16th June 2019, 12:49 PM
kritikap17

What are the requirements to become a Professor in government colleges?

I am pursuing B.Ed and I am a Graduate Microbiology (microbiology+botany+chemistry) and Post Graduate in Bioinformatics. I want to be in teaching line with good career prospects. Can I be a government teacher? Or, a Lecturer in college? My age is 30 years.

17th June 2019, 05:19 PM
Blessmegod
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What are the requirements to become a Professor in government colleges?

To be become an Assistant Professor (lecturer) of any recognised university, you are required to qualify entrance examinations such as NET/SET/SLET.

Further, the minimum education required to appearing in these examinations is a master's degree ( in your interested paper for teaching) with at least 55% marks from a recognised university. Marks relaxation upto 5% is allowed for candidates belonging to reserved category. Further, there is no age limit to apply for NET/SET for becoming an assistant professor.

So, being a postgraduate degree holder in Bioinformatics, you are eligible for becoming an assistant professor / lecturer in government colleges by qualifying NET/SET in concerned paper.
18th June 2019, 12:37 PM
Doctor Tom
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What are the requirements to become a Professor in government colleges?

Post graduation is the minimum eligibility required to become a lecturer in a college. In order to apply for this post, one should clear UGC NET exam. They can apply if they have 55% marks during post graduation. For notifications about vacant posts, one can login to UGC site. Candidates need to clear this exam with a good score as initial selection process. The second level of selection consists of a personal interview and teaching demo.
18th June 2019, 07:38 PM
Maa ka pyaar
Senior Member+++++

To become a professor in government college, candidates have to appear and qualify in NET or CSIR examination.