21st April 2010, 03:16 PM
shreya g

CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

i wish to pursue eng(h) but dn't have much knowledge about entrance exam's pattern.so plz guide me for the same n if possible do send me last yrs. CATE paper.me eagerly waiting 4 ur response.

30th April 2010, 06:23 PM

Default Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

could u plzzzz send me the same as soon as possible....................... waitind for a positive result.
4th May 2010, 01:06 PM

Talking Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

[hahahaha nidhi.............................. N if u get dose paper let...................dan cell me...
5th May 2010, 01:42 AM
edward
Top Answerer

sorry friend there is no such papers available for download on any site.........you have to prepare according to the syllabus provided by them..........you can prefer to some some of the book for english grammar.......
and try to have a fluent english speaking and make strong your vocabulary also

Last edited by edward; 5th May 2010 at 03:00 PM.
5th May 2010, 09:06 AM
SJ.18

Originally Posted by shreya g View Post
i wish to pursue eng(h) but dn't have much knowledge about entrance exam's pattern.so plz guide me for the same n if possible do send me last yrs. CATE paper.me eagerly waiting 4 ur response.
Eight more colleges, including LSR and Miranda, to conduct CATE to select English undergrads.

A total of 47 colleges offer English (Honours) in DU.

New Colleges:
Lady Shri Ram
Miranda House
Shaheed Bhagat Singh
Deshbandhu
Shyama Prasad Mukheriee
Old Colleges
Delhi College of Arts and Commerce
Kamla Nehru
Hindu
Indraprastha
Maharaja Agrasen
Shyamlal
Shivaji
Zakir Hussain
Zakir Hussain(E)
Swami Shraddhanand
Satyawati (E)
Important Figures
Number of seats last year : 450 (approx)
Number of Application last year: 10,000
Important Dates
Form sales this year: LAST WEEK OF MAY (tentative)
Last date for submission: JUNE 6 (tentative)
Date of examination: JUNE 9 (tentative)
The participating colleges give 70 per cent weight-age to CATE score and 30 percent to Boards Performance
http://questions.ascenteducation.com/
http://www.onestopmba.com/downloads/cat.asp

Good LUCk
5th May 2010, 12:16 PM
satishkomer

Dear Frnd CATE......?
It is CAT(COMMON Aptitude TEST)
This CAT test prep courses cover the most recent types of question in CAT format that have never been addressed by others. We do not use previous paper-based GMAT questions to teach current computer-based CAT exam.

Each set of paper tests includes timed sections, an answer sheet, and a way to convert your raw score to the equivalent.

You can download free paper from this link.

http://www.coolavenues.com/mbasp/cat03.pdf
6th May 2010, 08:55 PM

Since the syllabus has changed (including MSQs) could i please know what all do we have to prepare for CATE?
7th May 2010, 02:53 PM
brrrravi

Smile Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

hi, dear friend

cat sample papers are available from the below link :

http://www.ischools.in/cat/CAT_Exam_Sample_Questions.php

and also exam pattern you get from the above link

good link...
9th May 2010, 09:47 AM

What is the syllabus for CATE?..?
10th May 2010, 01:13 AM

i am also preparing for cate
as being informed to me this exam deals with your command on grammar portion. apart from that you need to have a good vocabulary. if you are strong in both these fields you should try practicing few english exams papers.
since cate started in the year 2009 therefore you will not be able to get past year papers as a much needed help. but if anyone finds it do provide it's link
12th May 2010, 12:30 PM

hey plz gv detailed info abt cate ,d sites mentioned abv r 4 cat nd not cate so plz provide d beginners wid proper info esecialy abt syllabus
12th May 2010, 07:32 PM

Can u pls tell me the exam pattern and syllabus for CATE
12th May 2010, 11:21 PM
bond007

sorry but there is no such question papers available for download............you have to study according to the syllabus provided by the exam authority.......prefer some good english gramar books for it........

16th May 2010, 05:27 PM

plz sum1 tell me the format of cate????????????????? i need it the most plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
17th May 2010, 06:53 PM

but isnt there last year's paper? or anyone who gave last year CATE..???
17th May 2010, 06:59 PM
adrita

Exclamation Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

Originally Posted by satishkomer View Post
Dear Frnd CATE......?
This CAT test prep courses cover the most recent types of question in CAT format that have never been addressed by others. We do not use previous paper-based GMAT questions to teach current computer-based CAT exam.

Each set of paper tests includes timed sections, an answer sheet, and a way to convert your raw score to the equivalent.

hello...
CAT is entirely a different thing...than CATE... this is for english honours....
19th May 2010, 01:16 PM

wht is da syllabus for cate?????plzzz tell......
19th May 2010, 06:11 PM

plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.........provide us some matter to study,just a few sample papers or last year's question paper,,,if anybody got the information from any source do rply
20th May 2010, 11:36 PM

just study English literature cbse bum for eleventh n twelth grade n practice grammar.
23rd May 2010, 12:32 PM

if u'll even sit for the whole day or so to search for the CATE exam sample papers.....then also u would'nt get them.........hehheheh

they r not available anywhere....on any site.........guys.....
23rd May 2010, 01:27 PM

oh god !! this is so horrible !! we are sitting for eng hons..we dnt already hav it..they shud tell atleast sumthng to us about it !! atleast sumone wud have given the paper last year !!
24th May 2010, 11:20 AM

What would be the pattern and nature of the questions for Cate Objective type test?
ANUKIRTI.
24th May 2010, 06:49 PM

papers r not allowed to be taken outside the exam hall...... i got 1 sample paper with 37 ques in it..... just search google and u'll get it...i did.... ;-D
27th May 2010, 02:40 AM

I KNOW ONE ENGLISH TEACHER WHO HELPED ME PREPARE CATE LAST YEAR.GOT 80%..INDEED VERY VERY GUD 1 BUT LITL EXPENSIVE....STAYS SOMEWHERE IN NORTH DELHI NEAR CAMPUS..GIVES TUTION FOR ENGLISH..BUT VERY BUSY YOU CAN TRY ...VERY CHOOSEY ALSO.........ONLY KNOW HER PH. NO. ITS RATHER IT WAS LAST YEAR 9810752340 AND 9811623400...BEST OF LUCK TO ALL....
28th May 2010, 06:14 AM
ankan singhal

4m where can we get cate forms n wats d last date
wats d syllabus 4 it
which is d bst collg 4 eng hons
28th May 2010, 05:52 PM

You can call Elite English Bureau for CATE. Help. They are the best in the city.
They will help you out. It is expenssive.
Number- 09313004647
29th May 2010, 01:31 AM

its too late to hav registration in such institutes!!
guys no1 will help u 4 d same.....study class 12th eng as much as u can....
i read in times of india that 4 this tym they will focus nly on literature nd nt on grammer portion....
all d best to all!! if u get ny oder info do infrm...
31st May 2010, 08:35 PM

There are gonna be 2 parts of the paper. Part A will have all grammar (MCQs) and Part B will have literature. You have to know all about the past literature like augustan lit, romantics lit and so on. Since Part B is descriptive you will have to write them and the comprehensions can be a poem (a para) or a normal story kind of. There are only 500 seats (rough) and only those papers will be checked who clear part A.
There is no pattern for the paper as it was introduced in 2009. There is no particular good colleges for CATE and you have have a good vocab read books and know all the authors of some famous books. Nothing from class 12 is asked.
Hope this helps
Take care and best of luck
=D
1st June 2010, 12:26 PM
priyal gupta

i m priyanka plz tell me wat all things come in cate examination.as soon as possible........
7th June 2010, 05:34 PM

i would call people like you "oversmart"
for your kind information there is a combined test for people who want to pursue there graduation in English honours. that test is called CATE (common aptitude test for english)?????. please kindly increase your general knowledge so that you dont misguide people in the future
Originally Posted by satishkomer View Post
Dear Frnd CATE......?

8th June 2010, 01:19 PM

realy yaar dere iz no ques paper of previous yr on net.. nd if sm1 realy fnd plz gve a link
8th June 2010, 07:39 PM

best of luck to all cate stundents
9th June 2010, 01:52 AM

Smile Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

CATE means COMMON Aptitude TEST for ENGLISH.
its new course....
9th June 2010, 02:21 AM

who ever gave the no of the teacher...hats off to that fellow....she is sangeeta madam..her nos are same...an excellent teacher..some how i got her and could get six hours class.one of the most knowledgeble, humble, hardworking, dedicated and helpful teacher i have ever come across in my life.she is not only beautiful by looks and personality but by heart and soul also.an excellent HUMAN BEING. may GOD give her more n more of everything.thousands of hugs and kisses to her.
9th June 2010, 02:30 AM

Thumbs up Re: CATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

I KNOW ONE ENGLISH TEACHER WHO HELPED ME PREPARE CATE LAST YEAR.GOT 80%..INDEED VERY VERY GUD 1 BUT LITL EXPENSIVE....STAYS SOMEWHERE IN NORTH DELHI NEAR CAMPUS..GIVES TUTION FOR ENGLISH..BUT VERY BUSY YOU CAN TRY ...VERY CHOOSEY ALSO.........ONLY KNOW HER PH. NO. ITS RATHER IT WAS LAST YEAR 9810752340 AND 9811623400...BEST OF LUCK TO ALL....
thanks for the great support.she is indeed very helpfu. vlery intellegent.couldn't come to delhi but . she guided me over phone so well that i wish to touch her feet on my delhi visit. thank you once again.
31st July 2010, 12:47 PM
Somesh Goenka

You may find last ten years GATE papers at the following link:

http://www.gate.iitb.ac.in/gate2010_website/question.php

Good Luck!!
13th August 2010, 12:26 PM

Default Re: GATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern

Hello friend

you can get GATE entrance exam last years papers and exam pattern in the given below sites

1.www.gateforum.com.

2.www.onestopgate.com.

all the best.........
15th August 2010, 04:59 PM
parhitoshika

friend,
are you asking about gate exam?
gate score from this year is taken out of 100.
from any department,minimum score is 25/100.
you have to score that.
17th September 2010, 12:55 PM

hi i want to know about the material to prepare.
2nd October 2010, 09:07 AM

Hello friends! Could any of you help me out regarding the study material for CATE please.....???
Akshra Dutt
21st November 2010, 11:32 PM

I m so and so confused between the cate and cat exam. these both are same exams? plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz tell me clerly about the differnce b/w CATE, CAT and entrance test to take admission in english hons , here nobody who soever guide me about this. plz tell me that is it too tough? will i able to take the admission in any good college of DU.I am in 12th standard from arts side now plz tell me that how could I prepare for the entrance test plz tell me each and every thing about it very clearly. i m so anxious about it. plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz z reply me soon and soon and soon.
27th January 2011, 08:14 PM

hey i m studying in class 11 ..heard alot about cate ...how can i prepare for it..?
19th March 2011, 05:43 PM
Manora

Pattern Of Exam
Objective type questions (MCQ’s) and theory questions, those who pass the MCQ part cut-off will be evaluated further.

Important Figures And Dates
(Tentative)
Number Of Seats : 550 (expected)
Last Date Of Submission : 1st week of June, 2010
Examination Date : 2nd week of June, 2010
Sale Of Forms Starts : Last Week of May
Evaluation
The participating colleges give 70 per cent weight-age to CATE score and 30 percent to Boards Performance.
In 2009 the highest CATE score was 87% and cutoff would be around 55%
EXAMINATION DETAILS:-
DURATION: 1.5 Hrs
SECTIONS: PART 1 - Language and Literary Skills
PART 2 – Imaginative writing

The Examination is divided into two parts:

Evaluation
The participating colleges give 70 per cent weight-age to CATE score and 30 percent to Boards Performance.

EXAMINATION DETAILS:-
DURATION: 1.5 Hrs
SECTIONS: PART 1 - Language and Literary Skills
PART 2 – Imaginative writing

The Examination is divided into two parts:
1) Objective Type: It consists of questions on Vocabulary, Grammar and Literary Knowledge. 50 marks

2) Subjective Type: To test candidate’s aptitude for Literature, Analysing Skills, Creativity and Imagination of students.
- Reading Comprehension
- Essay writing
- Letter/Article writing
50 marks

Questions in Part 1-50

There were questions on 3 areas
- English Grammar
- Comprehension
- Vocabulary

There was one question of identifying the author of the book. Identifying correct usage.

This part is only meant for elimination. The scores of this section do not carry a weightage in overall selection.

Questions in part 2- 2

There was a poem- Aunt Jennifer’s Tiger by Adrienne Rich this is a part of students syllabus in CBSE XII Core English syllabus. A total of 5 Questions on this.

Discuss your favorite Novel- 1 question on this.

Last year in 2010 we at EduMentor had successfully predicted the question on 'review of your favourite novel' in Part B of CATE.

Based on such analysis of last 2 year paper. Our team in consultation with senior faculty members have drafted CATE material.

This pattern of last year is expected to change because
A) The pattern is still evolving
B) The inclusion of Poem stirred a lot of controversy as CBSE students had advantage over other boards.

Our 2011 material consists of 5 books and 6 Mock tests

Books-
A) Grammar Referesher
B) English Comprehension
C) Advanced Grammar
D) Literature
E) Vocabulary for CATE

Mocks - 6 Mocks based on different pattern to tackle the expected pattern of CATE 2011.

EduMentor is the only institute that has a full fledged course for CATE preparation as no other institute has as detailed information on the same.

If any of you wish to know more please contact our team of CATE expert at number - 9650499920/ 9650499921.

You could mail to us at [email protected]

You could visit our website www.edumentor.co.in
27th March 2011, 11:15 PM

hello... dis is aparna n i wish to prepare for cate exm....
plz, send some details of pattern of paper n refer 2 sum books 4 preparation.........
dis is a humble request
2nd April 2011, 04:58 AM

where are the forms available??
3rd April 2011, 05:35 PM

i want to know about exam pattern of literature?
5th April 2011, 06:27 PM

i need 2 know sum questions 4 entrance for cate exam
13th April 2011, 08:44 PM

my name is Hemanth sir
ima stading iti electrician but no job please any job sir
15th April 2011, 01:58 AM
mallik sing

thanks for giving info dear....tons and tons of thanks....indeed she is too good to be described in words....i wish i could be 1% of her....a lifetime achievement to get classes from her
15th April 2011, 02:12 AM

and thousands of regards and wishes and thanks to the person who gave the info about sangeeta mam. i think her caliber cannot be captured in words.far beyond description....thanks thanks thanks and thanks...may GOD bless u.