8th October 2011, 12:36 AM
rajeshpai

Is it possible to appear for IPS exam at an age of 42 years?

I am a 42 year old man, Bcom graduate and working in abroad and I want to appear for IPS exam on return to India. Is this possible me to appear for IPS exam as I am 42 year old of age? Kindly advice me.

Rajesh Pai.

8th October 2011, 07:24 AM
lvnareshsunrise

Default Re: Is this possible for me to appear for IPS Exam at an age of 42 years?

I am sorry to say that you are not eligible to appear for IPS Exam at an age of 42 years. Here is the age criteria for IPS Exam.

-One should be in the age group of 21-30 years to be eligible for IPS Exam.
-Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 3 years for the candidates of OBC.
-Realxation is there in upper age limit upto 5 years for the candidates of SC/ST.
-Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 5 years for the candidates of Ex-Serviceman.

As per this criteria, you are not eligible to appear for IPS Exam.

You mentioned that you are working in abroad. I suggest you to carry on with your work over there.

If you have profound interest to come to back to India, you can come and look for other job opportunites in the area where you are doing job now.

Because candidates who have work experience in abroad are in good demand in India.
8th October 2011, 09:10 AM
jevirsinh

Default Re: Is this possible for me to appear for IPS Exam at an age of 42 years?

Hello friend

sorry friend you are to late because for IPS exam your age is not eligible

Age criteria for IPS..
The minimum eligible age for general candidate is 21 years and the maximum age limit is 30 years.
Relaxation of age for candidate belonging to OBC category is 3 years and
candidate belonging to SC/STcategory is 5 years.

thanks..
8th October 2011, 10:18 AM

Sorry to say that you are not eligible for IPS exam because your age is 42 years.

It is over age of IPS age criteria.Maximum age is for IPS is 35 years for Sc/ST candidate.

IPS exam is conducted by UPSC. There are some criteria you have to follow for appearing in IPS exam.

Those candidate have completed graduation in any discipline from recognized university are eligible for IPS exam.

But your age should be in between 21-30years for general candidate.
In IPS exam their is provide age relaxation for OBC candidate is 3years and for SC/ST candidate is 5 years.

The maximum attempts for Sc/ST candidate is Unlimited. For OBC candidate it is 7 years and for general candidate it will be 5 years.

Also you must be citizen of India.

PROCESS BECOME A IPS OFFICER:-

1. Fill up the Application form.

2.Preliminary exam is consist of two papers.

a) General studies -----150 marks

b)From Optional subject -------300 marks

3.If you have qualify in Preliminary exam then you have to go for IPS mains exam.

4.After completion of your main exam you have to go for Interview.

8th October 2011, 11:16 AM
ashok880

Now you are not eligible for IPS exam.

Eligibility criteria for IPS exam:
Candidate should have complete graduation degree with any stream from a recognized university.
Age should be between 21 to 30 years for General category candidates,21 to 33 years for OBC category candidates,21 to 35 years for SC/ST category candidates.

For more details,then see this attachment
File Type: pdf cs2011_eng.pdf(346.2 KB, 106 views)
8th October 2011, 11:34 AM
gamble007

No!, you can not appear for this civil service exam, as your over aged candidates.
the age limit for this exam is 21-30,.
if you are belong to SC\ST\OBC category, even then you are not eligible .
there are only 5 & 3 years of relaxation for SC\ST & OBC candidates respectively,.
8th October 2011, 12:14 PM
saasmari

Dear pal,
The exam has age limit which you need to satisfy along with your educational qualification.you have already ran out of your age criteria you have no chance of writing the exam.The maximum age limit is 35 that too for sc/st candidates with relaxation .
And so you can not apply.
8th October 2011, 12:38 PM

no way. sorry you are not eligiable for the IPS Exam at an age of 42 years

as the maximum age limit for the IPS Exam are given below

21-30 years as on date of the exam.

(Upper age limit relaxable for SCs/STs, OBCs and certain other categories).
For SC/ST candidates between 21 and 35 years of age.

For OBC candidates between 21 and 33 years of age.

so it is not possible for you to give the IPS exam.

all the best.........
8th October 2011, 12:40 PM
sandeepsonipoly

Smile Re: Is this possible for me to appear for IPS Exam at an age of 42 years?

Originally Posted by rajeshpai View Post

I am a 42 year old man, Bcom graduate and working in abroad and I want to appear for IPS exam on return to India. Is this possible me to appear for IPS exam as I am 42 year old of age? Kindly advice me.

Rajesh Pai.
rajesh, sorry to say but at the age of 42 you are not eligible for IPS exam. because age criteria are;
a candidate should be 21 to 30 year and age relaxation for
SC/ST CANDIDATE: 5 YEAR
OBC: 3 YEAR
EX-SERVICEMAN : 5 YEAR..
it is nice, you are come back in India, in india more demand of foreign experience person,
so you can get a good job here.
8th October 2011, 01:30 PM
tejesh_09

No, it is not possible for you to appear fr IPS exam at the age of 42 years.

The requirment for IPS exam is as follows:-

1. Age limit 21 to 30 years for general candidate which is relaxed for upper age limit up to 3 years for OBC candidate and 5 years for SC/ST and Ex-serviceman candidate
8th October 2011, 03:57 PM
manojkulkarni

Default Re: Is it possible to appear for IPS exam at an age of 42 years?

No sir age limit is upto 21-30yrs.,with age relaxation of 2-5 yrs according to caste.also with 4 attemts for open students,8 for Nt and unlimited for Sc canditates.
8th October 2011, 06:28 PM
gamble007

I am sorry , you can not appear for this exam , as your over aged ,,,. the age limit for this exam is 21-30,.
there are 5 & 3 years of relaxations are given to SC\ST & OBC candidates, respectively.
for apply in this exam you must have to complete your graduation in any disciple .
8th October 2011, 07:36 PM
raju bhai

sorry friends, your age is over so you are not eligible IPS exam.
minimum eligibility for IPS exam is-
-candidates should must be graduates from a recognized university with any discipline
the age requirement is 21-30 years
-relaxation for sc/st candidates upto 5 years
-relaxation for OBC candidates upto 3 years

11th December 2011, 10:35 PM
balafederer

No, it is not possible to appear for IPS(Indian Police Services) exam at the age of 42 years.

* Candidates should be the citizen of India.
* Candidates should complete graduation from recognized university.
* You should have age limit within 21 to 30 years.
* For OBC category age limit 21 to 33 years
* For SC/ST category age limit 21 to 35 years.
* Final year candidates are also eligible.

Attempts:

* For general - 4 attempts
* For OBC - 7 attempts
* For SC/ST - No limit

Procedure:

1. Preliminary exam
2. Main Exam
3. Interview

Best wishes
13th December 2011, 03:38 AM

Rajesh Pai.
HI SIR,
I am sorry to say that you are not eligible for I.P.S exam at the age of 42 year.

I.P.S exam is conducted by U.P.S.C.

Eligibility criteria:-
> Pass the graduation from recognized university.
> Age limit:-
For open category:-21-30year
For OBC category :- 21-33year
For ST/SC category:-21-37 year
25th April 2012, 10:57 PM
hlr

Sorry you are not eligible for IPS exam.
Because age limit is 21-30 years. Age relaxation is given by govt. rules
Maximum 7 years is relaxation for sc/st student.
So,
You are not eligible.
26th April 2012, 06:55 PM
ravi17283

no sir it is not possible to write UPSC because the maximum age limit for general quota person is 30 years.even if you belong to some other caste it won't be possible in any extension criteria...sorry to say....
19th October 2012, 02:55 PM

I am now in second year of graduation and i want to know that can i apply in final year for IPS, and i also have eyeglasses, so can i eligible for IPS because of eyeglasses ?
30th December 2012, 04:53 PM
educationindia

Hi Friends...........

Its NOT POSSIBLE to appear for the IPS exam at the age of 42 years........

SORRY TO SAY
31st December 2012, 02:48 AM
siddjain93

Rajesh Pai.

Sorry to say you but you can't appear in IPS exam at the age of 42 years. As your age is 42 years , so you are not eligible to appear in the IAS/IPS exam. This is a civil services exam. This civil service exam is conducted by UPSC once in a year for the selection of talented and most candidates for the post of IAS. IPS etc.

In order to appear in IAS exam the candidates should be an Indian and he should have completed their Graduation in any stream from a recognized university. Even if you are in final year of your Graduation course then also you can appear in this exam. There is no minimum marks requirement in Graduation for appearing in this exam. Those candidates who have just passed Graduation can also apply for this exam.

Age Limits:

For appearing in civil services IAS/IPS exam there is some age limits. If you are under these limits then you can appear in this exam. The age limits for IAS exam is:-

For General Category Candidates: For General Category candidates the minimum age should be 21 years and their age should not exceed more than 30 years.

For OBC Category candidates:- For OBC Category candidates there is 3 years age relaxation. For OBC candidates minimum age should be 21 years and their age should not exceed more than 33 years.

For SC/ST Category candidates: For SC/ST Category candidates there is 5 years age relaxation. For them the minimum age should be 21 years and their age should not exceed more than 35 years.

Number of Attempts:-

For general category candidates:-3

For OBC category candidates:-5

For SC/ST category candidates:-No limit.
17th April 2013, 10:35 AM

kya koi aisa tarika hai ki 36 saal me ias ips ya us rank ki koi exam de sake