10th January 2011, 08:02 PM

What type of questions are asked in IAS exam?

i want to know which type of question are asked in IAS exam?

Please help

11th January 2011, 06:26 PM
bhavna04

Default Re: What type of questions are asked in IAS exam?

if you want to know the pattern of ias exam then you should see the previous year paper of IAS exam of your related subject.
8th February 2011, 10:08 PM

IAS exam in conducted in several steps. First there is the IAS preliminary, after qualifying that one can appear in the main exam.

The IAS written exam consists of nine papers of total marks 2000.

Paper-1 is any one of the Indian languages selected by the candidate.
Paper-2 is English
Paper-3 is Essay writing
paper-4&5 are general studies.
Paper-6,7,8,9 are optional subjects.

For more details you can visit the site:
http://www.onestopias.com/exam-pattern.asp

Best wishes..
9th February 2011, 11:33 PM
narsimhaboddupalli

Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

Please help

IAS exam is conducted in several steps. First IAS preliminary will be there, after qualifying that you can appear in the main exam.

The IAS written exam consists of 9 papers of total two thousand marks.

Paper1 is any one of the Indian languages selected by the candidate.
Paper2 is English.
Paper3 is Essay writing
paper4&5 are general studies.
Paper6,7,8,9 are optional subjects.
10th February 2011, 03:10 AM
diego

IAS exam consists of 3 stages::
1. Prelims- CSAT since 2011..- normally conducted during the second half of May.
2.Mains, conducted during the month of October/November. only those selected through mains appear.
3.Interview-Those who are selected in the main examination will be eligible to appear before the Interview Board at New Delhi.
CSAT-
Paper I - (200 marks) Duration: Two hours(GS kind of paper)
Paper II- (200 marks) Duration: Two hours(CAT like English,quant,DILR
MAINS::two optional subjects (two papers each carries 300 marks), one General Studies (two papers each carries 300 marks), one essay (carries 200 marks) - total 2000 marks. Other than this, there are two language papers one in Indian language and one in General English at the level of 10th standard
Language papers(1 and 2)) are of qualifying nature and wont be considered in ranking.
Paper-III Essay 200 Marks
Papers IV & V General Studies (300 Marks for each paper= 600 Marks)
Papers VI, VII, VIII & IX Any two subjects (each having 2 papers) to be selected from the prescribed optional subjects (300 marks for each paper)
List of optionlas
List of Optional Subjects - IAS (Main)
- (Total 25)
Agriculture Management
Animal Husbandry & Vetinary Science Mathematics
Anthropology Mechanical Engineering
Botany Medical Science
Chemistry Philosophy
Civil Engineering Physics
Commerce & Accountancy
political Science & International Relations
Economics Psychology
Geography Sociology
Geology Statistics
Indian History Zoology
Four attempts for open, seven for OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs. If a person appears in the Preliminary Examination or even one paper is counted as an attempt.
See previous papers or models papers.
http://www.questionpaper.in
http://www.onestopias.com
3rd March 2011, 11:24 AM

hai ! i am monica, now iam studying in b.tech[it]1st year.i am preparing for the ias exam .give tips how to prepare fo the exam?please reply me
me for my mail.id
18th March 2011, 06:19 PM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: What type of questions are asked in IAS exam?

In Civil Services examination..we will have three stages of Examination.

the three stages are

->CSAT(Civil Services Aptitude Test)

->Mains

->Interview.

In the first stage i.e., CSAT it is a common test consisting of 2 papers..

in the first paper you'll be tested your knowledge with current affairs, geography,basic politics,India's Policies,etc..,

in the second paper you'll be tested with your communication,language and soft skills and also verbal aptitude ,quantitative and logical reasoning ability is tested very keenly.

In the Second Stage i.e., MAINS it is a exam conducted for the qualified candidates of CSAT

this has different papers i think 8 descriptive papers.

these papers will be theoritical and each will be of 3 hrs.

the exams will be of one month

this papers purely depends on the selection of your subjects.

last and final stage ..i.e., INTERVIEW.

this will be like a private company HR interview..here you should be careful in the private organisations only one HR or max two HR's will interview you ..but wheras in in CIvils Interview more than 5 members who are highly professional and also intelligent retired IAS and IPS officers..

so you have to be careful in every stage because if you don't perform well in any stage then you should again attempt from the first stage of the examination.

I hope you got the required info.

~aditya~
13th May 2011, 08:13 AM

hi, myself a student of b.tech[IT], 2nd yr. plz can u say me wat kind
preparations sud i do so dat i wud suceed ?
plz guide
21st May 2011, 04:16 PM

Hi,I am a LLB graduate and I desire to pass the IAS examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission.I heard that IAS is actually very difficult to crack.As I am a law pass out I am a bit confident about the subject of law if I take law as a optional subject in IAS examination.Apart from this there are other subject like general studies, English and the like.I am not so much good in general knowledge.plz suggest me sir,how I will have to prepare for the IAS examination.And also advise me sir,which book relating to Indian History and General Study will be helpful for me to get sure success in IAS examination.
I will be eagerly waiting for your answer.
4th July 2011, 01:06 PM

Hiii... I am chandan....i have just passed out my 2.in commerce stream.......n i m n aspirant for ..IAS. Can you please guide me about the procedure of exam conducted , subjects and books for the same....i will be waiting for ur reply....
4th July 2011, 06:44 PM

I am doing BE,ECE which subject i can choose as a major.
6th July 2011, 07:02 PM

hi....this is raviranjan now i am going to take addmission for B.Sc 1st yrs,am
nd i wanted to prepare for ias so pls suggest me regarding.....thank you..
25th July 2011, 06:05 PM

pls give me some question peapers
7th September 2011, 11:20 PM

plz. give me suggestion for preparation for IAS final exam.Provide me some question papers..
21st September 2011, 01:07 PM

hii..myself yashvender b.tch. 2nd year and how to started IAS exam. procees. plz... help me and plz. give me paper .
5th October 2011, 01:12 PM

hiiiiiiiii am aman am pursuing btech in computer engg from ksou and my aim is i wan a ias officer so plese guide me what type of question paper and where is centre of exam thaks
25th October 2011, 12:37 PM

hai i am priya.i am studying M.sc. I want a current IAS exam syllabus model question?
please help / inform me
27th December 2011, 06:26 PM

hiii. i am Ravinder Kaur. i am pursuing my b.tech 2nd year in computer Engg. .... nd i want to clear ias test...so plz guide me what is the syllabus..what type of questions are asked in it...where is the centre...what is the procedure of exam nd its details...plzzzzzzzzzz help me/ inform me. thnks...
7th January 2012, 02:12 PM

I STUDY IN CLASS 10 AND HAVE A VERY VERY STRONG DESIRE TO BECOME AN IAS OFFICER. PLZ SUGGEST ME HOW TO WORK FOR
IT TO CRACK IAS. I WANT TO ACHIEVE IT LIKE ANYTHING. IM NOT VERY GOOD AT GK BUT IMPROVIMG MY GK FROM NOW ONLY. SO
PLZ GIVE BEST TIPS HOW TO BECOMW AN IAS
17th January 2012, 01:29 PM

hi.. myself hari i am studying BE (mech) 2nd year how to praper in the IAS exam.plz give tipes and what type of sub to praper.
31st March 2012, 01:43 AM

Hi....i am studnt of Bsc-1....bt nw recent dys...i hve a craze to pas ias....plz give me adice how i prpre fr dis exam
19th April 2012, 07:19 PM

books for ias exam
23rd May 2012, 10:06 PM

hi i m lavanya i m studying 3 yr.i want to know the question paper model plz send any model sir............................
14th July 2012, 01:42 PM

Hi this is Anu I would like to know some tips to get through in 1st attempt. Plz let me know
26th October 2012, 01:18 AM

I am in 12 guide me how to prepare ias exam
24th February 2013, 08:57 AM

Hi..i m milli Sharma..i want to became an ias oficer plz tell me how types ques of ias
26th February 2013, 09:43 PM
bhawnarattan

Please help
The IAS exam Prelims consists of :

*CSAT i.e civil services aptitude test contain decision making problems etc

* General Studies contain history,geography,science etc.
26th February 2013, 10:16 PM
DURGDEV

Red face Re: What type of questions are asked in IAS exam?

Please help
IAS exam in conducted in several steps. First there is the IAS preliminary, after qualifying that one can appear in the main exam.

The IAS written exam consists of nine papers of total marks 2000.

Paper-1 is any one of the Indian languages selected by the candidate.
Paper-2 is English
Paper-3 is Essay writing
paper-4&5 are general studies.
Paper-6,7,8,9 are optional subjects.

For more details you can visit the site:
http://www.onestopias.com/exam-pattern.asp

Best wishes..
28th February 2013, 01:49 PM
martha.anjaneyulu

Please help
I.A.S exam is conducted by U.P.S.C once in a year.

There are three stage of selection:-
> Prelims Exam
> Mains Exam
> Interview

Prelims Exam is consist of 1 paper which is general studies.

Mains Exam have:-
> Paper-1:- One language selected by candidate
> Paper-2:- English
> Paper-3:- Easy Writing
> Paper 4 & 5:- General Studies
> Paper 6,7,8 & 9:- Optional subject selected by candidate.

For more detail log on to www.upsc.gov.in

GOOD LUCK!
8th March 2013, 06:02 PM
vinod sita meena

i am b.tech final year student i want to choos optional subject arts please advise me vinod meena my contact no.9414832833
21st May 2013, 04:46 PM

Hi, my dear swt friend's i m Ramita. & i also prepare in this exam ,Civil service. All of u best of luck for ur preparations .
9th May 2015, 01:47 PM

hi.. myself hari i am studying BE (mech) 2nd year how to praper in the IAS exam.plz give tipes and what type of sub to praper.
you have to complete your BE degree after than read all the syllabus of science side of 11 th and 12th class plz .....check the syllabus of physics and chemistry for these two classes on internet and read this syllabus of IAS exam with full concentration plz ,,,,,it helps a lot in the preparation for you for IAS exam ji totally me,,,,,