17th July 2010, 01:12 AM
N.MD.AZHARUDDIN

How to become a psychologist? what are the degrees to be completed?

how to be a psychologist? what are the degrees to be completed? please let me know and i need to do it as soon as possible

17th July 2010, 10:09 AM

Default Re: How to become a psychologist? what are the degrees to be completed?

If you want to make a successfull career in psychology, you will need to cover up the entire degree i.e. Bachelor's programme in Psychology, then post Graduation and then Phd.

Bachelor's degree in psychology
Duration- 3 years
Eligibility- 10+2

Masters Degree in Psychology
Duration- 2 years
Eligibility- bachelor's degree in Psychology

Phd
Duration- 2 years
Masters degree in psychology

You can specialize in any of these area

Clinical Psychologists
Counseling Psychologists
Social Psychologists
Educational Psychologists
Industrial Psychologists
Research psychologists
Developmental psychologists

Here I am providing you with the name of the institutes that offers Bachelor's degree programme (Honors) in psychology.

Bhavnagar University, Gujrat
Dr.Harisingh gour University, Madhya Pradesh
Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi
Pandit Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur
University of Ajmer, Rajasthan
University of Delhi, New Delhi
Utkal University, Bhubneshwar

Pls visit their websites to know about the admission process, fee structure etc.
17th July 2010, 03:50 PM
NISAMTI

study your graduation in B.A.(psychology)after that M.A(pshychology)...it is the basic path to become other higher courses friend..all the best....
17th July 2010, 03:59 PM
jicks

Its very nice that you have a good potential/drive to become a Psychologist.

If you already have a Degree, then do one year Diploma Course in Guidance & Counseling offered by Annmalai University, Chidambaram ( Options in Evening college & Distance Education is available)

Second option, is after Graduation, you can become a member of Association of Professional Psychologists, by completing Certification course (6 months-1year) conducted by qualified Psychologists. You can set up your practice after you become a member of this association.

Minimum qualification to become a Psychologist/Counselor is to have a Degree in any stream added with Diploma in Guidance/counseling or membership in association of Professional Psychologists.

But, if you are seriously involved in it, then You would better do Master"s Degree in Applied Psychology to understand the subject in depth. In PG, one paper is Guidance & Counseling specialization.

Psychology, offers multiple scope nowadays is in high demand.

Cheers
19th July 2010, 10:37 AM

entrance exam name for m.a phycolozy?
28th July 2010, 02:56 PM

hello, sir can i do m.sc psych.ology after b.sc biotechnology.
29th July 2010, 10:51 AM
NISAMTI

sorry friend,i think,you must complete your graduation in psychology only.then,you can study msc psychology.good luck
29th July 2010, 11:18 PM
NISAMTI

sorry friend,you can do msc psychology..because any p.g. course is the continution of their graduation..it is the simple fact..good luck
30th July 2010, 08:01 AM
sathsish

Smile Re: How to become a psychologist? what are the degrees to be completed?

hello friend,
please study your graduation in B.A.(psychology)after that M.A(pshychology)..that's it you can come up...
and let me provide you some colleges just visit to the respective websites you can gain some ideas:

all the very best..!!!

good luck..!!
30th July 2010, 12:52 PM
mini rani

Hi!

To pursue psychologist as a career one has to pursue the following courses:

1. For Bachelor's programme in psychology:
Eligibility - 10+2 with 50% marks
Selection Procedure - Some institutes take entrance exam while others select students directly on merit basis. These exams are held in the month of May-June.

2. For post Graduate programme in psychology:
Eligibility - Bachelor's degree in psychology
Selection Procedure - Interested candidates have to appear in entrance exam conducted by various institutes. Candidates are selected on the basis of performance in entrance exam.

3. For PHd. or MPhil.
Eligibility - PG or diploma in Psychology
Selection Procedure - Interested candidates have to apply in respective institutions & on the availability of seats candidates are admitted in the course.
30th July 2010, 02:50 PM

First of all you should gain knowledge about the subject. Obtain a bachelors degree and master’s degree in psychology. If you aspire to go for research or teaching opt for PhD. Choose the specialization in which you have interest like Clinical Psychology
Counseling Psychology, Industrial Psychology. University of Ajmer, Rajasthan
University of Delhi, Jamia Millia Islamia, are some of the universities offering this course. You can get opportunities in clinics, hospitals, rehabilitation centres etc…
31st July 2010, 04:28 PM
NISAMTI

i simply suggest you to study or complete degree in psychology specialisation..and then,post graduation in the same stream..firstly...specify the education status,then,i will try to suggest the ways to pursuae these psychology courses..good luck
9th August 2010, 03:04 PM

hello please tell me ,,,,I want to become psychologist ,,is it necessary to do graduation in psychology ,bcoz ritenow i am doing BSc in PCM and i want to be a psychologist ,,help me plz
22nd August 2010, 07:52 AM

you can become a member of Association of Professional Psychologists,

by completing the any of the following courses...

three year bachelor degree in psychology

two year master degree in psychology

completing Certification course conducted by qualified Psychologists.
25th August 2010, 01:46 AM
Bishwajit Giri

you want to be a psychologist .
after (10+2) you have to complete at first
BA(psychology) duration 3 years
MA(psychology) duration 2 years
Phd (psychology) duration 2 years
specialization:councelling psychology
social psychology etc
23rd September 2010, 02:32 AM

i am about to complete my 10 2 in 5 months and i am extremely interested in psychology, i would like to know weather it is advisable to take up msc or ma in psychology and what is the difference between the two courses and i would also like to know if graduating is psychology will add up to your carrier or is it a waste of time and should one opt for phs or psy.d in psychology if i want to be an general psychologist....
30th September 2010, 03:28 PM

Hello sir! i want to become a psychologist, but right now i am pursuing my B.A.(hons.) in philosophy? Should i go for M.A. in applied psychology or i have to do my B.A.(hons.)in applied psychology?
6th October 2010, 04:15 PM

I have done B.Tech in Elctronics. Currently i am doing Job. I want to do masters in psychology. Please name some colleges from where i can do long masters degree through distance learning ??
26th October 2010, 06:36 PM

hello... i am a student of class 12th , PCM group and want to know that is it necessary to have biology as a subject in 12th to have a career as Psychologist...as i have not choosen biology as a subject..
28th October 2010, 05:17 AM
nikhilmi

hello... i am a student of class 12th , PCM group and want to know that is it necessary to have biology as a subject in 12th to have a career as Psychologist...as i have not choosen biology as a subject..
First i would like to help you know Psychology better.Actually Psychology is a branch of science dealing with the mental processes and behavior.Psychology is mainly concerned with the working of the mind. Psychologists study the processes, motives, reactions, feelings and nature of the human mind.To become a psychologist there is no need of a medical degree.

So,you don't need to have Biology in your 12th.You can pursue your course in Psychology at the graduate level and even at PG level and Doctorate level.
30th October 2010, 03:17 AM
Sushant Roy

To Become a psycologist you need to get some qulifications which are :
-Bachlore of arts in psychology: It is a 3year duration course
-Afterthat MA or MSc in clinical psychology: 2 year course and BA in psychology is eligility
-MPhil in psychology
This course is offered by many institutions but main of them are:
-BHU , Varanasi
-St. Xavier college, Mumbai
-University of calcutta, Kolkata
14th November 2010, 01:05 AM

I am at my first year of bsc. i have taken CBZ as my subjects, but my interest is in psychology. i have given the 12th std exam in which psychology was the subject instead of maths. so how could i become a psychologist? plz do help me.
15th November 2010, 01:19 AM
shwea

i have done my BAMS and i want to become lecturer in psycology what should i do
10th January 2011, 05:19 PM

I have recently completed my ph.D in clinical psychology.What should I do now to become a licensed counselor in delhi region?
19th January 2011, 11:27 AM

I am doing B.B.A final year, and I want to do M.A. in psychology. what can i do for this and what percentage should be..????
please help me...!!!!
24th January 2011, 07:38 PM

hello friends
may i know the scope in psychology after a correspondent degree from ignou.
is it worth my effort or will i be wasting my time?
25th January 2011, 10:40 PM

is it compulsory to have psychology as a subj in cl 11 and 12 for doing graduation/post graduation in psychology.will PCB/PCM do.
19th February 2011, 03:56 PM

I have done my Btech computers.Iam interested in physchology.Does my btech graduation is a problem for continuing my further step in physchology?Please provide me the correct answer for my question?And suggest me the best path.
13th March 2011, 03:40 PM

i have just passed my B.H.M.S ,at this point i have realised that i m very interest in studying psychology ,can i persue m.a and PhD in psychology or do i have to go through B.A ,graduation again.plz if u have answer let me know
20th March 2011, 05:38 PM

hello ma'am/sir,
I am 23 years old, and pursuing a diploma course in "Holistic health and Fitness from Delhi. This year it is going to complete, and now I want to pursue my graduation in psychology. However, I am quite a bit confused. I want to be a clinical psychologist, and a counselor. I am planing to pursue BA in psychology, and after that will do my masters in that. Is it a correct path to be a clinical psychologist or not. Kindly tell, I will be very thankful. Please tell me some well renowned colleges for psycho hons too.
with regards
kusum jain
24th March 2011, 01:30 PM

hello sir.. i have just given my HSC board exam in science side.. now i want to go for pysychology.. can i ?
16th April 2011, 05:56 PM

i have done my graduation in banking and insurance (bbi)3 yrs degree course equivalent to b.com..i am v.much interestrd inpsychology..want to do my masters in psychology..wil i b ble to do it..i ve been readin ba bnooks of sychology..name universities in mumbai frm wer i can do..or uk if possible..ne entranca exam lik NIMSIMHA will help me shw ma interest in d same.thank u
17th April 2011, 09:48 PM

can i take psychology in college without taking psychology in 11th and 12th ?????????????????
20th April 2011, 09:14 PM

i am a commerce graduate but is interested to study psychology please suggest how to go about it
12th May 2011, 09:53 PM

hai...
RESpected sir/madam,

I have completed my Diploma and graduation in PHARMACY... and iam now working as a clinical pharmacist.. I want to become a clinical psycologist. can i persue masters in psycology through correspondance and become a psycologist. please guide me.
my e mail ID is [email protected].
27th May 2011, 10:08 PM

iam a bipc student got 95% iam much intrestede in psychology stuidies , which colleges offering psychology after 12th
31st May 2011, 08:24 PM

i have just completed my 12th std through science stream. i have got 56% in it. can i make career in psychology...??
please reply as soon as possible.
2nd June 2011, 12:36 PM

I'm Tybcom graduate so plz i hv to do pschology can any1 help...plz
14th June 2011, 03:14 PM

hi.........i m right now doing m.a psychology 2nd year .can u tell me which institute will u offer 2 take admission in ph.d psychology ........i have got 58% in first year
18th June 2011, 02:09 PM

I have completed my bachelors degree in Political Science but would like to do my Masters degree in Psychology through Distance Eduction. But the officials at the Mumbai university said that i would need a Bachelors degree in Psychology and it cannot be done through Distance Education.... Can u guide to another institute that can help me ????
28th June 2011, 05:52 PM

Hi...I am a Chartered Accountant by profession and have double graduation degrees in law and commerce. I am interested in studying psychology at the Master's level. Is a graduation degree in psychology a prerequisite for masters? Also please let me know where i can pursue MA Psychology through a Distance Learning Programme?
1st July 2011, 01:50 AM

sir i completed my b.com n then i did my b.ed, bt now i have to become a psycologist so is it possible for me to be a psycologist? plz answer my question.
8th August 2011, 08:46 PM

I have completed B.E in 2008. I would like to do the M.A in Psychology. Is this possible with IGNOU? or else we need to do B.A in Psychology to go for M.A in Psychology...
12th September 2011, 02:26 AM

I want to get in to teaching profession.. have lost the touch of my basics and can opt for a correspondance course only.. any suggestions..
19th September 2011, 06:52 PM

i want to become psychology lecturer what i want to do to get that job
4th October 2011, 12:12 PM

Smile Re: How to become a psychologist? what are the degrees to be completed?

can i take psychology in college without taking psychology in 11th and 12th ?????????????????
yes,you can and that is what am exactly gonna do
13th October 2011, 12:03 AM

I'am a student from commerce stream, can i become a psycologist
13th October 2011, 02:11 PM
indrajitmishra123

Location: c/o- Laxmidhar mishra, at- jayapurkilla, p.o.- pipli,dist- puri, pin-752104, orissa

First i would like to help you know Psychology better.Actually Psychology is a branch of science dealing with the mental processes and behavior.Psychology is mainly concerned with the working of the mind. Psychologists study the processes, motives, reactions, feelings and nature of the human mind.To become a psychologist there is no need of a medical degree.

So,you don't need to have Biology in your 12th.You can pursue your course in Psychology at the graduate level and even at PG level and Doctorate level.
29th October 2011, 09:06 PM

Can you kindly tell me if i can pursue Post graduation in psychology although i did my graduation in b.pharmacy.
30th October 2011, 01:42 AM
imcool.raone

If you want to make a successfull career in psychology, you will need to cover up the entire degree i.e. Bachelor's programme in Psychology, then post Graduation and then Phd.

Bachelor's degree in psychology
Duration- 3 years
Eligibility- 10+2

Masters Degree in Psychology
Duration- 2 years
Eligibility- bachelor's degree in Psychology

Phd
Duration- 2 years
Masters degree in psychology

You can specialize in any of these area

Clinical Psychologists
Counseling Psychologists
Social Psychologists
Educational Psychologists
Industrial Psychologists
Research psychologists
Developmental psychologists

Here I am providing you with the name of the institutes that offers Bachelor's degree programme (Honors) in psychology.

Pls visit their websites to know about the admission process, fee structure etc.