17th June 2010, 06:19 PM
yogeshbisht999

Is AMIE student eligible for IAS / PCS exams?

Please tell me, Is a AMIE student can give IAS/PCS examination without doing any other graduation?

17th June 2010, 07:43 PM
Prateek44

Default Re: Is AMIE student eligible for IAS / PCS exams?

Hello Yogesh,
AMIE means Associate Membership of Institution of Engineers. Those students who are not able to pursue engineering degree ;AMIIE is the alternate.

An AMIE degree is recognized as equivalent to an engineering degree by AICTE, UPSC, SSC, central govt. Departments and state governments etc. AMIE degree holder can write examinations like civil services, Indian engineering services, GATE, GRE, etc.
So you can go for it.
17th June 2010, 10:47 PM

Yes definately you can give IAS/PCS or any other exam. AMIE is just like any after graduation and is considered equal to BTech.

So you can answer all kinds of entrance exams after you graduation
17th June 2010, 10:51 PM

Yes definately, after passing AMIE, students can also appear for IAS, IES and PCS Examinations conducted by UPSC.

If you are interested in furthur study, then after passing AMIE you can appear for GATE Entrance test for M.E. or M.Tech as well as for MBA also. So, dont worry, you are definately eligible for for IAS and PCS exams.
18th June 2010, 12:15 AM

IS AMIE Approved

Yes dear of course.....!

I think you have'nt read the Advertisement of UPSC Civil Service exams.

It is clearly mentioned there that "Candidates possessing professional and technical qualifications like AMIE (India) which are recognised by Government as equivalent to professional and technical degree for purposes of employment would also be eligible for admission to the examination."

Degrees in Engineering awarded by Universities set up under an Act of the Central or State Legislature, Institution of National Importance set up under as Act of Parliament and Institutions deemed as Universities under Section 3 of U.G.C. Act. (Source:- AMIE Students Help Centre )
So, why to take tension, there is nothing to worry about it.

If you have any doubt you can log on to AMIE Students Help Centre @ http://amie.50webs.org/

~Faiyaz~

Last edited by faiyaz; 18th June 2010 at 12:15 AM. Reason: editting
25th June 2010, 05:33 PM
karthu

Hai
Ya Ofcourse.
ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

1. MUST BE AN INDIAN CITIZEN

2. AGE LIMIT: 21-30
3. MUST TAKE A BACHELOR'S DEGREE4. MUST UNDERGO TRAINING FROM A WELL KNOWN CENTER
5. UNDERGO A MEDICAL TEST FOR IAS
If you completed all these procedures you are applicable.
26th July 2010, 03:13 AM

SIR WHAT IS THE BEST ENGINEERING DEGREE IN BETWEEN THE IIT AND AMIE
27th July 2010, 02:03 PM

SIR WHAT IS THE BEST ENGINEERING DEGREE IN BETWEEN THE IIT AND AMIE

Dear IIT is always better then any coresspondance dergee course like that of AMIE.

IIT is a brand and a Institute which has develped itself as a world clss Institute and produces best Engineers with best value in whole world.

However, engineering degree from the IIT and from AMIE are Equivalent in India.

AMIE engineers can also persue M.Tech even from IIT's, IISC etc. anywhere. Go for any Government Jobs, likwise from IIT etc...

But IIT being a brand has always an effect over the Quality of Education and Once Resume.

~Faiyaz~
27th July 2010, 04:23 PM
trupti_9227

yes you can go for IAS / PCS exams .AMIE means Associate Membership of Institution of Engineers. Those students who are not able to pursue engineering degree ;AMIIE is the alternate
27th July 2010, 05:11 PM
subhash5687

Thumbs up Re: Is AMIE student eligible for IAS / PCS exams?

Originally Posted by yogeshbisht999 View Post
Please tell me, Is a AMIE student can give IAS/PCS examination without doing any other graduation?
yes you can do ias/pcs from amie it is recognised.best of luck dear..
27th July 2010, 05:52 PM
happy to help

With no doubt u are eligible 4 the exam conducted by upsc
AMIE is a undergraduate degree so u are eligible
Go 4 it
27th July 2010, 08:07 PM

dea friend, for this examination you must have a graduation degree here AMIE is eqivalent to the grduation so there is no any problem and you can apply, but matter is about the subject you have to chose the subject whiuch is given on the list of the ias exam
27th July 2010, 08:50 PM
s.k.singh

since the AMIE is equivalent to the grauation,so you ar also eligible for this
exam,so if yu are really eagar to prepare for the ias the starts preparation rom the right now.because the next exam have so long and that time is sufficient for your preparation.
29th July 2010, 04:05 PM

I heard that person can attempt IES/IAS after clearing section-I of AMIE....Is true or not...? Please give proper advice...
30th July 2010, 06:45 PM

hello friend

AMIE is equivalent to Btech.that means it is a graduation course.

the minimum qualification required to attain the IAS / PCS exams is graduation in engineering.

so you are eligible to attain IAS / PCS exams.so go for it.

all the best.....
16th August 2010, 12:41 AM
ravi k

DEAR FRND,

as AMIE is equivalent to graduation so of course you are eligible for IAS OR IRS.

all d best.
10th September 2010, 09:46 PM

MY DEAR SIR PLEASE TELL ME THAT I AM A BSC FINAL STUDENT,AM I GIVEN PCS EXAM
10th September 2010, 10:10 PM

MY DEAR SIR PLEASE TELL ME THAT I AM A BSC FINAL YEAR2010 STUDENT, I CAN GIVEN PCS EXAM
13th September 2010, 05:18 PM

Hello friends i am an AMIE holder. there are many options after AMIE like ME MTECH, MBA, ETC.YOU CAN GO FOR MANY GOVT JOBS LIKE AIRFORCE AS AN ENGINEER IN NAVY ALSO. YOU CAN APPEAR IN BSNL, NTPC, NHPC,POWER GRID CORPORATION, ISRO(SPACE DEPT),UPSC EXAM LIKE IES, IAS, IFS, AND ASST COMMANDANT IN FORCEES IN LIKE BSF,CRPF, ETC. EVEN A CANDIDATE COMPLETES AMIE WITH IN TIME HE CAN ALSO APPEAR FOR FIGHTER PILOT POST IN AIR FORCE TEST IS HELD BY UPSC EVERY YEAR. YOU ARE ALSO ELIGIBLE FOR LECTURER POST IN POLYTECHNIC AS WELL AS DEGREE COLLAGE ALSO.INDIAN RAILWAY PROVIDE PERMOTION TO WORKING DIPLOMA HOLDER IN RAILWAY AFTER COMPLETE OF AMIE. STAE DEPT LIKE IRRIGATION AND ELECTRICITY BOARD PROVIDE PORMOTION TO AMIE HOLDER. THIS WHAT I HAVE SAID IS MY EXPIERANCE. HOWEVER BHEL CONDUCTS TEST FOR INTERNAL WORKING DIPLOMA HOLDER WHEN THEY COMPLETES AMIE FOR POST OF ENGINEER. ALSO NEYVELI IGNITE CORPORATION LTD TAMILNADU HOLD TEST FOR RECRUITMENT AS ENGINEER POST DIRECTLY. SO I THINK AMIE IS VERY GOOD AS COMPARED TO DIPLOMA HOLDER OR B TEC FROM AN ENGINEERING COLLAGE OF STATES.YOU CAN STUDY IN CIPET ALSO AFTER AMIE. THANKS, YOUR FRIEND FROM HOSHIARPUR . JATINDER HEER.
18th September 2010, 11:08 AM

I WANT TO GET ONE OF MY AMIE PAPER OF MATERIAL SCIENCE (SECTION-A (DIPLOMA)) RECHECKED.
PLEASE TELL THE PROCEDURE.
I SHALL BE VERY THANKFUL TO YOU.
26th September 2010, 08:57 PM

AMIETE student is eligible for IAS???
27th September 2010, 10:01 PM

as per my knowledge institution of engineers does not allow rechecking procedure. i understand your feeling as the material science is tough subject and you have to hard work on it.but they dont allow rechecking
27th September 2010, 10:14 PM

more information about career after amie . you can appear in gate test, staff selection commission graduate exam,you can go to university of bedfordshire england for msc in international buisness and management, university of waterloo canada for ME in power engineering.BUT COMPLETE DEGREE IN TIME. THIS IS INFORMATION FROM PERSONNEL EXPIERANCE AND INSTITUTION JORNAL INFORMATION.JATINDER HEER FROM HOSHIARPUR.
27th September 2010, 11:39 PM
yogeshkumarsoni

Yes definately you can give IAS/PCS or any other exam. AMIE is just like any after graduation and is considered equal to BTech.

So you can answer all kinds of entrance exams after you graduation
28th September 2010, 03:18 PM
teeks

yes you can write the exam for IAS/IPS AIME is just equivalent to engineering ok dear best of luck
5th October 2010, 11:35 AM

in many services they do not recruites the amie passed condidates.can u tell me why?
23rd October 2010, 04:01 PM

Sir, Distance education Graduate/Part time Graguate can apply IAS exam. ( MBA.,BBA.,B.com )
18th November 2010, 11:42 AM

I WANT TO APPLY FOR DOING AMIE.I WANT TO FILL FORM FOR REGISTERATION FOR AMIE BUT I
22nd November 2010, 05:49 PM

sir, Distance education Graduate/Part time Graguate can apply IAS exam.(B.A. HISTORY,TAMIL)
29th November 2010, 01:25 AM

after completing amie ,can we apply directly in bhel n any other psu exams?
2nd December 2010, 01:01 PM
veeresh _singh

sir srm university is only under ugc ,course like b.tech is not approved by aicte so tell me ,,can anybody from srm(btech student) is eligible for IAS exams
28th December 2010, 09:51 PM

amie student write gate? i complete section A so at this time i prepare gate and section B is possible?
18th January 2011, 05:13 AM
abhimanyu2688

Post Re: Is AMIE student eligible for IAS / PCS exams?

[QUOTE=yogeshbisht999;100026]Dear Sir,
Please tell me, Is a AMIE student can give IAS/PCS examination without doing any other graduation?[/QUOTE
yes sure, you can write upsc civil services exam as AMIE is recognised by UPSC to write examination.
27th January 2011, 03:59 PM

I have a experience in material deppt over 2 years. As I am a Diploma Holder in Mechanical Engineering. With job I had completed Graduate Diploma in Material Management from IIMM. Now I want to complete AMIE, but I am confused to choose AMIE or MBA from other.......pls help?

Abhijit
28th January 2011, 09:04 AM
G-rocks

Hello Friend
Yes of course AMIE students are eligible for IAS / PCS exams.Because AMIE is considered as equal to BTech.Hence after AMIE you may appear in GATE exam to go for higher studies like MBA,M.Tech etc...

Best of luck..
31st January 2011, 05:41 PM

Dear sir,plz tellme how more amie b.tech holder did become IAS officer till now,if any?...and also names with rank of?
16th March 2011, 01:14 PM

i am doing AMIE appearing for section a after passing section a & section b am i able give the IAS exam? if yes then what is the procedure to apply for IAS & how to prepare for it.
23rd March 2011, 05:09 PM

For GRE exam they have mentioned 10 2 4 for MS programmes . Kindly confirm if AMIE is considered ( 4 yrs ) degree in US .
Anshul
26th March 2011, 09:48 PM

wt i do after crack upsc exam?
31st March 2011, 02:42 PM

is amie student eligible for bhel exicutives job
1st April 2011, 09:44 PM
lvnareshsunrise

The minimum eligibility to appear for IAS / PCS exams is a graduate from a recognized university .

AMIE itself will be equal to the technical engineering and equivalent to graduation.

So soon after the completion of AMIE, one can eligible to appear for IAS/PCS exams conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) every year.
1st April 2011, 09:54 PM
kunal4win

Smile Re: Is AMIE student eligible for IAS / PCS exams?

yes are&IAS Exam (Indian Civil
Services Exam) is conducted by UPSC every year. Exam
notifications are published in the
employment news and other
leading newspapers in the month
of November / December and
exam is conducted in the month of May the very next (following)
year. IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria: Age Limit: Candidate’ s age should lie from 21 to 30 years on
1st August of the year of
examination. For SC / ST
candidates, 5 years relaxation in
upper age is given. No. of Allowed Attempts: general (open) category
candidates can appear up to 4
times where as physically
disabled and OBC category
candidates can appear up to 7
times and SC /ST candidates can appear any number of times. Educational Qualifications: candidate should be holding
graduate degree in any stream
from a recognized university or
equivalent. Candidate’ s appearing in Graduation final
year can also appear in entrance
exam but they are required to
produce degree proof and other
essential documents asked by
commission on some prescribed date. IAS Exam Selection
Procedure: Entrance is divided into 3 parts : Written Test (Preliminary Exam
and Main Exam), Personality
Interview NOTE: Only Students who qualified
preliminary exam will appear in
Main exam and students who
qualify the main exam will have
to appear for personality
interview. IAS Preliminary Exam: Exam will be of objective type and is
consisted of two papers : Paper 1: general studies (total
150 marks) Paper 2: Optional subject
selected by candidate ( total 300
marks) NOTE: language of exam can be
Hindi or English. List of optional Subjects
for IAS Preliminary Exam: Public Administration, Indian
History, Zoology, Law, Mechanical
Engineering, Botany, Agriculture,
Mathematics, Geography,
Sociology, Medical Science,
Chemistry, physics, Commerce, Political Science, Civil
Engg ,Electrical Engg , Geology,
Statistics, Economics, Animal
Husbandry / Vetinary Secience,
Philosophy, Psychology. IAS Main Exam: Main exam scheme will be as follows: 1st paper: 300 marks paper on
any Indian language selected by
candidate from 18 languages
mentioned in constitution’ s viii schedule. this is a qualifying
paper. 2nd paper: 300 marks on English.
This is a qualifying paper. 3rd paper: 200 marks on Essay
Writing. 4th & 5th paper: 300 marks
each on general studies. 6th, 7th, 8th and 9th papers:
300 marks each on any two
optional subjects chosen by
candidate. List of optional Subjects
for IAS Main Exam: Agriculture, Management,
Mathematics, Mechanical
Engineering, Botany, , Chemistry,
Philosophy, Civil Engineering,
Physics, Commerce &
Accountancy, Political Science & International Relations
Economics, Psychology, Electrical
Engineering, Public
Administration,Anthropology,
Geography, , Geology, Statistics
Indian History, Zoology, Law, Animal Husbandry & Vetinary
Science., Sociology, Medical
Science. Peronslaity Interview: Candidates who qualify main test
will be called for personality.
interview which is the final test
of 300 marks. For more information about IAS
(Civil Services Exam) , visit UPSC
1st April 2011, 09:58 PM
Harshajit Kalita

Thumbs up Re: Is AMIE student eligible for IAS / PCS exams?

Yes, AMIE student can give IAS/PCS examination without doing any other graduation.
Thank You...
1st April 2011, 11:55 PM
piyush121

hello yogesh,

AMIE stands for Associte Membership for institution of engineers.As this degree is reconised by Government and it as equivalent to professional and technical degree for purposes of employment would also be eligible for admission to the examination.

SO my friend yogesh you should not worry.YOU are pursuing good degree and you are a citizen of india and i hope you must be filling the eligibility criteria in categories like age factor and number of attempts.

If you have done so then no worries for you.You go on with your preperation.

hope ypu are satisfied with the answer.
2nd April 2011, 12:52 AM
ashok880

AMIE is the course as bachelor of engineering course,so you can apply for IAS exam.

And age should be between 21 to 30 years to apply for IAS exam.

And you should have Indian citizenship card holder.
2nd April 2011, 08:12 AM
Taurus007

AMIE student eligible for IAS / PCS exams
you can appear in gate test, staff selection commission graduate exam,you can go to university of bedfordshire england for msc in international buisness and management, university of waterloo canada for ME in power engineering.BUT COMPLETE DEGREE IN TIME.
The minimum eligibility to appear for IAS / PCS exams is a graduate from a recognized university .
AMIE itself will be equal to the technical engineering and equivalent to graduation.
So soon after the completion of AMIE, one can eligible to appear for IAS/PCS exams conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) every year.

2nd April 2011, 08:45 AM
vijaypatel54

Yes definately, after passing AMIE, students can also appear for IAS, IES and PCS Examinations conducted by UPSC.

If you are interested in furthur study, then after passing AMIE you can appear for GATE Entrance test for M.E. or M.Tech as well as for MBA also. So, dont worry, you are definately eligible for for IAS and PCS exams.
2nd April 2011, 12:59 PM

Yes, after pass AMIE you can appear IAS/IPS.Now so many AMIE holders are already in IAS positions.
11th April 2011, 04:18 PM

2.2.2 A candidate shall be required to secure minimum grade %u2018C%u2019 in 3 (three) subjects and grade %u2018D%u2019 in remaining one subject to
completely pass Section A (Diploma) examination within the stipulated period.Score of grade %u2018D%u2019 in one subject shall only
be considered in the last attempt provided the candidate secured at least grade %u2018C%u2019 in all the remaining 3 (three) subjects with minimum GPA being 6. The score of grade %u2018D%u2019 or lowergrade(s) in any subject(s) shall not be carried forward. A candidate shall be required to reappear in those subjects again.Further, a candidate, who is not required to appear in all the 4 (four) subjects (Ref. 2.1.1),shall have to secure minimum grade %u2018C%u2019 in each of the remaining subject(s) for a final pass.

As given we can pass Sec A with 3 subjects 'Grade c' One ' D' but last attempt. I am not understanding "LAST ATTEMPT". Can any one explain me.
12th May 2011, 11:05 AM

any one can give me a.m.i.e. notes in hindi language of section A pls contact me [email protected] , 09027085186