchant nevy

63. 19
    gagandeep singh:

sir i am student of class 12th with commerce can i join merchant navy its possible 2 join it if yes plz contact me in my no 09336258321 ..
    its my dream can i become officer plz tll me sir

64. 18
    Abdul Rahman:

i want merchant navy i am b.tech student 2nd year (ECE), Please tell me how to join in merchant navy?????

65. 17
    JAYESH:

i have 65% in 10th std,
    Plz tell me how to join in merchant nevy

66. 16
    gurdeep singh:

i want marchant navy +2 70% pcm and 10th class 83%

67. 15
    akshay:

im doing bscit. now im appearing tybscit. i want to join merchant navy. how can i take admmission in merchant navy.

68. 14
    ABHINAV SRIVASTAVA:

CAN A STUDENT WITH PCB IN 12 JOIN MERCHANT NAVY?

69. 13
    Hassan ur rehman:

Is their nhava sheva college of merchant navy in mumbai or not?
    I dont get any information about it on net.

70. 12
    ashish poonia:

how to join merchant navy in foreign companies..

71. 11
    jaydip parmar:

i join Merchant Navy i passed 12th Arts…

plzz sir contact Mo. 9033272545

72. 10
    feroj khan:

how the join merchant navy job & i m complete my ITI in electrician 2006. pls contact me mob. 9050023563, 7206277270.

73. 9
    sunil singh yadav:

what is the age limit for joining merchant navy after degree in mechanical engineering.on which post i will join merchant navy after diploma.

74. 8
    priyanka thakur:

scope of electronics & communication engineering (girl ) in merchant navy……….

75. 7
    anil verma:

i want to join marchent navy earlyest

76. 6
    Imran:

Sir I am grajuate for B.com, plz sujection to me ” can I joined to merchant navy?” and your ans is ( YES ) so plz tell me ” What do and What not do …………………….
    ………………………………My age 19 years old. Imran in Allahabad.

77. 5
    sagar.:

i have completed my bachelor of hotel management degree can i want to join merchant navy ,my age is 25 can i join at this age

78. 4
    himanshu:

sir can i admisson in maritime collage direct .sir I got 63%in pcm in 12th n 62% in english . plz reply

79. 3
    umesh tyagi:

i m the student of b.e. final year mechanical engg. i wanna to join merchant navy .plz sir give me full detail abt merchant navy … full fees detail course detail and pay skill ………….

80. 2
    HARMANPREET SINGH:

I am studing in +1,5.10′ good looking ,i am best in my class in english-science & gk.I got 90% + first to ten .when & how can i join M.navy as a good officer.i am from AMRITSAR (PUNJAB) will you tell me your nearest office to take any guide line .
    Thankes
    HARMANPREET SINFGH

81. 1
    Ankur Deshpande:

Can I join merchant navy at the age of 25 after completing b.tech production.If yes then what is the procedure.