29th August 2011, 03:32 AM
raushan52

Can I apply for IAS exam after graduation in Arts(English) stream?

i am a graduate. i have done my graduation in arts (english) streem can i apply for ias exam?

30th August 2011, 08:10 AM
aditya436

Arrow Re: Can I apply for IAS exam after graduation in Arts(English) stream?

Originally Posted by raushan52 View Post
i am a graduate. i have done my graduation in arts (english) streem can i apply for ias exam?
Yes friend you are eligible for IAS exam which is officially called as UPSC civil service examination.

The basic eligibility criteria required to appear in this examination is as follows.
->You should have a minimum degree certificate from a recognized Indian University.
->You should get the minimum age of 21 years.

this is the simple eligibility criterion required to appear in IAS exam.

Graduation from any stream are eligible for the examination there is nothing particular one should from a certain stream or background like.

A engineer is eligible
and even a A commerce graduate eligible.
An Arts student

every Indian graduate is eligible.
To view the exact examination code and all the other details you can log on to the official website of UPSC.

To view the official website Just Click here !!

~AdityA~

30th August 2011, 08:38 AM
nitz90

Default Re: Can I apply for IAS exam after graduation in Arts(English) stream?

yes u are eligible..anyone who is a graduate from a recognized university and is within the age limit of 21-30 years is eligible for giving the civil service exams..u have a maximum of 4 attempts..

30th August 2011, 08:52 AM
vasu&sakshi

Smile Re: Can I apply for IAS exam after graduation in Arts(English) stream?

Yes friend you are eligible for IAS exam.because eligibility criteria required
1.You will be graduate from a any Indian University/College.
2.age will be 21(minimum).

SO you will be eligible for this every indian who is graduate will be eligible for this

official website is:-http://www.upsc.gov.in/

30th August 2011, 09:03 AM
nambardar

yes , you are eligible for this exam.
ias exam criteria:
minimum qualifiaction is graducation
age criteria is from 21 to 30 years.
after filling these requirments you are also applicable for ias exam.

30th August 2011, 09:11 AM

yes, you can apply for IAS exam after graduation in Arts(English) stream.

Eligibility Criteria For IAS exam is

Educational Qualifications :

Minimum Graduate in any discipline from a university recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC).

candidate can appear for the Prelims even if the final year's result is awaited provided you produce it while filling the Mains form.

Age limits :

21-30 years as on date of the exam. (Upper age limit relaxable for SCs/STs, OBCs and certain other categories). For SC/ST candidates between 21 and 35 years of age.
For OBC candidates between 21 and 33 years of age.

all the best..............

30th August 2011, 10:28 AM

B.A(ENGLISH) department are eligible for IAS exam but you have completed your graduation degree.

IAS exam are conducted by UPSC.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA :-

Educational Qualifications for IAS :

Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Engineering or an equivalent qualification.

Age limit:

21 years must be completed on 1st August of the year, which a candidate is appearing. Maximum 30 for general category, 33 for OBCs and 35 for SCs/STs.

How to apply:

Apply online by using the website http://www.upsconline.nic.in

30th August 2011, 12:11 PM
nikhilbachu89

you are definitely eligible for i.a.s. examinations: and the eligibility is as fallows
1) Age limits :21-30 years as on 1.7.2011. (Upper age limit relaxable for SCs/STs, OBCs!
2)Educational Qualifications :
Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physcs, Statistics and Zoology!
3) No. of permissible attempts :
Four (Seven attemps of OBCs and no limit for Sc/sts!
4)Fee :If you have paid the requisite fee of Rs. 100/
If you have not paid the fee and are claiming fee remission as SC, ST or Physically Handicapped!

30th August 2011, 03:04 PM
jxsab

Talking Re: Can I apply for IAS exam after graduation in Arts(English) stream?

Yeah ofcourse!!!

There are chances of you applying for the IAS exam as the minimum education qualification for the exam is at least a degree from a recognzied university.

The other criteria's which you must satisfy are:

-> Candidate must have a citizenship in India.

-> Candidate who are from General category must have a age limit of 21-30 years.

-> Candidates who are from SC/ST category must have a age limit of 21-35 years.

-> Candidates who are from OBC category must have a age limit of 21-33 years.

-> Candidate who are Ex-service men will get a 5 years exception.

-> Candidate must have a degree from a recognized university with a fair percentage.

-> Candidate who are writing their final degree exam can also apply for the exam.

Attempts that are allowed in the exam are:

The candidate who are from SC/ST category has no limit.

The candidate who are from OBC category will get 7.

The candidate who are from General category will get 4.

The candidate are selected for the IAS post through 3 stages:

Preliminary exam
Main exam
Interview.

For more information regarding the exam you can check at http://www.upsc.gov.in

30th August 2011, 03:29 PM

Being a graduate, you can definitely write civil service exam. The examination is conducted by union public service commission and according to its guidelines, a graduate, in any discipline is eligible to write the exam.
The minimum eligible age is 21 years.
The maximum age limit is 30 years.
Maximum age limit is relaxed for candidates belonging to SC/ST and OBC category.

Since there is no restriction regarding the stream and percentage of marks, you can write civil service exam.

30th August 2011, 04:03 PM
dhruv007

why not! you are totally eligible for appearing in this examination .the minimum requirement for apply for this exam is you must to complete your graduation in any stream from any recognized university. there is age limit exist 21-30 years . (5 years relaxation for SC\ST candidates).

30th August 2011, 04:18 PM
Snehamay ganguly

IAS exam is a civil service exam, which is conducted by UPSC every year...
To appear in IAS exam you have to fulfill some eligibility criteria for IAS exam..
Eligibility criteria for IAS exam:-

*The candidate must have complete the graduation in any trade..
*The candidates age should be in between 21-30 years..
For SC/ST the age relaxation is 5 years and for OBC the age relaxation is 3 years..

As you have done your graduation in ARTs stream then if you satisfy the age criteria, you can appear in IAS exam..

All the best..

30th August 2011, 05:06 PM
infoysis

Yes your eligible for the I.A.S examination ,

Education qualification for I.A.S Examination :

you should be finished under graduation course in any stream with 60% percentage of marks from recognized institution . if your belonging from sc/st candidates then the relaxation is given to 55% percentage of marks . every banks are give first preference to commerce stream candidates .

Age Limit for I.A.S Examination :

your age should be 21 to 30 years and the relaxation is given to sc/st candidates for 5 years and obc candidates for 3 years and handicapped and ex-service man for 10 years .

30th August 2011, 06:52 PM

I Have completed BCA....and I am doing MCA first year.........I would like to have a job in companies like INFOSIS,APPLE,WIPRO,TCS................how can I study and prepare myself to get good placements....?

30th August 2011, 07:04 PM
dhruv007

why not! you are totally eligible for appearing in this examination , because the minimm requirement for apply for this exam is you have to complete your graduation, within the age limit of 21-30 years. this exam consist of three papers
1. pre\CSAT
2. mains
3. interview,

Syllabus : pre\CSAT

It consits of two paper and each paper of Two hrs..

(Paper 1) (200 marks) consists of
Current events of national and internal importance
History of india and indian national movement
Geography
Indian Polity and governance
Economic and social development
and General science.

(Paper II) (200 marks)
Comprehension
Logical reasoning and analytical ability
Decision making and problem solving
General mental ability
Basic numeracy(Class X level)
English language comprehension skills (Class X level)

Last date for receipt of application : 21.3.11.

30th August 2011, 07:55 PM
rana2011

yes u are eligible..anyone who is a graduate from a recognized university and is within the age limit of 21-30 years is eligible for giving the civil service exams..u have a maximum of 4 attempts.

Thanks!!

30th August 2011, 10:15 PM
sandipk

The eligibility criteria:

degree of any of the Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educatsional institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be a Deemed University under the UGC Act, 1956, or an equivalent qualification.

That's why you are definitely eligible for it,,
So prepare for it..

Good luck..~~`

17th December 2011, 10:30 AM

Hi good morning sir,
I have completed my b.a. english literature. My ambition is to become an i.a.s officer. My parents are uneducated. I have nobody to guide me. I dont know how to prepare for ias exams. Please guide me as to how i should prepare for ias examinations.
Thank you....

17th December 2011, 06:33 PM
jayparikh

Thumbs up Re: Can I apply for IAS exam after graduation in Arts(English) stream?

Can I apply for IAS exam after graduation in Arts(English) stream?

Hi friend,

you can definitely apply for IAS exam , as you are graduate, stream doesn't matter for this exam.

Here are the eligibility criteria for this exam:-

-A person should be graduate.

-Candidate's age should be between 21 to 30.

-Graduation should be minimum 55%

-Candidate should know English and Hindi.

so, if you meet above criteria , then you are eligible.

for any other query , please write it here.

regards.

21st December 2011, 09:18 PM

Yes you can apply for I.A.S exam after completing graduation with any stream.

I.A.S exam is conducted by U.P.S.C once in a year.

Eligibility criteria:-

> Pass the graduation with any stream from recognized university.
> Age limit:-
For open category:-21-30year
For OBC category :- 21-33year
For ST/SC category:-21-37 year
> Number of attempts:-
For open category:- 4
For ST/SC category:-7
> Must be citizen of India.

For more detail log on to www.upsc.gov.in

ALL THE BEST!

15th March 2012, 06:48 PM
kaveribiswas

you are eligible for IAS exam which is officially called as UPSC civil service examination.

The basic eligibility criteria required to appear in this examination is as follows.
->You should have a minimum degree certificate from a recognized Indian University.

Graduation from any stream are eligible for the examination there is nothing particular one should from a certain stream or background like.

A engineer is eligible
An Arts student

Good luck........................

15th March 2012, 06:50 PM
kaveribiswas

you are eligible for IAS exam which is officially called as UPSC civil service examination.

A engineer is eligible
An Arts student

Good luck........................