21st November 2010, 03:32 PM

Which course to specialize :Marketing, Finance or HR?

presently i m in M.B.A 1st sem, in 2nd sem i have to decide for my specialization either in marketing , finance and HR. But i m confuse for choosing specialization field. Actually i m introvert kind of person so its been difficult to decide that which sector is beneficial for me. sir i expect a suggestion from your side which can help me understand things clearly. i m waiting for your mail.

ANJALI JHA

23rd November 2010, 01:00 AM

Default Re: Which course to specialize :Marketing, Finance or HR?

Before getting into detail let me give you a rough idea what exactly are these courses about

Marketing:

These days advertisements are one of the sole reasons of success of a product. Marketing manager or analysts have the job to create new ideas to promote the product. Actually you will need to have good communication skills along with interest in this area if you want to be successful
As I said before you must have good communication skills and you must also be good at convincing your customers..

If you talk about the scope then marketing does have a lot of scope. Infact all the three courses you listed have equal scope. India is trying to be a powerful country and a corporate nation too. since few year lots of multinational companies are coming in India so there has been an increase in the scope of marketing in India. There aer so many companies where you can work in India. Some of them are ICICI,HDFC,SBI,Reliance,Bajaj, Malls. etc. Infact you can get a job anywhere as everyone needs a marketing manager or a product manager in their company.

Finance:

Next coming to MBA in Finance. Well there is lots of scope in this too. Finance course is all about money managing in simple words. Finance managers help the company by giving them a help in whether the investment done will reap any benefits. The companies are the available everywhere and you can get job in similar companies as said above.

HR:

Now the MBA in HR. Again there is lots of scope in it. HR is called Human resource management. Its all about manpower like you can get a job in placement cell,recruitment companies etc. Actually Indias growth lies in quality of HT. If we improve in this area then it will be great for the country. So for sure there is scope in this. Dont worry about it

Choose the one which interests you!

Now after all the explanation the point comes is what is your interest. You say you are introvert. Well its great that you are considering this for choosing your career. If your introvert you might have a little bit of difficulty in career in marketing but you can adjust to it once you get into it.

And for Finance and HR. That suits you according to me. So think about it. Choose the one in which you have lots of interest. I would say either HR or Finance...

Choice lies with you..

23rd November 2010, 06:33 PM
raja jeganathan

first of all .. you have to know the exact meaning of course,,,

marketing ,, finance & hr , all are having equal important and specilisation

so choose your course based on your own interest ,,,

all the three having job opportunities
23rd November 2010, 07:50 PM
Sachin Narayan

As u r a girl, I would like to recommend u to go for HR i.e Human Resource, its more of meant for girls. In today's globalized world human resource department of a corporation recruits basically women and this field requires agile candidates for the same. Besides Human Resource another option u can opt is Finance. If u had commerce in ur past studies, u can easily make ur future bright with financial stream.
Rest ur interest is the ultimate factor. Choose the field that speaks to u.

23rd November 2010, 08:04 PM
helpmaster

presently i m in M.B.A 1st sem, in 2nd sem i have to decide for my specialization either in marketing , finance and HR. But i m confuse for choosing specialization field. Actually i m introvert kind of person so its been difficult to decide that which sector is beneficial for me. sir i expect a suggestion from your side which can help me understand things clearly. i m waiting for your mail.

ANJALI JHA
For an MBA student the best option for specialisation is HR or Finance.
But if you like to travel can join Marketing.
But doing HR or finace is good.
31st December 2010, 11:53 PM
Sk.Subhani

ANJALI JHA
Dear friend.

Its better to choose Finance as your major or specialization because, when you want to start up a new company or industry you can hire experts in Marketing and HR but regarding Finance it is you who has to decide the prospectus of yours and the company.

Its you who are going to invest so, you should have an idea about Finance.

so, I would suggest you to specialize in Finance.

All the Best!
9th March 2011, 06:17 PM
sangay phuntsho

Default Re: Which course to specialize :finance

[QUOTE=Unregistered;248370]Dear sir

presently i m in Bsc computer science 6th sem, in 2nd, i have to decide for my specialization in finance . But i don't know how to approach, give me topics and it's details.i'm waiting for your mail

by sangy
22nd March 2011, 01:20 AM

I am in my 2nd sem and i have taken finance but i still am confused as to whether i made the right decesion or not...hw do i know what is right for me?
5th April 2011, 03:16 PM

Hello sir...I am in 2nd sem.of MBA. and i much confuse 4 choosing the stearm.first all i want to say 2 u ......i don't want to go for Finance.so plz suggest me about
HR or Marketing. Is marketing is better then HR
6th April 2011, 11:20 PM

hello sir ......
i have completed my 12th .i interested to do CA 1st i m interested to choose B.COM in B.COM there r 3 courses from this 3 courses which iscourse i should choose plz guide me

7th April 2011, 01:09 PM
lvnareshsunrise

I would suggest you to choose the one which you have more interest.

As per finance,subject knowledge plays a crucial role. Unless you should have finance in knowledge, it will be difficult for you to settle in finance job.

You may go for accounting related jobs or jobs related to stock markets in stock broking companies, mutual funds and asset management companies.

As per the salaries especially stock markets related jobs, initially you will be paid less. At entry level you can join as equity analyst.

But after getting some experience, you can get good amount of salaries.

Continuous updation of market knowledge is essential to succeed.

As per Marketing it is ever green. There are plenty of jobs for Marketing people.

Initially they will be absorbed as Sales representatives.

Later on after getting some experience, they will be Team leaders and area managers.

Good communication skills and convincing skills are essential to succeed.

As per salaries, right from the joining into the job, you can get good amount of salaries.

As per your performance, you may receive extra benefits.

When come to HR, initially these people will be taken as Business development executives.

HR people should be good enough in the area of understanding the other people mindset and to resolve the conflicts very easily .

Recruitment, selection, training, performance appraisal are some of the activities of HR.

Good preference is given to girls.

As per salaries, initial salaries are very low and getting a job also you have to put effort, you have to have extraordinary skills and knowledge.

So choose the one to which you are best suitable
7th April 2011, 03:20 PM
vijaypatel54

As per finance,subject knowledge plays a crucial role. Unless you should have finance in knowledge, it will be difficult for you to settle in finance job.

You may go for accounting related jobs or jobs related to stock markets in stock broking companies, mutual funds and asset management companies.

As per the salaries especially stock markets related jobs, initially you will be paid less. At entry level you can join as equity analyst.

As per Marketing it is ever green. There are plenty of jobs for Marketing people.

Later on after getting some experience, they will be Team leaders and area managers.

7th April 2011, 03:27 PM
vijaypatel54

7th April 2011, 05:42 PM
manojmahla

Thumbs down Re: Which course to specialize :Marketing, Finance or HR?

I am in my 2nd sem and i have taken finance but i still am confused as to whether i made the right decesion or not...hw do i know what is right for me?
the decision you made is right for you dear and without any confusion, i say ..go for it..but as well as your degree going to complete, you must be expertise in accountancy and finance related operation. for this you can join some out door training like learning tally and lots more related to finance.

best of luck...
7th April 2011, 06:49 PM

Hello Anjali,
Marketing, Human Resource, finanace...all are critical business functions. your professional success will depend upon your individual skills, aptitude and initiative, regardless of the specialisation you choose. Your success also depends upon the B-school you are pursuing your course from, the kind of companies that visits the campus for recruitment. Another factor that effects is the economic condition at the time of placement. When the economy is booming, jobs in finance are at premium.
8th April 2011, 10:39 AM

Dear Friends,

I am a B-tech(IT) graduate 2010 pass-out. I have good academic background since my childhood and since two years I have realized the potential of Finance and Economies in the world which is pushing me to opt MBA Finance. Basically I am very much interested in knowing about generating funds and its flow in the markets, analysing markets, understanding dependencies and judging a financial product instantaneously, interested in stocks , Forex and so on..

when I told the same to my friend he told me that CFA would best do my requirement but I want to master in finance related things and want to open a firm down the line 5 or 10 years for sure..

I am always open to change....

Please do suggest me what to do.....

Many thanks in advance...

Rama Krishna Nagoju
ASE-Tata Consultancy Services
5th June 2011, 04:05 PM

What is MBA (IT)?,what I can be after finishing the course?.please help me to figure out.
5th June 2011, 11:15 PM
nagamalleswararaoyaramasu

You have 3 ways 1.finance 2.marketing 3.hr
finance:if you will take finance you will get job in capital iq,zen pack and other financial compaqnies ans you will get any constructions comany like gmr,kvr.Here you will get expeience from any audit you will have a wonderful l;ife with high salary.So after completion of MBA you need to take trainaing from audit when you took finance
MARKETING:This is the specilization or job gives more salary when put more efforts.So if you take marketing as a major you have subjets like marketing of service,consumer behaviour.retail management
HR:This job is purly releated recruiters of company.This job mainly recruit the correct persons to the organisation

SUBJECTS:
FINANCE:SECURITY ANALYSIS AND PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT,OVERVIEW OF FINANCIAL SYSTEM, WEALTH MANAGEMENT.
MARKETING: MARKETING OF SERVICE,CONSUMER BEHAVIOUR,RETAIL MANAGEMENT,SALES&DISTRIBUTION
HR: TRAINING & DEVELOPMENT,PERFOMANCE APPRISAL

SO above all subjects are as pre the specilization wiswe.So now you can read and select the as you wish.thankyou
15th June 2011, 10:42 AM

i am taking my major specialization HR and i have to choose for minor specialization between marketing and IT.so plz. frens suggest me whether combination of hr and marketing is good or hr and IT is good?
neetu bansal
17th June 2011, 06:39 PM
sachin6

All are have a good scope. You choose any of these depends on your interest.
19th June 2011, 03:10 PM
sachin6

All are good . You do any one with respect to your interest. You can do prefer the marketing. It is a very good growing field.
28th June 2011, 10:11 PM

hi dear friends, i am rajendra i am persuing mba and UG background is commerce so what will be specialisation area better for me finance,maketing, hr plaese suggest me thanks and regards.......
12th August 2011, 02:30 PM

I am commerce graduate(correspondance from mumbai univercity), In 2004 after that i have joined retail industry for job and now i have total 6.3yrs of
experience in retail,Now i am thinking to go for MBA from marketing so is the so long gap will matter any.And can it effect my career as after longe gap of study

Plz revert
30th October 2011, 09:04 PM

presently i am in MBA 1st sem. I have completed my b.com . In my institution there is a dual specialization so m fully confused which two specialization is better for my career among marketing, HR and finance. Another thing sir, m a girl with introvert personality. so which two specialization is better for me. M waiting for your reply.
31st May 2012, 12:38 PM

Dear sir/madam,

I am actually not so good in English communication .But i can easily mix with people.I actually prefer for a good stable job with a good remuneration.I have some prior 2-3 yrs of work experience.I am very much fond of problem solving and puzzles.So can u please suggest me which MBA branch will be suitable for me..
5th July 2012, 12:14 PM

hey sir
I hve complete my 1sem nw i m a little confuse ... 2 choose major minor finance or hr or marketing i m b.com and i learn tally also plz suggest me ... For better future and for a job also
28th November 2012, 11:17 AM
joyshreenath

ANJALI JHA
Hello
Ms. Anjali, I would rather suggest you to make the choice between marketing and HR(Human Resources). Finance MBA is very much common nowadays. So as you know, when many people have the same degree, the choices for jobs narrows down. When you have a choice in front of you, then take a less common choice.
Do not worry about being introvert. Many people out in the world are introvert like you and have gone very high in their career terms. You will be ultimately joining any multi-national company. So there you have to deal with a lot of projects. Dealing with so much of things you will automatically be what you need to be.
11th September 2013, 05:39 PM

hy iam sana I have a confussion in selecting the best career option for me I donnot understand either I select HR or FINANCE I ask that which is best for girls and tell me about the scope and also about salaries?
27th June 2014, 01:49 AM

Hi, I am I am a B-tech(IT) graduate. I am pursuing a correspondance course in Finance, so could you suggest me how I can get the jobs in Financial sector as it is entirely different path for me. thanks
8th December 2014, 10:16 PM

Hi,I am pursuing Bba 3rd sem,next sem I'll have to choose specialization subject in which am confused in what subject I should do specialization, I am ambivert person. Completed my 12th in commerce,have interest in economics and accounting..will you please suggest me in which subject I should do specialization?.. Thank you
10th January 2015, 02:02 AM

i m confuse between hr and finance n in bit there is no placement of hr n finance is not good of mine what tl do n i hate accounts n finance
10th January 2015, 02:05 AM

i m so so confused n mad coz of bit in my colg there is no placement of hr n finance is weak of mine i m not interested but due to placement majburimai finance leri hun wat to do.
13th May 2015, 09:22 AM

Hi sir, I'm a 2nd yr BMSstudent. As per the changes we have to select the elective subjects in our 3rd sem. But I'm confused as I have no idea about these subjects. Please help me to choose from marketing finance & HR.

-Mary Martis
3rd June 2015, 09:33 PM

Hello , I am Jenny and I am currently pursuing My degree in Bachelor in Management Studies. My second year will be starting from next week and suddenly two days back Our teachers have called us in college for Choosing our subjects . So right Now am confused whether to choose Marketing or finance . Saying about Me as a person have no interest for selling a product or in HR kinda job . According to My interest would you please suggest A true subject In Which I could Be happiest n Explore Myself more . Reading the above Ques&Ans I have realized you have been A Lot of help to many Confused students And I Am One of them . I Am sure you'l Help Me to.
ThankYou! :)
18th January 2016, 10:32 PM

Hello ,I am Giya still confused in this 3 pleased suggest me 1 best from these 3 as I m a 1st year BMS student so need to get ready with 1 option from these 3 as i have to select for next year and in our college only finance is there rest option are discarded and most of my friends are opting to go for HR so I to feel AS I have not yet decided . so please help me out to choose correct decision .
2nd March 2016, 05:46 PM

Actually my Maths is not very good. and it is also very difficult for me to understand some financial terms. So, can I choose finance as my career option
23rd June 2016, 05:05 PM

I m Hertha now I m pursuing 2nd sem MBA I have completed my 2nd sem exams now I m going to 3rd sem now I have to choose the specialization I m little bit confusing to choose which one is better to my future nd I m very poor in finance I can't to the problems correctly also .In my collage I have to choose dual specializations so now I m thinking to take marketing& HR, I hope it is better .plz suggest me sir which one is better for future job purpose
16th April 2017, 11:36 AM

Sir, I'm Romil from FYBMS sem 2 and I'm badly confused between marketing and finance. Also I have only one month to decide for it
Please suggest a good option for me as I'm equally good in accounting that is a practical subject and also in theory subjects
So please suggest me a better option
Thank Y
ou
18th May 2017, 06:38 PM

Hi, I'm tirkala and I'm a second year student of BMS ....I'm confused what to choose whether marketing, finance or HR would you tell me which has better scope and future
19th May 2017, 01:03 PM

Hello I am a BMS student Currently and done with 1 St year now I am very confused which specialization to choose for me it's Finance or HR ...
At first I was not confused in Taking HR has specialization but after taking opinion of several people they say it has less scope I have only 5 days to take my decision I am really stressed ... please help me out
30th November 2017, 09:09 PM

Sir right now i am in bba 2nd year and in 3rd year i will be having specialization idk to choose The specializtion like finance vs hr vs marketing but sir as far of now my communication skill is very good and i am interested in Human resource and i want to get placed in companies like apple google etc so sir please reply my soon as possible it will be a great help for me
Thank you..!
23rd February 2018, 08:20 PM

I am a bms student. And in second year I have to take HR, Finance, Marketing. So I am confused what to take between HR and Marketing. I have interest in both. Can you suggest me what to take.please
25th February 2018, 04:16 PM
MNB1234

I am a bms student. And in second year I have to take HR, Finance, Marketing. So I am confused what to take between HR and Marketing. I have interest in both. Can you suggest me what to take.please
You are studying Bachelor of management studies or BMS

In the second year specialization has to be chosen between finance, marketing and HR.

All these three streams have good career prospects and very good jobs available.

In the field of marketing lot of jobs are available and it requires lot of hard work to sell and market products.

So choose the subject based on your skill sets and in which you think you can excel.
17th December 2018, 08:18 PM

I don't know in which I should do specialization I am doing my tally and web designing and done with mscit what should I prescribe help me I am in fybms 2nd sem
11th May 2019, 12:23 PM

Hello Sir/Madam. I am pursuing my Bachelor's degree in Management Studies ie BMS. In the second year I have to decide my specialization between Hr Finance and Marketing. I'm very confused. I have interest in Hr and Marketing both. Could you please let me know which is the best and which earns more money.

Ruba Imran
18th May 2019, 10:16 AM
kidzeee

The selection of a degree program major depends mainly on two factors: (1) its support of the individual’s career goals; and (2) its support of the individual’s personal interests. Finance, HR, marketing or another major could be preferred, based on the person’s career goals and personal interests.

The choice should be tours, based on your preference. Among the three you mentioned, maximum variability is in Marketing, then comes HR and Accounts that way has lesser flexibility.
24th June 2020, 09:47 PM
Samirjmt

In the current scenario specialization in Marketing will be more preferential as compared to Finance and HR. But generally it depends upon your skills and interest.