Government Jobs in the field of Home Science

Home Science is a combination of both art and science that is not only confined to food and nutrition, but also wraps housekeeping, textiles, dietetics, clothing, family relations, community living, sociology, economics, child development and hygiene. To begin with a career in this field, candidates must possess rational mind along with realistic approach and an objective attitude. Increasing consciousness with respect to health, diet and way of life has increased the number of candidates taking up home science as their career.

Educational requirement:

Candidates wishing for a career in home science will have to start their journey in this field after completion of their class 12 examination. Many colleges in India offer home science course at the UG and the minimum educational qualification requirement is that candidates must have completed their higher secondary with biology or home science as a subject. When it comes to PG course in home science, different specializations are available in colleges in India and candidates with a degree in home science are offered with the opportunity to choose any specialization of their interest. Some of the specializations  offered at the PG level under home science are:

Extension

Home science Education

Home management

Textiles & clothing

Family relation

Child development

Rural community extension

Nutrition & dietetics

Food

Career in the field of home science:

When it comes to career in the field of home science, candidates can get job opportunities in different sectors like service jobs, sales jobs, teaching jobs, technical jobs and production jobs. Service jobs include supervisory jobs in tourist resorts and hotels and sales jobs include jobs in sales department of companies engaged in the production of food stuffs, while production jobs include jobs in dress making, fashion designing, etc…

Government jobs for home science graduates:

When it comes to government jobs for home science graduates, candidates can find technical jobs as research assistant, food scientists and demonstrators in government research institutions. They can also find teaching jobs in government-run primary and middle schools and candidates with PG degree in home science can also find job placements in government-run private schools.  Further, if they do their Ph. D in the field of home science and take up NET examination in home science, they can find job placement in public universities, which frequently recruit candidates for the positions of professor, assistant professor and associate professor.

Thus, a graduation in home science can offer wide range of employment opportunities to candidates particularly in private sector and few jobs in government sector as well.

31 Responses to “Government Jobs in the field of Home Science”

1. 31
    vaishali chokhandre:

I have completed my M.sc Home Science(Resource Management)and B.Ed now what should I do for getting govt. job in this field.

2. 30
    Manju kumari:

I am bsc.homescience(honrs) and msc in food science and technology.pls tell me suitable job in my field in Haryana,Rajesthan and panjab

3. 29
    jyoti:

sir, maine m.sc food&nutrition se ki hai kya mai agriculure se related government vacancy ke liy apply krskti hu. plz reply me soon.

4. 28
    Neha vats:

In which field job available after B.sc in human development

5. 27
    Vishakha singh:

I have completed my m.sc home science(human development spl.) l do to getting govt. Job in this field.

6. 26
    akansha rao:

Maine M.Sc home science(Resource managment) m kiya hai…aur b.ed bhicomplit ho gya hai….muje is field s releted gov.job k bare m aap guide kare plz….

7. 25
    anju katewa:

i have completed my m.sc Home science(human development) and B.Ed.
    now what should I do for getting govt. job in this field

8. 24
    shailja:

maine bsc home science and msc food nutrition se kiya h aur ab b.ed.2013 me cmplete kiya h.main home science ki govt job k liye apply karna chahti hu…mujhe iske liye kiski taiyyari karni chahiye..

9. 23
    priyanka verma:

I have completed my M.sc Home Science(food & nutrition). Now what should I do for getting job in this field.

10. 22
    priyanka verma:

I have completed my M.sc Home science.now what should I do for grtting job in home science field..

11. 21
    pinki:

I m complet my bsc in home science from delhi university .sir plz tell me abour government job

12. 20
    rubyrajawat:

Pls give me complete detail on govrrment job in india

13. 19
    anil sharma:

I am complete my B.S.C. Home science in 2008 now i want do job. my residence is in delhi so any information about to it please give me

14. 18
    Akansha arya:

I m complet my bsc in home science from banasthali.sir plz tell me abour government job

15. 17
    Archana:

I am M.Sc in Home Science with specilization in Human Development and Family Studies and also have UGC-NET. sir please help me to find a govt. job.
    Thanks and Regards.

16. 16
    Shiva Singh:

Respecte Sir/madam
    I am M.Sc. Holder in Human development & family studies. Plz sir i search gov.job in my eduction field. So plz help me sir.
    Thank you!

17. 15
    IRAM NAZ:

HI I AM M.SC IN HOME SCIENCE FROM D.E.I AGRA AND ALSO HAVE A DIPLOMA OF D.N.H.E FROM IGNOU PLEASE TELL ME ABOUT GOVT.JOB.

18. 14
    rashmi:

i have master of home science in child development from dayalbagh edu. inst. agra in the year 2003.and still looking for the suitable job,could u plz help me.

19. 13

i want to govt job in the home science feald i m m.sc. holder in clothing nd textile from IIS univercity

20. 12
    Shital V Jadhav:

hello ,sir i am PG in home sci extension.I am qualified the UGC SET also.please call me if any vaccancy.

21. 11
    ameena beebi:

Hi , i m mphil food science & nutrition gradu’s how do get govt job in this field ? Pls find out !

22. 10
    Shruti:

what is the procedure to start Ph. D in any subject?

23. 9
    Preeti:

can u tell me how many schools in State of Haryana are providing Home Science as a Subject for undergraduate classes except the govt. schools?

24. 8
    gouri:

why govt stopped taking homescience graduates in the agriculture sectors? Govt have to start more women and child related projects and take homescience graduates

25. 7
    kinjal:

I have completed m.a. home science and UGC-NET qualified tell me the job vaccancies in the field of home science

26. 6
    MARIYAM:

I have completed m.sc home science and UGC-NET qualified tell me the job vaccancies in the field of home science

27. 5
    savita jamakhandi:

I have compleated BSc in home science,so I am trying to get job in anganawadi supervisor as a government job,plz give me the information related to this job.

28. 4
    sangita R. kamble:

I have completed m.sc home science and UGC-NET qualified tell me the job vaccancies in the field of home science.
    sangita R. kamble
    college of home science, MKV parbhani
    e-mail: [email protected]

29. 3
    Padma:

Hi , i m Msc nutrition & dietetics gradu’s how do get govt job in this field ? Pls find out !

30. 2
    institutional food adminitration:

pl.tell where job vacancy

31. 1
    lakdawala mustufa safdarbhai:

Respected Sir/Mam,

I want to know that Is there any recruitment for pharma students in the government sector? If Yes then my pleasant request you to inform me.