30th December 2010, 07:47 PM
tonualex

I am doing 3rd year in ECE : In which year can I write IAS prelims?

IAS is not a mere dream for me its more of a desire, a never ending thirst., which i found out very late.... Am doing my 3rd year in ECE, which year can i write the IAS prelims?
I want to start preparation for IAS, and when should i be writing the test. I am pretty confident on current affairs and i will improve on it..

31st December 2010, 02:07 PM
sparkle

Default Re: I am doing 3rd year in ECE : In which year can I write IAS prelims?

As you are doing B.Tech in ECE you are eligible to apply for the IES or Indian Engineering Services exam.

Only after completing graduation you can appear in the exams like IES/IPS.

IES is conducted every year by the UPSC to recruit graduate engineers in different Govt engineering services.

Why don't you go for this exam which is most suitable for you.

I don't think engineering students can appear in the IAS exam. The graduate students from general study course(arts/science/commerce/life science/home science) can apply for IAS.

So better prepare for IES which you can apply only after graduation.

All the best!
31st December 2010, 06:35 PM

you can appear IAS prelims after completing your engineering course.

as to write IAS prelims exam minimum graduation qualification is required. with 60% marks in the graduation.

all the best..........
22nd January 2011, 01:10 PM
akumar06

Hello tonualex,
You will be eligible to write the IAS exam only when you will be in your last semester of your engineering course or when you will pass the course.
The minimum educational qualification for appearing in IAS exam is graduation in any field and also there is no requirement of any marks obtained in graduation.
Good Luck.
22nd January 2011, 01:18 PM
akumar06

Hello tonualex,
You will be eligible to write the IAS exam only when you will be in your last semester of your engineering course or when you will pass the course.
The minimum educational qualification for appearing in IAS exam is graduation in any field and also there is no requirement of any marks obtained in graduation.
Good Luck.
23rd January 2011, 08:47 PM
ratalalavanya

You have to complete graduation......and should have a minimum age of 21 years
24th January 2011, 06:26 PM
mukul0094

Friend,
You can apply for the IAS examination in the final year of engineering. If you doing engineering from ECE branch then you can apply for IAS/IES/IPS.
this exam is very high level competition. For more information you can see the official website of UPSC.
3rd February 2011, 07:31 AM
asahu47

write IAS prelims
As you are doing B.Tech in ECE you are eligible to apply for the IES or Indian Engineering Services exam.
IES is conducted every year by the UPSC to recruit graduate engineers in different Govt engineering services.
I think engineering students can appear in the IAS exam. The graduate students from general study course(arts/science/commerce/life science/home science) can apply for IAS.

3rd February 2011, 11:41 PM
benz

you can appear IAS prelims after completing your engineering course or in your final semester.

as to write IAS prelims exam minimum graduation qualification is required. with 60% marks in the graduation.For further details you may visit the official website of UPSC.

all the best..........

5th February 2011, 09:40 PM

manimaran:I am doing final year in cse : In which year can I write IAS prelims?
18th February 2011, 12:54 AM
ashok64554

after completing graduation you can appear in the exams like IES/IPS.
20th February 2011, 08:35 AM
mayankmadhur1403

You can write IAS prelims in final year, but at that time your age should lie between 21-30 years if you are general.
20th February 2011, 09:52 PM
RATAN SINGH RATHORE

DEAR FRIEND,
You can appear IAS prelims after completing your engineering course.IF you doing engineering from ECE branch then you can apply for IAS/IES/IPS.
IES is conducted every year by the UPSC to recruit graduate engineers in different govt engineering services.
For more information you can see the official website of UPSC.

ALL THE BEST.............................................. ....
21st February 2011, 12:33 AM
deep_4

Exclamation Re: I am doing 3rd year in ECE : In which year can I write IAS prelims?

IAS is not a mere dream for me its more of a desire, a never ending thirst., which i found out very late.... Am doing my 3rd year in ECE, which year can i write the IAS prelims?
I want to start preparation for IAS, and when should i be writing the test. I am pretty confident on current affairs and i will improve on it..
Yeah !!! This is the spirit, One should posses if you go for any Exam.

As you are in 3rd year And you are Not eligible for writing csat Exam this year But don't worry It can be other way round like its a boon to you, You have 1 year to prepare for CSAT exam i.e Civil services Exam.

IAS is a mode of post if you clear Civil services Exam you will be interviewed for IAS, For which if you clear this, then you will be an IAS Officer.

You will write IAS Prelims i.e CSAT Prelims Next year. Start preparing on your own. Or Get coached from some good reputed institution. You can do this.

Tentative dates for CSat Exam:-

Notification For next year CSAT Exam will start from mid Feb 2012 and it will stay up to One month. Exam will be in the month of June 2012.
21st February 2011, 05:39 AM
Amed2010

In the final year or after completing your b.tech degree....
21st February 2011, 07:50 AM
Taurus47

write IAS prelims
As you are in 3rd year And you are Not eligible for writing csat Exam this year You have 1 year to prepare for CSAT exam i.e Civil services Exam.
IAS is a mode of post if you clear Civil services Exam you will be interviewed for IAS, For which if you clear this, then you will be an IAS Officer.
You will write IAS Prelims i.e CSAT Prelims Next year. Start preparing on your own. Or Get coached from some good reputed institution. You can do this.
Tentative dates for CSat Exam:-
Notification For next year CSAT Exam will start from mid Feb 2012 and it will stay up to One month. Exam will be in the month of June 2012

21st February 2011, 08:22 AM
G-rocks

Hello Friend

You need to be a graduate to apply for IAS. IAS comprises of three levels of exams.
Preliminary( Objective choice) optional papers, general studies
Mains(Subjective type) Optional papers, General Studies, Essay writing, English
Interview

Civil Services Exam, 2010 :-
notification date :- 19.02.2011
last date for applying :- 21.03.2011
exam date :- 12.06.2011

Your general knowledge should be very good,your knowledge about the geographical area and many more thing relating to Indian economy and history.

However you can get more information regarding this in the site listed below.

http://www.upscexam.com

http://www.upsc.gov.in

Best of Luck...
21st February 2011, 10:39 AM
Ankur agrawal

after completing ur B Tech..
21st February 2011, 03:35 PM
ratalalavanya

Inorder to write IAS examination, you need to complete btech. So , until then improve your knowledge on current affairs and plan on further things like which institute to join ....which subjects to take....so all the best
27th February 2011, 09:55 PM
kapila Chaudhary

After completing Graduation you are eligible for IAS Exam.......

Eligibility conditions:
Age limits: Not less than 21 years and not more than 30 years as on 1st August, 2011
The upper age limit is relaxable for SC/ST/OBC and certain other categories of candidates to the extent specified in the notice
Educational qualifications: Degree of a recognized university or an equivalent qualification
Physical standards: Candidates must be physically fit according to the regulations given in the appendix-III of rules for the civil services examination, 2011 published in the gazette of India extraordinary dated 19th February, 2011
Number of attempts: The maximum number of attempts permissible to different categories of aspirants, who are otherwise eligible, will be as follows
General category (04); P.H. candidates belonging to general category (07); OBC (07); SC/ST/ (no limit)

28th February 2011, 11:30 PM
babydoll

As i know a candidate must have graduate degree for writing IAS preliminary exam. So you are not eligible for IAS now. but don't get disappoint you are eligible when you will complete the b.tech degree.
Good luck!!!!
8th March 2011, 02:21 PM

hi... i am doing my first year engineering in EEE , i wanna prepare for IAS exams . i am not getting how to start so can you people help me out...
15th March 2011, 02:01 PM
Somesh Goenka

Thats the spirit. This is the First time I am coming across such a person who has a dream and wants to chase it. Go for it.

Now for IAS, you have to appear for the CSAT exam that is conducted by the UPSC.

The basic eligibility for CSAT is as follows:

Minimum required age is 21 years as on 1st august of the year of exam.
Also, upper age limit is 30years(Relaxation according to govt. rules).

Educational Qualification:

A graduate degree in any fiels froma recognozed university.
Final year students appearing for the final exams can also apply.

Now as you are still in the third, so you cannot apply now.
However, once you are in the final year, you can try for it.

Good Luck!
21st March 2011, 09:00 PM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: I am doing 3rd year in ECE : In which year can I write IAS prelims?

I really appreciate your desire and aim

It would be really helpful for a developing country like India

if youth like you decide to do these type of services

coming to answer of your question...

Qualification require for IAS

->you should have a degree from a recognized Indian University.

->you should have your minimum 21 years of age.

these are the basic qualifications of the UPSC CSE exam

If you're of Reserved category then you definitely have chance this will be last and final attempt for you if you are SC/ST/PD candidate

relaxation upto 3 years for OBC

relaxation upto 5 years for SC/st

how much percentage required for it
there is no such limit for this examination.

all you have to do is show your talent in that particular exam.

when to fill the form .and how to fil
you'll get a notification first regarding this then according to dates you have to submit the form and also you'll be provided the rules and regulations for how to fill the form

by which you can easily fill and submit them

hope you got all the information regarding this

for any further details get in to these links

www.onestopias.com

www.upscportal.com

~aditya
22nd March 2011, 04:47 PM
shahul1423

the eligibility is you should have completed your graduation.you can write the prelimnary examination when you are in the final semester of the course.prepare for general studies and csat.choose your optional subjects after consulting the senior officers. all the best.
6th April 2011, 07:47 PM
pops07

Good to see your confidence....

But you are not eligible in your 3rd year....

You can sit for IAS from the final year of your engineering course.

You should start preparing it from your 3rd year.

and keep yourself updated in topics like current affairs and general knowledge.

The notification for the IAS will be published every year in the official website of UPSC.

So keep visiting that.

http://www.upsc.gov.in
10th April 2011, 09:16 PM

hi...
I'm a student of B.A.LL.B. (Hons.), 3rd year. I've heard that a student of B.A.LL.B. (Hons) can write a IAS Prelims after 3rd year, i.e. in 4th year since it is a 5 year course......is it so???? If not, please give me the details abt the eligibility required to a student of the same course so as to appear for IAS exam.....i'll be highly obliged...
18th July 2011, 12:03 AM
nambardar

You should start preparing it from your 3rd year.

and keep yourself updated in topics like current affairs and general knowledge.

good luck for next year.
22nd July 2011, 02:19 AM

in feb 2012 ill be in third year of engineering..ill be giving 3rd year exams in may 2012.but prelims happ in june 2012..iam eligible??
3rd September 2011, 05:00 PM
vishal jaybhaye

its nice thing to be confident on these type of exams.
i really like your confidence.

friend ,

as you are in the third year of the graduation , you have to wait for one year to write ias prelims. means you can write this exam in the final year of the graduation.
mentioned that your age should be in between 21 to 30 years.

to more about the ias exam and its latest notifications kindly visit the website www.upsc.gov.in

thanks and best of luck.
17th September 2011, 12:44 PM

Sir, I'm currently in my First semester.. in BE (IT)
My aim is to become an IAS officer
Please tell me best time to start my preparations and how to carry out with?
30th October 2011, 11:48 AM
nitz90

Smile Re: I am doing 3rd year in ECE : In which year can I write IAS prelims?

Originally Posted by tonualex View Post

Eligibility For IAS

Its really nice to see your wisdom and your desire to become an IAS officer..but you need to fuel it with proper hard work in the correct direction..

In order to become an IAS officer..you need to clear the Civil Service Exams conducted by UPSC every year..

You should satisfy the following conditions for appearing in the Civil Service Exams :-

1) You should be a graduate or a final year graduation student in any stream from an AICTE or UGC recognized University..

2) You should be in the age limit of 21-30 years for general category,21-33 years for OBC and 21-35 years for SC/ST..

The maximum number of attempts permissible for general candidates is 4,for OBC it is 7 and for SC/ST there is no limit..

You should start your preparations from now on..

The Exam pattern is as follows :-

1) Prelims :- This round is also known as Civil Service Aptitude Test(CSAT) and has 2 objective papers which will test your general knowledge,current affairs and aptitude..

2) Mains :- If you clear the Prelims,then you shall qualify for the Mains where you will face nine papers..where your knowledge of your graduation subjects shall be tested..

If you clear both the rounds..you shall be called for the interview..

all the best..

With Warm Regards
"Nitz"
23rd April 2012, 06:17 PM
srinivas933

hi friend

Your are eligible to the IAS preliminary exam.
IAS (Indian Administrative Service) the exam is conducted by the UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) once in a year.

Eligibility Criteria :
-> The candidate should be complete graduation from a recognised university.
-> Final year candidates are also eligible.
->Age limits is 21 years to 30 years, 3 years age relaxation for the OBC candidates, 5 years age relaxation for the SC/ST candidates.
-> Candidate should be a citizen of india.

Selection Procedure :

* Preliminary exam,
* Main exam,
* Interview.

For more details check visit
Http://www.upsc.gov.in
8th October 2012, 11:00 PM
nutulapathi reshma

myself reshma persuing b.tech iii year in cse department.
i am interested in civil services. so,can you guide me that what books have to prefer?
and can you tell me that,for prelim exams which topics have to prepare?i would like to start preparations from tomorrow on wards ?please guide me in such a way that what should be prepared first.please help me,so i would be thank full for your valuable suggestions

thanks & regards,
reshma
15th May 2013, 04:42 PM
anupsahu

write IAS prelims
I think engineering students can appear in the IAS exam. The graduate students from general study course(arts/science/commerce/life science/home science) can apply for IAS.
13th August 2013, 07:46 PM
kota.apparao

Red face Re: I am doing 3rd year in ECE : In which year can I write IAS prelims?

After completing of your b.tech,you are able to write the IAS prelims examination.I think you are most exciting on the IAS exam.So in this time you gain more information about general awareness....because current affairs is the most difficult part,so focus on that area...
All the best for your preparation.......