M.Tech Power System Engineering Course and Colleges


Graduation in Electrical Engineering or related subjects is the educational qualification required for pursuing M.Tech in Power System Engineering. The two year course covers topics such as Power System Protection, Advanced Control Theory and Power System Analysis. Reputed institutes such as Vellore Institute of Technology, Harcourt Butler Technological Institute and International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad, IITs and NITs are the institutes that offer this course.

Details about Master of Technology in Power System
Candidates who have completed Graduation in Engineering or Technology in Electrical Engineering or Allied Subjects are eligible to apply for M.Tech in Power System. Most of the colleges consider a minimum of 60% marks in aggregate in qualifying examination and GATE score for admission process. Duration of the course is two years. The course covers topics mentioned below.

  • Advanced Control Theory
  • Power System Analysis
  • Applied Mathematics for Electrical Engineers
  • Power Systems Transients
  • Power System Protection

Semester wise syllabus for Master of Technology in Power System
Semester I

  • Optimization Techniques
  • Modern Control Theory
  • Solid State Power Converters
  • Advanced Power System Protection
  • Computer Methods in Power Systems
  • High Voltage Engineering
  • Power Systems Lab
  • Simulation Lab – I

Semester II

  • Flexible AC Transmission Systems
  • Power System Stability
  • Operation & Control of Power Systems
  • Electrical Distribution Systems
  • Elective-I
  • Elective-II
  • Simulation Lab – II
  • Seminar

Semester III

  • Project Seminar

Semester IV

  • Project Presentation


  • Renewable Energy Resources
  • Reliability Engineering
  • Power systems planning in deregulated environment
  • HVDC Transmission Systems
  • Digital Control Systems


  • Microprocessors & Microcontrollers
  • Fuzzy Logic & Neural Networks
  • Embedded Systems
  • Data Base Management Systems
  • Computer Networks

Colleges offering M.Tech in Power System Engineering

  • National Power Training Institute, Faridabad
  • Sri Sai Group of Institutes, New Delhi
  • Vellore Institute of Technology (VIT)
  • College of Engineering, Pune
  • Allahabad Agricultural Institute (Deemed University)
  • Sathyabama University - Tamil Nadu
  • Kumaraguru College of Technology, Coimbatore
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU), Hyderabad
  • Harcourt Butler Technological Institute, Kanpur
  • Punjab Technical University (PTU), Jalandhar
  • College of Engineering, Guindy (CEG), Chennai
  • R V College of Engineering, Bangalore
  • Chaitanya Bharathi Institute of Technology, Hyderabad
  • College of Engineering, Trivandrum
  • National Institute of Technology, Warangal
  • Government College of Technology, Coimbatore
  • College of Engineering, Anna University
  • Government Engineering College, Thrissur
  • University College of Engineering (Osmania University)
  • Velammal Engineering College, Chennai
  • P S G College of Technology, Coimbatore
  • International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad (IIIT-H)
  • Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology (VNIT), Nagpur
  • Motilal Nehru National Institute Of Technology, Allahabad
  • Shri Shankaracharya College of Engineering & Technology, Bhilai

Apart from these colleges, reputed institutes such as Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, IIT Bombay, IIT Delhi and National Institutes of Technology offer M.Tech in Power System Engineering.



Do you have any question? Please ask:

Questions will be answered on our Forum section