List of Postgraduate Courses in Marine Engineering

Marine engineering is concerned with the manufacture, function and design of system and equipments. It also involves the installation as well as maintenance of the system and equipment. These systems are utilized inside marine vehicles to propel and control it. Besides this, marine engineering also deals with the creation of vehicles that houses crew, cargo or passengers. Students who desire to join the postgraduate level in marine engineering are required to be graduates from the related background. A pass in class 10+2 with Mathematics and Chemistry in addition to Physics subjects is the basic eligibility criteria required to appear for the entrance exams.

List of Postgraduate Courses

There are numerous colleges in our country that provide students with postgraduate programs in marine engineering. Some of the courses are:

• M.E Marine Engineering
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Marine Engineering
  • M.Sc Marine Engineering
  • M.Sc Coastal and Marine Engineering and Management
  • M.Sc Marine Studies and Costal Resource Management and Higher National Diploma in Marine Engineering

Career Prospects

After finishing the PG course in marine engineering, a candidate can find jobs with many leading firms. Primarily they can get employed with The Indian Merchant Navy. The Merchant Navy mainly includes passenger vehicles, tankers, oil carriers and liners in addition to other kinds of specialized ships. These Navy ships are operated either by the government or the Private sector. The candidates can choose and join a ship of their choice. At the initial stage, a candidate can join as a Junior Engineer with a salary of Rs.25, 000 - Rs.30, 000 a month. Following graduation, the candidate can be employed in a naval ship as a third assistant engineer or a fourth engineer. They will have a salary of Rs. 40,000-Rs.60, 000 each month. Furthermore, it is possible for marine engineers to find employment in diverse fields like consulting, designing, education, research as well as training in the allied field.

29 Responses to “List of Postgraduate Courses in Marine Engineering”

1. 29
    muzzammil:

I am currently studying in 6th sem BE Electrical & electronics engineering from bapuji institute of engineering & technology. in future I am willing to take up marine engineering as my post graduation course. So I will be very thankfull & greatfull to u if u answer my following question
    1)how to get seat in a top college
    2)which all fields can I choose after completing my BE in EEE
    3)how to prepare for the entrance exam

Waiting for ur quick response

2. 28
    yugesh:

guys dont waste your by doin this course

3. 27
    abu:

I completed my b.e mechanical engineering.I wish to choose any PG course in marine field..???

4. 26
    Prabu:

Gratuate marine gngineering question paper i need it because of my entrance exam

5. 25
    raja:

iwant detail of marain coures i finish my diplomo in mechanical last year

6. 24
    Kapeesh:

Is Any IT courses available in Marine ?

7. 23
    sankalpa bhattacharya:

i wanna know the criterion of the course..i’m b.sc 2nd year physics hons student..

8. 22
    Pinaki Ghosh:

I am presently studying B.Tech. in Mechanical and the course will be completed in June 2013.Thereafter I would like persue career in marine engineering field.Would you please suggest me suitable course and Institutes for my further doing the needful.Solicit your favourable support in this regard.

Yours faithfully,
    Pinaki Ghosh

9. 21
    Sakhil:

Sir,i’m studing 2nd year of 10 2 couse what shoud i do for getting b-tec couse in marine engeneering

10. 20
    ganesh:

Is salary will be given in holidays ? When we r not on ship?

11. 19
    saravanan:

sir,i am studying 2nd year eee
    i want join into marine field
    what are needs to reach my ambition
    plz,give me the available possibilities info about in this field

12. 18
    Koushik mondal:

How to joint a marine engineering deploma cource of marchant/Indian navy??

13. 17
    Jaison:

Sir, can i study M.E in marine engineering after completing B.E in computer engineering

14. 16
    prakash:

hi friends i’m sry to say this but i have to say boz its very important and useful all students those who trying for doing GME and other nautical courses . i have completed BE marine engg one yr passed tried in all companies they didn’t take any of students from outside directly they expectng money and now no vaccavcy n any company even if one vaccancy s there nearly 500 students were standng behind for that one job .all colleges and some folls were saying there is good scope you come and join with us like that but please dont belive that only marine studying students kmow what is the fact so please try some other field its very bad my kind advice to all

15. 15
    deepak jhariya:

what is the process to select in the merchant navy as an marine engineer
    i am doing mechanical engineering now i am in 6 th sem…..Then after B.E. what i have to do for join merchant navy…..

16. 14
    R.PADMANABHAN:

Can i do the P.G. in Marine Engg through distance learning programme.Kindly give the name of universities offereing Distance Learning Programme.

17. 13
    pavankumar:

sir i have passed my ssc with a percentage of 79 nd later i ve done my inter with an vocational course named water supply and sanitary engeneering, and now iam doing my degree with b com computers background am i eligible for marine engeneering if yes please give me the information about the colleges and courses required for doing such course

18. 12
    Muthu Manickam:

Sir currently i’m in my final year of mechanical engg. Tell me some good colleges in tamilnadu offering post graduate diploma in marine engineering. Whether 4 yr B.E marine engg course and this course are equally valid?? How about on-campus and off-campus placements for this course?????I would be grateful if u mail me sir

19. 11
    Sharath:

Sir, i’ll graduate from b.e(electronics and electrical engineering) next year! My aggregate will come around 6.5 sir.
    I’m interested in merchant navy. In order to join the same, what are the criteria? What should i do next? Where should i head towards(companies, places)? Could you also describe more about this job, salary, etc? I would be really grateful to u, if u mail me sir. Thank you!

20. 10
    kushal:

Sir ihave done b.tech in electronics & communication engg with 69% and i am 26 year old. i want to join merchant navy.pls sujjest me suatable course, course duration nd fees structur, or how can i directly join ship nd got a handsome sallery package.pls guide me sir.

21. 9
    sunil kumar:

sir i am electronics & telecommunication b.tech final yr. Student.i am passionate to serve in shipping field.sir what course will be good for me to join ship,duration and fee, or how can i directly join ship.please tell me sir.

22. 8
    Aneesh.P.Unni:

May I know the Marine Engineering Colleges in Kerala?
    Especially, may I know the same in Kerala?

Im now doing my XII class ( Computer Science).

23. 7
    sohaib:

can i do diploma in marine after ssc

24. 6
    Mohit:

Whats fee structure for B.tech and diploma in marine engineering

25. 5
    kiran:

I am student of B.E.( BIOTECHNOLOGY) 6th sem.I am intrested in doing my master degree in marine eng. Is there any course in this field which support my B.E. subject,better for girls and help in earning good money.

26. 4
    vidya naidu:

can i study any certificate course,diploma,degree or anything in marines through distance education or online?

27. 3
    Amit Mallick:

sir can i join merchant navy after persuing my b.tech in e.c.e . plz tell about it what i can do for it. sir i am third year student

28. 2
    syamal:

i am completed AMIE(MECHANICAL ENGINEERING ) and ccompleted 18 years as ERA (engine room)in Indian Coast Guard. How i can join merchant navy. please guide me.

29. 1
    himanshu dubey:

we have pass intermediate with in 75% mark P C M subject U>P board Allahabad .What I take admission any marine engineering college please send us information.How many year
    complete and approximatively Expense

Thankig you
    Himanshu dubEy. Kanpur.