Difference between Mass Communication and Journalism

Even if Mass Communication and Journalism seems similar, both are entirely different streams. Mass Communication deals with the procedure of conveying or transmitting a message to the general population through media like radio, newspapers, magazines, television, internet and so on. However, Journalism is concerned with the compilation and transmission of news through the print media and electronic media.

Mass Communication courses and career opportunities

Mass Communication is a vast sector that comprises of so many branches. Aspirants can study their interesting subjects in mass communication. There are many graduate and postgraduate programs in Mass Communication. Numerous leading educational institutions offer diverse courses in the concerned fields. There are also Diploma courses in mass communication. A graduation in the respective fields is a requisite for the entry-level jobs. Aspirants who have completed the various courses in mass communication can seek out for career in private and public sector. Those who pursue the research programs in mass communication can become research analysts in the related areas. Various opportunities are available in commercial world, publishing houses, film industry, media industry, image management agencies and so on for these mass communication professionals.

Journalism courses and career opportunities

There are so many courses in journalism that an aspirant can pursue. It includes Bachelors’, Masters’ and even diploma courses. To become a journalist, aspirants should have atleast a graduation in journalism. Detailed awareness in political science, economics, and English language will be really helpful in honing the talents of a journalist. Those who have flair in photography can opt for photojournalism. Journalists have wide scope in India and in foreign countries. They can seek out for careers in print media like newspapers or journals as editors, proofreaders, cartoonist, feature writer and so on. Likewise, in the electronic modes of communication, they can get employed as researchers, production workers, presenters and so on.

Key differentiators between Mass Communication and Journalism

The circulation of information to a wide range of populace remains the key function of mass communications whereas journalism requires investigation and coverage of any incident, occurrence or contemporary affairs, through mass media like the print, televise or new media, whereby lakhs of people all through the world may be able to know what is happening all over the world.

10 Responses to “Difference between Mass Communication and Journalism”

1. 10
    Tanushree ray:

I am from maynaguri n i am an undergraduate so can I do journalism .wat r requirement needed for doing journalism

2. 9
    radhika:

my daughter, Aakarshita N is studying in 12th std. ICSE in Sophia, Bangalore. She has taken BA (higher English, psychology, history). she is interested in journalism. suggest me good institutions in Bangalore.she is very talented. completed jr. Carnatic music and Bharatanatyam. she has also undergone workshop on contemporary dance in Maya Rao’s dance school.

please mail me details.

rabhoka N babu

3. 8
    sunbal:

what is the simple history of paleothic era???what kind of tools the stone age man used acording the paleothic era???

4. 7
    Ann Mwaura:

I have a degree in law and interested in journalism. At what level can I take journalism course? Is it as a post graduate diploma level, degree or master? Please advice

5. 6
    poonam jain:

i am doing b.c.a. . i want become a news reader so i want to know that from where should i study for elecronic media in bhopal a university or a institute ? what will be the right for me ? plz help me and plz reply me on my id.thank you

6. 5
    poonam jain:

i am doing b.c.a. . i want become news reader so plz tell me what should i do for it.i am from m.p. so plz suggest me that from where should i study of electronic media any institute or a university (but in bhopal)? what will be the best for me. plz help me .

7. 4
    vaanni gari:

i am a student of b.sc(non-med, final year) , but now i realise dat actually i am interested in mass comunication and i want to become a news reader in my future. would you pleaz…
    sgest me the suitable course dat i should do after my graduation .plz. also sugest good institute for dat around delhi. reply soon on my mail adress.

8. 3
    Sarita Panda:

Which are the universities of north provides jounalism and mass communication phD in distance mode?

9. 2
    Aiswarya c:

I am from kerala, and wanted to know about the best institutes in bangalore and chennai which provide pg courses in media and communication(mass communication).I am eager to know about the admission procedures in those colleges too, along with its placements for my brighter future……

10. 1

Iam from delhi and looking for admission in media & journalism in bachelor course, for a bright career. i doubt about the private institutes, as all that glitters is not gold and there are only a few govmt institutes offering bachelor course, so plz suggest me the top institutes in delhi in which i should take admission.