M.Tech in Mechanical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering M.Tech

Mechanical Engineering is a branch of engineering which involves the uses of principles of physics and chemistry for the analysis, design, information and maintenance of a variety of machines and systems. For the knowledge, mechanical engineering is one of the oldest and widest engineering courses. M.Tech in Mechanical engineering is a master’s degree course awarded by many universities in India. The course is broad in nature covering all major areas of design, thermal and production engineering. A number of elective subjects are made available to students in order to enable them to specialize in any of the three major fields which are aforementioned. This discipline requires solid understanding of kinetics, thermodynamics, fluid mechanics and energy.

In order to be eligible for this aforesaid course, candidates must at least be graduates having passed their degree of bachelor of technology from any of the respectable universities. Moreover, they must have earned their bachelors degree in mechanical engineering. Some colleges and universities also have some additional guidelines like a certain minimum percentile of marks or their self-designed tests.

Course Outlook

The course of M.Tech in Mechanical engineering is of two years in duration. These two years are further divided into two semesters each. Nowadays, other than full time courses, students also have the options of going for part time courses in M.Tech in Mechanical Engineering while being engrossed in their jobs.

Job Prospects

It is to be noted that out of the millions of engineers employed by companies, 30% of them are mechanical engineers. The job opportunities for mechanical engineers have always been on the brighter side. In few of the western countries, mechanical engineering is the second highest paid profession after medicine.

Best Places to Pursue

Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Vellore Institute of Technology, Vellore

Annamalai University, Chennai

Jadavpur University, Kolkata

National Institute of Technology

Birla Institute of Technology

83 Responses to “M.Tech in Mechanical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering M.Tech”

1. 83
    Kamal:

Im mtech 1st year in JNTU UNIVERSITY ANANTAPUR …any companies providing for internship in I.C.ENGINES.with 75% .plz give me any information..

2. 82
    subhra panda:

I m a mechanical engineering student from a private institute.I want to do my MTECH.suggest me the right stream to do the MTECH in mechanical for a girl child.And what are the career oppurtunities for it.Please reply soon.

3. 81
    pavani:

can we do

4. 80
    doulat:

How to find topic for project M.Tech mechanical (manufacturing system engineering))

5. 79
    Ritesh:

how much GATE score is required for getting admission in IIT / NIT/BITS ?
    and pl. guide regarding good colleges for M.Tech Computer Engg.
    also which field of Computer is on demand ?

6. 78
    kuldeep shivhare:

sir i have completed my BE & now i want to do M TECH in thermal engineering (mechanical engg.) so sir please suggest me good colleges in mp.& also give me a addmission procedure and dates for this.

7. 77
    prasad:

now i am studding in m tech thermal engineering specialization, job opportunities in this specialization???????????

8. 76
    VINIT RANJAN:

About thermal engineering in mechanical for doing m.tech

9. 75
    pankaj:

sir i have scored 25 marks in gate 2011 and the qualifying marks was 30.81 so i was not selected i want to know would i get any good college for mtech in design (mechanical engg)please send the ans to my mail

10. 74
    ritesh:

i hav scored 31.33 marks and my gate score is 322 in mechanical engg stream.i belong to general catagory.plz let me know which institute i should join for m tech course?

11. 73
    vipul:

i have have complited AMIE B E in mechanicali NOW I want to do m.tech. IN DISTANCE MODE. PLEASE GIVE LIST OF UNIVERSITIES

12. 72
    V VIJENDRA BHAT:

I have a gate score of 443 in ME and all india rank of 4762. After computation the percentile score is 94.2.

What are colleges that I can get admission into.
    Kindly suggest.

13. 71
    varalakshmi:

sir,i am in the last sem of my b.tech(chem) part time course.i just want to know whether i am an eligible candidate for m.tech(chem) full time course.if so provide the necessary college details.thank u.

14. 70
    chandrashekhar:

I am studying 3rd year mechanical engineering and i am interested in m.tech.Now i just want know top 3 m tech courses in mechanical engineering which gives high sallary throughout the world including india.What type of work will we have there.

15. 69
    sachin:

I am in 3rd year of my mechanical engg. course.
    Please tell me which are good branches for doing M. Tech.
    I have interest in Automobile branch is it a good choice?

16. 68
    Vinayak:

Dear Sir / Madam ,
    My name is Vinayak ,I completed my DIp ;from GOVT.Mumbai.
    Presently I am doing corresponding Degree for IME ( Institution of Mechanical Engineers form Kharghar)
    It consists a Two Sec as A & B
    I have completed my Sec- A ?
    Do I deserve to appear for GATE?
    Thank - you

17. 67
    a mohan rao:

What are the options after B.Tech(Mech)?
    After B.Tech(Mech), can we go for M.Tech?, if so, what are the best subjects available in M. Tech?
    Which are best institutions for M.Tech in india?
    What are the job oppertunities after M.Tech?

Please provide the information.

A MOHAN RAO

18. 66
    akhilesh narayan upadhyay:

i have completed my b.tech in mechanical engineering with 60 percent. Can i will have best job after doing m.tech in automobile engineerhng.

19. 65
    Om Agrahari:

Sir…i m doing b.tech ME n i want to do m.tech so please tell me that if i wll nt qualify gate exam wats the other option fr me n also tell me various stream in m.tech mechanical engg.Tell me some college in up.

20. 64
    GANESH NIKAM:

part time M.Tech courses required for thermal power plant, as I am Bachelar in Mechanical Engineering

21. 63
    nitin:

i have completed BE MECH DEGREE.i want to do M-TECH part time.please give college list/institute,and also eligible criteria and fee.

22. 62
    divya:

if i will not get selected in gate enterance exam then what are the other sorces for doing M.Tech

23. 61
    Andimuthu Sithan:

I want to do M TECH. Design or Mechanical enginnering in Distance learning.

Please send me some details

24. 60
    Arun:

I am a BTech machanical graduate who is really looking forward to work with the Oil and Gas industry giants like Royal Dutch Shell. Kindly advise me as to the M.Tech Specialisation that I should take, so as to make my dream come true……

25. 59
    Swapnil:

Is there any alternate exam for mtech (mech eng.) other than GATE ?

26. 58
    Nirav:

first i do diploma in mech. and after that i do degree in mech. in regular term. now i want to do m.tec in mech as part time in gujarat in government collage. don’t worry i scored above 78% in be. now will u give me some information about that?

27. 57
    hrishi:

sir, i’m pursuing my b.tech- mechatronics (mechanical) degree…. wanted to go with m.tech after that….. i don’t have a clear idea with the future after m.tech , b.tech , m.s …. help me out & pls give me an idea of subjects available and good for a mech engg. i wanted info about IIT colleges… I’m gonna attempt GATE……… SO, PLEASE HELP ME OUT

28. 56
    Saurabh:

SIR, Many people have suggested me not to do M.Tech because the specialization you get from M.Tech in two years you get the same within one year if you go for job right after your B.Tech. Is it so? Also they say that professionals B.Tech are paid higher salaries than those who go for M.Tech. I am confused. Help me out…

29. 55
    Raga Deepu:

I HAVE DONE MY B.TECH(MECHANICAL)WITH 75%.I want to do M.TECH and I got 1280 rank in PGECET so guide me which specialization course is suitable for my M.TECH.

30. 54
    zohaoib:

sir i have complete my DAE and want to apply in B-Tech. but i have no idea of this scope? plz guide me. can i select this field?> plz inform me about it scope. thank u so much. thnx.

31. 53
    satish kumar:

i have completed my BE in mechanical engg
    i want to knom about the different courses available for doing M.Tech

32. 52
    Sudipta Nath:

SIR/MADAM,

what is the minimum aggregate percentage,that a candidate should have in his b.tech..for admission to part time m.tech(mechanical)course..if he is not GATE qualified.??.and is there any age bar for admission to this m.tech (mechanical) course..???

please reply.

33. 51
    prasad:

I have finished my mechanical engineering in 2005. after that i am working as a project engineer in fire protection system field up to 5 years.Now i want to M tech in mechanical engineering.so which specialization course is suitable for my Mtech

34. 50
    Patil Yogesh:

What is minimum agregate percentage of mechanical engineering candidate of his all four years required, if he has better score in GATE for the admission in IITs.

35. 49
    Vineet Goyal:

i want to know which one is the good option Doing M-Tech or go for MBA or rather we must apply for job after My B-Tech in Mechanical stream.

36. 48
    krishna gopal pathak:

i wish to about indian university that conducting m.tech mechanical in distance mode and cource approved by aicte

37. 47
    Chikku Kuruvilla:

Wheather MBA after BTech is better or Mtech after BTech is better?

38. 46
    irfan:

i want to do mtech after my mechanical engg in design field.so i wanted to know that in what way it is helpful to me???means in getting jobs

39. 45
    numan:

I HAVE DONE MY BE(MECHANICAL ENGG )WITH 65%.I want to do M-tech correspondence. so wat kind of procedure should i follow ?

40. 44
    chirag g vora:

I HAVE DONE MY BE(MECHANICAL ENGG ) FROM G H PATEL ENGG COLLEAGE WITH 47% PLEASE GUIDE ME FOR MASTER DEGREE FORM MECHANICAL ENGG IN ANY COLLEAGE.

41. 43
    Patil Divyesh:

which are field for M-TECH after mech. Engg. ?
    And
    which field may be apply for M-TECH after Mech. Engg. ?

42. 42
    rksingh:

i am bsc hons with physics can i do mtech in mechanical

43. 41
    RAJESH:

i done my b tech in mech. within second palace now i wnt to grw in my life with the m tech in automobile i m so worried about my future due to low % may i grow ever in my life
    plz reply me.

44. 40
    Kisore:

My gate(2010) score is 712 (mech) do i get applied mechanics in IITKGP?

45. 39
    farooq najar:

i have finished M.Tech in Mechanical System Design from National Institute Of Technology in 2010 , I want have a job in the design field.kindly suggest me how i will atain this goal so that i will start my career.Help me out.

46. 38
    harshwardhan sharma:

sir i want to ask about universities offering m.tech in mechanical engg. through mode .

47. 37
    ketan:

I am completed B.E in mechanical engineering .Presently i am working in a company (2yr exp). I want to do M-tech correspondence so for that tell me what kind procedure should i follow ?

plz tell my e-mail ID is ” [email protected]

48. 36
    sayan:

I am completed B.E in mechanical engineering .Presently i am working in a company (2yr exp). I want to do M-tech correspondence so for that tell me what kind procedure can i followed.

49. 35
    sadhwani vijay:

sir i am presently working with Holcim Ambuja group and planning to do my mtech ,so please provide me the list of all colleges offering mtech in distance learning .

50. 34
    Chavan Charudatt V.:

Sir/Mam,
    i am currently working as a lecturer & want to do m.tech. Can u please tell me part time or full time m.tech will be helpful for me.

51. 33
    rijwan:

i am B.Tech mechanical graduate and i am completing diploma in process piping i want intest in to do PG(M.Tech) in piping related specialization
    which institute offering related piping

52. 32
    Ashique:

Sir,i hav completed my btech in mech engg with a perc of 59,is there any chance for me to get admission in NIT’s if i crack GATE

53. 31
    dibyendu:

sir,I have completed my b-tech in mechanical engineering .at present i am a service holder in private sector. i want to do m-tech in mechanical engineering (part-time) in kolkata.pl guide me about the institute .

54. 30
    Suyash Kr. Shukla:

Can a student who has done M.Sc. by maths do M.Tech.
    in Mechnical?

55. 29
    karthik:

Dear sir/madam,

I had completed my b.tech in mechanical engineering.Presently working as quality inspector in manufacturing industry.
    Now,I wanna continue my studies.please help me to know the available streams in m.tech(mechanical) in india.Also suggest me tht,being working in quality dept.which stream helpful for my career..

regards,
    Karthik

56. 28
    mohd. suhail:

sir i am lecturer in mechanical engg. and also i am doing m.tech (part time ) in production and industrial engg. sir now i have no any ttopic for desertation , please give me some desertation topic. thank u.

57. 27
    AHISHEK:

i am a lecturer in a engg college having experience of two years . i am intrested in part time m.tech please guide me…

58. 26
    kaushik savaliy:

I am completed B.E in mechanical engineering . Presently i am working in one Mnufacturing company since 6 months. I want to do M-tech correspondence so for that tell me what kind procedure can i followed. And which collages available for distance learning?

59. 25
    nitin singh:

I have done my b.e. from metallurgical & material science & i want to do m tech (part time) from mechanical .am i eligible for this

60. 24
    ravichandra:

I am completed B-tech in mechanical engineering (75%agg) . Presently i am working in one fasteners company (8 month exp). I want to do M-tech correspondence so for that tell me what kind procedure can i followed.

61. 23
    raju babu:

I am completed B-tech in mechanical engineering . I want to do M-tech in Thermal engineering in distance mode. Pease can you suggest me the best university that was offering the course. kindly send to my mail [email protected]

62. 22
    selvam:

i am final year for B.E mech engg . i was interested higher studies in power engg or pipe line engg i would like different areas is there fieldof mechanical

63. 21
    Vijay Varma:

sir/madam,

I am completed my B.E from Mechanical. Presently i am working as QA/QC Engineer & i am interested to go M.Tech in Operation Research. So is there any institutes in india.

64. 20
    sudhakar:

what are the study requirement for m.tech in mechanical

65. 19
    Kamaljyoti Talukdar:

can you give the name of some good institutes offering M.Tech
    in mechanical engineering.I will be passing B.Tech in mechanical in june 2010.

66. 18
    DARSHAN:

Do diploma passed students from Tilak Maharashtra get addmission for degree in mechanical engg.?
    please reply as soon as possible.

67. 17
    amit gupta:

hello sir… i am doing BE in mechanical branch.further i am interested in m-tech so please tell me about various streams in m-tech
    …..

68. 16
    priyankasairam:

sir , i am priyanka sairam from karnataka . i hav completed B.E mechanical in 2009 i am working as a lecturer now . i want to do partime Mtech so plz provide me full details about the colleges offering part time M tech course

69. 15
    Amit Patil:

resp sir
    i m amit patil from maharashtra. i was complited BE mechanical
    i want to go for M tech distance learning

so kindly send me the institute in india who provide m tech on my mail

thanking you.

70. 14
    nitin singh:

I HAVE DONE B.E. in metallurgical & material science engineering . i want to do m tech in meachaniacal engineering . Am i eligible for this . pl reply

71. 13
    chetan patil:

hello sir… i am doing BE in mechanical branch.further i am interested in m-tech so please suggest me the entrance exams to which i have to appear….?

thank you…

72. 12
    Koushik Roy:

KOUSHIK ROY : on feb 09th 2010

Respected sir…i am doing B TECH in MECHANICAL ENGINEERING .further i am interested in m-tech(automobile or i c engine or power engineering regular or distance mode) so please suggest me the entrance exams to which i have to appear….? and also u suggest me the govornment or nongovornoment collages or universities in india or foreign that was offering this courses.kindly send to my mail [email protected].

thank you…

73. 11
    chetan:

hello sir… i am doing BE in mechanical branch.further i am interested in m-tech so please suggest me the entrance exams to which i have to appear….?

thank you…

74. 10
    bharath:

I am completed B-tech in mechanical engineering . I want to do M-tech in Thermal engineering in distance mode. Pease can you suggest me the best university that was offering the course. kindly send to my mail [email protected]

75. 9
    eshu:

gud evening sir…sir i m doing b.tech with mechanical frm ghaziabad,u.p n m in 2nd yr…i want 2 do specialisation in automobile engineering either frm india or frm foreign..can u please tell me which xam i hav 2 gave..??waiting 4 ur answer..

76. 8
    ram manoj:

hi,iam doing my b-tech in mechanical engineering i want to do m-tech in automobile engineering how to prepare for it can u tell me

77. 7
    Harhal:

what is the syllabus for M.Tech. degree in Mechanical Engineering with specialization in Automobile Engineering

78. 6
    trilok kumar singh:

I am in Indian Railway service post of Section Engineer after complition of AMIE Degree.I want to join M Teh course in Mechanical Engineering in continuation of my service. Please suggest good colege/university in India/Abrod.

79. 5
    jayesh:

i m doing B.E. in mechanical sandwich branch..
    can i appear GATE and do m tech in mechanical eng.

80. 4
    tarun chakraborty:

graduated in mechanical engineering from IIT Kgp.in the year 1973 (Ninteen Seventy Three) & since then I have been working for 36( Thirtysix) years contineously without any break as a Mechanical Maintenance Engineer of Rolling Mills in Steel Plant.I am going to retire after 3 (Three) years,after which I desire to join M.Tech.programme in Mechanical Engineering in Jadavpur University.This is out of purely academic interest & a strong desire to increase my Academic Qualification in this Lifetime .
    Please help me with the details .After retirement I plan to stay in my own house which Ihave built at Jadavpur & pursue study for Master’s Degree & may be even a Doctorate thereafter,for which I have longed throughout the long journey in my othrrwise successful & satisfying Working life.Please give me information as to how I should go about it.I need your help

81. 3
    tarun chakraborty:

I graduated in mechanical engineering in the year 1973 (Ninteen Seventy Three) & since then I have been working for 36( Thirtysix) years contineously without any break as a Mechanical Maintenance Engineer of Rolling Mills in Steel Plant.I am going to retire after 3 (Three) years,after which I desire to join M.Tech.programme in Mechanical Engineering in Jadavpur University.This is out of purely academic interest & a strong desire to increase my Academic Qualification in this Lifetime .
    Please help me with the details .After retirement I plan to stay in my own house which Ihave built at Jadavpur & pursue study for Master’s Degree & may be even a Doctorate thereafter,for which I have longed throughout the long journey in my othrrwise successful & satisfying Working life.Please give me information as to how I should go about it.I need your help.

82. 2
    pradeep kumar:

plz tell me about any institute ,which offer M.Tech course for 2010 .

83. 1
    Pratik biswal:

Give me important dates to apply for aimcet 2010