UGC’s New proposals for promoting comprehensive Education in India

The UGC has put forward a national framework which clearly mentions various protocols by which universities can be set up, whether it is central, state, deemed university or even private. The UGC’s New proposals for promoting comprehensive Education are also applicable to colleges. The UGC grants offer permanent affiliations to colleges, if they satisfy the requirements according to the stated conditions and is maintaining the standards as per the required academic quality. Moreover, in the course of UGC’s grant-giving process, it makes certain acquiescence of academic, financial and administrative supremacy to the grant seeking universities and colleges.

UGC

UGC

Research Fellowship in support of M.Phil and Ph.D. Programs

UGC has added key proposals and augmented the number of fellowships seats for M.Phil and Ph.D Programs. The compensation of fellowship programs also has been enhanced. In the midst of other things, this action will help to increase the potential supply of quality teachers at a moderate level. There are many notable facets in the revamped M.Phil and Ph.D. Fellowship programs, established by the UGC.

Some of the features includes, adding the number of Fellowship from 1600 to 6200 through the National Eligibility Test (NET) and the value of the fellowship has been increased to Rs. 12,000 and Rs. 14,000. In addition to this, various Non-NET exam scholarships has also been introduced for M.Phil, Ph.D. and post-doctoral students along with researchers. This encompasses a Fellowship to every non-NET fellowship possessor in M.Phil and PhD students at a rate of Rs. 5000 for PhD and around Rs. 3000 for M.Phil in almost 40 Central University. The UGC has also awards about 4000 PhD Fellowships under SAP in the State universities for Science. The D. S. Kothari Post-Doctoral Fellowships has been increased to 500. The ‘Operation Faculty Re-Charge Scheme’, has been also increased for 1000 faculty members and the ‘Radhakrishnan Post-doctoral Fellowship’ for Social Sciences, has increase to 500.

Fellowships for SC, ST, Women and Physically Challenged

As to increase the possibility of Fellowships in the SC, ST, Women and Physically Challenged class, the UGC has put forward a service to ‘Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment’ by launching the Rajiv Gandhi Fellowships for 2000 students from this category of students.

Proposals for OBC

The stipulation of reservation at the Assistant Professor or Lecturers level has been put into practice in the central universities and similar proviso has also been pointed out to State governments along with the Deemed universities. Required steps have also been taken by the UGS as to execute the reservation for OBC in Central Universities. The OBC have also been endowed with needed relaxation in an assortment of schemes by the UGC. Stipulations have been made to provide appropriate representation to persons from OBC on different Committee’s of UGC.

Latest Initiatives for Minorities

The UGC previously had a scheme for corrective training in English language, for candidates in the minority category who are preparing for NET and for entry into various services. These training schemes have been modified and an increase in the budget has been made to improve the service quality of the scheme. The UGC has also made arrangements for Minority Cell. Some new initiatives have been also taken up by the UCS as per the suggestions made by the government on the Sacher Committee Report. This includes the PhD fellow ship, Special Grants to colleges in 90 Muslim dense districts etc. Along with this a special schemes for building women’s hostel in minority strenuous districts from 90 Muslim dense districts. The UGC has also developed a “Diversity Index”   measurement system as to measure the fair participation in different Committees as per the schemes of the UGC. The UGC has instructed specific norms to the Central and State universities to do the same.

Another initiatives made by the UGE is the ‘Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Chair’. This is a voluntary foundation establishes in order to encourage learning among educationally backward sectors of the Society. The UGS has also made schemes as to promote the hubs as for the Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policies in 32 different universities. Within these, 10 centers are exclusively set up to initiate the studies on various issues concerning to social exclusion and inclusive policies among minorities.

There are other schemes which were proposed by the UGC on the reference of Sachchar Committee. This suggested providing proper training to teachers as to educate modern subjects in Urdu language in various schools and also Madarassas. The UGC also made special initiation as to provide coaching for students in the minority community for various competitive exams live Civil service, UPSC, Bank exams etc.

Urdu language training

Equal Opportunities Cells (EOCs)

The UGC has set up an Equal Opportunities Cells for making the colleges and universities more receptive to the requirements of the deprived social groups. The EOC’s are being established in number of Colleges and Universities to oversee the efficient execution of policies and program for underprivileged groups. The EOC’s will also make available proper guidance and counseling in relevant academic, financial, communal and other matters. The cell will take on the various functions as per the schemes for SC, ST, OBC, Minorities, Women and Physically Challenged Students.

Plans for Women Hostels

The UGC also took exceptional initiative to augment the amount of hostels for girls along with the rate of grants from Rs. 25 lakhs to in excess of 1 crore Indian rupee. This initiation was made with a view to offer the facilities like hostels and colleges and enhance the status of women.

Education is considered to be the most important facet in the list of the Constitution. It is the responsibility of both the Government of India as well as the State governments. This has endowed both these regulatory bodies rights on the parameters of the educational institutions and both will have to develop various effective mechanisms for modifying and ensure excellent standard and quality in all the educational institutions. The Government of India has allotted a national level authorization to watch over institutions of higher education in the shoulders of the University Grants Commission.

6 Responses to “UGC’s New proposals for promoting comprehensive Education in India”

1. 6
    v p ubhale:

I am belongs to obs catagory and presently im doing Ph.D in zoology.i want to know whhich fellowship for me and how can I apply for that.
    Plz reply me sir.
    Thanks Sir.

2. 5
    Madhuri Mankar:

I am belongs to obs catagory and presently im doing Ph.D in Agricultural Biotechnology.i want to know whhich fellowship for me and how can I apply for that.
    Plz reply me sir.
    Thanks Sir.

3. 4
    Gite Hanumant:

Respected Sir
    I am the OBC candidate Sir i am doing M.Phil in computer science . I want to know which fellowship for me and how can apply for this please give the rply

4. 3
    RITA PAL:

dEAR SIR, i am a OBC candidate and i am doing Ph.d in Food science and technology,and i want to know which fellowship is sutibale for me and how can apply for this.

5. 2
    Rita pal:

sir i am ph.d studant in food science and technology. iwant to know how to apply fellowship during our ph.d

6. 1
    Dr. Karanik:

what next ? after completing our ugc post-Doctoral fellowship ?
    what concession for job ?