BCA Course Structure

The course structure for the Bachelors in Computer Application is similar for most institutes which fall under various universities. This is a stepping stone to pursue a career in Computer Application. A candidate can join after completion of Higher Secondary with English as a passing subject with a minimum of 50% marks. Admission is done based on the rules laid down by the University.

Pattern of the BCA Course

It is a three years course.  There will be two semesters in each year. So, there will be a total of six semesters with each semesters ranging from a time period of five to six months. In the first year the course will begin from the basic level. From there it will move onto the advanced level.

Course structure BCA (Bachelor of Computer Application):

Below are the lists of areas that are covered in each semester. The areas mentioned below are generally covered in most institutes

Semester I

• Digital Electronics
  • Business Systems and Applications
  • Introduction to Programming
  • Mathematics
  • PC Software
  • PC Software Lab
  • Programming Lab(C/Pascal)

Semester II

• Computer Architecture and Systems Software
  • Information Systems Analysis and Design
  • Computer Programming (Visual Basic)
  • Mathematics
  • English Language and Communications
  • Programming Lab (Visual Basic)
  • Business Presentation and Language Lab

Semester III

• Operating System
  • Data Structure with C
  • Graphics and Internet
  • Mathematics for Computing
  • Management and Accounting
  • Internet and Computer Graphics Lab
  • Programming Lab (Data Structure with C)

Semester IV

• Data Base Management System
  • Object-oriented Programming with C++
  • Software Project Management and Quality Assurance
  • Statistics, Numerical Methods and Algorithm
  • Environment and Ecology
  • Database Lab (Oracle)
  • Computing Lab

Semester V

• Data Communication & Computer Networks
  • Units and Shell Programming
  • Windows Programming
  • Values and Ethics of Profession
  • UNIX & Networking
  • Minor Project
  • Industrial Training

Final Semester

As part of the final Semester the candidates will select any three elective subjects. Also at the end of the course they will be required to conduct a seminar and Comprehensive Viva- Voice.

Exam Evaluation

As part of the evaluation process each paper will consist of both the written exam and practical exam. Both will be assigned 50% weightage. The written exam will be a combination of both the assignments and also the test paper. The candidate needs to have pass marks in the assignment in order to be eligible to appear for the test paper. It is a must to clear both in order to clear the paper.

11 Responses to “BCA Course Structure”

1. 11
    Dilip Chanda:

To
    Dear Sir/ Madam.
    I decided i want to join in B.C.A Course In your IGNU shillong centre, but my problem is that i dont get proper fees details so kindly if u give me proper fees details then i shall be highly oblige to you .

2. 10
    nohid:

which softwear has been use in bca…………….?

3. 9
    Rahul Rao:

Hallo sir,
    Kya BCA me zyada time dena padta hai aur zyada notes ready karaye jate hai.

4. 8
    bibash_anjan:

what needed qualification to add on b.c.a course
    ( E- mail :- [email protected])

5. 7
    asad ali:

sir me 12th kar raha hun me computer with technical field me jana chahta hu mujhe bca course ke bare me pata chala agar iske alawa or computer line he to please mujhe bataiye mera mobile no. +917417220115
    iske liyen kon kon se sub. ki zaroorat he

6. 6
    Akram Khan:

I am just passed higher secondry so i want to do bca.so can i do this.

7. 5
    ankita sahni:

maths is compulsary in bca??

8. 4
    varsha:

i am doing 1 year puc in commerce[computer science].i am totally weak in mathamatics axpect addition,subtraction,multiplication,etc.
    but i want to do BCA. is it possible to me.

9. 3
    rehanshaikh:

what sallary i would get if i complete my course is there a scope for it in furture

10. 2
    Amar Singha:

In BCA is it mandatory to take mathematics as i passed by Higher Secoundary in Arts Stream , if yes is it capable for me to get it solved by me. and also i will do from Krishna Kant Hanicraft State open University in Silchar, Assam.
    Will i get scope after graduating from Open University means further studies /JOBs.
    Plz advice.

11. 1
    chaitra:

how many marks is required for correspondence b.c.a