19th October 2010, 02:57 AM
shaymaa

Is ACCA better than CMA?

Dear sir,

I am an accountant and I want to know if ACCA better for me than CMA or not as I'm experienced in the insurance accounting field for more than 3 years so should I proceed in taking CMA or reverse to ACCA or there is better option than both

Thanks & best regards

19th October 2010, 05:02 PM
arun kumar jain

Default Re: Is ACCA better than CMA?

CMA:
stands for = Cost and Management Accountant.

major areas it covers = Advanced Operational Management & Costing, Budgeting/Forecasting, Standard Costing and VAriance Analysis techniques, Basic Taxation, Basic Audit & Corporate Governance. Deals particularly with Management Info related subjects.

leads to = Industry

ACCA = Association of Chartered Certified Accountants
CA = Chartered Accountant
CPA = Chartered Public Accountant

major areas = Audit & Assurance, Advanced Taxation, Financial Reporting & Compliance, Corporate Governance. Deals mainly with financial accounting and compliance with Audit/Reporting/Taxation ordinance/standards

leads to = Practice but equally effective in industry
29th October 2010, 07:41 PM
imira
Senior Member+++++

Cost and Management Accountant (CMA) covers areas like advanced operational management and costing, budgeting and forecasting, standard costing and variance analysis techniques, basic taxation, basic audit and corporate governance. Deals mainly with management related information for Industries. Where as Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), CA and CPA, deal with audit and assurance, advanced taxation, financial reporting and compliance, corporate governance etc. This is more towards the financial accounting, audit, reporting, taxation ordinance and standards. The ACCA will be more suitable, as it is related to the field you are now in.
15th May 2011, 02:51 AM
Unregistered