29th December 2012, 11:48 AM
Unregistered

Can I prepare for IAS exam if I am a student pursuing B.Com Hons from DU?

I am a student pursuing B.com(Hons) from D.U. Can I make preparation for IAS exam? What preparation should I do ? Is there any percentage eligibility after graduation completion?

11th March 2013, 03:45 PM
imira
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I prepare for IAS exam if I am a student pursuing B.Com Hons from DU?

There are no percentage requirements for IAS. Graduation is the basic qualification required. Preparations can be done on the basis of exam syllabus. There will be questions based on aptitude, Indian constitution, Indian polity, World/India’s Geography, etc. For mains exam you can select a subject related to finance or commerce. Detailed exam syllabus can be collected from UPSC portal. Reference books and previous year question papers can be used for exam preparation.
11th March 2013, 06:12 PM
SK@S
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I prepare for IAS exam if I am a student pursuing B.Com Hons from DU?

Eligibilty to apply for the UPSC Civil Services exams is:
Graduation pass in any Stream

AGE- Minimum 21 years
Maximum 30 years
Candidates belonging to OBC gets 3 years and SC/ST gets 5 years age relaxations

ATTEMPTS- General candidates- 4 times
OBC- 7 times
SC/ST- No such restriction

This exam is held in three stages:
Prelims
Mains
Interview

In the Prelims Exams there will be two papers.
Both these papers will be of objective type

Questions will be from below topics in these papers:
Paper one
History of India and Indian National Movement.
Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic Geography of India and the World.
Indian Polity and Governance - Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights
Issues, etc.
General issues on Environmental Ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change - that do not require
subject specialization.
General Science.