23rd June 2013, 03:45 PM
BALRAMSINGH24

What is the average salary of a software engineer in India?

Sir, i just only wanna ask a simple question that what is the avg salary of an software engineer in india?

10th March 2015, 07:59 PM

Default Re: What is the average salary of a software engineer in India?

i hve doing mca software system nd wanna to knw abt salary nd jobs fr m bcz it is too expensive
20th March 2015, 08:20 PM

Originally Posted by BALRAMSINGH24 View Post
Sir, i just only wanna ask a simple question that what is the avg salary of an software engineer in india?
Well, India is on the path mission of making it as “Digital India”, therefore to have jobs in the field of Software as engineer is surely a lucrative job opportunity for the skillful people. It is estimated that for not much experienced Software Engineer/ Developer i.e. those who have their experience in Software Industry with not more than 3-4 years with not much strong skill have Rs. 3.5 Lakhs per annum as an approximate salary.

But with the case of Software Engineer/ Developer/ Programmer who have their skills in Java/J2EE, Linux/Unix and Mainframe along with 3-4 years of experience is paid minimum Rs.6.00 Lakhs p.a. as an approximate salary for a Software Engineer/ Developer/ Programmer.
21st March 2015, 12:50 PM
er.animesh6

Smile Re: What is the average salary of a software engineer in India?

Dear Guest,

For a B.Tech pass out student the Salary offered by Software companies like TCS,Wipro,Accenture,IBM is 3.2-3.6 Lakh/Annam.

For M.Tech pass out student they offer 4-4.5 Lakh/Annam.

For An MBA student Software companies offer 5-6 Lakh Per Annam.

Obviously for 2-3 years experience Software Engineers will get greater Salary than a freshers.

er.animesh6
21st March 2015, 05:34 PM
Pwg_31

Software Engineering is a very broad field. There are immense opportunities to grow and to make your dreams come true. Now, taking your question.

Salary of any profession doesn't depend on the trade only, there are several other factors on which the income depends.
Like for example-
1. The college in which one does his/her graduation.
2. Your grades in graduation.
3. The company in which you are going to be placed.
4. The market scenario.

See, if you are a part of a good college, then definitely you will get a high package. In IIt's CS engineers get even as much as 50 lack pa. In NIIT's companies offer 10-12 lack pa, while if you do your graduation from a pvt. college your package may range from 2.4 to 4.8 lack pa.

So, its all depends.
21st March 2015, 08:12 PM
sandeepsaini.saini522

The average salary for a Software Engineer / Developer / Programmer is Rs 355,260 per year. People in this job generally don't have more than 10 years' experience. Skills that are associated with high pay for this job are Linux, Java/J2EE, and Mainframe. Experience strongly influences income for this job.
22nd March 2015, 12:42 AM
divyanakra

After completion of B.Tech when you join any company as a software engineer your salary depends on the college from which you have done your B.Tech. If you have done B.tech from a reputed college like IIT your salary in tens of lakhs and if you have done from any college which does not have so much name you can get on an average 3 to 6 lakhs as an entrance. Then you get salary hike as per your performance.
22nd March 2015, 09:53 AM
aadhihosur123

Smile Re: What is the average salary of a software engineer in India?

The average salary of a software engineer in india depends on the post occupied, the salary of people who complete B.Tech from colleges like VIT, SRM etc get placed in the range of 2.2-3.6 lacs at companies like cognizant, TCS, CTS, accenture etc. The same companies offer much higher pay for people who have completed their M.Tech, and a higher pay for people who complete their MBA and becom business analysts.
Whereas, companies like google, amazon etc recruit student who complete their B.techs from better colleges like IITs, NITs etc can get placed at salaries even as high as 24 lacs p.a. with included shares etc.
22nd March 2015, 07:28 PM
matamanju

Hello Friend

Median salary of a software engineer in India is around 3.6 lakh

Because there are too many software engineers in India.

And also India is churning out 1 million new engineers every year.

The average fresh software engineering graduate in India can barely program and 40 percent of then fail the Fizz Buzz test.

Most people with this job move on to other positions after 10 years in this field.

Pay for this job rises steadily for more experienced workers.

But goes down significantly for the few employees with more than 20 years experience.
23rd March 2015, 07:03 AM
kkghorla

My dear the salary of an engineer does not depend that from where you got the education and which university has given you the education it can be that you have passed from any NIT and you are lack in knowledge than a candidate passed degree from a simple collage then what is benefit of the NIT then benefit goes to that skilled person who even got skills from self study even in a simple collage.

So that,s all depends on the skills and knowledge and the ability you have in you to do something better than other if you have some programming skills, knowledge of languages and CAD, CAM then you look different than others and you will be in the first preference than others because you can give your better contribution for the company and they need only you dedication towards them and work, which can not be given without skills.

If you have knowledge of-

Computer programming

C,C++

Java

NET

Orcale

HTML

Software designing.

Then you are a perfect software engineers and also some new computer languages are also coming in the market if you got it then you are a really professional software engineer and can expect a salary package of minimum 4-6 Lac Per annum and also you can also go forward in your life on your basis as you can design new software that are need of today market and after getting a patent you can sold them to any company interested or can make a contract on that basis with a company many brilliant young person in this world are doing this.

2nd November 2015, 05:20 AM

What is the starting salary of software engineer after b tech in India p.m.