5th July 2012, 02:53 PM
Unregistered

How to appear for IAS exam while being a charted accountant?

Sir, I am a Chartered Accountant. I want to noe whether I can appear for IAS exam?.... And if so, what are the future benefits that can accrue me being a CA as well.

7th July 2012, 06:06 PM
rahul k
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to appear for IAS exam while being a charted accountant?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Sir, I am a Chartered Accountant. I want to noe whether I can appear for IAS exam?.... And if so, what are the future benefits that can accrue me being a CA as well.
Yes, you can apply for Civil service exam. Being a CA professional, definitely it would be of great advantage in many ways. You have a good idea of Indian economy now, what are recent policies, shortcoming in economy, what steps are further needed. All this will help you in Interview and Mains exam as well .

Being from a economics background, you can chose economics as one optional subject, another could be maths or some humanities subject.

Regarding Exam dates & pattern :

Notification comes in February , 2013.

The exam has three stages : Preliminary which held in May, then Mains , which held Oct and then Interview. All stages are necessary to clear.

Preliminary is basically consist of general science, awareness question and some mental ability questions.

For Mains, you have to select two optional, two languages, one essay exam.
Preliminary score will not be considered for final marks, it’s just for screening purpose only.

Total approx 900 are selected. This exam is too competitive, around 4 lakh appear for it every year. So, you have to be prepared mentally & academically as well. If you want more information about the examination then please check UPSC Official website.

upsc.gov.in
7th July 2012, 06:13 PM
Shaenma
Senior Member+++++

IAS Eligibility Criteria:

=>To appear for this exam you need to be a graduate in any discipline from a recognized university.