21st May 2011, 01:55 PM

Age limit in I.A.S. Exam For Ex Service Man?

Sir I am a Govermant Sarvent In Indian Goverment So I want that what is the age limit for IAS exam.

7th June 2011, 06:15 AM
mukul0094

Default Re: Age limit in I.A.S. Exam For Ex Service Man?

Sir I am a Govermant Sarvent In Indian Goverment So I want that what is the age limit for IAS exam.

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) exam is conducted by UPSC in every
year. It is also known as the Civil Services exam. Civil service is the
backbone of Indian government. IAS officer job is the one of the high
level job of India. IAS exam is held in two stage preliminary exam and main exam. To appear in the IAS exam you need the following eligibility criteria.

Educational Qualification :-

The minimum educational qualification to appear in the IAS exam is
graduation in any stream from a recognize University. Candidates who
are appear in the qualifying examination are also eligible to appear in
the preliminary examination.

Age Limit :-

A candidate must have attained 21 years and not be over 30 years
at the time of appearing of this exam. The age relaxation is also
applicable for the reservation category student. Details information
regarding age relaxation is given below:

->For SC/ST Candidates :- 5 years.

->For OBC candidates :- 3 years.

->For Ex-Service man :- 5 years.

->For PH Candidates :- 10 years.

->For the Jammu Kashmir Candidates :- 5 years.

If you are belong to Ex-Service man then you will get age relaxation upto 5 years on the upper age.

For complete information regarding IAS exam please visit the official
website of UPSC.

http://www.upsc.gov.in

~Mukul~
13th June 2011, 08:17 PM
MonuRai

Age limits in the IAS exam is as follows:-

-> 21-30 years for the general .

-> 21-35 years for the SC/ST .

-> 21-33 years for the OBC .

Educational qualification :- The minimum educational qualification required is to be a graduate in any field.

No. of attempts :- 4 for the general , 7 for the OBC , unlimited for the SC/ST.

More details:- www.upsc.gov.in.

15th June 2011, 06:35 PM

I Think You have a Little Bit Knowledge about UPSC Civil Services examination, And to Become a IAS Officer, You need To complete your Graduate degree from a recognised university and the candidates between the age of 21 to 30 Years are eligible to apply for UPSC civil Services examination.

Age Eligiblity Criteria -

For General candidates, The age should between 21 to 30 years, No relaxation will be applicable on General Candidates.

But SC, ST Candidates Will gets 5 year relaxation on age and OBC will gets 3 year Relaxation on Age.

Age eligiblity For Ex- Service Man in IAS examination -
  • Ex-Servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/ SSCOs who have rendered at least five years Military Service Will gets - 5 Year Age Relxation.
  • Ex-Servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs will gets - 10 years Relaxation on age.
  • And Ex-Servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs will gets - 8 years relaxation on Age.
So, These are the age Limits for Ex- Service Man To appear in UPSC civil Services Examination.

The General Candidates will gets only 4 Chance to clear this examination, 7 chance for OBC Candidates and No limits for SC, ST candidates.

The Notification was published in the employment Newspaper OR in the Official website of UPSC, The examination was conducts 2 times in a year and there are two examination was there in Civil services examination And you have to clear both the examination.

And for complete information, please visit the official website of UPSC -

15th June 2011, 07:12 PM
mobeshpal

for ias criteria is:--

candidate should pass graduate

age- 21 to 30 years
5 years relaxation for sc/st
3 years relaxation for obc

attempt:--
general candidate 4 times
sc/st-7 times
obc- 5 times

if you satisfy above criteria then you sit in the ias exam
if not then you will not able to seat.......
15th June 2011, 07:15 PM
venkatgct

friend,

the ex service men are allowed to appear for the IAS exam til the age of 35.

that is, u hav upto 5 yrs relaxation in the age limit upon the general category age limit.

all the best!!
15th June 2011, 07:43 PM
stranger351

Age limits For IAS:
21-30 years as on 1.7.2011.
(Upper age limit relaxation for SCs/STs, OBCs and certain other categories.)

SC/ST-5 years
OBC-3 year
Ex service man-5 year
Physical handicapped-10 year
15th June 2011, 09:03 PM
ravi6

For SC/ST the age limit for IAS exam is 5 years.

For PH candidate is 10 years.

REGARDS
ravi6
15th June 2011, 09:10 PM
sachin6

Hi,your minimum qualification is graduation. Age limit is 21 to 30yrs.
15th June 2011, 09:16 PM
dhani12345

Wink Re: Age limit in I.A.S. Exam For Ex Service Man?

Educational qualification :- The minimum educational qualification required is to be a graduate in any field.

15th June 2011, 09:38 PM
priyanka_swengg

Educational Qualification:-
You Must hold a degree of any Discipline from any Recognized University.

Age Limits:-
Must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years
There is no such for government employee but we do have for armed forces like
Ex-Servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/ SSCOs who have rendered at least five years Military Service Will gets - 5 Year Age Relxation.
Ex-Servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs will gets - 10 years Relaxation on age.
And Ex-Servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs will gets - 8 years relaxation on Age.

Attempts:-

For General Category :- only 4 times.
For OBC:- Only 7 times.
For SC/ST:- Any Time under the Above age Limits.
15th June 2011, 09:43 PM
dhani12345

Wink Re: Age limit in I.A.S. Exam For Ex Service Man?

15th June 2011, 10:28 PM
sumansin

Age limit for I.A.S- candidates must have to attain 21 to 30 for general.
OBC candidates get 3 years relaxation ,
SC/ST candidates get 5 years relaxation,Ex-Service man candidates also comes in relaxation category.
they get 5 years relaxation.

Attempt for General-4,
OBC-7,
SC/ST-No limit,
15th June 2011, 10:41 PM
venkataprakash.v

Age limits for IAS Exam :

The Age should be 21 - 30 yr of age on August 1st of the year of Examination.

Age Relaxation Exists as per.Govt rules.

Three years Relaxation for Other backward Classes candidates.

Five year Relaxation for SC/ST candidates.

Ex-Servicemen Including Commissioned offices and ECO/SSO who have Rendered at least five year Military Service will Gets - 5 years.

Ex-Servicemen Including Commissioned offices and ECOs/SSOs + SC/ST will gets - 10 years.

Ex-Servicemen Including + OBC Commissioned offices and ECOs/SSOs - 8 years.

Eligibility Criteria :

The candidate should have a Graduate degree from a Recognized Institute/University.

Those who are Appearing in the final year of graduate degree may also Eligible to Apply.
15th June 2011, 11:46 PM

age limit for general candidate is 21-29 years.

but age limit for ST/SC/Ex service man there have 5 years of relaxation.

for more information check-www.upsc.gov.in.

all the best...............
16th June 2011, 12:49 AM
kumarpravir007

The IAS(Indian Administrative Service) exam is conducted every year by the UPSC and it is called to be known as the Civil Services exam

The age limit for the Ex-Service man who has rendered the Indian Military are only relaxed in the age limitations based on their year of the service they provide to the Indian Military
For them the minimum age relaxation is 5 years if they have rendered service in the Indian Military for the 5 years ..

So as you are in a government service and not in the military service then i think you won't get any extra age relaxation as such
You will be considered for the general or the OBC or the SC/ST case
And the age relaxation for the OBC is 3 years and the SC/ST is 5 years ...

for the other information regarding the IAS exam you can visit the oficial website of the UPSC ::

I have even attached the detailed info about the Civil Services exam...
File Type: pdf cs2011_eng.pdf(346.2 KB, 268 views)
16th June 2011, 12:57 AM
kumarpravir007

The IAS(Indian Administrative Service) exam is conducted every year by the UPSC and it is called to be known as the Civil Services exam

The age limit for the Ex-Service man who has rendered the Indian Military are only relaxed in the age limitations based on their year of the service they provide to the Indian Military
For them the minimum age relaxation is 5 years if they have rendered service in the Indian Military for the 5 years ..

So as you are in a government service and not in the military service then i think you won't get any extra age relaxation as such
You will be considered for the general or the OBC or the SC/ST case
And the age relaxation for the OBC is 3 years and the SC/ST is 5 years ...

for the other information regarding the IAS exam you can visit the oficial website of the UPSC ::

I have even attached the detailed info about the Civil Services exam...
File Type: pdf cs2011_eng.pdf(346.2 KB, 197 views)
21st June 2011, 10:33 AM

Sir exserviceman now age is 35 service in army is 16 yrs till what age i should remain applying for ias exam.how age is calculated.pse help
28th June 2011, 06:57 PM

IM IN DEFENCE I WIL LRETIRED IN 36 YEARS OF AGE CAN I SIT IN IAS EXAM
3rd July 2011, 10:11 PM

Date of Birth of mine is 12 Dec 1974 and serving army person, will release shortly from service (pensionable). May I get any chance to appear IAS/IPS (UPSC) exam. What is the max age limit for exservicemen.
13th October 2011, 06:50 PM

I AM SERVING IN INDIAN NAVY AND HAVE RENDERED 23 YEARS OF SERVICE, DOB FEB 1969, I WANT TO APPEAR ANY UPSC SERVICE AS EX SERVICE MAN WHERE I CAN GET AGE RELAXATION
30th October 2011, 04:00 PM

Sir can i get an educational leave for 1 year to complete by B.tech after joining indian airforce as airmen
27th December 2011, 12:58 PM

sir,i am 40 years old and my service is now running 21 years can i apply for IAS exam
3rd February 2012, 05:11 PM

Sir, I'm ex-serviceman. i want to know How many chance avail ex-serviceman?
3rd March 2012, 09:38 PM

Sir,,,
I m an Indian Army,,, i'll be retired at 36 yrs of age,, could i able or eligible for applying for IAS at that stage,,,,,,,,..
Ranjit
14th March 2012, 01:19 AM

Sir i am working indian navy i am 37 year age am i agligable for ias
16th March 2012, 12:09 AM
Dexter_Morgan

Pattern of the exam:

The exam is divided into two parts-mathematics (300 marks) and general ability (600marks) for two and a half hour. The candidates with good mathematical skill and with right confidence can easily qualify or the test.

Paper –I (mathematics)

Paper –II (general ability)

Part ‘A’ (English) – To test candidate’s knowledge in English

Part ‘B’ (general knowledge)- It is divided into part A- F and consist of physics, chemistry, history, general science, geography and current events.

If you are eligible for all this traits you can apply for the exam
You can apply it online from the official website of the UPSC
www.upsc.gov.in

Good Luck!
4th April 2012, 07:38 PM

I.A.S admmission open date and were college
27th April 2013, 03:58 PM

what is the chance limit to appear in the jharkhand public service commission civil service exam
28th April 2013, 02:00 PM
kapila Chaudhary

IAS Exam i.e Indian Administrative Exam
It is under Civil Service Exam conducted once in a Year by UPSC.

Eligibility criteria in Details:

Age Limit

General - 21 to 30 yrs

OBC - 21 to 33 yrs

SC/ST - 21 to 35 yrs

Defence Personnal - 21 to 33 yrs

Ex serviceman - 21 to 35 yrs

Educational Qualifications:
Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university

Number of Attempts:
Four attempts for open, seven for OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs.
If a person appears in the Preliminary Examination or even one paper is counted as an attempt.

How to apply:
•Apply online by using the website
http://www.upsconline.nic.in
•Apply offline by purchasing the application form from designated post offices throughout the country.

For complete details go to

6th October 2013, 09:12 PM

Sir im serving in indianarmy. I will retaired after 15 year service at 43 age.can i try to ias exams.
14th January 2014, 09:07 PM

the criteria for ex servicemen has been made amply clear.and even for serving personnel with either of the 3 defense services who have a short service commission or are on extension after the first 5 yrs as commissioned officers.
however the eligibility for serving officers with a permanent commission is unclear.can someone pl shed some light upon that??
15th January 2014, 10:33 AM
nareshsunrise

There is no separate exam called IAS Exam for the candidates to give admission for IAS (Indian Administrative Service) the top most civil service in India.

But there is a common written exam called Civil Services Exam which will let the candidates to be placed in various civil services like
Indian Administrative Service
Indian Police Service
Indian Foreign Service etc.

The complete selection procedure would involve
Civil Services Aptitude Test
Civil Services Main Exam
Interview

Here is the eligibility required to apply for this Exam.

One should have completed Graduation in order to apply for this Exam.

As per your query,

the candidates who are ex-service man should be in the age group of 21-35 years.

The candidates of General category should be in the age group of 21-30 years.

As you are a ex-serviceman, you will be given relaxation in upper age limit upto 5 years.

If you possess the above mentioned eligibility criteria, you can apply for this exam.

It is not so easy to be placed in IAS.

One should have strong preparation towards selection procedure to get IAS Job.

Try to be strong enough in that.

Wish you all the best.
1st June 2014, 07:24 PM

SIR M ARMY PERSON I WILL RETIRED IN AUG. 2017 ON MY AGE 32 YRS, THEN I COUNTED IN EXSERVICEMEN,AND I AM ALSO IN SC CATEGORY,SO HOW MANY ATTEMPT I HAVE TO APPEAR FOR THIS EXAM AFTER RETIREMENT?? AND TILL WHICH AGE I WILL APPEAR ??? SIR PLZZ ANSWER ME....
3rd July 2014, 01:34 AM

Sir' my name is kuldeep I m serving in Indian army my age is 31 yr and after 5 yr I will retired and then my age will be 36 yr and I want to give the exam of upsc can I give the exam
15th July 2014, 05:04 PM

hai sir/madam
I works at Indian army aviation and my age 22 .I want to know about the chances and attempts to iAs and IPs for the ex- service man.
thanking uu sir
23rd July 2014, 12:13 PM

sir i want to know that a soldier in defence force got ex serviceman status after completion of 15 yr of service and till that he already crossed the age of 35yr then hw could he get the age relaxation. for upsc ias exam .just explain in detail
3rd June 2015, 04:37 PM

Sir I have completed 20 yrs of service in Indian foce at the age of 39retired as exservicemen and I am in OBC category my date of birth is 23 Feb 1974 till what age can i appear in IAS and how many attempts I can appear
23rd January 2016, 09:06 PM

sir I have completed 16 years service in Indian army and took volunteer retirement at the age of 34 years as a general cast am I able to apply for IAS and what will be my last age for applying this?
12th April 2016, 05:42 PM

Sir, I am in Army and I will retire at the age of 36, May I apply for IAS? PLZ
6th August 2016, 01:25 PM

Sir, I have completed five year service in territorial army ,can I get any age relaxation for I.A.S exam and I am a general cast candidate
8th November 2016, 02:58 PM

I am a 43 year old serving soldier in indian army. I have completed 22 years service and I have completed MA history. May I eligible to appear in up PGT exam 2017.
26th February 2017, 02:43 PM

Sir, I am a serving soldier. I will get retirement at age of 36. I belong to SC category. After the age of 36, can I apply for the UPSC exam???? Pl guide me. ...
3rd April 2017, 01:41 AM

Sir I am serving in Indian Army. My service is complete now 5 years. Can I apply for IAS exam?
24th June 2017, 10:22 AM

Sir I am serving in Army and my age is 35 and I am coming under OBC can I get a chance in next year what documents should be produce.
24th September 2017, 04:02 PM

Sir I am retiring with 43 years of age after completing 24 years of service in Army and of OBC category, am I applicable for any IAS or MPPSC exam
6th October 2017, 01:23 PM

Sir I am 38 years old and belong to Gen caste. I am ex serviceman and service can do it by as a non commissioned officer then I applicable for IAS examination.
12th December 2017, 03:53 PM
Sk30

Age limits for IAS exam
Minimum age to sit IAS exam 21
Upper age limit for general category 32
Upper age limit for one 35
Upper age limit for sc/st 37
Upper age limit for citizen of jammu Kashmir 37
Upper age limit defence services personal disabled 35 years
Upper age limit for exservicemen 37
Upper age limit for blind, deaf mute, orthopedic handicap 42
23rd May 2018, 09:22 PM

I have completed graduation and presently serving in defence till 2010 as a general duty, I not a officer. My age at present 33. Can I attempt to ICS exam
23rd July 2018, 11:11 AM

Sir, I am serving JCO in the Army & will be retired in in the age of 46.5 years after completing 28 years of service. I am graduate in commerce. Will I be applicable for applying for bank PO and DSC CGL posts.