17th April 2010, 12:27 AM
minnuraj

Other fields in biology (medical) other than MBBS?

i am a +2 student and am preparing for medical entrance if i dont get in first chance i am not in anyway going to repeat it but i hate learning maths and physics and do something in bio if i dont get for entrance pls suggest me some good career options

17th April 2010, 07:19 AM
khusi

Default Re: Other fields in biology (medical) other than MBBS?

i think you can go for b.pharma it has got very good demand and there is lot of scope for it
17th April 2010, 10:43 AM
skhan7332

as u r interested in bio u must try for other fields in bio such as u should give exams of other universities, u should try for AIIMS, u can try for bio tecnology, finally u can take addmission in ayurved or homeopaith which is very easy.
17th April 2010, 12:02 PM

It is true that today's world is run by "Physics" and "Mathematics" is the language of it.

But we can not neglect the importance of Biology to human beings.

If you dont want to go for MBBS no problem,today there is immense scope in other feilds of Biology.

You can opt for anyone of the following:-

B.Sc/M.sc (Biotechnology).

B.sc/M.sc (Microbiology).

B.sc/M.sc (Genetics).

B.sc/M.sc (Radio Therapy).

B.sc/M.sc/P.hd (in any branch of biology and make career in teaching or research).This is one of the most lucarative job.

B.tech/M.tech (Genetic Engineering).

B.tech/M.tech (Biotechnology),but good command in physics is required for at least cracking the entrance.

B.tech/M.tech (Biomedical engineering),but good command in physics is required for at least cracking the entrance.

B.tech/M.tech (Bioinformatics),but good command in mathematics is required for at least cracking the entrance.

For acquiring these degrees from any good institute you have to appear for entrance,it can not be avoided.And if you dont get into some good institute then its worth studing these degrees.

Best of Luck

Last edited by faiyaz; 17th April 2010 at 12:06 PM. Reason: Some text was missing
17th April 2010, 01:47 PM
maddusajj

there is an great increase in the number of fields coming for the students doing biology in inter
some of them are
1.biotechnology
2.b.phrma
3.bioinformatics
4.microbiology
5.dental
17th April 2010, 06:33 PM
satyavani

the best field other than mbbs for an biology student is taking dental or i should say BDS,
there is lot of scope for this course ,and if you want some thing really different then go for microbiology
18th April 2010, 09:05 AM
Harshita21

good morning
other then MBBS you can do:

Bsc.(forestry)
Bsc(Agriculture)
Bsc.(genetics)
Psychologists
Physiotherapist
Bsc.(nursing) :PGI Chandigarh,Safderjang Delhi or from any institute
BDS
Bone Specialists
18th April 2010, 01:09 PM
kamini19892008

Smile Re: Other fields in biology (medical) other than MBBS?

Originally Posted by minnuraj View Post
i am a +2 student and am preparing for medical entrance if i dont get in first chance i am not in anyway going to repeat it but i hate learning maths and physics and do something in bio if i dont get for entrance pls suggest me some good career options
you can apply for biotech, pharmacy as well. bams, dentistery are other options too. but it totally depends on your mindset for future. pharmacy is a gud option.
18th April 2010, 07:40 PM

The various medical courses after 12th are

COURSE: M.B.B.S (Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery)
DURATION: 4.5 years

COURSE: B.D.S (Bachelor of Dental Surgery)
DURATION: 4 years

COURSE: B.Pharma (Bachelor of Pharmacy)

COURSE: B.Sc Nursing
DURATION: 3 years

COURSE: B.P.T (Physiotherapy)

COURSE: B.O.T (Occupational Therapy)

COURSE: B.H.M.S(Homeopathy Medicine)

COURSE: B.U.M.S(Unani Medicine)
DURATION: 5 years

COURSE: Optometry
DURATION: 2 years

COURSE: Ophthalmic Assistant Course

COURSE: Histopathalogical Lab Technology
DURATION: 1 year

COURSE
: B.A.M.S(Ayurvedic, Siddha Medicine)
COURSE: D. Pharma(Ayurvedic, Siddha Medicine)

COURSE: Lab Technicians

COURSE: Sanitary Inspector Course

COURSE: General Nursing Training Course
DURATION: 3.5 years

COURSE: Orthopedist Course

COURSE: Dental Mechanic Course

COURSE: Dental Hygienist Course

COURSE: Bachelor of Occupationaltherapy

COURSE: Radiological Assistant

COURSE: Radiography [Diagnosis & Therapy]

COURSE: Nuclear Medicine Technology

Also Biotechnology, bioinformatics, veterinary, Clinical research are the courses offered in medical sciences.

Depending upon your choice and suitability you can join any course as there is no question of scope in medical sciences. Each field is full of scopes.

I would like to tell you one thing that there is no alternate for hard work and laborious study in medical science. So don't be afraid from the failures of a particular exam. More than 50% people qualify pmt in their 2nd or more attempt.

Thank You.
19th April 2010, 11:52 AM

there are lots of courses are availiable in biology field are-

b.pharm
MBBS
Veterinary
Dentistry
Physiotherapy
Homoeopathy
Ayurveda.

ok
20th April 2010, 12:30 PM

i have no maths only pcb where i can go whuch fields
21st April 2010, 03:06 PM

i have no maths only pcb where i can go whuch fields
You can go for followings:-

MBBS with specialisation in (General Physician/Surgeon,physiatrist,Neuro Surgeon,Dermotology,orthopaediac etc.)

BDS with MDS for greater dareer prospect.

If you are not interested in Medical feild then go for B.sc/M.sc (Physiotheraphy,Gene Theraphy,Radio Theraphy etc.).

Even if you are not interested in it then go in Pharmaceutical Field.By persuing courses like- B.pharma,M.pharma,MBA (Pharma) etc.

If you are still not interested in any of them then go for Academics.

You can teach in Schools after acquiring B.sc (Biology/botany/phycology etc) + B.ed.Or persue M.sc (Biology/Biochemistry/botany/zoology etc.) and go through NET and become lecturer,carired out research.

There is immense sope in biology in the field of science.Also concern to by above post.

Best of Luck
1st May 2010, 05:11 AM

FORESTRY EDUCATION IS ADVISABLE FOR LADIES
2nd May 2010, 06:15 PM

FORESTRY EDUCATION IS ADVISABLE FOR LADIES
Yes why not dear !

After getting Bachelor or Master degree with specialisation in Forestry, you can go for one of the best option,i.e. IFS (Indian Forest Service).

You can work for National parks,wild life conservation,NGO's, zoo etc.

You can also carreried out research after p.hd for search, and production and research on various medicational plants etc.

Work as a faculty in colleges etc.And many more.

Best of Luck
13th May 2010, 02:42 PM
akshta

is ther any feild that deals with human body surgery ,as i am intrested in mbbs and have no hope of getting seat in any good college what do you suggest?.i have a very deep desire into this feild n have no options.could u suggest something?
15th May 2010, 07:09 PM
sadhan

dear frnd
if don't interested in MBBS then apply for
B.Pharm
BDS
B.Sc(microbiology)etc.
lots of scope is there.
all the best for your future
20th May 2010, 11:42 AM

what is the scope of Bsc forestry and prospects and admission details
20th May 2010, 11:43 AM

please explain the details of Bsc forestry , admission dates and prospects
21st May 2010, 04:12 PM

hey!! i m in xii..
just thought of doing career in pharmacy but
i m not sure whether it has a gud scope or not.....
could u plz help me out wid it???
& do v have further branches in pharmacy b'coz i m planning for ayurvedas...
25th May 2010, 01:03 AM

is there ny scope in bhms..?and wat about bpt?????please do reply on
26th May 2010, 07:32 PM

vetinary science is advisable for ladies

by saranya [email protected]
28th May 2010, 08:24 PM

whether veterinary science is advisable for ladies?what about the job oppurtunity?
29th May 2010, 01:31 AM

You can work for National parks,wild life conservation,NGO's, zoo etc.
if don't interested in MBBS then apply for
B.Pharm,BDS,B.Sc(microbiology)etc.
lots of scope is there.
29th May 2010, 04:27 PM
kool

hey friend, there are not only MBBS is a field after your +2 in biology.
You can do following courses which is booming at present time, some courses are:
Bio-Technology
Bio-chemistry
micro biology
b.pharma
Veterinary
Dentistry
Physiotherapy
Homeopathy
Ayurveda. & a lot.
kindly choose any one as per your interest.
30th May 2010, 06:36 PM
phuchi

there are lots of scope in biology field.
you can do
BDS,
B.Sc(microbiology)
bio-technology
B.sc (Physiotheraphy)
etc.
11th June 2010, 05:44 PM

I HAVE PCB SO PLEASE SUGGEST THAT IS THERE ANY SCOPE FOR BDS (ALSO FOR FUTURE)
14th June 2010, 11:19 AM

I HAVE PCB SO PLEASE SUGGEST THAT IS THERE ANY SCOPE FOR BDS (ALSO FOR FUTURE)

Yes dear BDS also have good career prospect, Dentistary is a part of Medical and whole medical sector have exploring career oppurtunities.

After studing that you can work with Hospitals, Clinics, NGO's, or after a good practicing experiance and licence from a government hospital you can open your own clinic or dispencery.

After MDS you can also explore better options with dental surgeries and all.
14th June 2010, 10:41 PM
BALWINDER SINGH

The fields in medical other than mbbs are microbiology, bioinformatics, biotechnology, food science and technology.........etc.......
15th June 2010, 02:52 AM
garg.satish0

dear friend ,

the biology subject is not only constricted to mbbs .
there are several other options which has immense requirements for the companies....

they are biotechnology , microbiology , bioinformatics, and you can also go for dental surgeons as well as entrance is also conducted for it named as DUMET conducted by delhi university .
for more info , visit http://www.du.ac.in

----------------------------------
hope your doubt to be solved.
feel free to post as many doubts as you can , we are here to solve your doubts as much as possible .

~satish

----------------------------------
15th June 2010, 07:10 PM
M.srinivas

Originally Posted by minnuraj View Post
other than MBBS in medical u hav lots of options - like bds, b pharmacy,biotechnology,microbiology......u can opt any one of this
15th June 2010, 07:11 PM
bond007

you can go for the m.pharma other than doing MBBS..........go for it if you are interested.....

all the best for the future........
26th June 2010, 11:49 PM

hi this is komal i wanna bcum a doc bt not mbbs or bds can u suggest sum along wid approx fees
27th June 2010, 05:06 AM

The two best options in the field of biology other than MBBS are B.Sc Clinical research and Integrated MSc/Mtech in Biotechnology.

Clinical research is the systematic study of new drugs, biological products and treatment of diseases.
India is increasingly becoming the hub of clinical trials for major pharma companies due to high percentage of professionals and timely completion of projects.
Some of the best institutes for pursuing the course are as follows.

Institute of Clinical Research (www.icri.india.com)
Jamia Hamdard University, Delhi (www.jamiahamdard.edu)
Bioinformatics Centre, University of Pune (www.clinicpune.org)

Onthe other hand, Biotechnology has a good future prospect and the best course for it will be integrated MSc/Mtech in biotechnology.
The institutes offering the course are
St.Xaviers, calcutta (www.sxccal.edu)
University of Pune (www.unipune.ernet.in)
Amity institute of Biotechnology (www.amity.edu)
27th June 2010, 09:43 AM
sandy B

hello friend,according to my openion as you don't like math,so you can do b.pharm,or you can do b.sc in microbiology.
27th June 2010, 04:05 PM
karthu

HAI
I think thatyou have made a right choice. Nowadays all are going foe MBBS. They think that there are no other choice other than MBBS in medicine. I will list the various options for you dear. They are:
1. GENETIC ENGG
2. GENE THERAPY
3. IMMUNOTECHNOLOGIES
4. STEM TISSUE CULTURE
5. ENZYME ENGG & TECH.
6. DRUG DESIGN
7.ORGAN TRANSPLANTATION
8. BIOINFORMATICS
9. NANOBIOTECH
10.BIOREMEDIADTION

I think these information may be usefull for you.
ALL THE BEST. BYE
27th June 2010, 04:40 PM
August

except MBBS there are also many lines that u can opt.

DENTAL

NURSING

PHARMACY

BIOTECHNOLOGY

MICROBIOLOGY

BIOINFORMATICS

GENETICAL ENGINEERING

and many more u can join any one of them if u will not be able to get chance in MBBS.

ALL THE BEST.
29th June 2010, 08:42 PM
ramsha zafar

Smile Re: Other fields in biology (medical) other than MBBS?

Originally Posted by kamini19892008 View Post
you can apply for biotech, pharmacy as well. bams, dentistery are other options too. but it totally depends on your mindset for future. pharmacy is a gud option.
information about B pharmacy and dental give me full information about that
31st July 2010, 03:21 AM

Hello friend
There are lots of fields other then the medical in biology stream ,some of them are listed below,

1.BIOTECHNOLOGY

2.PHARMACY

3.BIOINFORMATICS

4.NANOBIOTECH etc........

You can go for any one of them ,theses are very interesting fields of biology....

15th August 2010, 11:09 PM
kool

Apart from MBBS, there are so many fields you can choose.
Because other fields are also very demanded now a days.

some other sectors are:
B.sc/M.sc (Genetics).
BDS
Bio informatics
Pharmacy & so many.

15th August 2010, 11:11 PM
kool

Thumbs up Re: Other fields in biology (medical) other than MBBS?

Apart from MBBS, there are so many fields you can choose.
Because other fields are also very demanded now a days.

some other sectors are:
B.sc/M.sc (Genetics).
BDS
Bio informatics
Pharmacy & so many.

16th August 2010, 05:17 AM
cenaetion

there are lots of fields in biology. those are,

1. biotechnology

2. bioinformatics

3. genetics

4. pharmacy

5. nursing

etc........

all the best......
26th August 2010, 02:17 PM
Bishwajit Giri

there are so many options in front of you.
you can take as you higher study:

1:B.Sc (Biotechnology) then M.Sc.
2:B.sc (Microbiology)then M.sc.
3:B.sc (Genetics) then M.Sc.
4:B.Pharm.
5ental
6:Nursing etc...
Good luck.
14th September 2010, 10:32 AM

I am a 10 2 student and am perparing for medical enterance. if I donot get it in 1 chance than I donot want to repeat it in any way. My 2 choice is B.tech in GENETIC ENGG: so plz suggest me about it and can I give exam of ARC[for scientist] after B.tech in GENETIC ENGG?
15th September 2010, 11:58 PM
NITIN2

there are number of field except medical, i am giving you the name of some

of them:

1.LLB ( 5 year llb course)

2.BBA , after this MBA

3.BCA , after this MCA

4.Bio medical

5. Fashion technology etc

choose one of them and make your career.

16th September 2010, 12:25 AM
noproblem

Included in biological studies are the
sciences of genetics
evolution
paleontology
taxonomy or systematics
the study of classification.

16th September 2010, 12:48 AM

there are many fields for biology student other than MBBS.
you may go for stydy B.Sc on
microbiology
biotechnology
radio therapy
genetics
etc
the scope and opportunity is very high for this subject. you may do master degree on this subject through GATE exam also. the research feild for these subject is very interesting and also help full.
16th September 2010, 02:39 AM
Mathur.

You can do B.pharma, biotechnology, microbiology. there are various scope in these fields in India as well as in abroad.
16th September 2010, 05:12 PM
Harshita21

gud afternoon

Their many other fields in Medical sector that you can choose for you:

1.B.Sc(Nursing)

2.GNM

3.B.Sc(Microbiology)

4. B.tech(Biotechnology)

5. B.tech(Food Science)

6. BDS.

7. Dietition

8. B.Pharma

9. Lab Techniqution

10.Radiology

11. B.Sc(Agriculture)

12. B.tech (Agriculture)

13. B.Sc(Horticulture)

14. Veternity

You can choose the one in which you have interest
16th September 2010, 10:07 PM
sanjusabu

Biology is broadly defined as the science of living beings.

The main fields of Biology includes :-

1) Biochemistry and Biophysics :-

These fields are similar in that they involve applying principles of other sciences to Biology.
Biochemistry is concerned with the chemical makeup of different types of living organisms.
Biophysics explores physical aspects of items ranging from cells to whole ecosystems.

2) Microbiology :-
Another main field of Biology is microbiology. Microbiology deals with microscopic organisms, some of which consist of only one cell.

3) Zoology :-
Zoology is the branch of Biology concerned with studying all types of characteristics of all types of animals.

There are more fields apart from the main field in biology like :-

Entomology, Cell Biology, Environmental Sciences, Marine Biology, Herpatology.
27th September 2010, 11:52 PM

hii dis is priyanka nw i m in 12 and preparing for MH- CET pcb so plz suggest me a good field which hav gud scope. at [email protected]