Difference between Indian Navy and Merchant Navy

The naval division of the Indian armed forces is called as the Indian Navy. The task force of the Indian Navy composes of war ships and planes that are utilized in emergency situations or combat. The Merchant Navy is concerned with the transportation of passengers or cargo by sea. As a result the task force of the Merchant navy includes tankers, passenger ships and carriers in addition to cargo liners.

Indian Navy Course and Career Opportunities

Candidates who aspire to join the Indian Navy are supposed to be permanent residents of India. They are also required to be unmarried in order to get chosen into the Naval Academy. The candidates must have the minimum age of 18 years when they apply. The qualification required to join the Naval Academy is a graduate degree in Science or a pass in class XII with Physics and Mathematics as subjects of study. With more training and proficiency the candidate will be able to rise to higher ranks. Initially the salary would be around Rs. 8000 to Rs. 10000/- a month. Those with more seniority in the field will have a monthly remuneration of Rs. 30, 000.

Merchant Navy Course and Career opportunities

Candidates who seek to join the Indian Merchant Navy must have cleared their class Higher Secondary with Mathematics and Physics in addition to Chemistry subjects. It is also mandatory that they pass in a fitness test that is held by the respective academies. Those who wish to enter the engineering and navigation fields of the Merchant Navy must be graduates in Marine Engineering or Nautical Science. There are many job opportunities available for students of Merchant Navy. A variety of shipping companies that belong to private firms as well as the Indian Government employs professionals in this field. It is also possible for candidates to find work with foreign companies. The initial salary of a cadet will be around Rs 25,000 - Rs 50,000 each month. Those who are working overseas will have a remuneration of approximately $ 1,500 - $ 2,500 a month.

Key differentiators between Indian Navy and Merchant Navy

Both the Indian Navy as well as the Indian Merchant Navy has a crucial role in our society. While the Indian Navy focuses on the protection of the country, Merchant Navy deals with the transportation of cargo as well as passengers from one location to another.

104 Responses to “Difference between Indian Navy and Merchant Navy”

1. 104
    jagdeesh singh:

vill,jaipur
    post,bheekhepur
    dist,auraiya
    u.p
    pin.cod.206129
    mo.9012284141

2. 103
    patil achyut:

I am BCA student,what i can applying for marchant navy job

3. 102
    ravi kumar singh:

i wants to details about the merchant navy my question is this can i take the admission of merchant navy after complete the deplloma course and what is the process for that

4. 101
    Jeyaprakash:

Sir/mam; there is a physical test for an merchant navy?

5. 100
    Akshay Adhav:

my name is Akshay i was completed 12th in streame of science. So i was my dream of get this please sir get the apportunity so please call me 9987429802 thank u

6. 99
    Anil pyati:

i have completed diploma in civil can i join in indian navy and whats the prieod of training and what kind of work can i get and whats the salary

7. 98
    Ashwini vethekar:

I am doing B.Sc computer science. I want to join marchant navey. Where to apply ?

8. 97
    Zanje vijay:

Hi…
    Sir, I’m currently passing mechanical engg. Diploma from goverment college after the 10th standard. Then which procedure should i follo for joining indian neavy.

9. 96
    vikram singh:

my age is 20 kya mai indian navy join kar sakta hu

10. 95
    jainesh jain:

with non medical do we have to opt computer science or physical education for further achievements in merchant navy….?????

i m deeply intrested in merchant navy…

11. 94
    virendra kumar:

if not selected in nda do we have any alternative to join in navel academy

12. 93
    ajay tagala:

please tell me about indian navy requirement and physical,medical fittness.
    thanks………

13. 92
    vishal:

sir, i am going to appear for NDA exam.will it include entrance for merchant navy or i have to appear separately?

14. 91
    Radhashyam SAhu:

i have 58 % in (P.C.B) physics,chemistry,BIOlogy. in +2 science..
    so can i join marchant navy ??

15. 90
    vinay sawant:

will less marks in etrance exams and about 70% in 12 boards affect my admission

16. 89
    Suraj maurya:

i have 54% in pcm in 12th std so can i join marchant navy as a deack cadet course..

17. 88
    jagjeet verma:

can i join indin navy . i am aee engg. student in b.tech in 2 yr.after completion of b.tech. but my dob is 1993 now.

18. 87
    kamlesh gupta:

sir, now i am in B.E. 3rd yr Mechanical engg. i am 19 year old, so can i join merchant navy after comletion of my B.E.

19. 86
    Deepak chahal:

Sir i have done diploma in electrical engg. How i can join indian navy

20. 85
    MONIKA:

I AM 25 YEAR OLD GIRL AND SIMPLE GRADUATE HOW I CAN JOIN MERCHANT NAVY

21. 84
    Neeraj jani:

What is the salary in indian navy?

22. 83
    manas:

Does merchant navy has its own exam?can I give it after passing 12?

23. 82
    shubham SINGH:

Sir i have done my bsc from since from phygic nd i got 58% marks so I can join marchent navy?

24. 81
    maaz usmani:

Sir i m the stdnt of clas 11 my stream is commrce
    sir tell me can i join aftre passout of 12 wth commrce.

25. 80
    sailesh choudhary:

sir i have done my 12th from commerce nd i got 55% marks so can i join marchant navy?

26. 79
    haritha hari:

i’m in 12(doing)when is the next exam for navy??is the navy safe for girls?

27. 78
    Mr.Rahul Kumar Singh:

I am 10th passed out student with 1st division in 2012.I want to fill form of murchant navy on my qualification basis,if it is possible than how can I sellest post in this form?tell me,Sir.contact nbr–8725987497.

28. 77
    gyanendra garg:

sir i m b.tech mechanical branch student in 3 year bt i want to join navy for this what is the procedure or how to apply for this plz tell me ………..

29. 76
    parvi:

I am graduated from becholer of mass media bt i wnt to join marchant navy ehat is d procedure or how to aply plz tel me

30. 75
    suraj:

i have got a permanent tattoo and i want to go in indian navy after my engginering… and i think people with tattoo are medically unfit…so is there any alternative??

31. 74
    Abhishek Kumar Sinha:

Sir mai IPSR marchant navy me see-man post pe fprm feelup kiya tha aur mera exam 10 jun 2012 ko hai.Isliye mujhe entrance exam ka question ki jarurat hai.pls u help me sir.

32. 73
    Harshal:

Sir, I have copleted my 12th standard since but i going to confuse with indian navy and merchant navy. Sir plz tell difference betn them.

33. 72
    Sachin Kadam:

I have complete my graduation & i want to join Indian navy.
    can you please tell me about various post and exam & how can i join Indian navy.
    My email id is [email protected]

34. 71
    Arjun Suseelan:

sir, how can i join the naval service after completing btec civil ? will i be able to join merchant navy after completing btec civil ?

35. 70
    RAJESH KUMAR:

i have a courage to join merchant navy. please give full information how i join or how i prepare for merchant navy exam. what we can do after been captain. please give all information on my gmail account [email protected]

36. 69
    pranawant pati tripathi:

i am b.tech 4th year student in gbtu please tell me about that how to join merchant navy ………i am student of b.tech eee…

37. 68
    yuvaraj:

sir,,

Is this possible for me to join Merchant Navy being a candidate of ECE?

how to join merchant navy after completion of B.E.ece student….??
    my email id is { [email protected] }

38. 67
    Gurjeet:

i have completed my diploma in ece .can i join the merchant navy?

39. 66
    vaishali saini:

i am student of class 9th from M.P.Board.I want to join merchant navy,what should i have to join merchant navy.also tell me that what qualifications or requirement need to apply for this?

40. 65
    PRAVEEN KHADE:

i m student of BE in mechanical engineering im join in marchant navy

41. 64
    Parasharam gavade:

I have passed my puc2 commerce, i want to joine indian navy, please tell me what can i do to joine

42. 63
    abdul salam:

I am a mechanical eng graduate, 28 year old. Presently working in UAE as a technical clerk in a marine dreging company. I dont find any improvement in my career. Am I eligible to join as a junior trainee engineer in any firm. Or any course in marine to improve my career

43. 62
    Akshay:

. .sir i am from . .stream PCB. .can . I apply for merchant navy test …

44. 61
    prithwi raj:

Which types of jobs are available for marine engineers

45. 60
    Abhishek:

sir i am Abhishek i complete +2 i
    Interested indian navy so please help to navy eduation

46. 59
    vijaya krishnaveni:

hii..i wanna join NDA…bt wat’s the progress report for tyhe qualification for the “NAVY”..also i want the full details for the posting’s and progress for the examination…

47. 58
    Surandai,maniraj.N:

Plz tell me,what is the procudure to join the army pharmaceust.?

48. 57
    Niyati Rajak:

from where can I get the form?

49. 56
    Niyati Rajak:

date of availability of forms of Indian Navy 2011

50. 55
    Aparna das:

i am commerce streem student .i passed m.com can i apply navi .

51. 54
    anant:

where is center indan-navy?

52. 53
    alokh:

I am a student of twelth standard i wish to apply for merchant navy i am 18 years old will the age be a problem ?if so is there any solution for it?

53. 52
    Sumit Das:

How to apply for exam?

54. 51
    roshan:

which age does we clarify the exam

55. 50
    VIKRAM DUBEY:

I am a commerce stream student. How can i join the indian navy.

56. 49
    ashwini:

Im ashwini from tamilnadu.My brother is showing interest in joining navy.He had completed his 10th in state board,some had told that 10th is enough for joining navy.
    I had seen in ur website that one can join navy only after completing 12th or degree .plz giv us a clear idea sir.
    thankyou

57. 48
    Ravinder:

I am a commerce stream student. How can i join the indian navy.

58. 47
    anupam singh:

sir i m engg student in 3 yr in cs branch sir i want to know that can i apply for indian neavy

59. 46
    kamron:

i am intrest to join in merchant navy.how did i will get the job.i have no more knowledge.i am ready to get a job today itself.
    KAMRON ,24,HT-174.HIP-28,WT-89.WAITING FOR REPLAT….THROUGH [email protected]

60. 45
    vishal:

myself vishal and i want to be a sailor in navy. and i m in 10 standard. Will you help me for selecting my subjects for it and for my bright future.
    i hope you give me information as soon as possible.
    thaking you

61. 44
    Rajesh kumar:

Dear
    kind herated sir ,
    my self rajesh my aim is become a captain in merchant navy.

give me all minor & major information.

i hope you give information as soon as…………………….

62. 43
    ajay chauhan:

what i have to do after completing my b tech in mechanical to join merchant navy

63. 42
    yatin sethi:

after 1st cont how to we join 2nd cont.
    which is best in dect cadict or g.p.rating

64. 41
    kuldeep yadav:

sir m.navy me duty ke kya rule hote hai………6month duty aor 6momth rest hota hai ……pls btaeye….

65. 40
    aman:

i m student of class 12th appearing for board exams this year…i have mathematics,physics,chemistry subjects i want to join merchant navy……pls give me some tips how can i join merchant navy….

66. 39
    Divya Gandhi:

hello sir, I have cmpltetd my graduation in BCA with 70%..my age is 21 ..and i have physics,chemistry and mathematics in 10+2 wid 62%..i want to join INDIAN NAVY …plz suggest me suitable post..and give me some tips to prepare myself for INDIAN NAVY. Thanking u..

67. 38
    Divya Gandhi:

hello sir, I have cmpltetd my graduation in BCA with 70%..my age is 21 ..and i have physics,chemistry and mathematics in 10+2 wid 62%..i want to join INDIAN NAVY …plz suggest me suitable post..and give me some tips to prepare ourself for INDIAN NAVY. Thanking u..

68. 37
    amul jain:

sir i have passed 10th class with first division and now i m in class 11th … and i want to join merchant navy …… sir pls tell me about that means what can i do for that ……….

69. 36
    Swati s p:

Respected sir/madam,
    I am perusing me BE in civil engg, currently am in 3rd yr wit the aggregate of 63.275%
    how &when can I join navy? Which are the possible exam to write? Give me some tips for preparing myself n making my dream come true in joining Indian navy

70. 35
    sumeet:

sir is it necessary for me to know swimming before joining merchant navy as a ship administration assistant. because i dont know how to swim

71. 34
    nishant:

biology students can join merchant navy?
    Is there any job for biology students in merchant navy?

72. 33
    Rishabh:

Sir, myself Rishabh and I am the student of 12th commerce with maths. Sir, kindly give me information about merchant navy . Can I apply for it or not , if it then when ?

73. 32
    siva sankar:

I’m Siva Sankar from Andrapradesh(state),I want to join in navy but now i’m studying B.tech 2nd year can I join now.myself I completed my inter with maths,physics,chemistry,biology,it.
    I mean that I taken M.BI.P.C with information technology.
    How to get the application form.
    sorry if there is any mistakes.

74. 31
    vikas:

i want to do deck cadet course .but i got 50% in pcm please help me

75. 30
    sandeep kumar:

I am 10+2 pass maths .please give a job.

76. 29
    walsh:

to becom a chief officer on ship what shol we do

77. 28
    ajinkya patil:

I am 12 passed in 2011 with 58% in pcm so what can i do to get an admission in indian navy.

78. 27
    zuhaib khan:

sir ihave done 10+2 from commerce and i want to join merchant navy how can i join please give me full information as soon as possible……

79. 26
    adhiveer:

can i get 80,000-1 lakh as salary per month?what i have to do for getting this much salary?what qualification is needed for this?

80. 25
    ROHIT KUMAR TAMRAKAR:

I AM 10+2PASS MATHS GROUPA

81. 24
    sulekh:

sir my name is sulekh.study in 12th and i have ncc b,c certificates its help to grace mark in navy?please send on my email:[email protected]

82. 23
    mohit kathpal:

hi, i m mohit i m from faridabad(haryana) i m pursuing bba 2nd yr
    i want 2 join but i dnt have mathematics in 12th but i have physics and chemistry so plzreply soon as possible

83. 22
    CHANDAN VOHRA:

SIR I STUDY IN 12TH STANDARD HOW CANI JOIN MERCHANT NAVY PLS SAY ME

84. 21
    shiv kumar:

sir i passed 10+2 class with 60 percent marks from non-med stream. I want to be a naval officer.so ply instruct what to do to be a officer..

85. 20
    gopal:

is the job seaman after 10th

86. 19
    swapnil:

I have completed b.sc(physics) with 60% marks and i wish to apply merchant navy .plz give me details of fees for study and admission process and age limit .
    My e-mail i d is

87. 18
    Soumya:

I’m a b.tech student in mechanical stream.my age is 22. How to join indian navy ? I want to make my carrier in navy. What are the posts suits me? Please give some tips.

88. 17
    Ayush tandon:

Can arts graduate may apply for indian navy.

89. 16
    vishal shil:

maine 12th math ke sath pass kiya hai.kya mujhe indian navy me apna seva dene ka avsar milega.

90. 15
    Ansh:

sir neavy 10th base pr b hoti hai kya?

91. 14
    liyakat ali:

how to join indian navy.
    i am a b-tech student,
    i have qualify 12th class with maths,physics and chemistry.

92. 13
    Nivedan sonaniya:

Sir ipsr mujhe 100% job dage ya nahi because ma ipsr institute dahradun ka bare ma nahi janta so plese give me write information about the institute my mb.no is 8120322068

93. 12
    Aboobacker:

am pursuing my Bachelor of Engineering in telecommunication..
    right now am in 6th semester… i wanted to know minimum requirements to get into a merchant navy other than marks..
    thank you..

94. 11
    peeyush arora:

please guide me that is it possible for me, a student of commerce with maths in +2 to join INDIAN NAVY or MERCHANT NAVY? if yes then kindly let me know about all the necessary details regarding the field in which i will be able to operate.

95. 10
    Dipak Jarhad:

I am current student of 12 th Science. Can i apply for Indian Navy?

96. 9
    sunil:

now i am in +2 2nd yr sc.i want to get a job in merchant navy as soon as possible.pls select me.

97. 8
    manusharma:

i am done my +2 in arts , how i join merchant navy , i want that that job plz suggest me a positive answer ..

98. 7
    Rudramani tiwari:

I am student of 12th bio. Can i join indian navy or marchent navy. Please send me imformation on my mail id

99. 6
    deepak:

sir , I m deepak from Ambala .I Comlete B A WITH MATH N NOW I PERSUING MBA in final year .

my age is 24 yr 6 month can i join merachant navy in any way.

plz help me

100. 5
    vipan:

i have passed 10th class or matric can i join indian navy or indian merchant navy.
    Plz reply me..

101. 4
    vikas:

agar hum +2 pass hai, or entrance exam b clear kr lae . par fittness test clear naa kar paye to kya hum indian navi mae job kar sakte hai.
    please tell me

102. 3
    indra bhan singh:

i want know about marchent navy and how to join this and i am completd 12art side i can join this and how many fee in this corse?

103. 2
    Himanshu Ranjan:

i m now a student of 10+2.i want to join merchant navy.tell how can i join.what is the last date for entrance exam of merchant navy in 2011.
    I dont know swimming,then can i join merchant navy or not.
    Kindly reply me.

104. 1
    deepak:

i am studing in class 12 . can i apply for aa 130 batch