16th November 2010, 07:21 PM
jeniferleela

Which subjects should an Electrical Engineer choose for IAS exam? Will electrical engineering and zoology be helpful for me as mains paper?

I am a electrical engineering student doing second year.I decided to write IAS exams.i am confused with the subjects to choose .i thought to take electrical engineering ,zoology as the main papers,Is it helpful for me?

10th May 2011, 07:26 PM
surendergora
Senior Member++++

Default Re: Which subjects should an Electrical Engineer choose for IAS exam? Will electrical engineering and zoology be helpful for me as mains paper?

You are free to choose any two optionals , but these two should not be of engineering background like Maths and physics, chemistry etc.

If you are thinking of taking electrical as one of optionals, make sure that you must be a very good in it as generally it is a low scoring subjects due to huge syllabus.

UPSC optionals:
# Mathematics
# Agriculture
# Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
# Botany
# Chemistry
# Civil Engineering
# Commerce
# Economics
# Electrical Engineering
# Geography
# Geology
# Indian History
# Law
# Mathematics
# Management
# Mechanical Engineering
# Medical Science
# Philosophy
# Physics
# Political Science
# Psychology
# Public Administration
# Sociology
# Statistics
# Zoology
# Anthropology
10th May 2011, 09:08 PM
aditya436
Senior Member++++

Arrow Re: Which subjects should an Electrical Engineer choose for IAS exam? Will electrical engineering and zoology be helpful for me as mains paper?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeniferleela View Post
I am a electrical engineering student doing second year.I decided to write IAS exams.i am confused with the subjects to choose .i thought to take electrical engineering ,zoology as the main papers,Is it helpful for me?
First Know one thing that the Civils pattern has been changed now !!! this takes effect from this year only

So there is no tension for you now because In the three stage pattern

CSAT