30th August 2010, 05:31 PM
velu crescent

Negative Marking Details in GATE Exam

Now, I am doing my B.E degree under Anna University. I want the ECE department GATE examination model question paper with solutions. I would like know about the negative marks details. How should practice in order to get the good marks? Please guide me. I hope that you will give the above in formations.

with regards

VELU

30th August 2010, 06:18 PM
Raj333

Default Re: Negative Marking Details in GATE Exam

Details about Negative Marking in GATE Exam
for q.1-q.25 and que.56-que.60 1 by 3rd mark will deducted for each wrong answer.for question26-question51 and question 61-question 65 2 by 3 marks will be deducted for each wrong answer.there will be Negative Mark only for wrong answer to the first question of the linked answer question pair i.e for Q.52 and Q.54 2 by 3 mark will be deducted for each wrong answer.there is no negetive marking for Q.53 and Q.55.IF YOU ARE NOT TAKING ATTEMPT THEN NO MARKS WILL BE DEDUCTED..................

BEST OF LUCK
30th August 2010, 06:33 PM
orareenig

Default Hi all, i'm usettenanna and i like Google

Hello. My name usettenanna, i like your forum
google
30th August 2010, 07:12 PM

Originally Posted by velu crescent View Post
Now, I am doing my B.E degree under Anna University. I want the ECE department GATE examination model question paper with solutions. I would like know about the negative marks details. How should practice in order to get the good marks? Please guide me. I hope that you will give the above in formations.

with regards

VELU
You can download the GATE question papers from the following website:
http://www.onestopgate.com/downloads/

All questions have four choices with only one being correct.
Wrong answers carry 25% negative marks.

The detailed examination pattern is available at
http://www.complore.com/gate-exam-pattern
30th August 2010, 08:04 PM

HELLO FRIEND FOLLOWING IS THE marking scheme in gate exam:
What is GATE paper structure this time?
Question paper bearing codes, AR, CE, CH, CS,CY, EC, EE, IN, MA, ME, MN, MT, PH, PI ,PY, TF
Q.1 to Q.20 : Will carry one mark each (sub-total 20 marks) -1/3 mark will be deducted for each wrong answer.
Q.21 to Q.50 : Will carry two marks each (sub-total 60 marks) -2/3 mark will be deducted for each wrong answer.
Q.51 through Q.56 (3 pairs) will be common data questions. Each question will carry two marks - 2/3 mark will be deducted for each wrong answer.
Question pairs (Q.57, Q.58) and (Q.59, Q.60) will be linked answer questions.
The answer to the second question of the last two pairs will depend on the answer to the first question of the pair.
If the first question in the linked pair is wrongly answered or is un-attempted, then the answer to the second question in the pair will not be evaluated. Each question will carry two marks -There will be negative marks only for wrong answer to the first question of the linked answer question pair i.e. for Q.57 and Q.59, 2/3 mark will be deducted for each wrong answer. There is no negative marking for Q.58 and Q.60.
30th August 2010, 08:09 PM
Shagun Makin

with regards

VELU

For good preparation of GATE i will suggest you to go through the last ten years paper of GATE exam.
From this you will get the idea of exam pattern and what type of questions they ask.
So that it will be more easy for you to prepare that.
I will say you that you have to be strong in your basics and you should have thorough knowledge of your electronics stream.
You will get the book of last ten years from your local book shop.

Hope this will help you a lot.
30th August 2010, 08:24 PM
maddusajj

the gate exam consists of two sections
first 25 questions have an negative marking of 1/3
the second section has negative marking of 2/3 of the marks allotted to that questions,
there are also linked answer questions in that there is no negative marking for the second questions whose answer depends on the answer of the first question,
also there is no marks for the linked question if the answer to the first question is wrong.
the model papers are available in the gate book released by gk publishers
30th August 2010, 08:47 PM

dear friends,

yes, there is negative marking in the gate exams,

for the 1 marks question the negative marking is 1/3th of the total marks..

for 2 marks question the negative marks is 2/3th.

for the compreshensive type question, 1 marks for each wrong answer.
30th August 2010, 09:06 PM

I am B.com graduates as well as i have done PGDM in finance so i am eligible for accounts trainee in food corporation of india so I want to required last 3-4 years question papers of food corporation of india for better guidence.

kindly send the question papers in my mail-id-"[email protected]",i would be very thankful for your kindness activity.

Best regard,

Preeti lata
30th August 2010, 09:07 PM
KHAN20

Thumbs up Re: Negative Marking Details in GATE Exam

obviously there is a negative marking in gate exam.according to my knowledge there r some sections in gate.
1.technical part.
2.mathematical part.
3.english&g.k part.
etc.
negative marking depend on the marks of the question. such as for 1 marks questio 1/3 marks will be deducted.for 2 marks question 2/3 marks will be deducted.and so that.
so keep pecence during exam time.
30th August 2010, 10:25 PM
robart

there is negative marking in GATE exam.

for every three wrong answer one marks is deducted from your total score.

so be conscious about negative marking.always try those questions in which you are 100% confident.

never try to solve by guess.it may hamper your result.

you can get previous year paper of GATE exam by log on to www.freshersworld.com.
you can download these papers.

30th August 2010, 11:30 PM
Adarshxxx

GATE is the exam for admission to do m.tech.it is a all India entrance exam.so there is a negative marking for the wrong answers marked.generally one third of the marks is deducted for the wrong answers.and how much you should prepare for the exam totally depends on you and your hard work and dedication.
All The Best!!!!
30th August 2010, 11:30 PM
Bishwajit Giri

the question which carried 1 marks will deduct 1/3.and which carry 2 marks will deduct 2/3.and for linked question there will be negative marks only for wrong answer to the first question of the linked answer question pair,deduct 2/3 for each wrong answer.
31st August 2010, 01:59 AM
sanjusays

There is variable negative marking in GATE....This ranges to -1/3 to -2/3....To get good marks first of all you need to study well as that would give you immense confidence going into the exam hall...second thing is in the study period you should give practice test regularly so that u can keep a track of your performance on a regular basis...and attempt those questions which you feel are right rather than guessing....if u can eliminate all but 2 options you can still make a wise guess....
31st August 2010, 10:36 AM
kool

As you are doing BE from ECE department & you want to appear in GATE next year.
I would like to tell you that the negative marking in GATE.
the negative marking strategy is one third.

i.e. if you attempt a question of marks 3 & you will give wrong answer then 1 marks will be deducted from your obtaining marks.

so kindly take well preparation for GATE & try to attempt those questions for which you will sure & try to avoid unknown questions because they can reduce your marks.

31st August 2010, 10:44 AM
kool

Thumbs up Re: Negative Marking Details in GATE Exam

As you are doing BE from ECE department & you want to appear in GATE next year.
I would like to tell you that the negative marking in GATE.
the negative marking strategy is one third.

i.e. if you attempt a question of marks 3 & you will give wrong answer then 1 marks will be deducted from your obtaining marks.

so kindly take well preparation for GATE & try to attempt those questions for which you will sure & try to avoid unknown questions because they can reduce your marks.

31st August 2010, 12:57 PM

In Graduate Aptitude Test there is negative marking for the wrong answer.1/3 marks will be deducted for questions 1to 25 and 56 to 60.2/3 marks are deducted for questions 26 to 55,48 to 51,52 and 54 and 61 to 65.For questions 53 and 55 there is no negative marking.
31st August 2010, 03:17 PM
asahu47

hi.
GATE exam is 3 hrs duration,60 questions,25% negative marking.

http://www.yuvajobs.com/education/ga..._structure.asp\

better attend the questions which u r sure off.....try to avoid negative marks.
use the link above to get the pattern question papers.....
solve previos year questin papers.
be clear in ur fundamentals.
as rhe questions are directly frm the fundamentals.

GOOD luck.
31st August 2010, 03:45 PM
Rickers

The pattern of negative marking is given here

for the first twenty questions 1 mark
from twenty one to fifty five 2 marks
for the rest which r 4 mark questions linked depends according to that
31st August 2010, 04:36 PM
subhash5687

with regards

VELU
you can search from inretnel where every thing is available you just log on tothe various site if you are not having any site then log onto the google where you will get every thing
www.google.co.in
31st August 2010, 08:04 PM
javeed

Let peace be upon you

In GATE examination, negative markings are given based on the section or part. for example, if you answer a part A question wrongly you might be deducted 1/3 mark or if you answer part B question wrongly you might be deducted about 2/3 mark.. it goes likely,,, and don worry about negative markings and give a go...

Let peace be upon you
31st August 2010, 09:01 PM
subhash5687

you can search about it on the internet which contains informatiomabout every thing dear you need to log on to the website
www.google.com
here you will get every thing about your query
1st September 2010, 12:54 AM

hello friend

you can get previous year Gate 2010 Sample papers on EC with Solutions in the given below sites

1.www.gateforum.com.

2.www.onestopgate.com.

all the best...............
28th November 2010, 12:20 AM
Rudraprasad

with regards

VELU
Negative marking as follows:

For Q.1 – Q.25 and Q.56 – Q.60, 1/3 mark will be deducted for each wrong
answer. For Q.26 – Q.51 and Q.61 – Q.65, 2/3 mark will be deducted for each wrong answer. The question pairs (Q.52, Q.53), and (Q.54, Q.55) are questions with linked answers. There will be negative
marks only for wrong answer to the first question of the linked answer question pair i.e. for Q.52 and Q.54, 2/3 mark will be deducted for each wrong answer. There is no negative marking for Q.53 and Q.55.

Questions on Engineering Mathematics will carry about 15% of the total marks (excluding General Aptitude section) in all the papers bearing the codes AG, BT, CE, CH, CS, EC, EE, IN, ME, MN, MT and PI.

Just solve the MCQ from various sources,and read text as detail as possible.

20th February 2011, 12:19 AM
Amed2010

1.Question 1 to 20 ,1/3marks will be deducted.
2.Question 21 to 58, 2/3 marks will be deducted.
3.for q.59, 2/3 mark will be deducted. there is no negative mark for q.60.
15th March 2011, 07:45 AM

2/3 means .668 marks will be detucted in every 2 marks question
15th April 2011, 11:55 PM
zeeshan87

with regards

VELU
hii, in gate for the 1 mark question there willbe 0.33 marks deducted and for the 2 marks 0.66 marks will be deducted.
3rd June 2011, 05:31 PM

Hai, brother . Which subjects give to more imp in gate exam? Especially in core subjects. (ece)
29th July 2011, 12:06 AM
kartikayan

You can download the GATE question papers from the following website:
http://www.onestopgate.com/downloads/

All questions have four choices with only one being correct.
Wrong answers carry 25% negative marks.

The detailed examination pattern is available at
http://www.complore.com/gate-exam-pattern
19th October 2011, 11:13 PM

about net exam, "negative marking @25% for each wrong answer"
Means what ??
Give detail idea with example
Rahul salunke
Goa!!!
26th February 2014, 11:51 AM

Suppose IF we got negative marks in gate then ......we r eligible to do mtech through CET or not
22nd September 2015, 09:01 PM

Sir I m BE student. Last year I had got marks in negative . Can I give the gate exam for this year .....