24th April 2011, 04:07 PM
Ankusweetie

How can I become an Astronaut in NASA? List of the colleges and the procedure to be followed?

ma family isnt much eductd.bt m hvng a big dream 2 go 2 naasa.so cn u tl me tht wat knowldge requird 4 make lyk kalpana chawla? Mean an astronaut.pls tl me d best collegs.and the proper procedure 2 make an astronaut?

5th September 2011, 07:55 AM
sanju38121

Default Re: How can I become an Astronaut in NASA? List of the colleges and the procedure to be followed?

Very good your choice is very good to join the NASA (national aeronautics & space agency) columbia USA. as astronaut. To become an astronaut you must be a Ph.d in astrophysics, or graduate in aeronautical engineering.

For more detail go to
www.nasa.gov/

gud luck
19th October 2011, 11:33 AM

Default Re: How can I become an Astronaut in NASA? List of the colleges and the procedure to be followed?

hi im arthi im doing electrical engineering 3rd year... i want to be an austranaut....what are the steps i want to do to become an austranaut...
20th November 2011, 10:08 AM

Please give me the colleg list for b.sc space sceince
10th December 2011, 10:26 PM

Which test should be give after b tech from computer science to get admission in ISRO or IIST?
19th July 2012, 12:37 PM

hai what course should i have 2 study 2 become a nasa scientist
25th July 2012, 03:15 PM

i did my be in ece. i want to be a austronouts in nasa.what master degree i have to study??
3rd October 2012, 03:48 PM

hello!!.....currently i'm pursuing B.E in Aerospace Engineering (3rd year).....I aspire to be like Kalpana Chawla.......want to fly in a space shuttle and explore the outer space....:-).....it would be really nice if you guide me with what i have to take up after my Aerospace engineering to become an astronaut.......looking forward to get some answers from you.....thank you for your time....Good day

Hannah Jacinth
11th April 2013, 03:15 PM

sir am a elecrical engineering student can i write gate exam related to aerospace branch i mean can elecrical engineer opt for phd in aerospace engineering
1st September 2013, 05:08 PM
pooja..maheshwari

To join the NASA (national aeronautics & space agency) columbia USA. as astronaut. To become an astronaut you must be a Ph.d in astrophysics, or graduate in aeronautical engineering.
or atleast 65% in each semister of engineering.
For more detail go to
www.nasa.gov/
8th September 2013, 10:00 PM
SHNSING946

Thumbs up Re: How can I become an Astronaut in NASA? List of the colleges and the procedure to be followed?

Hello Friends,

1) Begin your preparation as early as possible. Learn the basics in elementary school like mathematics and science. Read about everything you can you get hands on about astronaut space.

2) Learn how to work in a team don't forget world around you as NASA does not exist in vaccum.

3) College Degree is must. It is also asked you do well in school first study hard make good grades on the SAT or ACT. Make good decisions you want to study whether it will be engineering, biological etc.

4) NASA's minimum degree requirement for an astronaut is a bachelor degree from an accredited institution. So work hard in your chosen classes. Your grades should allow you to enroll in a good master of science program.

5) After college you need 3yrs of related increasingly responsible professional experience in your field you should start preparing for this by choosing wisely when it comes to internship and good position in college.

6) Communication play vital role not only verbally. but written as well. In addition, the space industry is now a global enterprise. It is good idea to be bilingual.

7) Once you have got your degree and some work experience it is time to apply for those astronauts. Fill out a standard 171(Government Employment Application) and send it to:-

Astronaut Selection Office
NASA, Johnson Space Centre, Houston, TX-77058

8) The astronaut application reviewed ranked by various criteria it receives about 4015 applications to fill 20 seats every 2yrs.

9) Next screening process 118 from the original 4015 invited to Johnson Space Centre for a week interview, medical examination, and orientation.

10) If you are interested in a pilot/commander position instead of mission specialist you will be also required to go in at least 1000 hrs of flight time in command of jet aircraft. During training all crew members trained on T-38 jet in which controls are identical to the space shuttle and therefore can be used as flight simulators either on ground or in actual flight.

11) What you need:-

* Height 64 and 76 inches

*20/70 corrected to 20/20

*Blood Pressure 140/90

*Bachelor Degree

*3 years experience

Good Luck
30th November 2013, 02:03 PM

Whats the monthly salarys of astronouts