7th February 2010, 02:57 PM

Career prospects in BSc bio informatics?

Respected sir/madam
I am studying my 11th std. i want to do B Sc in informatics in university of Hyderabad or Bangalore. So could you tell me about the scope of the subject. DO i have entrance exam to get joined in the university or is it based on my +2 marks. if so when do I have the exam and how can I apply for it.

8th February 2010, 09:41 PM
rrmohantysmile

Default Re: Career prospects in BSc bio informatics?

no there is no entrance exam for the same till now but you may counsult their higher officials if at all they are planning to have one from the next year .. but regarding the scope of bioinformatics it is huge and you can make a great career out of it.. like some of the upcommimng projects are n india all peopls wil be having a biological id card and bioinformaticians are gonna prepare that and you can then also go for research and join pharma companies and can also do data management or can also go for KPO sector and belive me you are having tremendous scope in it and you are going to make a great career of it so all the best and good luck to you hope you excel in the field..
9th February 2010, 02:50 AM
gunjan pande

hi dear..
its very gud dat u r concern about ur future at avery rite time...
for this u hav to appear in d entrance exam...u can get the notification about forms at university website.
few subjects to concentrate on...
structural biology and modeling, mathematical optimization, computer graphics theory and linear algebra.web and programming skills including HTML, Perl, JAVA and C++ and an idea of variety of operating systems (especially UNIX).
FEW OTHER INSTITUTES R

1 National Biotech Institutes Hyderabad :
2 Center for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad
http://www.ccmb.res.in/…
3 Centre for DNA Fingerprinting Technology, Hyderabad
http://www.cdfd.org.in/…

wish u gud luck
10th February 2010, 01:03 AM
Mintoo

Bioinformatics, the latest word is the field of science in which biology, computer science and information Technology merge into a single discipline. In USA, Europe and now in India also if you ask anyone about job prospects in the world of Bioinformatics, young professionals will give the same answer. The field is hot !
27th February 2010, 03:59 AM
quddus

Only after persuing Bsc (bioinformatics) career prospect is not good,you have to move forward for higher studies for great career.
5th April 2010, 10:03 PM

The career prospects in bioinformatics has been steadily increasing with more and more use of information technology in the field of molecular biology. Job prospects are in all sectors of biotechnology, pharmaceutical and biomedical sciences, in research institutions, hospital and industry.

Institutes offering bioinformatics courses:-

Karunya university,school of biotechnology, karunya nagar
Indian institute of information technology, deoghat
Jamia millia ismalia university
University of hyderabad, hyderabad , andrapradesh.........
13th May 2010, 06:40 PM

Here is the attachment for you ,take a look over it .
You will surely clear about everything.

File Type: txt careerbioinformatics.txt(7.7 KB, 101 views)
15th May 2010, 09:19 AM
sadhan

career prospect of bio informaticc is good day by day whicj merges biology,computer science & information technology.
you have to pass an entrance exam conducted by university of hyderabad and you have to score good marks
31st May 2010, 03:49 PM

which subjects are includes in bsc bio informatic?
15th July 2010, 10:32 PM
9A2M00

you need a master degree in bio related subjects for good jobs,as bsc related jobs are very few.
you can give net also,net is a perperdicular examination to promote students working with postgraduation to work with educational institutions.
this through also you can do phd.
20th December 2010, 08:06 PM

I have completed to B.sc (biology).and I want to know that how to get a job?
sameer.
13th January 2011, 10:41 PM
asahu47

Career prospects in BSc bio informatics

..u can get the notification about forms at university website.
few subjects to concentrate on...
structural biology and modeling, mathematical optimization, computer graphics theory and linear algebra.web and programming skills including HTML, Perl, JAVA and C++ and an idea of variety of operating systems (especially UNIX).
FEW OTHER INSTITUTES R

1 National Biotech Institutes Hyderabad :
2 Center for Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad
http://www.ccmb.res.in/…
3 Centre for DNA Fingerprinting Technology, Hyderabad
http://www.cdfd.org.in/…

11th May 2011, 03:28 AM

how much salary one can expect after doing msc bioinformatics???
1st June 2011, 01:29 PM

what is the fees of B Tech. ( Agri)
Belwate
30th June 2011, 12:25 AM

In which field you find good scope , biotech or biochemistry?
24th August 2011, 07:02 PM

is bsc bioinformatics and msc bioinformatics good for future job.how is its scope in future.
27th August 2011, 02:29 PM

which one is in good scope?bsc bioinfo or bsc biochemistry?
30th November 2011, 03:20 PM

i m graduate in B.sc IT. Should i go for MCA or MBA?
17th May 2012, 01:15 PM

Please give add of bsc aggriculture form deposit
7th June 2012, 09:09 PM
mnbgvs

Lightbulb Re: Career prospects in BSc bio informatics?

Please give add of bsc aggriculture form deposit
Eligibility and Method of Selection for Bioinformatics Courses :

A course in bioinformatics is suitable for those with a graduation or post graduation in molecular biology, genetics, microbiology, chemistry, pharmacy, veterinary sciences, physics, mathematics, and also engineers, it professionals, PhDs Programs at different levels are available in the field such as b.tech, master degree, advanced diploma and MTech Study of bioinformatics begins at the undergraduate level.
The basic educational qualification to enter program in bioinformatics is 10+2 completed with science as the subject. The details of the educational qualification for different courses in this field are listed below.

Educational Qualifications required for Bioinformatics Courses :

B.Tech in bioinformatics candidate should complete 10+2 with physics, chemistry, biology and English.
M.Sc degree in candidate should complete their Bioinformatics graduation in any of the following subjects such as B.Sc / B.Sc ( Agriculture ) / BCS / BE / B.Tech / MBBS / B.Pharm / BHMS / BVSc Advanced diploma in candidate having a post graduation in Bioinformatics any of the following subjects such as M.Sc in Life Sciences, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Biotechnology, Biophysics, Botany, Zoology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Computer Sciences, MSc ( Agriculture ) or MTech or MBBS are eligible for Advanced Diploma Courses.
M.tech in bioinformatics pharmacy Graduate, Medical, Dental and Veterinary Sciences, graduates as well as post graduates in science are eligible for the admission to M.Tech Program. Other than this eligibility for the course in bioinformatics in different colleges varies with the universities.

Bioinformatics Skills :

The current trend in seeking potential employees seems to be looking for those that have firstly been trained in the biological sciences and have acquired computational skills. However, there is room for those with an it background with strong interest and knowledge in the biological sciences, especially molecular biology.

Bioinformatics Job Prospects :

The career prospects in bioinformatics has been steadily increasing with more and more use of information technology in the field of molecular biology. Job prospects are in all sectors of biotechnology, pharmaceutical and biomedical sciences, in research institutions, hospital and industry.
Some of the specific career areas that fall within the scope of bioinformatics include sequence assembly, database design and maintenance, sequence analysis, proteomics ( study of protein, particularly their structures and functions ), pharmacogenomics, pharmacology, clinical pharmacologist, informatics developer, computational chemist, bio – analytics and analytics etc.
The work involved in the specific career areas are drug design utilizing 3D structure modeling and computational chemistry ( cheminformatics ), comparing genetic data between and within species ( genomics ). Genomic analysis is an attempt to find drug targets ( pharmacogenomics ), characterization of proteins and their interactions ( proteomics ), prediction of the function of genes and proteins based on sequence and structural data etc.
Bioinformatics has also many broad areas for career movement. Some of these are include bioinformatician, biomedical computer scientist, geneticist, computational biologist, biostatistician etc.

ALL THE BEST...........
28th August 2012, 08:38 PM

MAINE IS SAL B.S.C. 11 YEAR KA EXAM DIYA HAI MEIN ANGE KYA KAR SAKTI OR USKI FULL INFORMATION MEIN U.P. BOARD SE HOON