9th January 2011, 01:03 AM
flyhighakhil

Subject wise book list for preparation of civil services examination

Dear sir/madam.

i m akhil & about to start preparing for upsc (ips) exam. I m a BCA graduate, As i m new to this so, plz tel me some books subject wise for my best preparation. I will be very thankful..

9th January 2011, 02:09 PM
surendergora

Default Re: Subject wise book list for preparation of civil services examination

Since u are a new bee to UPSC field, so i m providing the link for full information on civil service.
www.upscportal.gov.in.

10th January 2011, 12:01 AM
bhavna04

Default Re: Subject wise book list for preparation of civil services examination

iam giving you the best link from which you can see the book name which can help you in IPS exam-http://www.onestopias.com/books/

10th January 2011, 02:11 PM
rks_estate

Book list for preparation of civil services examination are as follows: -

REFERENCE BOOKS FOR PRELIMINARY EXAMINATION: General Studies

1. Indian History - India Struggle for Independence by Bipin Chandra; NCERT Books ( XI & XII )
2. Geography - Spectrum
3. Indian Polity - Constitution of India by Bakshi
4. Indian Economy - Plus One, Plus Two Books, Pratiyogita Darpan
5. General Science - Tata Mc Graw Hill Guide
6. Mental Ability - Quantitative Apitude by R.S. Aggarwal
7. Current Affairs - Some magazines and Newspapers

i. The Hindu/The Times of India
ii. Frontline
iii. Civil Service Chronicle
iv. Chanakya
v. Competition WIZARD
vi. Civil Services Today

8. Guides

1. Tata Mc Graw Hill
2. Spectrum
3. Unique

Topic Wise Reference On General Studies
Books on Indian History & Culture:
NCERT (+ 2 level) — Ancient India, Medieval India, Modern India.
Publication Division : Gazetteer of India (Vol 2 : History & Culture)
Gandhi Nehru Tagore & Ambedkar — Gopal Krishna
Bipin Chandra - Modern India
A.C.Banerjee - History of Modern India Raghavan Aiyer — Mahatma Gandhi

Books on Geography:
NCERT : Physical Geography of India for X - XII Std
A Good School Atlas
Sharma & Cotinho : Economic and Commercial Geography of India.
Khullar : India- A Comprehnsive Geography
Charles Farro : General Principles of World Geography
Charles Farro : Monsoon Asia Reports published by Centre for Science and Enviornment And Tata Energy Research Institute
National journal - Kurukshetra, Yojana etc.
Down to earth

Books on Indian Economy:
NCERT (+1 level)—Evolution of Indian Economy(I C Dhingra).
Mishra & Puri or Dutt & Sundaram - Indian Economy
Economic Survey
The Economic Times,Business Standard
Yojana

Books on Social and National Issues :
Social Problem - Ram Ahuja
Social Welfare Magazine - Published by ministry of social welfare
Yojana/Kurukshetra
IIPa Journal

Books on Indian Polity:
NCERT (+1 level)—Indian Political System
N.L. Madan : Bhartiya Rajya Vyavastha
D.D. Basu—Indian Constitution
Kashyap—Constitution of India
Publication Division—Subhash C. Kashyap : Our Parliament
P.M. Bakshi—Indian Constitution
Our Constitution : Subhash C. kashyap
Perspective on Constitution : S.C. Kashyap
Frontline Magazine
IIPa Journal

Books on Science & Technology:
NCERT : (10 level) : Science, (+2 level) : Biology.
Popular Science Series (CSIR)
Reports Of the Ministry of Science and Technology Yojana
Science Reporter
Science and Technology in India - Spectrum

Books on Statistics:
(NCERT +1 level) Elementary Statistics
S.C.Gupta : Statistical Methods

Books on India and the World :
Journal of peace Studies
World Focus
Strategic Analysis
South Asian Journal

Other Books for General Studies:
1. India Year Book latest
2. One competitive Magazine
3. Guides like Tata Mc Graw Hill, Spectrum or Unique For General Reference 4. The Pearson General Studies Manual

Prepare according to the above books....... Good Luck

10th January 2011, 02:38 PM
flyhighakhil

Thank you Surender sir n Bhawna mam.
ur support is appreciable & i will look forword for ur contenious help.

best regards ; Akhila Nand
Take care..

11th January 2011, 05:18 PM
flyhighakhil

thank you so much buddy...

can u also suggest me any subject which can be easier for me to learn quickly for my mains exam and how should i prepare thay, as i m a bca grduate.??

9th March 2011, 01:21 PM

10th March 2011, 12:20 AM
foreturner

you have not mentioned the elective subjects

however still i giving a list of some books for common subjects

General studies
Year books -- manorama etc.

NCERT books for all subjects
Geography, history,
chemistry, Physics
maths , social sciences

etc... from school level 8th to +2 level

you will also
need to read magazines and newspapers daily... at least three

and practice writing as much as you can in formats like view/counter view/ critical analysis etc.
The economist
TOI HT HINDU >>> CHRONiCLE etc.

10th March 2011, 01:39 AM
mishra245

All subjects question papers book is available on the market.
The books are:
UPSC PRE: Samanya Adyayan Solved Papers In Hindi

the question papers books are published by Tata MacGraw Hill publication, the best book.

10th March 2011, 11:06 AM
Niklesh92

Civil Services BooksCivil Services Books For Statistics

Civil Services Books For General Studies

Civil Services Books For Maths

Civil Services Books For Pali

(more content follows the advertisement below)
A D V E R T I S E M E N T

Civil Services Books For Economics

Civil Services Books For Philosophy

Civil Services Books For History

Civil Services Books For Public Administration

Civil Services Books For Electrical Engineering

Civil Services Books For Mechanical Engineering

Civil Services Books For Botany

Civil Services Books For Urdu

Civil Services Books For Management

Civil Services Books For Physics

Civil Services Books For Medical Science

Civil Services Books For Agriculture

Civil Services Books For Anthropology

Civil Services Books For Chemistry

Civil Services Books For Commerce

Civil Services Books For Law

Civil Services Books For Political Science

Civil Services Books For Psychology

Civil Services Books For Zoology

Civil Services Books For Civil Engineering

10th March 2011, 02:00 PM
Arvi.S

You need to know the day to day happenings in the world in all fields so that you will be able to attend the exam with confidence. To know this you should read all sort of books based on all current and previous happenings of the world i.e. national and international news

21st March 2011, 09:28 PM

Hi i am new to preparation for civil services. I would like to know what would be the best book for General Studies (not current affairs, yearbook etc) As in one book that would cover Indian History, Polity, admin and geography. I have been reecommended tata mcgraw hill to be a good book to begin with and would like your reviews.
An early reply would be useful

22nd May 2011, 09:48 AM

can u please tell me wen the preliminary exams will be conducted will they be conducted yearly once or twice?

13th June 2011, 10:35 AM

hello sir/madam

as i'm going fr public administration in mains can u please suggest me a good book fr it.

27th June 2011, 10:08 PM

is it sufficient to read ncert books from 8th to 12th general studies.

5th July 2011, 11:18 AM

could you please refer me some books of history as i have choosed history my optional?
and please tell me that NCERT books would be sufficent for ias exam??

25th October 2011, 11:05 AM

when they will announce the exam dates for ias and ips

25th October 2011, 11:07 AM

when they will announce ias and ips examination dates

25th October 2011, 11:09 AM
krishnakitty

when they will announce ips and ias examination dates?

23rd November 2011, 10:02 AM

plz tell me about referance books Education I and Educatron II.

Pankaj Roy, Agartala.

10th December 2011, 10:11 PM

hello sir i am muni babu.E at present i am under prelims coaching... in mains i would like to opt to geography.. i want to start mains parallel to prelims.. so please kindly suggest me the standard books for geography

29th December 2011, 11:32 AM

hello sir! will u plz tell me the names of some good books for the preperation for physics and psychology for the civil service exams.
i would be very thankful if u can do so a little bit fast.

6th February 2012, 05:29 PM

i am a student of electronics and communication engineering, second year..... can i go for ias exam..... can anyone tell me the procedure to opt for subjects n all related information to this exam....plzzzzzzzzz.... help me....

13th February 2012, 06:47 PM

please suggest sociology books for mains exam..

8th July 2012, 05:09 PM

just to start civils preparation,from where to start and suggest me the books also

15th July 2012, 08:40 PM
roknits

just to start civils preparation,from where to start and suggest me the books also

list of books is provided in the attachment below............

the attachment contains all books for Preparation for---

>>Preliminary exam

>>mains exam

selection process

>>Preliminary exam

>>mains exam

>>Interview

hope this helps you..........

with regards
roknits
File Type: pdf (www.entrance-exam.net)-IAS III.pdf(46.4 KB, 127 views)

19th June 2014, 09:17 PM

i have jst complete my 12th non medical .so firstly plz tell me that ias preliminary test k liye mjhe particular subject choose krna pdega kya and kitne subject choose krne honge???????????plz guide me plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz