8th December 2012, 05:33 PM
pragya khator

How to give CLAT exam while doing B.Com

I am a student doing B.com...I want to give CLAT exam in 2013...Can i give that Exam?or Suggest me something Good please....

9th December 2012, 12:18 PM
sherleytwain
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to give CLAT exam while doing B.Com

I think since you are doing Bachelor of Commerce, it would be wise not to attempt CLAT and instead complete your graduation. Once you have B.Com, apply for the LLB 3 years course which is offered by various universities.

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is conducted for government law colleges. However this exam is conducted for candidates who want admission for integrated LLB course also known as BA LLB course.

It would not make sense to leave your graduation in between to apply for law course. You can do the same after completing your graduation as well. The CLAT exam is conducted for candidates who have completed 12th. It is because BA LLB course is for the 12th pass candidates.

On the other hand LLB course is for graduates. The difference between two courses is that BA LLB includes subjects from bachelor course and therefore its duration is 5 years. LLB, since its pursued after graduation, the duration is 3 years.

I would not suggest you to leave the commerce graduation in between and apply for CLAT. But still if you want to do then here is the criteria to apply.

CLAT Eligibility

1. Must have passed Class 12th from recognized board.

2. Minimum of 50 percent marks in 12th are required.

3. SC/ST/OBC/PWD need 45 percent marks in 12th.

4. You must have completed 12th at the time of applying and should be able to submit the proof of the same.

5. The age limit for CLAT is 20 years.

6. Age limit for SC/ST/PWD is 22 years.
12th December 2012, 10:15 PM
dhirajen18
Senior Member+++++

CLAT - Common Law Admission Test conducted by reputed Law Institutions for admission to LL.B.(Bachelor of Law) course.