Deck Cadet in Merchant Navy - How to become Deck Cadet in Merchant Navy?

Merchant Navy is a commercial flotilla handling cargo and passengers to far off countries located in different directions of the sphere. Deck Cadets are professionals who chiefly safeguard the ship navigation and deals with loading and unloading of freight. They carry on the maintenance and administration of the ships in Merchant Navy. These officers are ranked 3rd grade in Navy. They can expect promotions with experience and according to the performance in exams. In addition to the safe navigation of the vessel, it is the Deck Cadet’s duty to safeguard the passengers’ in the ship. As part of his work, these professionals have to observe national and international codes of conduct guiding sea transportation.

Qualifying Exam

Those who possess a bachelors’ degree in Nautical Science can become Deck Cadets in Merchant Navy. Otherwise, candidates should have scored 60% and above in the 10+2 exam from science discipline with PCM subjects so as to apply for the same. It is a three-year graduation course. Aspirants can study the program in Merchant Navy itself or any other institutes offering the course. On successful completion of the program, candidates can apply for the Deck Cadet jobs in Merchant Navy.

Who is eligible to apply?

Those who have passed the 10+2 exam can apply for the graduation course in Nautical Science. The candidate should have done the intermediate exam from a certified institute from Science background with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. They should be aged above 17 years so as to do the course.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

Aspirants can refer the previous question papers so as to attend the exams. Read the curriculum thoroughly as part of preparation for the exam. The candidates need to understand that the interview is carried out to test their attitude as well as abilities. Therefore, before they appear for the interview, the aspirants should be well aware of everything that pertains to the merchant navy. In addition, at the time of the interview, the candidates must make sure that they answer the questions without any hurry. This will guarantee that they make no major errors.

93 Responses to “Deck Cadet in Merchant Navy - How to become Deck Cadet in Merchant Navy?”

1. 93
    Kamal Kishore:

I had passed my +2 exams with phy. chem. & math
    I got 70% marks
    i wanted to join NAVY so please tell me about the fee and other imp. informations…..
    thanksyou

2. 92
    basant kumar singh:

I have done 10 2 with 63.4% and have 52.3% in pcm and have a good command over english and want to do deck cadet course , sir plz let me know about the institute where I can go for the deck cadet course

3. 91
    DANY MANUEL:

HI SIR NOW I’M DOING PLUS TWO WITH SCIENCE GROUP I HAD 2 YERS EXPERIANCE IN NCC I NEED TO JOIN IN MERCHAND NAVY FOR THAT WHAT I HAD TO DO FIRST?

4. 90
    shivrajnigam:

Apply my job

5. 89
    Sumit kumar:

sir i passed my tenth class exam sir my date of birth is 31st march 1998 on documents nd my real date of birth is 31st dec 1996,am i eligible for indian navy.
    and my percentage in sse exam 58%

6. 88
    Arup mandal:

Sir,i am arup mandal 12th pass 40%. Can i join dack cadek marchant navy

7. 87
    Arjun:

Sir ,
    In which college should i study in india to get a 100 % job placement(nautical science )?

8. 86
    shivam:

i want to join merchant navy i have passed with 60%marks with pcm my age is 20 please give me details about it and i can also give intrance exam also of MN

9. 85
    ankit gaur:

i m now doing +2 so shall i join deck cadets in any good field

10. 84
    sayali deshmukh:

respected sir/madam,
    i’m in 3rd year of diploma in mechanical engg. i want to know that are there jobs in marchant navy on deck cadet after diploma in mechanical engg.? and how to apply for 6 months pre training for shiping?
    please send me answer.

11. 83
    oneil dsouza:

want to join 1yr dns merc navy only 58% for d.cadet entry how to go about do dns course in india or uk.

12. 82
    prashant:

I have passed in 12th science standard in 2013 and I want to become marchant nevy so please help me how join

13. 81
    vijay maral:

sir, I have completed 12th science with PCB physics, chemistry, biology but without mathematics …..so now I have heard about merchant navy & I want to make career in it . so please suggest me now what should I do …..?

14. 80
    vikram:

is there a
    ny acadamy in india

15. 79
    Prashant Arya:

Respected Sir, I am 12th pass out student with pcm Sir I want to Ask Some ques.

1. what is the date of exam of sealinefearer shipping company?
    2. What is the syllabus of exam ?
    3. How many seats are alloted for sc ?
    4. How much spend mony in this course?
    5. How much spended tiime complete this course?

16. 78
    abhishek pal:

can i apply deck cadet with 12th in pcm and how much spend mony in this course and how much spended tiime complete this course? tell me any course in marchant navy course completed in 3 months or 6 moths or 1 years and how much mony spend in every courses completed/

17. 77
    Kusum yadav:

give me syllabus prescription about merchant navy
    i m preparing for iit jee would that be sufficient syllabus wise to secure good i

18. 76
    vijay maral:

Sir, please tell could I join merchant navy, I have completed 12th science with PCB but not mathematics.with 55%. If yes. Then tell me what should I do?

19. 75
    Entrance exam:

My birh date iz 10th of may,1994
    Should i m eligebale for nda exam in 2013

20. 74
    Karanveer singh:

I am in +2 & I want to join merchant navy so plz tell me how to apply and when the forms are released
    Sir plz reply me back
    I will be very thankfull to u plz reply me

21. 73
    vinay negi:

sir,ds is my last year of grad.b.com..n i have done computer course also n wanna join mercant navy.cn u tl me d selection procedure n post

22. 72
    Kazi md toha:

I need to take addmision in you institute but I have already Indian cdc in Saloon Rating, but I need indian cdc in GP/Deck Cadet.
    Please help me for my aim.
    Tkanks
    Kazi md toha

23. 71
    abhay krishna:

how much fee requierd for deck cadet coures & how i get job…………..

24. 70
    viresh thakur:

can we join merchant navy after passing 12 class with chemistry,physics and biology

25. 69
    Haidarali gudgeri:

My 10th 62.15% & 12th 49.50%.
    Then can I aply the merchant nevy job.

26. 68
    AMANDEEP:

SIR MAIN BI MERCHANT NAVY JOIN KRNA CHAHTA HOON PLS MUJKO BATAO MY NO 9803114649

27. 67
    Birendra Toppo:

What is the duration of job in deck cadet or after how many year one can get retirement . And what is the salary of deck cadet..

28. 66
    Suraj kumar:

Sir/mam i got 67% in 12 th but in pcm i got 58% i want to go in merchant navy for deck cadet , by the sponsership . Is i m eligible for sponsership . Please tell some companies name which wil tak me.

29. 65
    shubham:

WHAT TYE OF EXAM OR QUESTIONS ARE HELD IN DECK CADET TEST?

30. 64
    rizwan ashraf:

hi .. sir this is rizwan , have qualified my 12th xam this year..
    i got the info from somewhere about merchant navy and they told me that ..bsc in nautical science require 7 lakh rupeees and diploma in nautical sci require 4.5 lakh rupees as fee…. is this right..??????
    i even have the forum eith me…..
    please suggest me ,.. shud i go through it or not…..
    thanks…

31. 63
    Amrinder Singh:

sir can you tell hoe to join merchant navy in class 12 i hve 42% in english wthout pcm, sir i m looking for cooking trade…. rply sir…

32. 62
    vikas verma:

sir i want to join merchant navy institute. i am telling you institutes name please tell which one should i join 1-siroi maritime academy dehradun. 2-aquatech institute of maritime studies. 3-ocean glaxy marine academy.
    please reply me on the basis of placement and issuence of CDC.

33. 61
    aneesh helson lasrado:

sir i want to join as a deck cadet in msc company i wnt the details regarding when is the exam ?and also the entrance exam forms ! i look forward to join msc company itself because its dream of pulses ! i want to become a sounded officier navigating msc vessel in the ocean! my heart beat increases when the trucks pass through my house carrying msc containers! hpe so il get a chance to step in to msc company itself!

34. 60
    manish yadav:

hello sir, i have done 10+2 with PCM. i want to know entr. exam date of deck cadet & how wii get application form.. kindly hepl me.

35. 59
    sanuj bansal:

Last date of application form to join merchant navy after 10+2

36. 58
    Navjot singh:

I had completed my 12 from commerce maths and now I wanted to join deck cadet course sir please suggest whether this course has beniift for me .what is the process to go higher in this field .About the institutions and fess structure.

37. 57
    gurpreet singh:

tell me the proper procedure for joining merchant navy after 12

38. 56
    Sachin:

Hellow sir ,i am doing b.com 2year .what are the career option for me

39. 55
    karthik:

sir, what is the duration of deck cadet course and where these colleges are located in india and what is the fees structure of this course?

40. 54
    Alok:

I wana to scope in marchant navi.plz all

41. 53
    prateek:

What is the sallary of the deck chadet in the forieng shipping

42. 52
    saket pateria:

i am saket pateria 12th (pcm) with 52.2% in 2006 and bca graduate in 2009 now i want to make my carrer in merchant navy so please guide me i am eligiable or not and all process regarding cources and entrance and instutions.
    thnak you

43. 51
    Ramesh battina:

Sir , i completed my bsc nautical science and i’m going to attend interview..please send me some question and answers asked in interview…

44. 50
    sumit saha:

i have completed 10+2 with PCM and studying in b.pharm.i want to join Indian Navy but i don’t know how to join there.plz give the information about those.

45. 49
    Aishwary singh:

I want to do one year pre-sea diploma in nautical science….tell me the process.

46. 48
    sher Gurung:

Ihave completed my 12th with PCM and want to joint marcnant Navy as a deck cadet what is the course fee and course duration?

47. 47
    avinash:

i am studying b-tech ECE third year.i have to intrested in deck cadet int merchant navy.iam from wrangal.how to i became a merchant.

48. 46
    Rajnish:

In the present scenario shipping companies are facing huge shortage of trained professionals.

So its very good idea to join merchant navy. because we all know that merchant navy officers are heavily paid($1500-$2000).
    salaries of merchant navy officials are TAX FREE as well.

There are many courses u can take admissions
    1.BSc Nautical Science
    2.B.Tech Marine Engineering
    3.B.Tech Naval Architecture
    4.Diploma Nautical Science
    5.G.P. rating

For further information (feel free to contact me)

Er.Rajnish
    Uniglobe Shipping Services

49. 45
    Ajay:

Sir,am a student who completed 12th nd i like to be a deck cadet without paying fees.

50. 44
    sulekh:

i wear specks …
    with the help of specks ,i have 6/6 vision
    i have 12th pass
    i m perusing b.tech (3rd year) with mechanical engg
    please tell me about the post which fulfill my conditions

51. 43
    Piyush mittal:

Sir, i have completed my B.tech in mechanical engineering and now i want to get job in merchant navy than u will plz help me how can i build my carrier in merchant navy

52. 42
    Anuj:

Hi,my name is anuj.I m pursuing Bba and want to join merchant navy after my graduation,can u please guide me with the courses which i have to opt..?Duration of the course and pay scales after the course….. Thanku Anuj.

53. 41
    Abhinav gautam:

how cain i join the merchant navy..
    i m in 12 standard in running..
    so pls sir can i know that how to join the merchant navy.
    i want to became a deck cadet.. sols sir tell me what’s the processor to join the merchant navy….

54. 40
    GOURAV:

what is the deck cadet?

55. 39
    vikash tanwar:

i am studying in computer sci. And engg. For 3 yr. Engg. Diploma. And i am 12th pass with pcm. N i fill a form for deck cadet post so please say me about this exam syllabus and intervew preparation.

56. 38
    Mohit sharma:

i want take addmission in course deck cadet while i have passed +2 from hp board with 65% in pcm .m i eligible
    if yes so how can i got application form for entrance exam 2012 and from where..for taking addmission in govrnment institute in deck cadet for merchant navy..?sir please give me info hurry
    thankyou sir.

57. 37
    Harpreet:

Which of the has been taken for merchent navy (only for girls)to take the admission?

58. 36
    KAPIL PATHAK:

sir i am kapil pathak currently studying in second year of BE(I.T). on which post can i apply in merchant navy after B.E?please reply me on my email.

59. 35
    ashish negi:

can i join merchant navy deck cadeti have commerce with math stream iin 12 class??

60. 34
    Akash:

sir please guide me about the the best collages in india that can provide me the best training.i want to be a deck cadet and am i’m currently in class 12th .

61. 33
    vikas verma:

sir i am going to join rsms group mumbai for navy according to this company after 15 days course completion they will send us on the ship for treaning after that they will provide us job should i join this company or not.

62. 32
    ishaan:

i am appering in class 12 and want too join navy for post of deck cadet. pl guide me as canot able too fill entrance form..

63. 31
    bharat khanna:

Respected

I’m bharat khanna ,I have 12 pass by the pcm and yet parsuing the graduation but I didn’t get the forum of deck cadet from imu so please tell me how to get this forum and what is the procedure to be an part of deck cadet can u please give me the whole structure of deck cadet and information about it .my phn no. Is +919716510883
    Thanku

64. 30
    keshav:

Respected
    i m keshav rajak. i have 12th pass by the pcm and yet parsuing the engineering, also i have posted the form of deck cadet and returnt it.
    i have to face the iterview and exam so please tell me the fees structure of deck cadet and information about it.
    thankyou

65. 29
    Er.Rajnish:

post deck cadets-120
    batches starts from February 2012
    FEES= Rs.25,000 only
    SALARY=700-850(us dollar)
    FEW SEATS LEFT

Contact
    Er.Rajnish

66. 28
    harnoor:

what is the duty of deck cadet?

67. 27
    tridip:

i am tridip. i have complete class level 10th and doing a computer engg. course,i want to become as a deck cadet,what should i do ?
    plesae give me the info about this and deck cadet couse duration,fees and jobs structure..

68. 26
    appu:

cn i join merchant navy with 50% in puc…….

69. 25
    SUJIT:

Sir i m the student of b.a part1 with eng. plese send me the fee structure of deck cadet and when will the session start plzzz
    My ph. no.-9525459778

70. 24
    Vihang Chavan:

I need previous years question papers of deck cadet exam.how do i go about?

71. 23
    izhaar khan:

i got 48% in hsc and 43% in pcm & 60% in ssc and i want to join in ship for my carrier

72. 22
    Teepu sultan:

Dear sir,i m teepu sultan,i have done 10+2 with pcm 60%,age 19.6 years,how to join cadet course in imu,and how to get form.and wats the last date of submision of form?

73. 21
    vijay pal singh yadav:

plz my result proccess.
    roll no-47139

74. 20
    seemit gupta:

right now i m in 12th std .i want to join merchat navy.what should i do?

75. 19
    mukesh:

im mukesh doing graduation b.com 2nd yrs.
    i have completed my 12th wid commerce.
    so wat should l do to join merchant navy .

76. 18
    Amit Shriram Dhuri:

I m computer engineer.i want to join merchant navy.what are the posts after computer engg.when are the entrance exams conducted for it.
    wat is the fees for the course.
    and wats the salary for the postion.

Sir,plzz reply on my email id.

77. 17
    manish:

i have completed my b.s.c in chemistry i got 49% can i join merchant nevy as a deck cadet

78. 16
    RISHU PRASAD PATEL:

I am rishu.I know about deck cadet. and how many year course and how spend in this course. and approoved college of government from india. and them educatoin loan facluty. for marchent navy course so sir you inform me this subject. very thankful

79. 15
    gurpindersingh:

can i join merchant navy after my diploma in mechanical enggnering,please give me a proper way,other wise i have passed my 10+2 non medical with pcm marks 40%.can i have to improve my pcm numbers or any other option i have after diploma

80. 14
    gulshan kumar:

What minimum qualificatio needed in engin rating

81. 13
    Amit Bassi:

hi this is Amit!!. i have passed my +2 with science with more than 60%. so what is the procedure! do i have to do some course. i heard that there will be 3 months training then ull be sent directly to the ship and start to earn is it??? many queries plz sort this out!!..

82. 12
    taku abing:

sir im 59% aggregate pass in pcm 10+2.can i look formy passion in merchant navy as deck cadet?

83. 11
    RAMANDEEP SHARMA:

I COMPLETED ALL REQUIREMENT FOR JOINING MERCHANT NAVY. I SUFFER WITH MODERATE COLOUR BLINDENESS. CAN I EIGIBLE FOR DECK CADET

84. 10
    sinan:

in kochi which day was the exam

85. 9
    seemit:

sir im 21 year old n ive passed my 12th with more than 60%.i want to join merchant navy.so what should i further do to pursue my career

86. 8
    Bhaskar Mazumdar:

Sir/madam, i’ve 52% in 10+2 is it possible for me to join merchant navy? Please reply. Thanks.

87. 7
    dhruv:

hi sir , this is dhruv , i have just given my 12th exams from cbse board with commerce … i would like to know weather i m eligible 4 it or not n if yes , which is the best institute for it in india ……..
    n i would also like to know if in future i m not fit for the job after doing job for 2-3 yrs ., then what is the risk or what is the sol. in that situation .. because after that i cannot do any other job because of limited qualification….. please do tl me about all the pros n cons of choosing this profession

88. 6
    sandeep:

hi this is sandeep i have passed hsc in 2008 with less than 50 % from science stream.age is 23 is it possible to apply in merchant navy for me.plz rply asap on my e mail id.

89. 5
    Pardeep:

what is the date of enterenc exam as a deck cadet in merchant navy

90. 4
    gaurav parashar:

TELL ME ABOUT THE COURSES IN MERCHANT NAVY IN WHICH I CAN EARN GOOD IN MY JOB??????????????

91. 3
    JITURAJ:

I Can Join INDIAN NAVY after 12th Science
    Pleas give me information about any cours & institue
    Reply me

92. 2
    asif raza:

please give me full information about deck cadet

93. 1
    yogesh:

sir i hve cleared my 12 with 52percent .how i cn join merchant navy,inform me in