19th December 2013, 06:46 PM
Unregistered

Graduate with B.A. (English) is eligible for IAS Exam?

I am a graduate now with B.A (english) and I want to do preparation for IAS further.

Information i could find on the internet created a bit doubt in my mind about my subjects in graduation .Though i have a bachelor degree but i don't have any subject mentioned as following for being eligible for IAS exams

"Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physcs, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Enginerring or an equivalent qualification"

I was having following subjects in Graduation -English Literature , Sociology and Economics .

so please guys tell me the right thing ,am i eligible or not?

thanks

8th January 2014, 07:21 PM
ExpertAnswers
Senior Member+++

Default Re: Graduate with B.A. (English) is eligible for IAS Exam?

Yes, of course you are eligible for the IAS exam. Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Engineering these subjects are for the science students.

So, don't worry you can apply for the IAS exam as the Arts student and as you have economics and Sociology in graduation then you can apply for the IAS with these subjects.

Eligibility for the IAS:
The candidate should be Indian.
The candidate should have minimum 50% marks in graduation.
And there is no necessity to have any particular subject in graduation and in the mains exam you have to choose a combination of subject which are the subjects of your mains exam.

There are number of attempts which are given below:
For Gen: 4 attempts
For OBC: 7 attempts
For SC: No limits

And there is 3 stages for clear the IAS exam: