Master of Physical Education: M.P.Ed Course Details

M.P.Ed the abbreviated form of Master of Physical Education is a postgraduate level course in the discipline of physical education. The two-year course is offered in 4 successive semesters. The course study helps the candidate to gain adequate theoretical and practical skills in sports and athletics. The course is offered as an interdisciplinary curriculum that consists of core subjects as well as elective ones. The course is offered as a regular and as distance education program.

Advantages or Benefits of Master of Physical Education Course

The course study enables the candidate to gain adequate experience and training in physical education. This enables them to perform well in the role of coach or instructors in sports team or in top educational institutions. The course study helps the candidate to have higher education after the completion of the course. Higher education programs such as M. Phil helps candidate to build up a bright career in the academic field.

Eligibility required for Master of Physical Education Course

Those who have completed their bachelor degree in physical education from any of the reputed educational institutions are eligible to undergo the course. The qualification must be obtained with minimum 50% marks in the same. Those who have passed the diploma program in physical education with same percentage of marks are also considered eligible. 5% relaxation of marks is given to candidates who have represented the country in national and international athletic meets and for SC/ST candidates.

Admission Procedure of Master of Physical Education Course

The admission to the courses is done on the basis of the marks obtained in the entrance exam and physical test. The application form for the entrance test can be obtained from Universities or institutions that offer the course. The written test includes questions on the basis of the syllabus of qualifying bachelor of physical education course. It will be conducted in two-hour time duration and total marks awarded for the test is 100. Those who pass the written exam are short-listed for physical fitness test. Those who pass this level can expect admission to the course.

Colleges/Universities offering Master of Physical Education Course

• B.P.C.A.S. College of Physical Education
  • Bangalore University
  • Barkatullah University
  • Bhagwan Mahavir College of Physical Education
  • Bharathiar University
  • Bharati Vidyapeeth University
  • Bhopal Nobles P.G. College of Physical Education
  • Calicut University/University of Calicut
  • Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University
  • Chaudhary Devi Lal University
  • Chhatrapati Sahu Ji Maharaj University / Kanpur University
  • C.S.J.M. University
  • Devi Ahilya University
  • Doon College of Education and Law
  • Dr. Sivanthi Aditanar College of Physical Education
  • Gulbarga University
  • Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya
  • Guru Nanak Dev University
  • Guru Nanak Khalsa College
  • H.L.M. College
  • Hemchandracharya North Gujarat University
  • Himachal Pradesh University
  • Indira Gandhi Institute of Physical Education and Sports Science
  • Jadavpur University
  • Govt. College of Physical Education
  • Gujarat University
  • Jai Narain Vyas University
  • Jhargram Raj College
  • Jiwaji University
  • Karnatak University
  • Karnataka Women’s University
  • Kisan Mahavidyalaya
  • Kurukshetra University
  • Lakshmibai National University of Physical Education
  • Lovely Institute of Education
  • Lovely Professional University (LPU)
  • Maharani Kishori Jat Kanya Mahavidyalya
  • Maharshi Dayanand University
  • Mangalore University
  • Manonmaniam Sundaranar University
  • Maruthi College of Physical Education
  • Mysore University
  • N.S.S. College of Physical Education
  • Nandini Nagar Mahavidyalaya
  • Netaji Subhas National Institute of Sports (NSNIS)
  • Noida College of Physical Education (N.C.P.E)
  • North Maharashtra University
  • Osmania University
  • P.E.S. College of Physical Education
  • Pandit Ravishankar Shukla University
  • Punjab University (PU)
  • Pondicherry University
  • Prof Gursewak Singh Punjab Government College of Physical Education
  • Punjabi University
  • R.D. Memorial College of Physical Education
  • Rajasthan Vidyapeeth University
  • Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University
  • Rani Channamma University
  • Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University
  • Sadguru Education Society’s College of Physical & College of Education
  • Sant Gadge Baba Amravati University
  • Rajasthan Vidyapeeth University
  • Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University
  • Rani Channamma University
  • Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University
  • Sadguru Education Society’s College of Physical & College of Education
  • Sant Gadge Baba Amravati University
  • Shri Ram College
  • Sri Krishnadevaraya University
  • Swami Vivekanand Subharti University
  • Tamil Nadu Physical Education and Sports University
  • University of Delhi
  • University of Kalyani
  • Veer Narmad South Gujarat University
  • Vinayaka Missions University
  • Visva Bharati University
  • Y.M.C.A. College of Physical Education
  • University of Kota
  • University of Mumbai
  • University of Rajasthan

Course Curriculum of Master of Physical Education Course

Semester – I

• Research Methodology in Physical Education
  • Educational Technology and Pedagogic Techniques in Physical Education
  • Exercise Physiology
  • Sports Psychology
  • Computer Application in Physical Education and Sports

Semester -II

• Structural Kinesiology
  • Management of Physical Education and Sports
  • Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Education
  • Theory Game-I {Football/Basketball/Gymnastics}
  • Theory Track and Field-I

Semester -III

• Sports Medicine
  • Professional Preparation and Curriculum Design
  • Sports Training and Talent Identification
  • Statistics in Physical Education and Sports
  • Elective Subjects
  • Sports Industry and Marketing
  • Sports Journalism
  • Sports Sociology

Semester –IV

• Fitness and Wellness
  • Sports Biomechanics
  • Electives
  • Dissertation
  • Yoga
  • Adapted Physical Education
  • Theory Game-II (Volleyball/Hockey/ Badminton)
  • Theory Track and Field-II

Reference Books

• Research Processes in Physical Education, Recreation &Health by Clarke, H. David
  • Research Methods by Thomas Jerry R. and Nelson Jack K
  • Research Techniques in Human Engineering by Weimer, Jon
  • Research Methods in Physical Education, Sports and Exercise Sciences by Moorthy, A.M
  • Methodology of Research in Physical Education and Sports by Kamlesh
  • The Professional Teacher’s Handbook by Hoover Kenneth H
  • Physical Education and Curriculum Study by Krik David
  • Achievement-Based Curriculum Development in Physical Education by Wessel Janet A, and Kelly Luke
  • Professional and Scholarly Foundation of Physical Education and Kinesiology by Zeigler Movement Experience for children: Curriculum and Methods for Elementary
  • School Physical Education by Schurr
  • Teaching Methodology and Educational Technology in Physical Education by Brar
  • Fundamental Motor Patterns by Wickstrom
  • Coordinating Physical Education across the Primary School by Ramnond C
  • Physiology of Exercise by LE and Miller
  • Physiology of Muscular Activity by Karpovich, P.V. and Sinning, Wayne E
  • The Structure and Function of Muscles by Bourne, Geoffery H
  • Text Book of Work Physiology by Astrand, P.O. and Rodahl Karre
  • Physiological Basis of Physical Education and Athletics by Mathew D.K and Fox
  • Physiology of Sports and Exercise Human Kinetics by Wilmore H. Jack and Costill L. Pavid
  • Fundamental Principles of Exercise Physiology by Robert A. Robergs and Scott Roberts
  • Exercise Physiology: Laboratory Manual by Adams M. Gene
  • Exercise Physiology by Katch L. Victor, Katch I. Frank and Mcardle D. William
  • Molecular and Cellular Exercise Physiology by Mooren C. Frank and Volker Kalaus
  • Exercise Physiology by Tiwari Sendhya
  • Development Exercise Physiology by Rowland
  • Psychological Behavior in Sports by Alderman
  • Psychological of Sports by Lusen Dorrcas
  • Movement Behavior and Motor Learning by Cratty, Brayant
  • Psychology and Physical Activity by Cratty, Brayant
  • Sports Games and Play Social and Psychological View Points by Gold Stein and Joffery H
  • Microsoft office system inside out by Boyce, Jim
  • Administrator’s guide to Microsoft office by Barrett, Ron
  • Faster smarter Microsoft office XP: Take charge of your Microsoft office program by Murray, Katherine
  • Kinematics of Human Motion by Zatsiorsky
  • Muscle Testing Techniques of Manual Examination by Deiels L and Worthinghan
  • Kinesiology Scientific Basis of Human Motion by Lattgans, K. and others
  • R.K. Kinesiology and Applied Anatomy: The Science of Human by Rasch. P.I. Bruke
  • Applied Kinesiology: The Scientific Study of Human Performance by Jenson, C.R. & Schult
  • The Biomechanics of Sports Techniques by Hay
  • Management Competency Development in Sports and Physical Education by Earle F. Zeigler and Grag W. Bowie
  • The Management of Sports by Bonnie L
  • Management of Physical education and Athletic Programmes by Charles A. Bucher
  • Management Concepts in Physical Education and Sport by M.L. Kamlesh
  • Sports Management by S.S Roy
  • Sports Management by U.K Singh, J. M. Dewan
  • Measurement for Evaluation in Physical and Exercise Science by Baumgartner, T. A. and A. S. Jackson
  • Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance by Marrow James R., A.W. Jackson
  • Test and Measurement in Sports and Physical Education by Kansal D.K
  • Practical Measurement for Evaluation in Physical Education by Johnson, B.L and Nelson, J.K
  • Application of Measurement to Physical Education by Clake and Clarke

Job and Career Opportunities after Master of Physical Education Course

The postgraduate course helps the candidate to find ample career opportunities in public as well as private sector enterprises. They can perform well in the role of instructors in diverse areas. The major employment areas and the various job profiles after M.P.Ed are mentioned here.

Employment Areas

• Colleges
  • Consultancies
  • Fitness Centre
  • Sports Research and Development Agencies
  • Sports and Business Marketing
  • Sports Journalism
  • Sports Equipment Industries
  • Sports Team

Job Types

• Activities Director
  • Athletic Coach
  • Cardiovascular Fitness Instructor
  • Community / Commercial Recreation
  • Corporate Fitness Instructor
  • Nutrition Specialist
  • Personal Trainer
  • Professor
  • Physical Education Teacher
  • Rehabilitation Specialist/physical Therapist
  • Social Director
  • Teacher

Remuneration after Master of Physical Education Course

The salary packages offered to the candidate at the initial level may be less. Those with adequate experience in the profile can expect good salary packages. The salary packages for fresh candidates in educational institutions may range with in Rs. 7000/- to Rs. 10,000/- per month. This may move up to Rs. 15000/- to Rs. 20,000/- per month within one year. The salary packages offered for those in highly designated roles (ex: Coach of Indian cricket team) may be much high.

31 Responses to “Master of Physical Education: M.P.Ed Course Details”

1. 31
    a.rathika:

sir i am working in govt school .please send me details of master of physical education in distance education from tamil nadu

2. 30
    raghav mathooid:

DEAR SIR
    I AM RAGHAV MATHOOD FROM BANGALORE I HAVE COMPLETED MY B.P.E.D 1 YEARS COURSE I HAVE GOT 70% NOW I HAVE TO M.P.E.D TWO YEAR COURSE I AM WORKING IN BANGALORE YOU HAVE ANY BRANCH OFFICE IN BANGALORE SEND DETAILS TO THIS ID
    RAGHAV MATHOOD

3. 29
    raaghav mathood:

I have completed 1 year B.P.E.D course I got 70% now I have to do Master of physical education in your university mow I am working school bangalore I cannot attend regular class where I have to right examination what about practical this university approved by u.g.c and n.c.r.t.c.i If do this two course I will get job in any where karnataka how much fees for 2 years when is examination you have branch office in bangalore pl send details
    Raghav mathood

4. 28
    kishore:

Is your university having master of
    Physical education in distance mode if yes
    Give details.

5. 27
    mahesh goud:

sir, piease send m.ped entrance exam details in andrapradesh ou university hyd.and clg’s seat’s

6. 26
    raghav matahood:

R.mathood I completed B.P.ed I got 70% Now I have to corresspondence m.P.ed course under U.G.C and N.CT.E please give information

7. 25
    gangadher:

please 2012 entrence question paper MPED.2013 entrence question paper MPED.

8. 24
    M. Raju:

Dear sir i want to do M.Ped in Gulbarga university. Give me information please

9. 23
    M. Raju:

I WANT M,Ped seat in gulbarga university colleges please respond for request

10. 22
    radhakrishnan.p:

sir i want to mped course weekend class collage 2013-2014 admission. thankyou your trouly radhakrishnan.p

11. 21
    joyti sharma:

I want to ask about my m.ped roll no. and my reg. no. is 10116910100027 please

12. 20
    sreenu:

sir i want ou seat how to prepare the mped entrance and what syllabus

13. 19
    Murugadoss:

sir i want to do m.p ed course correspondence. so please guide me for the further formalities and which universities are providing correspondence courses (m.p ed)

14. 18
    Bhavana Joshi:

Sir, I am a P.E. Teacher(B.P.ED). How can I do M.P.ED.

15. 17
    jagmeet singh:

sir i want to do m.ped course correspondence. so please guide me for the further formalities and which universities are providing correspondence courses (m.ped)

16. 16
    Amit Kanojia:

Sir iam a TGT Physical Education Teacher in Kendriya Vidyalaya and i want to do M.Ped I hav done only BPed from avadh university so pl tel can i do private

17. 15
    R.Chaluvaraju:

Dear sir/Madam
    I am MPEd holder I taken UGC & net Exam ther four need some notes And Guidance for you next go to Phd & want job in school or college
    by
    R.Chaluvaraju

18. 14
    tilak raj dpe:

please tell me the procedure of MPEd course from distance education uniuversity. whoes university to complete this course in distance education. at that time i am working as a dpe in a regular post in hp govt.

19. 13
    anshul khurana:

dear sir/madam i want to do m.p.ed from p.u chandigarh kindly send me entrance syllabus of m.p.ed 2013.

20. 12
    n.m.gowri:

sir, which are the institutions are offering the m.ped. course in distance education mode

21. 11
    kalpana singh:

kalyani university m.p.ed entrance exam application form dated or last date appling for the same

22. 10
    geet:

i want to do m.ped or m.a physical education .plz tell me how to apply .nd wht is the prosses . m waiting ur response

23. 9
    anjali ratna:

Sir i request to u, i went to know M.P.Ed course application date and addmission date?

24. 8
    Harinder Singh Walia:

What is a physical therapist? What is his/her duties?

25. 7
    anirban tewari:

admission Date For M.P.Ed.

26. 6
    Bharathi dasan:

Sir/Mam i plan to join Mped in distance course.Help me.

27. 5
    loganathan:

hai m.p.ed course application data

28. 4
    durga:

M.P.Ed distance education witch college and university witch place

29. 3
    Roopendar:

Which are the institutions offering M.Ped in Distance mode in our Country?

30. 2
    reeta thakur:

Dear/Mam i want to addmission in MP Edu. so plz. could u send me some information about MP Edu. and their Qualification

Reeta Thakur

31. 1
    gobi:

M.P.Ed distance education witch college and university witch place