15th January 2011, 03:55 PM
Mamta Devi

Syllabus of IAS entrance exam?

Please Sir my requested for you guide me for syllabus of IAS entrance exam. because this is my first time. thanking you

16th January 2011, 03:52 PM

Default Re: Syllabus of IAS entrance exam?

First of you need to begin preparation for the prelims. For that you should update yourself in the general studies area. Also you need to select an optional subject. Preferably it should be in the area of specialisation in graduation. After covering all the basic concept level you should go in for solving last few years paper. Make sure to check your errors and correct them. Information regarding the optional subjects is available in the UPSC site.
16th January 2011, 11:14 PM
venkataprakash.v

Originally Posted by Mamta Devi View Post
Please Sir my requested for you guide me for syllabus of IAS entrance exam. because this is my first time. thanking you
dear friend.

improve your general knowledge and start the preparation,first you have preliminary,main and interview.And you have a optional subject select the
what subject you want than see the previous papers.it is very useful to you.
don't prepare last minute.take the exam seriously.the syllabus available
the various websites.but i am give the link.

http://http://www.civilserviceindia....-syllabus.html
17th January 2011, 12:27 AM
Aishwary

you have to improve your general knowledge and crack the preliminary.
And for more detail please visit its site: http://http://www.civilserviceindia....-syllabus.html
17th January 2011, 02:28 AM
deep_4

Post Re: Syllabus of IAS entrance exam?

Well friend,

There is nothing like IAS Exam, to become IAS officer you have to Write Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year.

In Civil services Exam there are two stages.One is prelms and Another One is Mains.

Those who clear the Prelims Exam, then He/She will be able to write Mains.

For Prelims Syllabus/Pattern,It consists of

General Studies and

Optional Subject(to be selected form 25 subjects Agriculture Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science,Botany,Chemistry,Civil Engineering,Commerce,Economics,Economics (for Visually

Impaired candidates),Electrical Engineering,Geography,Geology,Geology (for Visually Impaired candidates),Indian History,Law,Mathematics,Mechanical Engineering,

Medical Science,Philosophy,Philosphy (for Visually Impaired candidates),Physics,Political Science,Public Administration,Psychology,Statistics,Sociology,Zoo logy)

The same pattern is also for MAINS but its a next level in contrast to type(Harder than Prelims) of the paper

Good luck.
17th January 2011, 05:38 AM
sarabjitsingh23

hello mamta
i have attached a file that will guide you to all the aspects IAS examination.
i am also preparing for this exam so ihad searched alot material about this exam.. and most importantly i would like give you the website details from where
you can get anything and everything about IAS. ihave been benefitted alot from this website mentioned below
www.onestopias.com
its a complete guide for you. sample papers ,past years papers or everything about IAS is available to you here in this site.
i hope you would benefitted by information provided by me. bye
File Type: doc SYLLABUS IAS.doc(86.5 KB, 246 views)
17th January 2011, 10:05 AM
ricks2cool

I will suggest you to firstly prepare well for prelims because after that only you can apply for Mains.
You should do the following in regards with IAS prelim exam:-
1) Read news paper daily,don’t miss news paper .
2) Improve your GK .
3) Read YEAR BOOKS.
4) Work on ur basic subjects using NCERT as reference .
5) Make few points daily form newspaper,
6) Do attend a good coaching classes,if required.
7) Read only one good magazine from the competitive exam magazine.
8) It is a long procedure so always keep working on time & be active.
9) YOJANA books will also help you.

Do refer the following PDF it has details regarding IAS exam:-
1) Sample Question Paper
2) New syllabus
File Type: pdf Sample Question Paper.pdf(86.9 KB, 247 views)
File Type: pdf Syllabus-for-2011-UPSC-Preliminary-Examination.pdf(4.0 KB, 200 views)
17th January 2011, 10:17 AM
G_rocks

hello friend

you have to be more focused on general knowledge,first you have preliminary,main and interview.And you have a optional subject select the
what subject you want than see the previous papers.Information regarding the optional subjects is available in the UPSC site.

17th January 2011, 11:56 AM
s.d.meena

IAS ka pre ka sullbus are change to you prepare gk and genrel paper jo ke sbka commen h and your main subject paper are proprele prepare
17th January 2011, 11:56 AM
s.suneetha

Red face Re: Syllabus of IAS entrance exam?

there are three selection process in this exam preliminary ,mains and interview
so try to improve your general knowledge by reading news papers daily,current affairs.also there is an optional paper for this you have prepare seriously.I will suggest you one website in this site you will get syallabus along previous year question paper.
www.civilserviceindia.com
17th January 2011, 01:24 PM
MSheik

Thumbs up Re: Syllabus of IAS entrance exam?

From this current year the mode of IAS(civil service examination) entrance examination was changed, you dont need to concentrate on any optionals for Prelim, because the Prelim was changed into CSAT(Civil service Aptitude Test), it consists of two papers.

Paper I - (200 marks) Duration: Two hours

• Current events of national and international importance
• History of India and Indian National Movement
• Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic geography of India and the World.
• Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
• Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.
• General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate
• Change - that do not require subject specialization
• General Science.

Paper II- (200 marks) Duration: Two hours

• Comprehension
• Interpersonal skills including communication skills;
• Logical reasoning and analytical ability
• Decision making and problem solving
• General mental ability
• Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data
Sufficiency etc. -Class X level)
• English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).
• Questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills of Class X level (last item in the Syllabus of Paper-II) will be tested through passages from English language only without providing Hindi translation thereof in the question paper.
• The questions will be of multiple choices, objective type.

All the best...!
17th January 2011, 01:35 PM
pradeep.g.u

one night preparation is not enough for IAS entrance exam .you need to begin preparing for the prelims. you need to select an optional subject. Preferably it should be in the area of specialisation in graduation. read news papers for general awareness.do refer the UPSC site.
17th January 2011, 02:15 PM
chidipothuhareswathi

first of all i should congrats you for selecting this field... first you have to cross prelims in that you have to select three subject.. there will be an some score limit.. you have to get more than that.. then only you can go for next round. like cat,gre civil serivces lot of exam preparation websites are there.. some of free websites are there like that http://www.onestopias.com/.here you will get lot of new things about civil serivce... go through the news paper daily.. one month back also some people conduct free civil service work shop.. all best prepare well.
17th January 2011, 02:50 PM
maddusajj

hi...
the ias exam is held in two parts
1.prelims
in this section there are two papers from this year one is general knowledge paper and other the aptitude paper,there is no particular syllabus for general knowledge and as the aptitude part is being conducted for the first time so there is no great idea about it
2.mains
if you qualify the preliminary exams then you have to write the main exams,here you have to select two subjects of your own choice,the syllabus of which will be available at www.upsc.gov.in
17th January 2011, 03:33 PM
saddu26

you can watch the syllabus in the adobe document below
File Type: pdf csp2011-syll.pdf(13.1 KB, 132 views)
17th January 2011, 03:34 PM
kvrob139

To know the detaiiled syllabus for IAS go to the below link as I do not know the subjects you will choose for IAS:
http://www.onestopias.com/subjects/syllabus/

All the Best..
17th January 2011, 04:11 PM
prateek tyagi

You can get you ias exam syllabus at this link. www.onestopias.com\subjects\
17th January 2011, 08:22 PM
srikanth.vipparla

prelims are fist hurdle to cross on ,which is little hard to cross on because its out general core subjects of engineering
generally mathematics and history seems to be the best option for prelims
in mains you may choose your core branch and syllabus for that will be updated every year so you should check in notification once generally available at "www.upsc.gov.in"
all the best to u for your exams
17th January 2011, 08:37 PM
jits

The CSAT test basically consists of two papers each consisting of 200 marks each and to be solved with in 2 hours.

The first paper basically consists of:-

Current events,History of India and Indian National Movement,World Geography,Economics and Social Development,general science.

The second paper basically consists of the English part i.e

Logical reasoning,General mental ability,Interpersonal Skills,Comprehension part and Basic Numeracy.
17th January 2011, 10:59 PM
kengkora

Dear friend visit www.civilserviceindia.com/subject/ for detail syllabus of the IAS examination. study well for prelim and choose the best knowing subject for mains, choosing of subject and collecting of materials is very important. search for the best coaching institute.
17th January 2011, 11:08 PM
kengkora

please visit www.civilserviceindia.com/subject/ for detailed syllabus. plan and prepare well for prelim. then choosing your mains subject is very important many candidates mis-there chance all because of there wrong decision for choosing the right subject. next find the best coaching institute.
17th January 2011, 11:42 PM
kengkora

please visit www.civilserviceindia.com/subject/ for detail syllabus of your subject.
18th January 2011, 01:52 AM
harshit_ved

Dear friend,for preparing civil services u first need to select the subject in which u have interest and which u feel that u can study interestingly.i am giving here a link where u can get thorough knowledge about it....
www.upscportal.com
18th January 2011, 09:14 AM
abhimanyu2688

Post Re: Syllabus of IAS entrance exam?

you should first have to clear preliminary exams which is considered as very tough exams as questions are asked from various topics and also from 2011 onwards english and as well reasoning questions will be asked. so you must prepare very hard and sincerely for this. and for main exam you will have to select to optional paper which you think you have command over that and there is also a paper of gs in the mains exam and two qualifying language papers. after clearing the mains paper you will have to appear for interview and if you clear that then only you can become ias.
18th January 2011, 01:49 PM
ak471

You read the advertisement whose published by UPSC. Fill the application form with Rs 70/- IPO. Read all syllabus preliminary and final examination get preparing. If succeed you will become an IPS officer.

1. pratiyogita darpan for genera knowledge and current affairs
2. reasoning book
18th January 2011, 06:13 PM
NIJIN JOSE

please visit this

http://http://www.civilserviceindia....-syllabus.html
30th January 2011, 09:12 PM
priyanka_swengg

Smile Re: Syllabus of IAS entrance exam?

This time UPSC pattern is changed and it is called as CSAT which is expected to come into effect from Civil Services Examination, 2011.

It consits of two paper and each paper of Two hrs..

(Paper 1) (200 marks) consists of
Current events.
History
Geography
Indian Polity and governance
Economic and social development
and General science.

(Paper II) (200 marks)
Comprehension
Logical reasoning and analytical ability
Decision making and problem solving
General mental ability
Basic numeracy(Class X level)
English language comprehension skills (Class X level)

Based on the overall ranking and your choice of cadre, you will be provided IFS (Indian Foreign Service), IAS or IPS. The higher your rank, the choice is with you.

In case you have not not got a good rank and got into IFS, IAS or IPS, you may still become a Group A or B officer in the Central Govt.

All the best!
31st January 2011, 12:46 PM
mychandru024

IAS doesn't have any fixed syllabus... That is why it is hard to get over it.
22nd March 2011, 01:55 AM

hello i want to improve my english for csat 2011. what i do? plz help me.
22nd March 2011, 10:55 PM
kapila Chaudhary

SYLLABUS OF IAS EXAM:
Preliminary examinations
There are two papers
a) General studies
b) Optional subject

Part A - UPSC Preliminary Examination - Optional Subjects
General Studies
Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology

Part B - UPSC Main Examination - Optional Subjects
General Studies
Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology
Anthropology
Arabic
Assamese
Bengali
Chinese
English
German
Gujarati
Hindi
Kannada
Kashmiri
Konkani
Malayalam
Manipuri
Marathi
Nepali
Oriya
Pali
Persian
Punjabi
Russian
Sanskrit
Sindhi
Tamil
Telugu
Urdu
Management

For details see the the detailed notification in empoyment news dated 19.02.2011 OR
See the website:
www.upsc.gov.in
27th March 2011, 01:37 AM
amlendu

There is nothing like IAS Exam, to become IAS officer you have to Write Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year.

In Civil services Exam there are two stages.One is prelms and Another One is Mains.

Those who clear the Prelims Exam, then He/She will be able to write Mains.

For Prelims Syllabus/Pattern,It consists of

General Studies and

Optional Subject(to be selected form 25 subjects Agriculture Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science,Botany,Chemistry,Civil Engineering,Commerce,Economics,Economics (for Visually

Impaired candidates),Electrical Engineering,Geography,Geology,Geology (for Visually Impaired candidates),Indian History,Law,Mathematics,Mechanical Engineering,

Medical Science,Philosophy,Philosphy (for Visually Impaired candidates),Physics,Political Science,Public Administration,Psychology,Statistics,Sociology,Zoo logy)

The same pattern is also for MAINS but its a next level in contrast to type(Harder than Prelims) of the paper

Thank
17th April 2011, 02:05 PM

i am the student of b.tech 3rd year ,and my branch is electronics instrumentation.
sir,i want to preparing for IAS exam & this is my 1st time so plz advise me for my subject which is compatible & relaible for me.
and also send me the syllabus for prelims.
8th May 2011, 02:43 PM

plz guide me opting management as an optional in mains.
has anyone opted it???
15th May 2011, 11:49 PM
sivaraj448

I will suggest you to firstly prepare well for prelims because after that only you can apply for Mains.
You should do the following in regards with IAS prelim exam:-
1) Read news paper daily,don’t miss news paper .
2) Improve your GK .
3) Read YEAR BOOKS.
4) Work on ur basic subjects using NCERT as reference .
5) Make few points daily form newspaper,
6) Do attend a good coaching classes,if required.
7) Read only one good magazine from the competitive exam magazine.
8) It is a long procedure so always keep working on time & be active.
9) YOJANA books will also help you.
21st May 2011, 05:15 PM

sir my name is v .satyanarayana studying mbbs second year. Plz guide me how to prepare for the IAS exam.
24th May 2011, 12:08 PM

sir my name is dinesh yadav .completed syjc thios year from mumbai .plz help me to know that whether a student from commerce stream can applied for ias after 12th
24th May 2011, 12:13 PM

can a student from commerce stream completed 12th applied for IAS
24th May 2011, 04:21 PM

which classes NCERT books should be read for the ias preperation?plzzzz.guide me m waiting for ur reply .reply soon.
24th May 2011, 09:33 PM
npngpt

Smile Re: Syllabus of IAS entrance exam?

My friend,there is too much information that i cannot post in this message but can give you a link where you can find all information about the course
http://www.onestopias.com/subjects/syllabus/
30th June 2011, 08:28 PM

I M A BIOTECH STUDENT N I WANT TO DO IAS AS PER MY PARENTS WISH. SUGGEST ME WHAT TO DO NOW PLS.
14th August 2011, 05:01 PM

I WANT APPLY FOR EXAM WHAT CAN I DO?
18th August 2011, 01:35 PM

well coming to the point.i am a student of B.tech first year(computer science). My financial condition is very miserable.i am doing b.tech with study lone. i want to become a computer scientist but i don't have any idea about this line.so kindly show me a path towards my goal.
13th September 2011, 01:23 PM

dear sir please send name books
27th September 2011, 06:22 PM
MONA DAS

Hello sir/ madam,
I am a graduate Hons in English and i've completed my MBA in marketing and HR. I want to prepare myself for IAS. So what should I take as my subject ? I am attempting for the 1st time. So please guide me.
30th September 2011, 04:31 PM

wat is the syllabus for ias examination
4th November 2011, 05:14 PM

Hello Sir, my name is Sanjur Alam.I m doing graduation from Political science.I want to preperation of IAS plz guide me
12th November 2011, 01:01 PM

syllabus for each and every subject included in IAS examination.
14th November 2011, 09:59 PM

Sir i am b.tech final year student and branch ece so plz information prfparation
28th February 2012, 11:13 AM

RESPECTED SIR, PLZ GUIDE ME TO TACKLE AND CRACKLE THE IAS EXAM. PLZZZZZ RPLY FOR THE LATEST SYLLABUS.
THANKS
28th February 2012, 06:44 PM
jacobs

IAS examination details :

IAS - Indian Administrative Service Exam conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)
every year in a pan-Indian basis. IAS is the most intelligent exams to crack and successfully
join this stellar Central Govt. service. The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is the
administrative civil service of the executive branch of the Government of the Republic of India.

IAS Exam has three stages Preliminary Exam, Main Exam, and an Interview

IAS Preliminary Exam Pattern 2012:
The prelims are held around May-June.
It has objective ie multiple choice questions.
There are two papers (duration of each being 2 hrs).
a) General studies and
b)Optional subject:
you can choose from Psychology, Sociology, Philosophy, Agriculture, Maths, Phy,
Chem, Stats etc. Important: It is not compulsory to choose the same subjects of your graduation.
The results are declared in July-August and the successful candidates are called for the main
examinations. PS. The prelims score has no bearing for determining the final merit list for the
services.

IAS Mains Exam Pattern:-

The main written examination usually takes place in Oct-Nov,
it comprises of 9 papers in all
Duration of each paper is 3 hrs.

Language: one of the Indian languages, English, Essay GK and
Current Affairs: 2 papers on general studies Optionals: papers from
two subjects that fall in optional-1 and two papers from optional-2 (a choice of subjects
is listed by the UPSC in the prospectus) Candidates who are successful in the main examinations
are eligible for an interview which plays a crucial part in the selection.

IAS Interview 2012 :-
The interview calls are sent in March-April of the following year and
they take place in the month of April-May. The Board of interviewers look for a well-adjusted
personality with the social traits, integrity and qualities of leadership . PS. The number of
candidates called for the interview is normally twice the number of vacancies.

IAS Preliminary Exam Syllabus 2012:-

(Paper 1) (200 marks) - Duration : Two hrs.

* Current events of national and international importance
* History of India and Indian national movement
* Indian and World Geography- physical, social, economic geography of India and the world
* Indian Polity and governance – constitution, political system, panchayati raj, public policy, Rights issues, etc.
* Economic and social development – sustainable development, poverty, inclusion, demographics, social sector initiatives etc.
* General issues on environmental ecology, bio-diversity and climate change-that donot require subject specialization
* General science.

(Paper II) (200 marks) – Duration : Two hrs

* Comprehension
* Interpersonal skills including communication skills
* Logical reasoning and analytical ability
* Decision making and problem solving
* General mental ability
* Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc. (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. –Class X level)
* English language comprehension skills (Class X level)
* Questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills of Class X level (last item in the Syllabus of Paper-II) will be tested through passages from English language only without providing Hindi translation thereof in the question paper.
* The questions will be of multiple choice, objective type.

IAS Mains Exam Syllabus 2012:-

General Studies:- The nature and standard of questions in the General Studies papers will be such that a well-educated person will be able to answer them without any specialized study. The questions will be such as to test a candidate’s general awareness of a variety of subjects, which will have relevance for a career in Civil Services. The questions are likely to test the candidate’s basic understanding of all relevant issues, and ability to analyze, and take a view on conflicting socio-economic goals, objectives and demands. The candidates must give relevant, meaningful and succinct answers.

Essay:- Candidates will be required to write an essay on a specific topic. The choice of subjects will be given. They will be expected to keep closely to the subject of the essay to arrange their ideas in orderly fashion, and to write concisely. Credit will be given for effective and exact expression.

English Qualifying:- The pattern of questions would be broadly as follows :-

(i) Comprehension of given passages.
(ii) Precis Writing
(iii) Usage and Vocabulary
(iv) Short Essay

Indian Language:-

(i) Comprehension of given passages.
(ii) Precis Writing
(iii) Usage and Vocabulary.
(iv) Short Essay
(v) Translation from English to the Indian language and vice-versa.

IAS COACHING CENTER :

IN Bangalore :

Ujjwal IAS Academy
Head Office: B-18, Top floor. Satija house

ANAND INSTITUTE OF MATHEMATICS
28 B/6, Jia sarai, Near IIT, Hauz Khas

Vision India IAS Study Circle
25/24, II Floor, Old Rajinder Nagar Market

Mishra Commerce classes
A_4 KRISHNAPARK DEVLI ROAD KHANPUR N.D.

In Hyderabad :

Indian School of IAS
2nd Floor, Samvik Apts. Opp: Sub Reg. Office, Ashok Nagar X Roads

SRI GURU RAGHAVENDRA IAS COACHING CENTER
NEAR NARAYANAGUDA CIRCLE

PUKA's IAS
MUDDA PARK

BRAIN TREE
3rd Floor, 3-6-432, Himayatnagar

Shekar's IAS Study Circle
Near Ashoknagar X Roads

In Ahmedabad :

IAS Coaching
B-206, Ganesh Plaza Naurangpura City: Ahmedabad Ph: 079-26441060

Suzlon IAS training center
C.G.Road,navrangpura City: Ahmedabad State: Gujarat. Phone: (079)26430419, 26430622,

Prism Center For Education
306, Pushpam Complex, Opp Seema Hall,

IAS Study Center
SATELLITE ROAD, AHMEDABAD-380 015 Phone: 26747612, 26747636, 26741879, 26741999

Prism Center For Education
306, Pushpam Complex, Opp Seema Hall,100 Feet Road,