6th December 2010, 05:57 PM
gvssrini

What are the requirements needed for IAS/IPS exam?

hello sir/madam,
I am final year engineering student, i want to know about the requirements need for IAS/IPS

9th December 2010, 07:41 AM

Default Re: What are the requirements needed for IAS/IPS exam?

The basic requirement is that the candidate must have completed his graduation from a recognized university. Also there is a minimum age requirement of 21 years. Also you will be allowed 4 attempts.
9th December 2010, 01:25 PM

For IAS/IPS, you will need to write civil service exam conducted by UPSC.

The minimum academic qualification required to write the exam is a bachelor's degree from a recognised university.

You should have attained the age of 21 years and should not be over 30 years. (relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST and 3 years for OBC)

The application form is available in the designated Head Post Offices/Post Offices after the notification by UPSC. The advertisement for the same will be published in all leading newspapers including Employment News.

The filled application form should be submitted to
Secretary,
Union Public Service Commission
Dholpur House
Shahjahan Road
New Delhi - 110069

The selection process includes 3 stages
1. Preliminary Exam
2. Main Exam
3. Interview

But according to sources, the preliminary exam will be replaced by civil service aptitude test from next year and the pattern of main exam is supposed to remain the same.
For further information, please visit the official website of UPSC.
19th January 2011, 12:22 PM

how to prepare for the IPS/IAS exam
23rd January 2011, 11:56 PM
abhimanyu2688

To appear in IAS/IPS exam which is conducted by UPSC, following things are required:

1. Educational Qualification: A graduate in any discipline from a Recognised University/College in India. Only Pass in graduate is required and marks obtained in graduation is not essential.
A Final Year student is also eligible to write the exam as an appearing candidate.
2. Age Limit: Minimum 21 years and Maximum 30 Years.

The date of UPSC CS Prelims Exam is 12.06.2011

For syllabus kindly visit www.upsc.gov.in and also read the employment news for regular updates.

Good Luck.
27th January 2011, 11:24 AM

what is syllabus of ips/ias
28th January 2011, 02:20 PM
prashantmeghalia

Originally Posted by gvssrini View Post
hello sir/madam,
I am final year engineering student, i want to know about the requirements need for IAS/IPS
for these exams, a student must be under the age limit of 21 to 30 years. he must have done graduation with atleast 60% marks, and must be having atleast 50% marks in 12th class. the notification for the exam will come in the employment news. you can also check that by visiting their official website
www.upsc.gov.in
4th February 2011, 06:41 PM
Ankur agrawal

just basic req. are
1. Age should be upto 21
2. ONE graduation
3.dont attampt exeed 4 time ..
that's it
2nd March 2011, 09:41 AM

wt % recquired
6th March 2011, 11:57 PM
kapila Chaudhary

Eligibility Criteria for UPSC Exam for IAS/IPS:

1.Age limit
21 - 30 years for general category,
33 for OBCs and
35 for SCs/STs .

2. Educational Qualifications :

Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physcs, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Enginerring or an equivalent qualification.

3. Number of Attempts
Four attempts for open, seven for OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs. If a person appears in the Preliminary Examination or even one paper is counted as an attempt.

· Apply online by using the website http://www.upsconline.nic.in
· Apply offline by purchasing the application form from designated post offices throughout the country.

For complete details : http://www.upsc.gov.in

8th March 2011, 11:24 AM
venkataprakash.v

IAS Eligibility criteria :

Age Limits :

21 - 30 yrs for General candidates.

21 - 33 yrs for OBC Candidates.

21 - 35 yrs for SC/ST candidates.

Education qualification :

The candidate must possess a bachelor degree from any recognized university.

Those in the final year of a degree course can also Eligible.

Number of Attempts :

4 attempts for general candidates.

7 attempts for OBC candidates.

There is no restriction on the number of attempts in the case of SC/ST candidates.

The Notification was already released.See the Employment News 19 - 25 feb

Apply online by the using website : www.upsconline.nic.in

Application forms are available in various designated post offices through out the country.

More details,Visit the website : www.upsc.gov.in
25th March 2011, 07:47 PM
shahul1423

you should have completed your graduation from any branch of studies from any recognized university. and you should have completed age of 21 years.
26th March 2011, 04:54 PM

Do we have to send marksheet along with our application form for prelims exam ?
3rd May 2011, 10:09 PM

sir, i am the student of B.Tech 3rd year. can i sit in exam after 3rd year.
4th May 2011, 11:23 AM

Last Date of Application Submission
7th May 2011, 11:28 PM

sir my name is aneesh and i am doing ma degree bbm.i have finfshed ma 2nd year can i sit for the examination
18th May 2011, 06:55 PM

Is it okay, if completed graduation and PUC as an external candidate?
19th May 2011, 01:00 PM
Ankur agrawal

sir my name is aneesh and i am doing ma degree bbm.i have finfshed ma 2nd year can i sit for the examination
hii,

Yes you can apply for the perticular examination ...
It has requried any bechlor degree....

Anku r
20th May 2011, 08:07 AM

hi i am lalit from bulandshahr, i wanna give IAS exam, how i get application form, when forms are available,
21st May 2011, 12:00 AM
VEERU_VIRENDR

Prelims for upsc (IAS) exam, manually conducted in may and mains in the month of october.generally forms avails in february/march.
*Eligibility-graduation from affiliated university with min. 60%, or equivalent in any stream.
*age limit-21-30yr. On 1st july of exam year.
There is age relaxation for reserved category.
For more information you can visit-www.upsc.gov.in
ok, best of luck.
21st May 2011, 12:04 AM
VEERU_VIRENDR

Yeah, if you are graduate from affiliated university with min. 60%, or equivalent in any stream, then you are eligible to appear in upsc exam. (age limit-21-30yr. On 1st july of exam year)
for more information-www.upsc.gov.in
21st May 2011, 12:12 AM
VEERU_VIRENDR

No, at this time you can't appear. Its the basic requirement to appear in upsc exam that candidate should be graduate from any affilated university with min. 60%, or equivalent in any stream at the time of submitting the application form. So to appear you should be graduate first. For more information-www.upsc.gov.in
ok, best of luck.
21st May 2011, 12:19 AM
VEERU_VIRENDR

*Eligibility to appear in upsc exam-graduation from affiliated university with min. Aggregate 60%, or equivalent in any stream, at the time of submitting the application form. So if you have qualified final year then you are eligible.
For more information you can visit-www.upsc.gov.in
ok, best of luck.
21st May 2011, 12:29 AM
VEERU_VIRENDR

Eligibility criteria to appear in upsc exam-
*candidate should be graduate from affiliated university with min. 60%, or equivalent in any stream, at the time of submitting the exam form.
*candidates attempting final year are also eligible.
*age limit-21-30yr on 1st july of exam year.
For more information-www.upsc.gov.in
ok, best of luck.
21st May 2011, 12:42 AM
VEERU_VIRENDR

The basic requirements/eligibility criteria to appear in upsc exam-
*candidate should be graduate from affiliated university with min. 60%, or equivalent in any stream, at the time of submitting the application form.
*candidates in final year are also eligible to appear in the exam.
*age limit-21-30yr. (for general category)
21-33yr. (for OBC)
21-35yr. (for SC/ST) on 1st july of exam year.
*attempts-
4 attempts for general candidates.
7 attempts for OBC candidates.
¤ There is no boundation of attempts to SC/ST candidates.
For more information you can visit the official site of upsc-www.upsc.gov.in
ok, best of luck.
21st May 2011, 01:13 PM

HELLO sir\mam
TEEL ME ABOUT THE IAS TEST AND GIVE ME FULL INFORMATION ABOUT THE SYALABUS.....
21st May 2011, 11:47 PM

I want to be an IAS officer.....
30th June 2011, 12:20 PM

i completed m.c.a.what was the sysbols ips/ias?
14th July 2011, 01:01 PM

Is there any special exam for DARDo??
26th July 2011, 10:36 PM

hallo
respected sir;
I m Akshay kumar now i m in 3rd year B.E from E.C.E branch.I want to know about ,minimum how much percentage eligible for that.i m belongs from general category .
3rd August 2011, 11:09 PM

hello sir/madam,

The eligibility criteria for IAS exam:

educational qualification : graduation degree

attempts: 4 for general students
7 for SC/ST

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR IPS EXAM:-

The candidate must be a citizen of India.
The candidate must have a a age limit of 21-30 years.
For SC/ST - 35 years.
For OBC - 33 years.
For Ex-service men it is 5 years from the prescribed limits.
The candidate must have a degree from a recognized university.

Attempts:

For OPEN-4, OBC-7,SC/ST-NO LIMIT.

23rd August 2011, 04:08 PM

Dear Sir / Madam/ Friends

I COMPLETE MY GRADUATION OF TYBA AND MY AGE IS 22 YRS. NOW WHAT CAN I DO I DONT UNDERSTAND MY RESULT PERCENTAGE IS 48%
PLEASE TELL ME THE SOME REQUAIREMENT OF IAS.
BECAUSE MENE KOI BHI KISI BHI TARAH KI TRAINING NAHI KI HAI SO PLEASE TELL ME THE HOW CAN I START MY FUTURE IN THIS FIELD.
PLEASE REPLY ME AS EARLIEST

THANK ALL.

POOJA
MY EMAIL ID [email protected]
26th September 2011, 04:15 PM

hello sir/madam,
thnx sir

rajesh kumar
E-ID- [email protected]
26th September 2011, 06:34 PM
priyo06

UPSC (Union Public Service Commition) organised every year a exam. According to the score/rank of this examination I.A.S. and I.P.S. officers are selected.Civil Services Examination is the most prestigious examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for recruitment to various All India Services including I.A.S., I.P.S., I.F.S.,I.R.S., and various Group A Services and Group B Services.

Normally applications are invited by UPSC notifications in leading News Papers during December every year.

The Civil Services Examination consists of three stages.

1. Civil Services Preliminary Examination ( Objective Type) (Usually conducted in May)
2.Civil Services Main Examination (Written) (Conducted during October/November)
3.Interview and final Selection (During April/May)

Eligibility Criteria For IAS ::

(i) Age limits :

21-30 years as on 1.7.2011. (Upper age limit relax-able for SCs/STs, OBCs and certain other categories.

(ii) Educational Qualifications :

Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Engineering or an equivalent qualification.

(iii) No. of permissible attempts :

Four (Seven attemps of OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs.

26th September 2011, 06:36 PM
priyo06

UPSC (Union Public Service Commition) organised every year a exam. According to the score/rank of this examination I.A.S. and I.P.S. officers are selected.Civil Services Examination is the most prestigious examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for recruitment to various All India Services including I.A.S., I.P.S., I.F.S.,I.R.S., and various Group A Services and Group B Services.

Normally applications are invited by UPSC notifications in leading News Papers during December every year.

The Civil Services Examination consists of three stages.

1. Civil Services Preliminary Examination ( Objective Type) (Usually conducted in May)
2.Civil Services Main Examination (Written) (Conducted during October/November)
3.Interview and final Selection (During April/May)

Eligibility Criteria For IAS ::

(i) Age limits :

21-30 years as on 1.7.2011. (Upper age limit relax-able for SCs/STs, OBCs and certain other categories.

(ii) Educational Qualifications :

Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Engineering or an equivalent qualification.

(iii) No. of permissible attempts :

Four (Seven attemps of OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs.

26th September 2011, 08:32 PM
black-demon

boths exams are conducted by UPSC every years.
the age limit exist for both exam are 21-30. there 5 years of relaxations are given to SC\ST candidates.
your nationality must be indian.
Attempts:

For general candidate-4, OBC-7,SC/ST-NO LIMIT.
26th September 2011, 10:15 PM

see, to join as an IAS/IPS officer, you have to give civil service exam.

this civil service exam is conducted by the UPSC govt.

Eligibility Criteria For civil service exam exam is

>> Educational Qualifications :

Minimum Graduate in any discipline from a university recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC).

candidate can appear for the Prelims even if the final year's result is awaited provided you produce it while filling the Mains form.

>> Age limits :

for general candidate age limit is 21-30 years as on date of the exam.

>>Citizenship Eligibility for IAS/IPS exam

must be a Citizen of India.

all the best.......
26th September 2011, 11:44 PM
saurabh abhijeet

civil services exam for IAS/IPS is conducted by Union
public service commission(UPSC) for which the eligibility
criteria is;

eligibility for IAS
- a candidate should be graduate from any recognized
university, an candidate as an appearing can also apply for this

-candidate's age should be between 21-30 for general, upper age
relaxation for OBC is 33 years and for SC/ST is 35 yeras

-number of attempts is 4 for general, 7 for OBC and no limited
attempts for SC/ST

for IPS

-Height – Male 165 cm Pahari Male (general also) & ST
(not the SC/ OBC) – 160 cm
Female 150 cm Pahari Female (general also) &
ST (not SC/ OBC)- 145 cm
-Chest – Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm.
Female Min 79 cm expansion 5 cm.
-Eye sight – 6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye.
6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye. Near vision J 1
for good eye. J2 for worst eye. The correction
is by lenses
only. High standard for the Colour-blind test. No
inherent night blindness. Vision should stereoscopic

for further details you can visit the official website of UPSC;

www.upsc.gov.in

for more information you can see the attachment given;
File Type: docx ips.docx(14.3 KB, 66 views)
File Type: docx upsc syllabus.docx(11.2 KB, 71 views)
2nd October 2011, 07:04 PM
gamble007

this exam is conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) every year.
for appear in this exam you must possess bachelor degree in any stream from a recognized college.

the age limit for these exams are 21-30. also there are 5 & 3 years of relaxation for SC\ST& OBC candidates.

-number of attempts -
4 for general,
7 for OBC
and no such restriction for SC\ST CANDIDATES.
attempts for SC/ST

physical standard for IPS officer
-

-Height – Male 165 cm Pahari Male (general also) & ST
(not the SC/ OBC) – 160 cm
Female 150 cm Pahari Female (general also) &
ST (not SC/ OBC)- 145 cm
-Chest – Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm.
Female Min 79 cm expansion 5 cm.
-Eye sight – 6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye.
6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye. Near vision J 1
for good eye. J2 for worst eye. The correction
is by lenses
only. High standard for the Colour-blind test. No
inherent night blindness. Vision should stereoscopic
8th October 2011, 01:08 PM
gamble007

these exams are conducted by UPSC every year,.
for appear in this exam syou must have to complete your graduation in any stream from a recognized college.
the age limit for this exam is 21-30,.
there are 5 & 3 years of age relaxations are given to SC\ST & OBC candidates respectively....

number of attempts -
4 for general,
7 for OBC
and no such restriction for SC\ST CANDIDATES.
attempts for SC/ST

thanks!!!!!!!!!
25th February 2012, 10:21 PM

main syllabus for engineering student for ips exam?
12th March 2012, 09:03 PM

can i apply for IAS & IPS exam. b'coz guration percent age is 52%.please help me.
13th March 2012, 11:01 PM
Dexter_Morgan

Dear aspirant,
Union Public Service Commission conducts the Civil Services Examination every year.
The real criteria for this exam is:
1. Education: a recognized college's graduation degree in any stream.
To percentage is required.
2. Age criteria: 21-30 years.
For obc: 21-33 years.
3. For SC/ST's: 21-35 years.
Official website: www.upsc.gov.in
14th March 2012, 11:01 PM

what are the requirements needed for IFS exam
15th March 2012, 12:47 AM
er.skp.me

Thumbs up Re: What are the requirements needed for IAS/IPS exam?

hello sir/madam,

you have to crack civil service exam (prelims and mains)and interview conducted by UPSC
You should be graduate from any field from any recognized university

Age limit:-
For Open category:- 21-30 year
For OBC category:- 21-33 YEAR
For ST/SC category:- 21-37 year

Number of Attempts:-
For open category:- 4 attempts
For OBC category:- 7 attempts
for ST/SC category:- not restricted

for more information
www.upsc.gov.in

15th March 2012, 01:48 PM

hello sir/madam,
After passing engineering you can apply for civil services Exam.
Civil Services Exam is conducted by U.P.S.C once in a year.
I am sorry to say that you can't apply in 2012 because last date of submission of form is over.

CIVIL SERVICES (PRELIMINARY) EXAM., 2012
Date of notification:-04.02.2012
Last Date of receipt of form:- 05.03.2012(MONDAY)
Date of exam:- 20.05.2012(SUNDAY)

CIVIL SERVICES (MAIN) EXAM., 2012
Date of exam:- 05.10.2012(FRIDAY)

If you want you can apply in 2013.

There is 4 step of selection:-
> PRELIMS EXAM
> MAINS EXAM
> INTERVIEW
> MEDICAL EXAM(For I.P.S)

For ore detail log in to www.upsc.gov.in

GOOD LUCK!
15th March 2012, 06:20 PM
jacobs

If you are interested in IAS
Then please go through these criteria details

IAS REQUIREMENTS :

Academic Qualification :
The candidate must be graduate from any university.

Age Limit :
For General :21 to 30 years.[SC/ST will get 5 years age relaxation and OBC will get 3 year age relaxation]

No Of Attempts :
General : 4.
SC/ST: Unlimited.
OBC :7.

For more details you can go through these attachments below :
File Type: pdf IAS I.pdf(11.7 KB, 82 views)
File Type: pdf IAS II.pdf(9.9 KB, 81 views)
File Type: pdf IAS III.pdf(46.4 KB, 71 views)
17th May 2012, 02:59 PM

i have done mtech in computer science i want to apply for IPS exam?
25th September 2012, 04:36 PM

Question Re: What are the requirements needed for IAS/IPS exam?

I am class ix student. I want to know about the basic qualification for a
ips enterence test
6th February 2013, 02:10 PM

WHAT IS SC physical standard for IPS office. SC category