Difference between UGC - CSIR and UGC - NET exam

Although University Grants Commission conducts UGC - CSIR and UGC - NET exams, both are diverse fields. Both these tests are conducted to award eligible students with junior research fellowship and to determine eligibility for lectureship. UGC – CSIR exam is carried out in science streams like Chemical, Earth, Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences. However the UGC - NET exams are conducted in Sociology Arts subjects like Humanities, Environmental, Social, Forensic and Electronic Sciences. It also includes Computer Science and its applications. Both these tests are held two times a year, mostly in June and December.

UGC – CSIR exam and its opportunities

Aspirants who have passed the masters’ courses in science stream are qualified to attend the UGC – CSIR exam. They who have scored 55% and above in the eligibility exam and should have done the course from a certified University. Ph D holders in science stream are also eligible for the test. The pattern of the exam will be of objective type carrying 200 marks. The test comprises of questions on General Science and Research Aptitude, technical and scientific conceptual questions. Those who clear the test can seek out for employments in public or private colleges or any other educational institution.

UGC – NET exam and its opportunities

Post graduates or PhD’s in Sociology and Arts with not less than 55% are eligible to apply for the UGC – NET exam. The test is conducted countrywide to select the qualified candidates. On successfully clearing this exam, contenders can apply for employments in Indian Universities or colleges. Professionals who have good potential and good communication skills can work as lecturers in the top colleges within the country.

Key differentiators between UGC - CSIR and UGC - NET exam

UGC - CSIR exam is a science stream exam whereas UGC - NET exam is sociology and arts discipline exam. Even though, both these tests are conducted for the same purpose, so as to get Junior Research Fellowship and the eligibility for lectureship, the subjects involved are different. The qualification criteria are also different for both these exams.

48 Responses to “Difference between UGC - CSIR and UGC - NET exam”

1. 48
    palash jana:

can i get csir lab after passing ugc rank(jrf)?

2. 47
    chaitanya:

sir,i m a student of electrical engineering …and now i m doing my m.tech..i think i m related to engineering sciences but what is the exam pattern for me and what is the syllabus ,,,,if u posible send syllabus to me

3. 46
    Urmila:

I have completed my M.Pharm and awaiting results, i would like to know if i need to answer CSIR UGC NET to enter into teaching profession? Please guide me on subject to be opted for the same. Plz reply

4. 45
    pralhad pole:

i completed m.sc in physics with 57.56 % .can i eligible for csir net ?
    can i do job as a lecturer?
    can i will get a job in lectureship?
    and after m.sc physics can i do m.sc in radiology
    if yes pls give me names of colleges
    can there entrance for that course.

5. 44
    preeti:

I have done my PG in sociology. My parsentage is 54.75 can i give net exam please help me…

Preeti

6. 43
    Virendra trivedi:

I am btech holder(e&c) can appear in ugc-net.. Plz guide ..

7. 42
    arun:

after M.sc. physics (passed 65%), I passed M.A English (60%) from Institute of Distant education Mumbai university,I wish to appear in NET English. Am I eligible for NET English?

8. 41
    Anusha:

I am currently pursuing my M.Pharmacy degree in Pharmacy with specialization in Pharmaceutics. Am I eligible to write CSIR-UGC NET exam ? Under what subject am I eligible ?

9. 40
    malay basant:

I am in M.A. Prev with English.. Can i appear in net exam with this subject?

10. 39
    sailaja:

I did mca.is i’am eligible for csir ugc net or ugc net.

11. 38
    sandeep mishra:

Revered sir,
    i completed my Master degree in Environmental science.iam very much interested to appily csir-environmental science.iam unable to appily december examination.so please inform me next examination schedule and date of available appilication form

12. 37
    rajeev sharma:

sir, i did m.sc. maths.m i eligible for ugc net(not for cisr)what is the relation between population edu. and maths.plz sir tell me. syllabus for it

13. 36
    pahal:

ugc-csir notification has alresdy came since long..but i can not find notification for ugc-net exam ( december)……i want to do p.hd in psychology from iit ,kanpur……….have no idea about it.please tell me from where to get form of ugc-net ,how to send it,syllabus ,cut-off and best books for its preparation……

please answer soon before its too late.thank you

14. 35
    RACHANA KUSHWAHA:

I AM P.G. in maths.Mai csirnet or ugcnet dono me se kisme apply kar sakti hu?

15. 34
    ajay patil:

I m BE in information technology

and now currently doing ME in Computer Engineering
    Can i Appear for NET or SET exam for Lectureship!!!!

and on which base? BE or ME?

16. 33
    C.ELAMATHI:

Any other difference in NET and UGC which one is more valueable

17. 32
    lalit:

i m doing m.sc physics .please tell me best book for preparation for net exam. how can i start preparation without coaching.

18. 31
    sugandha:

please suggest a book to crack UGC-CSIR exam in chemical science

19. 30
    preeti:

done m.pharma in pharmaceutics want to do phd in pharma pls guide me i have to appear for which exam UGC-CSIR OR UGC-NET? Kindly sent me the choice of subjects for exam and syllabus

20. 29
    charu sharma:

I am pursuing m.pharm (p.cognosy).wat should i prepare for…..UGC-CSIR or UGC-NET???

21. 28
    parul gupta:

I am post graduate in life sciences. Am i apply for UGC NET exam, 2012.

22. 27
    Mukesh Pal singh:

Sir I am M.sc in Biochemistry,Am i eligible for UGC-CSIR 2012Exams?

23. 26

When is the UGC exam in 2012 kindly inform when to apply and how to apply ?

24. 25
    Manu:

i had completed MBA(General). Am I eligible to write net exam in Tourism and Administration.

Manu

25. 24
    SRADHANJALI SAMANTRAY:

I SRADHANJALI SAMANTRAY A STUDENT OF IGNOU UNIVERSITY HAVE PASSED MCA .CAN I ELIGIBLE FOR GIVING UGC NET EXAM.SO PLEASE GIVE ME INFORMATION ABOUT THIS.
    THANK YOU

26. 23
    mohd iqbal:

what is the minimum percentage of marks required for qualification of csir net in life science

27. 22
    neha:

is a student doing msc with zology need to apply for jrf in net? if persn want to apply for net lecturship only.

28. 21
    Khushboo:

I am doing master in geography . Plz tell me can i give csir exam? Suggest books.

29. 20
    ABDUL MALIK:

what is difference in JRF and NET describe it clearly

30. 19
    monika:

i want to become lecturer for commerce subject. which exam should i go for csir- science stream net= humanities

31. 18
    Naveen Zaheer:

My son is writing his first semester in MSc Biotechnology this December and would like to write the CSIR exam next December. Can I know if he will be eligible for the exam or not. Please reply

32. 17
    g.venkatesan:

i have completed maths, am i eligible for net &csr any entrance exam.. if eligible please send me all details ..

33. 16
    Ankita:

I ‘m doing M.sc biotechnology i want to know how to start preparation for clear net @ please inform me about the date of net in
    june2012 .

34. 15
    gv balakrishna:

i am 39 years. my dob is 22 jan 1972. i am m.sc., biochemistry from osmania univ with 59%. please tell me am i eligible for ugc cisir and ugs net exam
    gv balakrishna

35. 14
    akshaya srinivasan:

hello sir/mam,

this is akshaya srinivasan doing my third year mtech integrated medical nanotechnology(5years)..i want to pursue my phd.
    what is the minimum cgpa required?and since i am planning to take up life science,is any project work or extra qualifications expected?

36. 13
    BHAGYARAJ LABHALA:

i have completed B.PHARMACY , am i eligible for csir any entrance exam.. if eligible please send me all details ..

BHAGYARAJU([email protected])

37. 12
    vineeta:

I have done Advanced PGD in Theology after M.Sc Biochemistry. I would like to take Comparitive study of Religion as a subject for Lecturership. Is that possible?

38. 11
    keyur:

i keyur how to start preparation for clear NET with chemistry

39. 10
    savita:

Hi, i m savita i need expert suggestion for how to perpare net exam and standard books for computer science students

40. 9
    savita:

41. 8
    menka:

When the form of june net 2011 will be released reply plz

42. 7
    charanjeet singh jatav:

i m in prnet exam applicationvious msw. how can i get . kindly send net syallabus for msw student

43. 6
    manisha soni:

syllabus of life science

44. 5
    Amir parray:

Sir im mohd amir, doing MSc Food technology, my request is to acknowledge me about UGC food tech. NET 2011

45. 4
    raghavan v r:

dear sir, i am m.phil commerce student. how can i get net exam application.kindly send net exam syallabus for commerce students

46. 3
    Ajeet:

I am in previous m sc chemistry i m eligible or not

47. 2
    Ajit:

When the form of june net 2011 will be released reply plz

48. 1
    durga rao ganta:

I, Durga rao Ganta have been qualified for NET with JRF for the exam held on june 2010 in the subject of public administration.My hall ticket number is 03140002. I have pursued my post graduation in andhra university during 2007-2009. I have sent my certificates to you earlier. Hence please send my NET and JRF award letters to my address.
    thanking you sir.
    My address
    Ganta Durga rao,
    s/o venkata ramana,
    M.Mallavaram(post),
    Gokavaram(mandal),
    East Godavari District,
    Andhra pradesh,
    pin code- 533285
    my email- [email protected]