26th October 2009, 11:58 AM
amritesh singh

How to become an actor or director?

Hi, I just want to know that how can I become an actor or director ?

26th October 2009, 01:24 PM
The_Wisdom
Super Moderator

Default Re: How to become an actor or director?

Well Amritesh there are no straightforward answers to this question because there isn't any procedural way to it. The directors/actors who have made it big in the film industry have reached there in different ways.

If you want to make it big there you should be first confident enough that you are good enough for it. Secondly you should be be ready to take up all challenges and face all disappointments and rejections because there are so many people already trying to become a filmmaker/actor.

An important thing to become an actor or director is contacts in the industry and PR. You should be able to develop connections with powerful people in the industry. Also you can join some film/acting school like Whistling Woods/Anupam Kher's or Kishore Namit Kapoor's Acting School. But the fees of these institutes is really high and even they cannot guarantee a big break for you.

You can also join film industry through advertising. Several ad filmmakers have become successful directors. Also you can try to look for opportunities to be part of a film crew. Most importantly you need to remember one thing that you should be completely committed, determined and strong enough to face all the challenges.
26th October 2009, 01:41 PM
Admin
Administrator

@The_Wisdom very good and practical suggestions.

@amritesh singh Participating in plays (theatre) is a good way to get things rolling. That might help you realize your limitations and potential, will be helpful in making contacts too.
26th October 2009, 03:53 PM
The_Wisdom
Super Moderator

Yes theatre indeed is a great way to know your potential. So many successful actors have done theatre before coming to films.
22nd November 2009, 05:55 PM
aswathy

join any film institute..or use good opportunities u get..it will help u a lot..all d best
23rd November 2009, 11:43 AM
anuja

for becoming an actor or director first groom your personality,looks,acting and directing skills,because acting and directing is inherent talent,so first groom it by yourself and then join,theaters and film acting institutes sharpen your acting and directing skills.
23rd November 2009, 02:04 PM

IF you have that quality then why not,you must be next karan johar or any other eminent actor or director.

I think you must join (FTII) TO GROOM AND NURTURE your talent and qualities.

you know (FTII) and JAMIA MILLIA ISLAMIA are known as actor and director producing industry.

NOW what are you thinking about just go and explore your dreams.

BEST OF LUCK.
23rd November 2009, 09:07 PM
Shafna Ashmi.A

Pursue ur degree in Visual communication... Join any film institute... Work as assistant in a film unit... U will get some exposure in film field.. Then u can go ahead...
25th November 2009, 02:04 PM
sarvenkatg

there should be two things to enter in film indus,..
one is Luck and another one is talent,...
Luck we cant say anything (Almighty will decide)
But talent, we should explore it,...
Join in a film institute,.. do well,..
if you are seeing film means, dont see as like others, see as a director,.. how they are doing,....
All the best and be the Best hero,...
2nd December 2009, 08:39 PM
maddusajj

there is no particular way to become an actor or a director.
if you have talent you can contact some big producer or director in the industry,or you can also join some acting school to improve your talent and it will also give you lots of exposure to the industry
29th December 2009, 02:31 PM
Esha Sharma

you can join NSD, Delhi i.e. national school of drama where eminent theatre personalities will guide you in shaping you acting or directing carrier.
Best of Luck for you future and wish to see you on silverscreen soon.
26th January 2010, 10:00 AM

you can join NSD delhi national school of drama
best of luck ........making a good career in this field needs a lots of patience
there is no single pathway to reach there in one step in this field
2nd February 2010, 10:28 PM
raya

since you are confused between being an actor or a director ,the best way is to know your own talent .
another way is to join THE WHISTLING WOODS ACADEMY , the most reputed academy in this field in india.
3rd February 2010, 01:50 AM
rrmohantysmile

the best possible answer to this question will be join any film instute as there are many to name a few and then start modelling and picking up ads at your society or place and participate in all the drama events and telivision programes but there is no such surity of getting a role as an actor and i am quite satisfied by the answer from the wisdom but with it i will like to add if you have the potential then you will certainly be appreciated try your luck if it works then you wil l aslso be a star but any surity is not there but as they say hard wrk is always rewarded and so is with your efforts . regarding director ten you must have to learn the art from film institutes and then only you can be a good director. wish you luck and success.
3rd February 2010, 10:47 AM
Aishwary

Hello....
If you have any quality then you can make actor or director..
you have to join any film institute to learn this type of thing...
3rd February 2010, 08:38 PM
Mintoo

to improve your acting skills you can join any institute who develops the acting........
3rd February 2010, 11:36 PM
Mintoo

Just join the institute which provides the acting cources and improve your acting skills........
4th February 2010, 12:28 AM
Mintoo

if you think that you can do acting and you are interested in it then only learn acting..............because without interest you can't do acting........
4th February 2010, 12:39 AM
bond007

if you really want to become an actor or director then you must have lots of creativity in you,you should have the ability to relate different thing with each other either in funy or serious way.i suggest you join some best institute to acting and for directing you should work under some good director.
4th February 2010, 02:26 PM

First things first - you need to sell yourself. Promote, network, and promote yourself some more. Starting out, you probably won't have a talent agent, manager or other form or representation. That's okay. Every actor begins working on their own and at the earliest stages of your acting career, you won't need an agent. However, even if you've already signed with a talent agent these rules still apply to you.
8th February 2010, 11:21 PM
gautam d wonder lover

i am agree with the fact what the wistom has written above......................
11th February 2010, 09:03 PM

if you interested to become a actor then, the first thing you need to realize is that this dream can become a reality if you're willing to put in the time, training, dedication, passion and patience required to make it in Hollywood.
12th February 2010, 05:25 PM
thakurbaba307

first of all join some film/drama training institute and hone your skills...you may also join some theatres and keep trying to send your profile to various program directors and producers.acting/direction is no longer a layman's work, you got to learn technical and proceural aspects of it. barry john has an academy in saidulajab near saket in delhi, he trained actors like shah-rukh khan,shiny arora, kaungna raut etc
12th February 2010, 10:22 PM
pradeep.g.u

you can become a actor or director by studying acting or directing course ..or by joining as a assistant and after gaining experience you can become a director
28th February 2010, 07:58 PM
princearyan

for becoming an actor you should join any film institute and must excel there.
like FTII is a recognised one.there are many other institutes in bombay join them
7th March 2010, 03:02 AM
mike shinoda back

if you want to be an actor or director.....then search the internet and find the good institution and admission there and after that improve your communication skills and acting skill................

all the best.....
15th March 2010, 02:37 AM
asish

for actor you have must have some talent and
also some things like
good looking ,smartness,dancing skills ,acting skill etc...
for director you have knowledge of real world perfectly...
in india many institutes offer these programme ...
you take admission join some theater..
good luck..
25th March 2010, 01:13 PM

dear friend......
To be a successful actor you really have to have a passion for the craft and the patience to wait for the big break. Although being an actor is extremely rewarding, finding work can be a challenge. The profession requires great commitment and fortitude.
30th March 2010, 09:05 PM
nalanda

now these day it is fashion and every body to be actor,
for for this you must have attractive personalities,good skill,
and also the knowledge do to acting.
and may be some apporch.
o k
31st March 2010, 03:18 PM
Bella

tjere are so many institutions providing courses in thif field join any one and make yourself perfect for the role or else just sharopen up your talenmt and put your feet
7th April 2010, 03:22 PM

to get in the film industry you first need to join the acting classes..
you will get the certificates of the acting classes you will complete successfully...
then you will have to try for the film industries...
this is totally a luck factor whether you get the chance or not.
you must be a handsome personality as well.

hope that you will get the chance and we will see you.
all the best ...
15th April 2010, 12:05 AM
dreamgirl

the field which you have choose is very nice. :-)
but it also depend on luck factor... so be careful about that.
join best acting classes a get the certificate.
13th September 2010, 07:00 PM
syedirshadameen

Post Re: How to become an actor or director?

You should have connection with any actor or director then you wil have chance to become actor or director it is not easy.
13th September 2010, 10:58 PM
Pritam Kalyan Chakraborty

First U have To Complete your graduation . after that you can join Film And Television Institute Of India , Pune . It is one of best institutes . else u can join Jamia Millia Islamia Institute, Delhi . Or u can join Satajit Ray film Institute . Kolkata . Last Two are also famous institutes .
Websites u may Require :-
FTII-http://www.ftiindia.com/
Jamia Mllia Islamia-jmi.nic.in/
SRFTI-srfti.gov.in
13th September 2010, 11:59 PM
noproblem

The Indian media and entertainment industry is one of the fastest growing industries in the country. Its various segments like film, television, advertising, print and digital have witnessed tremendous growth in the last few years. Experts say that the media and entertainment industry in India is likely to grow by 12.5 per cent per annum over the next five years and touch US$ 20.09 billion by 2013. Graduates of a media degree can make careers in Mass Communication, Journalism, Advertising, Public Relations, Film and TV, Event Management, Editing, Scriptwriting, Film Making etc.
14th September 2010, 12:58 AM
chaitu667

Hello friend!

Wow that sounds great, for the first time in education and career form I heard about Cinema field, I dont know about past.

Well for becoming an actor or a director you must have some talent and much interest in the respective field. Then there is a fair chance of becoming an actor or director. If you possess some talent then you have to join acting school where they can teach you about professional acting or directing. They will make you professional by taking out your skills that which are hidden in you.

All the chances wont come to you directly, for filmy chances you have to try hard to get into cine field. Try to convinience producers with what you have and prove your talent. Attend the auditions where there is a chance for your talent. Mostly you need one more thing and that is luck which plays a crucial role in your career.

Good luck!
14th September 2010, 01:18 AM
mini rani

To become an actor you must posses these qualities:

# You have good physique and you maintain it
# You have good voice
# You have good looks
# You have good acting capabilities
# You are a good networker and get along well with people

To become an actor you must learn acting & dancing. Formal traing will shorten your struggle. Apply to:
Film And Television Institute Of India (www.ftiindia.com) or
National School of Drama (nsd.gov.in).

If you can not get through them – then try some private institutes like Anupam Kher’s Actor Prepares – The School for Actors (www.actorprepares.net).

Start networking with folks in bollywood and other woods in India – use online networking tools, your contacts in a focussed manner and connect with as many people as you can.
14th September 2010, 08:06 AM
meeria

if you want to be an actor then you should join any film institute and must excel there.

like I think you must join FTII. and do hard work .

have a good day
14th September 2010, 11:14 AM
August

if you want to be an actor or director then i will suggest you to go for joining an acting school.

there are many acting schools that you can join in India as well as in abroad.

21st January 2011, 07:40 PM
f66x3skfc7m

Originally Posted by amritesh singh View Post
HI, thanks a lot for this. It really helped me out!
23rd January 2011, 10:03 PM
dreksha chaudhary

For becoming a movie director, attend film school, compile material for a film reel and get the attention of different production ...
And for Becoming an actor requires taking a variety of acting classes and getting an acting coach, headshots and a resume. Achieve the ...

14th June 2011, 03:30 PM

which is the most demandable job in film industry that one can earn minimum 50000 in a month
28th October 2011, 06:04 PM
srikanthreddypalwai

hii friend...you should have following qualities to become actor or director.......

Actors perform in stage, radio, television, video, or motion picture productions. They also work in cabarets, nightclubs, and theme parks. Actors portray characters, and, for more complex roles, they research their character's traits and circumstances so that they can better understand a script.

Most actors struggle to find steady work and only a few achieve recognition as stars. Others work as “extras,” with no lines to deliver. Some actors do voiceover and narration work for advertisements, animated features, books on tape, and other electronic media. They also teach in high school or university drama departments, acting conservatories, or public programs.

Directors are responsible for the overall creative decisions of a production. They interpret scripts, audition and select cast members, conduct rehearsals, and direct the work of cast and crew. They approve the design elements of a production, including the sets, costumes, choreography, and music. As with producers, large productions often have many levels of directors working on them. Assistant directors cue the performers and technicians, telling them when to make entrances or light, sound, or set changes. All directors must ultimately answer to the executive producer, who has the final say on all factors related to the production
12th January 2012, 08:18 PM
ram1246

HI

ACTOR or DIRECTOR

so my dear friend so many are asking question about MBA ,SOFTWARE,and many questions about education but your the one who asked different ques thats really awesome .

friend i think you know about short films so,first if you want to become actor or director .

you can act and direct at a time and you see your performance by exposing like uploading it in youtube are you can attempt in competition .

Here are some of the acting and directing schools were you can learn many thing check it out buddy

GUPTA FILMS ACADEMY LEARN ACTING & DANCE GET WORK ACTING/MODELING

ROCK STAR ACTING ACADEMY 9867702555

starborn acting school

ALL THE BEST BUDDY I SHOULD SEE YOU ON THE SCREEN
8th October 2012, 04:33 PM
mahaveer singh jadon

Arrow actor

I want to be become a part of your industry, if you would bless me to give a aportunity to get in your industry, i sould be very obliige to u.

your's
Mahaveer singh jadon
2nd December 2012, 01:09 AM
zara Abbasi

i am zara Abbasi from pakistan,i am going to tell you about my self, i am 18teen years old girl, i am interested in showbiz life since i was born, you can take my audition,as you like, i also work at media when i was 13teen years,.. so how i send my CV,at your address? please.. kindly guide me... i am also talented girl,. i am archetypical mind,..
3rd February 2013, 06:48 PM
Ashwinkumar9009

Smile Re: How to become an actor or director?

So, you don’t want to go to film school because you don’t want to end up with a “bunch of wannabes”? I hate to break it to you but right now that’s exactly what you are – you “wannabe” in film and you’re not, there’s no shame in that. You live in Canada and there are great (more affordable) film schools there boasting many successful graduates. It would seem a person who is passionate about pursuing a dream (whatever it is) would be a fount of knowledge on their goal – yet you know very little about yours. I remember sitting in movie theaters when I first began chasing my dreams in the film industry and at the first roll of credits I could tell you every film credit connected to every name that crawled past. I know that’s why “answers” is here, but it seems as if you’ve done very little to learn about this dream you say you’re after, which makes one question if it’s something you’re really serious about.

Assuming you are serious, you should have your head in every book, screenplay and film that educates you on the industry. How many successful Asian directors are there?...if you take it upon yourself to spend hours at a film library every week you’ll discover there’s more than you can count (depending on your definition of success). There are several independent film clubs/organizations that allow its members to rent equipment at a discounted rate and offer regular seminars all over Canada, there are even film-making camps for aspiring student filmmakers. All this groundwork might lead you to realize becoming a director is more than hard work, or everyone would be in the director’s chair. It’s a delicate mix of creativity, communication, interpretation…too many things to name and the pay scale varies just as greatly.
19th April 2013, 09:42 PM

sir, iam studying C.A(ipcc).But i want to become an acto from my childhood.So after completion of CA coaching may i join in this? main problem is i dont have social network but i am intrested in acting. I took decision in my childhood. please give sugession to me and my phone number is 8897115239.

thankyou sir prudviganesh
19th April 2013, 09:42 PM

sir, iam studying C.A(ipcc).But i want to become an acto from my childhood.So after completion of CA coaching may i join in this? main problem is i dont have social network but i am intrested in acting. I took decision in my childhood. please give sugession to me and my phone number is 8897115239.

thankyou sir prudviganesh
27th June 2013, 09:54 PM

I want to be an actor. ,beacuse i have acting, ,and i can be a good actor