Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships for Doctoral Studies

The Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund for Doctoral studies program is a scholarship program conceptualized for assisting to the PhD studies in India. This scholarship program was started by the Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund. The main aim of the scholarship is to provide financial aid to meritorious students of Indian origin and also nationals of other Asian countries in support of PhD studies in India. The Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships for Doctoral Studies will be offered to the students for up to 2 years.

Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships Amount

The Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships for Doctoral Studies offer the students who are selected for the scholarship with a Tuition fee which is up to Rs.9, 000 per month. The students who have the Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships can also get an annual contingent expense for study tours also. The tours are limited with in India only. An amount of Rs. 12,000 per annum is set aside for each student for cost of various books, stationery and also thesis costs.

The students with Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships will also get a provision of availing Sleeper Class Train fare from the place of abode or study in India for attending interview with the Selection Board.

Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships Eligibility

As to be eligible for availing the Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships for Doctoral Studies, the students will have to meet various criterions.

Mainly, a candidate must have a First Class in Postgraduate degree. The students must already be registered or admitted for Ph.D. degree with an Indian approved or recognized university or institution. The Ph.D must also be in a subject of the areas of specialization listed below.

The candidates who have applied for registration for a Ph.D or those who have not been registered are not qualified for the scholarship program. The candidates must not be above 35 years of age and also they must be a full time Ph.D Scholar.

For Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships - areas of specialization

• Science and Technology
  • Religion and Culture
  • Social science
  • Indian history
  • Economic Development
  • Environment
  • International Relations and Constitutional studies
  • Studies in the life and works of Jawaharlal Nehru

Application Form and Fee

The application form for the Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships for Doctoral Studies is available for sale at the following address:-

• Administrative Secretary,
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund,
  • Teen Murti House,
  • New Delhi - 110011

The students can also send a money order of Rs. 100/- for getting hold of the application form. Online application for the Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships for Doctoral Studies is also available.

Contacts Address for more information

• Administrative Secretary,
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund,
  • Teen Murti House,
  • New Delhi-110 011

23 Responses to “Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships for Doctoral Studies”

1. 23
    C.Kavitha:

Respected Sir / Madam,
    I am Kavitha, i am willing to pursue by higher studies (M.Ed in commerce). I completed my B.Ed with 80%. is there any possibility to get scholarship for my further studies. Please inform me. Kindly do the needful.

Thanking You

2. 22
    Arvind kumar:

Sir, i am a UGC-JRF pursuing my Ph.D from CSIR lab. can i apply for this JN scholarship while i m getting my UGC fellowship simultaneously?

3. 21
    sukanya:

am sukanya registered for Ph. D. (Pharmacy) in 21st December 2011, at University College of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kakatiya University, Warangal. I have valid gate score. i have downloaded application form from online. what is the D.D adress to attach D.D. with application form

4. 20
    vinay kant:

How & where can i get application form for Jawaharlal Nehru Scholarships for Doctoral Studies?

5. 19
    Shrashti Verma:

Dear sir/ma’am
    i have been just registered in PhD and i want to apply in JNMF,please kindly inform me when the advertisement comes for apply.

Thanking you.

6. 18
    RADHA:

I have applied for the JNMF scholarship for Ph. D on May 2012. I didn’t receive any intimation regarding this. Kindly let me know about the present status of the scholarship award.

7. 17
    Dina Barman:

My friend applyed jnf scholarship for doctoral studies during May 2012. When the result will annonced?

8. 16
    Kaushik Bhattacharjee:

Iapplyed jnf scholarship for doctoral studies during april 2012. When the result will annonced?

9. 15
    Ketki Deshpande:

Is this scholarship countinued if the student’s research takes more than two years. In short is this scholarship extended?

10. 14
    Indhumathi:

Please let me know the website through which i can get the information regarding this scholarship.

11. 13
    Nazia Khan:

i’m also willing to apply to this scholarships. so i didn’t get a exact web site ….. so please inform me.
    Thanking You.

12. 12
    PATHIRAKALI:

Iam ph.d. students in sivakasi S.F.R.Collge. I want to scholarship. But, I dont know this apply the scholarship. Iam NET Exam pass in 2007. So, help in how to apply the scholarship.

13. 11
    latika:

i ph. D student. i want to know when i have to apply this scholarship for the year 2012

14. 10
    Abduz Zahir:

i’m also willing to apply to this scholarships. so i didn’t get a exact web site. so please inform me sir..

15. 9
    pinky saini:

i’m also willing to apply to this scholarships. so i didn’t get a exact web site ….. so please inform me sir..

16. 8
    nagaraj, S. B.:

i’m also willing to apply to this scholarships. so i didn’t get a exact web site ….. so please inform me sir..

17. 7
    thangal:

sir i want to know the date of interview for the Jawaharlal Nehru fellowship for Doctoral studies.i don”t get any information about this fellowship.i applied for the 2011-2012 batch.so sir please inform about this fellowship

18. 6
    P.Anitha:

Iapplyed jnf scholarship for doctoral studies during april 2011. When the result will annonced?

19. 5
    ramraj:

my sisters and brothers are studing in b.a english and b.sc maths but our family was very poor so plz give me scho;ersip information for our college life..plz plz plz inform pannunga

20. 4

From which website i can collect the form

21. 3
    Ansari Ekhalak:

From which website i can collect the application form.

22. 2
    Vahithashankar:

Dear sir/Madam,

currently i am 36 years old and doing my PhD(ugc project as a “project fellow” as Full time scholar in Bharathidasan university.
    kindly let me know any scholarship can be availed ?Please do help in this regards.

Yours Truly
    vahithashankar

23. 1
    Phanenmo Kath:

Iam a first class in Post Graduate with Master’s Prize holder of the University. Im tribal candidate, now 36 years running, already registered for Ph.D, will I be eligible for the scholarship?