ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam 2012

Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC) is an Indian state-owned oil and gas company headquartered at Dehradun, India. This public sector organization conducts recruitment drives every year for the selection of eligible candidates as graduate trainees.

Structure of ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam

The exam will have 2 papers in which there will be both objective as well as descriptive type questions. In the first paper, there will be 50 objective questions each of 1 mark, out of which only 40 has to be attempted. There will also be 2 descriptive type questions in this section each carrying 5 marks. In the second paper, there will be 75 objective type questions of 1.5 marks each from which only 60 questions have to be attempted. There will also be 2 descriptive questions each of 5 marks. The exam will be of 3 hours duration.

Syllabus of ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam

ONGC exam consists of two papers

• Paper I: General Knowledge (50 Marks)
  • Paper II: Specialization Subject (100 Marks)

The specialization section will have questions from the discipline in which the candidate has completed the under graduate degree programme.

The eligibility conditions vary with each discipline and are as mentioned below.

• For Mechanical: First class graduate degree in Mechanical Engineering
  • For Geophysics (Surface): First class post graduate degree in Geophysics or Physics with Electronics
  • For Drilling: A first class graduate degree in Mechanical / Petroleum Engineering is required.
  • For Chemistry: First class graduate degree in Chemical Engineering or first class post graduate degree in Chemistry
  • For Instrumentation: First class graduate degree in Instrumentation Engineering
  • For Production: First class graduate degree in Chemical / Mechanical / Petroleum Engineering
  • For E&T: First class graduate degree in Electronics / Telecom / E&T Engineering or first class post graduate degree in Physics with Electronics
  • For Civil: First class graduate degree in Civil Engineering
  • For Cementing: First class graduate degree in Mechanical / Petroleum Engineering
  • For Reservoir: First class post graduate degree in Geology / Physics /Geophysics / Mathematics / Chemistry / Petroleum Technology or first class graduate degree in Chemical / Petroleum Engineering
  • For Geophysics (Wells): First class post graduate degree in Geophysics or Physics with Electronics
  • For Programming: First class graduate degree in Computer Engineering or first class post graduate in Computer Applications (MCA)/ Computer Science or B level diploma
  • For Finance & Accounts: Graduate degree with ICWA / CA or first class MBA with specialization in Finance
  • For Security: Post graduate degree with 2 years’ service with Armed Forces or Central Police Organization
  • For Geology: First class post graduate degree in Geology

How to Apply?

The candidates can apply for the ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam online through the official website www.ongcindia.com. The fee payment of Rs. 500/- (Rs. 100/- for SC/ST/Physically Challenged candidates) has to be paid via Demand Draft / Banker Cheques / IPO. The original registration slip along with all the required documents has to be sent to PO Box No. 453, Basavanagudi, Head Post Office, Bangalore - 560 004 on or before the cutoff date.

How to fill the Form?

The candidates have to fill the application form clearly mentioning all the details. No columns should be left blank. Before registering their application form on the website, the candidates should take care that they possess a valid e-mail ID and a facility to take printout of the challan form and registration slip. All the necessary details required to fill the form are clearly mentioned in the application brochure. The candidates are advised to read it before doing online registration.

Important Dates (Tentative)

[Please note that we only provide tentative dates based on previous years dates. For exact dates related information it is always best to check official websites only.]

Commencement of Registration: Last week of April, 2012

Last date for registration: Mid week of May, 2012

Last date for receiving registration slip with enclosures: Last week of May, 2012

Date of All India Written Test: Mid week of June, 2012

List of ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam Centres

• Ahmedabad
  • Chennai
  • Delhi
  • Guwahati
  • Hyderabad
  • Kochi
  • Kolkata
  • Mumbai
  • Ranchi

Contact Address for ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam

• Address: PO Box No. 453, Basavanagudi, Head Post Office, Bangalore - 560 004

Organizations Accepting the ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam Score

Oil & Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC)

Reference Books for ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam

• Encyclopedia of General Knowledge & General Awareness by R. P. Verma
  • Encyclopedia of General Knowledge and General Awareness by Ravi Chopra
  • General Awareness and Current Affairs Digest P.B by Reddy K Krishna
  • General Awareness Digest by Laxmikanth
  • General Knowledge by Dr. Tanwar
  • General Knowledge Current Affairs and Whose Who by Khanna
  • General Knowledge Digest by TMH
  • General Knowledge Manual by Barry O’brien
  • General Knowledge Manual by Nill
  • General Knowledge Manual by UPSC Portal Editorial Board
  • Macmillan’s General Knowledge Manual by Muktikanta Mohanty

Coaching Centers for ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam

• Ascent Education
  • Aryan Institute
  • Kamat Education
  • J .R. S Tutorials
  • Hierank School of Competitions
  • Guru Institute
  • Gate Life Sciences Coaching
  • Pinnacle Career Institute
  • Oasis Educational Services
  • Mathiit Learning Private Limited
  • Best Education Centre
  • Prime Centre
  • Sachdeva Classes
  • Sahil study circle
  • Vision Infinity Ltd
  • T.I.M.E (Triumphant Institute of Management Education) Private Limited
  • Zenith Point
  • Share Point Server

Study Plan

The candidates should work hard for clearing the ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam. One needs to have a good idea about the entire syllabus of the entrance exam. Depending on the syllabus they need to set up an organized timetable which the candidates need to strictly follow. All the topics have to be thoroughly studied. The difficult and important topics have to be dealt with more time. The aspirants should develop a habit of reading newspaper regularly so that the general awareness section can be attended with much ease. The candidates should be updated about the latest news and happenings. Also various reference books and guides are available in the market with the help of which the aspirants can prepare. Practicing with sample questions papers and previous year questions papers help the candidates in better time management for the final exam.

How and Where To Get the Results?

The result of ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam can be obtained from the official webpage of ONGC.

Score Validity

The validity of ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam score will be valid till the vacancies are filled up.

80 Responses to “ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam 2012”

1. 80
    Praneil montaro:

Completed btech marine engineering degree course in the year 2012and .having 10 months experience on oil tanker as maintainence engineer on the post 5th marine engineer officer…..suggest me some books for cracking ongc entrance exam. …

2. 79
    alka:

sir, iam alka completed my m.sctech. in applied geophysics and applying for the post of graduate trainee exam in ongc .so i request you to provide me the previous year question papers for geology.

3. 78
    Gagandeep:

This is to bring to your kind notice that I, Gagandeep Singh Khanna has enrolled for the ongc 2012 exam which will be held on 4th november,this sunday, this sunday.
    I filled up all the details but have not recieved the admit card. So kindly do the needful as exam is very much near.
    My jornal number is 013543871.

Your’s sincerely
    Gagandeep Singh Khanna

4. 77
    khushbu:

what types of id card requried for ongc exam.pasbook of bank can be vlid for ongc exam?

5. 76
    amrutha:

model papers for chemical engineering we want.
    thank u sir.

6. 75
    PRIYANKA:

where is the actual addres of GT-12 exam centre in delhi.

7. 74
    srinivas:

pls send question papers

8. 73
    gaurav:

any one can send me previous year question paper of ongc graduate trainee .or send me link from where i can download question paper.

9. 72
    sandeep:

what is the date of mt 2012 written test exam?

10. 71
    Ashutosh:

i just want to know gt2012 exam date, place and time because in my admit card there is no exam time,exact location of exam in delhi and also there is no date of exam .so please tell me these things………………..thank you.

11. 70

can you please send me previous years qu ppr n syllabus for graduate trainee 2012 for MBA (HR)
    and suggest books of G.K, aptitude reasoning for this exam.

12. 69
    Roopali:

SIR, This is Roopali, I am preparing for ongc graduate trainee 2012 in finance and accounts, so please send me last 3 years question papers and some model papers ,if any. Also, please through some light regarding the coverage of syllabus, number of questions that will be asked, number of questions required to be answered,will there be any provision for -ve marking and what is the pass marks.

waiting eagerly for communication from your side.
    regards,
    Roopali.

13. 68
    NANDOORI SRIKANTH:

I wish to convey that I am fullfilling the requiesite for the post of GT 2012.BUT TODAY I.E. 06 -10-2012 I have not got the information on my email/or under admit card , which in not down loading . My reg no. 312613.
    My journal no. 007794660 dated 18-082012 deposited at SBI. mY DOB 29081991. Please resond on my email
    my centre is in hyd

14. 67
    Uma maheswari:

Sir/Madam
    How to get ongc exam admit card 2012 for GT? and
    Which date is going to start ongc exam and i want the correct date of that exam?
    Please update the ongc exam details in my mail id. Because i applied for that exam. Please help me……….

15. 66
    sourabh sahu:

is ongc examination date shifted.
    please give confermation me about it

16. 65
    Avinav:

Dear sir/mam, i avinav preparing for ONGC exam , need previous 2 years question papers with answer. I have stream B.tech( Ec). Plz send me the mentioned topic at [email protected].

17. 64
    Parbin Agarwal:

SIR, This is Parbin, I am preparing for ongc graduate trainee 2012 in finance and accounts, so please send me last 3 years question papers and some model papers ,if any. Also, please through some light regarding the coverage of syllabus, number of questions that will be asked, number of questions required to be answered,will there be any provision for -ve marking and what is the pass marks.

waiting eagerly for communication from your side.
    regards,
    Parbin.

18. 63
    nitin sharma:

please provide the previous year paper if some one have related to hr my email id is [email protected]

19. 62
    shruti R:

Sir/madam,
    i am appearing in ongc management trainee exam to be held on 7th oct. 2012 for the post vacant in accounts and finance. I want few sample papers, past papers, names of reference books for the same.

20. 61
    SUMA:

Sir i wont to exams detail 2012 and previos papers

21. 60
    poonam kumari:

want a sample paper of ongc gt for programming specialisation

22. 59
    adhishree:

can you please send me previous years qu ppr n syllabus for graduate trainee 2012 for chemical engg stream..

23. 58
    venkat:

sir could u plz programing books

24. 57
    SUDIPA MURMU:

I have got 71% marks in MBA(HR). I have already apply in Management Trainee (HR)in ONGC MT 2012. Can you guide me about the study materials ?

25. 56
    k s ramakrishna:

can you send me old model papers for finance graudiates tranees

26. 55
    sawar agarwal:

pls suggest some books and send me last 3 years question paper for preparation.

sawar

27. 54
    swathi:

plz send me ongc model papers . i’m student of cse

28. 53
    uday desai:

I want to join coaching class for ongc exam 2012 in ahmedabad can you please guide me.

my no. is 7600050925,9909007025.

29. 52
    Aakash:

What is the last date of filling exam form????

30. 51
    bethi srinivas:

i want previous papers on hr trainees to my mail [email protected]

31. 50
    MANSOOR:

DEAR SIR MY PHOTO,SIGN & CHALLEN COPY NOT UPLOADING EVEN THOUGH
    MY SIZE OF COPY IS IN 20KB

32. 49
    srinivas:

please send previous model papers to my mail [email protected]

33. 48
    abhishekkumar:

I am chemical engg student ,can i able for ongc GT exam 2012 plz tell me sir…………………..

34. 47
    Chemistry:

plz tell me cut of date submit the form of graduate trainee exam.

Vilas chaudhari(M.sc chemistry)[email protected]

35. 46
    preethi:

sir colud you please tell me the study material for cse and mention some of the books

36. 45
    pinky:

sir,can u suggest me a book for preparing for this exam.

37. 44
    kritika:

Sir plz tell me if female can apply for graduate trainee in chemistry…….and i have completed masters in organic chemistry ..Am i eligeble

38. 43
    gaurav:

sir can ece student apply in e&t section.
    please help m.

39. 42
    SYAM KUMAR:

please send me instrumentation syllabus & PREVIOUS QUESTION PAPERS for ONGC GT-2012

40. 41
    Kishor Tawalare:

Which books i have to refer for geological objective & general knowledge for ongc exam.

41. 40
    vivek:

The syllabus given by you is not for 2012.

42. 39

can ece (electronics & communication) apply for ongc exam?

43. 38
    velammal:

Sir plzz… suggest me the reference books for finance and accounts

44. 37
    basha:

do final year students can go for this exam

45. 36
    anil:

i am aplling for ongc . actually my name in ssc certificate as Rasmi setty sai kumar but i dont knw how to fill in application . that is first,second ,third names. please tell what is 1,2,3 names of me please help me.

46. 35
    prakash kushwah:

sir i am be mechanical final year student can i apply the form….

47. 34
    Ankur patel:

I got 62% in last semester in b.e mechanical but in 7th semester I got 56%. so can I apply for g.e.t in ongc..????

48. 33
    ziya:

plz send me d syllabus of chemistry for graduate trainees

49. 32
    Hema:

Sir, I have completed M.Sc Information Technology(Integrated) Course. When I looked for IT in the disciplines, I couldn’t find it.So kindly tell me if I am eligible to apply for programming sector.

Thanks in Advance.

50. 31
    pavan:

can i know coaching centres in hyderabad for ongc entrance exam.please let me know.

51. 30
    mudassir:

sir i am graduate in be(cse). am i elgble for programing?

52. 29
    vignesh:

can mba distance education finance apply for this position?

53. 28

sir pls send me the details syllabus of GK , APTITUDE TEST AND FINANCE AND ACCOUNT 34 Posts IN ONGC graduate trainee

54. 27
    mohit:

i am a graduate(B.Tech) in metallurgical engineering.
    Can i Apply? If yes, please tell under which post/branch.
    Thanks and best regards,
    Mohit

55. 26
    jaya prathap:

I completed the B.E Electronics 7 communication Engineering….shall i eligible for this exam ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam 2012 pls …any one reply

56. 25
    jay:

hello sir, i complet m. sc. in chemistry in 2012(in this year).i want to do government jobs ,thus please send me detail of government exam which related to my qualification and how to cleared it ( if you know)………………..thanks

57. 24
    shubhangi paware:

i have done my M.Sc in Petroleum Technology. i can apply for post of Reservoir but i did not have physics and maths in graduational level had it in HSC

58. 23
    shubhangi paware:

i have done my M.Sc in Petroleum Technology. i can apply for post of Reservoir but i did not have physics and maths in graduational level had it in

59. 22
    sridharan,M:

sir, iam m.sridharan completed my m.sc in applied geology and applying for the post of graduate trainee exam in ongc .so i request you to provide me the previous year question papers for geology.

60. 21
    Nilesh:

is this exam required Aggregate or just engineering final year??
    please send me answer

61. 20
    asharfee lal:

sir,i am final year student and b.tech from tool engineering can u apply the production or mechanical branch

62. 19
    pari:

sir i want be a previous five year question paper of post graduate for Finance and Accounts related Question paper, how can i got it

63. 18
    geetika:

are btech IT engineers eligible? plz reply

64. 17
    Abhishek Thakur:

sir, i am in my final year of my b.e civil graduation. please tell me can i apply for the civil posts….

65. 16
    Venkat:

I am BE(ECE) graduate, am I eligible for this job!
    Today I see the list of disciplines in the online application form, but I can’t find ECE rather I can find E&T, Electronics and Telecom

What should I do?

Please help me

66. 15
    kunal mishra:

i am graduate in mining engineering, can i apply for graduate trainee exam-2012?

67. 14
    naveen:

What is the ONGC Salary

68. 13
    naveen:

What is the CTC of ONGC

69. 12
    Krishna:

Sir, what is the pay scale for this post for a fresher?

70. 11
    dinesh kumar:

sir i want be a previous five year question paper of graduate trainee for geology, how can i got it

71. 10
    akash chikhalekar:

sir 60% in last yr of engg or all four year aggregate will allowed for entrance exam
    for biomedical engg can apply for the intrumentation engg. post?

72. 9
    prerna chauhan:

i had completed my exams of M.Sc in geology and my result will b declared, most probably in august, so can i appear in ONGC graduate trainee exam 2012…
    thanking you…

73. 8
    surya:

Yes, internal candidates also should have 60% in engineering as well as postgraduation degree.

74. 7
    D.P.prashanth:

I am B,Tech(Energy and Enviornment) student,can i get a chance for graduate trainee in your organisation.

75. 6
    acharya priyanka:

is it necessary 60% for ongc employees for gt exams?

76. 5
    Akshata:

how to apply please send me the link of that… i did not found it on the official website

77. 4
    jyoti:

how can i get application form and in which bank i can pay thid fees which is given for online application form?

78. 3
    upendra:

i am appearing candidate of b.tech in electronics and communication branch,so can i appear ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam 2012 exam .pl. detials. thanking you

79. 2
    jafarshujakhan:

1-Could 8th semester(finial year 2012) BE student can applied for ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam 2012.
    2-kindly reply.

80. 1
    Manish:

I want to ask that whether B. Pharm Graduate are eligible or not for ONGC Graduate Trainee Exam