Jewellery Designing, Career in Jewellery Designing

Jewellery designing as the name suggests is a career concerning with the design of jewellery. Jewellery especially in Indian culture holds a very special significance. Ever since the beginning of the civilisation in India, jewellery has become an integral part of a woman’s attire and to an extent even for men also. Many colleges / institutions in the country provide the aspirants with various courses in jewellery design. After the completion of these courses, the individuals have ample opportunities in various sectors.

Job profiles in Jewellery Designing

• Jewellery Designer
  • Jewellery Merchandiser
  • Exhibition Manager
  • Production Manager
  • Lecturer
  • Casting Manager
  • Assistant Manager in Exploration
  • Writer & Drafter
  • Embroidery Maker & Innovator
  • Manager in Museum & Art Gallery
  • Sales Representative
  • Fashion Consultant
  • Illustrator
  • Entrepreneur
  • Planning and Concept Manager
  • Gem Grinder
  • Gem Polisher
  • Gemstone Appraiser
  • Jewellery Setter
  • Gem Assorter
  • Engraver
  • Scientist
  • Jewel Business Owner
  • Sales associate
  • Jewellery Historian
  • Grading Consultant
  • Auction House Cataloguer

Career opportunities in public sector

The skilled candidates who have completed jewellery designing courses can work in various government departments such as Mines, Museums, Antique Houses, and so on. They can enter into these jobs by writing various government tests conducted by UPSC, SSC, State PSC, etc. The main benefit of securing a job in these firms is that in addition to the monthly salary, they can also earn various allowances provided by the government. The candidates after securing the job can write different departmental test and hence get promotions to higher posts and thereby a hike in salary.

Career opportunities in private sector

Apart from the public sector, there are also huge opportunities for the candidates in private sector. They can work in various employment areas such as

• Gem Retailing
  • Research and Development Organizations
  • Educational Institutions
  • Garments and Design Firms
  • Material Purchase Logistics Jobs
  • Marketing Industry
  • Manufacturing Industry
  • Hospitality Jobs
  • Gem Wholesaling
  • Mines
  • Writing and Publishing Houses
  • Cultural & Art Jobs
  • Model Making Jobs
  • Jewellery Houses
  • Precious Stones Consultancies
  • Laboratories
  • Jewellery Designing Companies
  • Antique Houses
  • Auction Houses
  • Museums

Jewellery Designing Opportunities abroad

The candidates also have wide career opportunities in various jewellery designing industries abroad. The salaries in these firms will be much higher than that in India. With experience and skill, the remuneration of the candidates will also increase.

Salary range

As a fresher, the candidates can start their career in any of the industries with a monthly remuneration of about Rs. 6000/-. After 2 – 3 years, one may earn up to Rs. 30,000/- or more. The firms in foreign countries pay the candidates with much higher salary. In that place even a fresher can earn a salary of Rs. 50,000/- per month.

10 Responses to “Jewellery Designing, Career in Jewellery Designing”

1. 10
    janvi:

what should be the qulaties in a person to do jewellery designing

2. 9
    prashansa:

i am a bcom 3rd year student, but i want to do jwellery designig course.. can i do?? which entrance exam i have to give???

3. 8
    garima sahi:

how i can apply for jewellery designing course. and plz tell me that entrance exam are conducting for jd or not.plz give me answer quickly.

4. 7
    neha bedmuha:

actually i wish to become ca but due to some reasons i have to choose science so can i do ca after taking sci and any other unique course but best for girls of 3yrs but relates mostly civil services or gt job or public sector?please guide me i will be highly obliged thanx alot

5. 6
    k.rajeswari:

which are the jewellery designing colleges in chennai and its fee structure.reply now

6. 5
    sanchi bansal:

which exams are required for jewellery desining

7. 4
    sonal sancheti:

wht is the eligibility for joining jewellery designing (diploma)
    which are the colleges in mumbai ?
    kindly let me now…………

8. 3
    meghana vasudevan:

what is the eligibility for the jewellery designing course(diploma)? Which are the colleges in B’lore? Kindly let me know the aptitude tests & its procedure.

9. 2
    k.anusha:

for joining jewellery designing,interior designing courses what’s the eligibility

10. 1
    imran khan:

plz send me detailed information about jewellery designing colleges in india(government and private) which offers bsc 3yr degree certificate in jd.and also send me the admission procedure and examination date as soon as possible.