6th September 2010, 08:06 PM
OCEANKARTHICK

Syllabus and model question papers for BHEL examination for engineering and supervisor trainee cadre?

sir i am B.E mechanical engineering i want the syllabus and the model question for the BHEL examination for both engineering and supervisor trainee cadre?please send as soon as possible sir!

7th September 2010, 12:53 PM

Default Re: Syllabus and model question papers for BHEL examination for engineering and supervisor trainee cadre?

Iwant EXAM SYLLABUS IN MECHANICAL SUPERVISOR TRAINEE
7th September 2010, 01:55 PM
amannauti

Smile Re: Syllabus and model question papers for BHEL examination for engineering and supervisor trainee cadre?

Originally Posted by OCEANKARTHICK View Post
sir i am B.E mechanical engineering i want the syllabus and the model question for the BHEL examination for both engineering and supervisor trainee cadre?please send as soon as possible sir!

Dear OCEANKARTHICK

Following is the pattern followed by BHEL For engineering and supervisor trainee cadre

Selection process is based on written test and interview. Eligible candidates taking up written test based on the marks & called for interview in the ratio of 1:3.

Pattern of the exam:

Engineer Trainee*(ET):
The written test for ST post will have 240 objective type questions & the duration is 2 Hrs 30 mins.
The test has following sections - 1) _Aptitude Test_ (covers Quantitative Aptitude, Reasoning, Logical thinking, English, General Awareness)
2) _Technical Test_ (questions from you specialization – Elect./Electronics/Mech engg.) * Each correct answer – 1 mark & wrong answer will fetch negative mark of 0.2
* There is no specific syllabus mentioned for this BHEL ET exam & questions would be mostly only from your engineering subjects, so _refer your college books_.

*Supervisor Trainee* (ST):
The written test for ST post consists of 150 objective questions, to be answered in 2 Hrs time. Following are the sections - 1) Aptitude Test (covers Quantitative Aptitude, Reasoning, Logical thinking, English, General Awareness etc)
2) Technical Test (questions from your subjects – Elect./Electronics/Mech/Civil engg) * There is negative mark of 0.2 for each wrong answer (1 mark for correct answer)
* Candidates have to refer their college syllabus to prepare for this ST exam, as questions would be based on it.

SAMPLE PAPER
A-
Sample Question paper: Engineer Trainee

1. APTITUDE TEST
Directions: In the following question, pick the choice whose meaning is opposite to the word shown in capitals.

1. HOI POLLOI:
(1) Cannibalism (2) Tyranny (3) The past (4) Aristocracy (5) Capitalist

Directions: In the following question, the descriptive sentence is aptly described by just one word. Select the choice which give the meaning most appropriately:
2. One who talks in his sleep:
(1) Somniloquist (2) Somnivocalist (3) Somnambulist (4) Somnalesist (5) None of these

Directions: In each question below you will find three words. The first two words are related to each other in some way. The third word is also related in the same way to one of the four alternatives marked as: (1), (2), (3) and (4). Find it out.

3. REMAIN : STAY LEAVE: ?
(1) Good-bye (2) Run (3) Farewell (4) Depart

4. POET : VERSE SCULPTOR : ? (1) Artist (2) Chisel (3) Statue (4) Marble

Directions: In each question below you will find words, four of which are alike in some respect; they have something in common and belong to one category. Only one word is different from them; it does not belong to the category to which the other four belong. Which word is different from the rest?

5. (1) Foot ball (2) Cricket (3) Polo (4) Chess (5) Hockey

6. (1) Eye (2) Nose (3) Tongue (4) Finger (5) Liver

7. In a code where a numeral represents an alphabet the most likely code for the word RECESS is: (1) 913155 (2) 723245 (3) 865277 (4) 233300 (5) 983499

8. If in a code a,b,c, means `try your best', b,o,p,o means `try again & again' x,y,a means `all the best' - Then `your best again' is represented by (1) c a o (2) p o c (3) a c p (4) y c a (5) o c y

Directions: In the following question complete the given series
9. 48,24,72,36,108, . . . . . . . . . . .
(1) 110 (2)115 (3) 64 (4) 54 (5) 125

10. Of the following numbers which one is the greatest?
(1) (0.6 x 0.6)-12 (2) 0.004 x 100 (3) (-0.7)4 (4) 0.2 x 0.2

11. Which of the following numbers is least?
(1) (1/4)2 (2) 49 (3) 4-9 (4) 42

12. It costs Rs.4.25 for two adults and their child to attend the Circus. If the child's ticket is half the price of adult's ticket, what is the price of an adult's ticket?
(1) Rs.0.75 (2)Rs. 1.70 (3) Rs.1.75 (4) Rs.1.44

13. If `a' is less than 50 and 'b' is less than 25, it follows that:
(1) a=2b (2) `a` is greater than b (3) a+b is less than 75 (4) a-b =25 (5) None of these
2A. TECHNICAL TEST (for Engineer Trainees)
PART 1 - GENERAL 1. A series combination of Resistance and Capacitor is put across a Thyristor to protect it from:
(1) High Currents (2) High voltage (3) High rate of change of voltage (4) High rate of change of current
(5) Thermal run away

2. A Babbitt is:
(1) An eutectic of iron and iron phosphide
(2) A gadget of measuring volume
(3) Antimony bearing lead or tin alloy
(4) A measure of magnetic induction produced in a material
(5) None of these above

3. An Induction motor is:
(1) Self-starting with zero torque (2) Self-starting with very high torque
(3) Self-starting with smaller torque than the rated torque (4) None of the above
PART II - SPECIALISED FIELDS
ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
1. The transformer capacity is 200 KVA, percentage impedance is 4% and tolerance impedance is 10%. The short circuit current in KA is:
(1) 0.39 (2) 8.21 (3) 8210 (4) 82100 (5) 0.821

2. A 20 KVA transformer was found to have 600 W Iron losses and 700 W Copper losses, when supplying full load at 0.8 power factor. The efficiency of the transformer on full load is:
(1) 92.5% (2) 91.2% (3) 100% (4) 98.2% (5) None of these

3. A water heater holds 20 litres of water. An electric immersion heater which will raise the temperature of the water from 10 degree C to 88 degree C in 55 minutes and efficiency of 85%. The rating in KW is
(1)7685000 (2)2330 (3)2.33 (4) 23.3 (5) None of these

ELECTRONICS ENGINEERING
1. A 10 Kw transistor is modulated to 80%. The average side band power will be:
(1) 1.8 KW (2) 8 KW (3) 3.2 KW (4) 4.6 KW (5) 4.26 KW

2. A resonant circuit has the resonance frequency 1 MHz and quality factor, Q, 100. Its 3-db band width is:
(1) 10 KHz (2) 5 KHz (3) 100 KHz (4) 20 KHz (5) None of these

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
1. The inlet valve of a four stroke cycle I.C. engine remains open for nearly:
(1) 180o (2) 125o (3) 235o (4) 200o (5) 275o

2. Diesel cycle efficiency is maximum when the cut off is:
(1) Increased (2) Decreased (3) Maximum (4) Minimum (5) Zero
ANSWER KEY
1. APTITUDE TEST
1(4) 2. (1) 3.(4) 4.(3) 5.(4) 6.(5) 7.(1) 8. (1) 9.(4) 10.(1) 11.(3) 12.(2) 13.(3)

2A. TECHNICAL TEST - PART I - GENERAL
1(3) 2.(3) 3.(3)
PART II - SPECIALISED FIELDS
1. ELECTRICAL ENGG. 1. (2) 2. (1) 3.(3)
2. ELECTRONICS ENGG. 1. (3) 2. (1)
3. MECHANICAL ENGG. 1. (3) 2. (5)

B-
Sample Question Paper: Supervisor Trainee

SAMPLE TEST QUESTION
1. APTITUDE TEST
Directions: In the following question, pick the choice whose meaning is opposite to the word shown in capitals.
1. HOI POLLOI:
(1) Cannibalism (2) Tyranny (3) The past (4) Aristocracy (5) Capitalist

2. Which of the following numbers is least?
(1) (1/4)2 (2) 49 (3) 4-9 (4) 42

3. It costs Rs.4.25 for two adults and their child to attend the Circus. If the child's ticket is half the price of adult's ticket, what is the price of an adult's ticket?
(1) Rs.0.75 (2)Rs. 1.70 (3) Rs.1.75 (4) Rs.1.44

4. If `a' is less than 50 and 'b' is less than 25, it follows that:
(1) a=2b (2) `a` is greater than b (3) a+b is less than 75 (4) a-b =25 (5) None of these
2. TECHNICAL TEST (for Supervisor Trainees)
CIVIL ENGINEERING
1. When a rectangular beam is loaded transversely, the maximum tensile stress is developed on the
(1) top layer
(2) bottom layer
(3) neutral axis
(4) every cross section
(5) none of these
2. The velocity at which the laminar flow stops, is known as
(1) velocity of approach
(2) lower critical velocity
(3) higher critical velocity
(4) medium critical velocity
(5) none of these
ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
1. ) If a hot resistance of an indicator lamp is 50 Ohm and rated current is 0.2A, its rated voltage is (1) 2V (2) 5V (3) 10V (4) 20V (5) 25V

2. What resistance must be connected in parallel with one of 8.5 ohm to give an equivalent resistance of 5.1 ohm?
(1) 15.72 ohm (2) 12.75 ohm (3) 17.52 ohm (4) 15.27 ohm (5) None of these

ELECTRONICS ENGINEERING
1. A reflex Klystron function as:
(1) Microwave amplifier (2) Microwave oscillator (3) A high gain cavity (4) both as amplifier and as oscillator (5) None of these

2. Thermocouple instruments are also known as (1) R F instruments (2) PMMC instruments (3) Rectifier instruments (4) Digital instruments (5) None of these

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
1. Kelvin-Planck’s law deals with
(1) conservation of work (2) conservation of heat (3) conversion of heat into work (4) conversion of work into heat (5) none of these

2. ) In involute gears, the pressure angle
(1) dependent on the size of teeth (2) dependent on the size of gears (3) always constant (4) always variable (5) none of these
ANSWER KEY
1. APTITUDE TEST 1(4) 2.(3) 3.(2) 4.(3)

2. TECHNICAL TEST
1. CIVIL ENGG. 1. (1) 2. (2)
2. ELECTRICAL ENGG. 1. (3) 2. (2)
3. ELECTRONICS ENGG. 1. (2) 2. (3)
4. MECHANICAL ENGG. 1. (3) 2. (3)

ALL THE BEST
7th September 2010, 03:25 PM
KHAN20

Default Re: Syllabus and model question papers for BHEL examination for engineering and supervisor trainee cadre?

obviously u will get ur information bt for that u have to maintain some procedure.first of all u must buy BHEL EXAM Book on engg.from where u will get model question pattern plus previous yr question papers.or u may search web site likes www.freshersworld.com,www.monsterjob.com,www.nokri .com etc.from where u must get BHEL question pattern plus previous yr question papers.for more information u may follow BHEL exam related magazine.or u can follow newspaper like employmentnews etc.
so take decission make ur bright future.
7th September 2010, 05:41 PM

i will csuggest you to see the bhel recruitment website www.careers.bhel.in
you will get all the information about the exam. best of luck.
7th September 2010, 11:45 PM
asahu47

hi.
u can find the previous year questions on the net and aswell as near ur book stall......

good luck.,
8th September 2010, 06:46 PM
chaitu667

Hai friend!

Preparing for BHEL is not so easy and if you want those Syllabus and model question papers you will find them on internet from the sites like http://freshersworld.com/, http://monsterjobs.com/ etc.

More importantly you will find them from BHEL official website:
http://career.bhel.in/

Good luck!
9th September 2010, 09:38 AM

There is no specific syllabus for BHEL examination. You need to have thorough knowledge on all the subject in your branch. You can get the model questions from upkar publication. The written test has over 150 objective questions to test the professional/technical knowledge, quantitative aptitudes, reasoning ability, general awareness, logical thinking, Usage of English etc. Each question carries 1 mark and 0.2 negetive marking for wrong answers.
13th September 2010, 11:21 AM

good thank u sir
13th September 2010, 12:00 PM

hi friends, i was attended the bhel exam for the past 2years but didn't get a good result what i want to do for that
13th September 2010, 07:00 PM

dear sir please give the syllabus for supervisor trainee?
14th September 2010, 06:54 PM

QUESTION PAPER PATTERN
15th September 2010, 12:26 PM

sir please tell me the subjects that i have to concentrate for engineer trainee exam in mechanical engineering
15th September 2010, 05:03 PM

i want to clear bhel exam at any cost.. u may give syllabus or not.......is that clear.... ashok
17th September 2010, 12:35 PM

how to collect BHEL admission ticket?
23rd September 2010, 11:02 PM

which book need to study for bhel exam
29th September 2010, 03:15 AM

Sir plz send me syllabus and previous 10 years exam papers of mechanical supervisor trainee on my email ID- [email protected]
29th September 2010, 03:42 PM

sir, how i prepare general engineering for bhel exam? any book or website
6th October 2010, 01:04 PM

please send syllabus and previous years question papers, [email protected]
6th October 2010, 01:05 PM

please send supervioser trainee solved previous papers
7th October 2010, 03:13 AM

please send syllabus and supervioser trainee solved previous papers, [email protected]
13th October 2010, 02:27 PM

sir i want bhel supervisor trainee syllabs & model question paper send my id. my id;[email protected]
13th October 2010, 08:45 PM

Please send bhel supervisor trainee syllabus & model question paper to my id [email protected]
13th October 2010, 10:14 PM

dear sir, i want bhel supervisor trainee Electrical Previous year paper solved . Plz send it to my email id [email protected] , [email protected] as soon as possible. i shal be thankfull to you for this.
amit kumar
15th October 2010, 06:10 PM

dear sir,i want bhel eng trainee electrical previous papaer solved.plzzz send it to my id [email protected], as soon as possible....plzz anu pandey
15th October 2010, 11:07 PM
vik111

Preparing for BHEL is not so easy and if you want those Syllabus and model question papers you will find them on internet from the sites like http://freshersworld.com/, http://monsterjobs.com/ etc.

More importantly you will find them from BHEL official website:
http://career.bhel.in

www.freshersworld.com

16th October 2010, 11:46 PM

dear sir i need bhel previous years questions for supervisor trainee.
kindly help me.
my email address is
31st October 2010, 11:15 PM

iam a pre final year student of mech.engg.. i wanna know how to tackle this bhel exam? what kind of preparation is necessary?and the syllabus for it?
9th November 2010, 12:16 PM

i want iti fitter solver question paper for bhel artisen exam
22nd December 2010, 12:02 PM

Sir i want bhel previous years questions. I am a final year student of mech.engg...
what kind of preparation is necessary and the syllabus for it? It may be useful for me sir...Reply through my email.
kindly help me sir...
My e-mail address is
29th December 2010, 04:23 PM

sir i want book only for question bank of many psu exam like sail, bhel, ntpc, ongc in mechanical stream
please send book name & author and link so i can get this book
sir, i also want to know syllabus of these exam
my e-mail address is
26th July 2011, 11:30 AM
azra...

sir,I am a final year ece student.I am interested in ECE core side Jobs.BHEL is one out of them.Can you please pass enough information regarding it i..e, what is the syllabus..how to get prepared..exam pattern.I am awaiting for your reply.Thanks in advance....
2nd August 2011, 08:11 PM

sir i want to know about previous year question
pls send me in my mail id [email protected]
5th August 2011, 10:06 PM

jitendra,

dear all i have attending bhel exam in 2007 and got fight. for you all, i have last five years solved paper from 2010 to last 2006. so any one who wants send their id me.

MY EMAIL ID ;- [email protected]
8th August 2011, 07:23 AM

dear sir i need bhel previous years questions for engineer trainee.
kindly help me.
my email address is
9th August 2011, 02:01 PM

dear sir i need bhel previous year question paperand syllabus for engineer traniee and supervisor trainee carde?

my email adderss is [email protected]
thank you sir
11th August 2011, 01:58 AM
Daltonj766

Sir, Pls can u give me the previous year's question paper for supervisor trainee(BHEL). My email id is '[email protected]'
11th August 2011, 02:17 PM

RE: Syllabus and moel question papers for BHEL examination for supervisor trainee electrical.My amail id is [email protected]
11th August 2011, 03:23 PM

Re: Syllabus and model question papers for BHEL examination for electrical supervisor trainee cadre?

Sir, Pls can u give me the previous year's question paper for electrical supervisor trainee(BHEL). My email id is [email protected]
12th August 2011, 10:38 PM

i want to Syllabus and model question papers for BHEL examination for mechanical engg cadre
12th August 2011, 11:21 PM

i want to Syllabus and model question papers for BHEL examination for mechanical engg cadre
12th August 2011, 11:40 PM

Sir, Pls can u give me the previous year's question paper for electrical supervisor trainee(BHEL). My email id [email protected]
14th August 2011, 06:34 PM

can u please send me the previous question papers for Engineer Trainee(Electronics) for BHEL.My email id is [email protected]
16th August 2011, 05:20 PM

Kindly, provide the syllabus and previous question papers for BHEL examination for supervisior trailnee of electrical branch.

Please send as required details in my mail id [email protected]

Lokesh Vats
17th August 2011, 05:07 PM

sir, today i am not able to access the link given in the www.bhel.com link to apply online application for engineer trainee. I want to know the reason?shall i access within the two days.
17th August 2011, 08:55 PM

Dear sir/madam,

Please provide me the the syllabus and previous question papers of ELECTRONICS Department for BHEL Exam........

Saravanan.M
18th August 2011, 09:22 AM

Any book availbale for preparing for BHEL exam- Electrical Engg.
18th August 2011, 01:05 PM
vaibhav238

Dear sir...
Am going to attend BHEL mechanical engg trainee exam2011 is on 18th sep.. So, sir please provide me the old question papers as early as possible.
vaibhav.m
18th August 2011, 03:43 PM

plz send the Syllabus and model question papers of engineerion trainee of mechanical department for BHEL exam

email id:[email protected]
19th August 2011, 12:15 PM
simran_2011

Sir please send me sample question paper for supervisor trainee for Electrical Engineering For BHEL