12th April 2016, 06:24 PM
Unregistered

How can I become a Forest Officer being an M.Com student?

Dear Friends,
I am studying M.Com. I want to become a Forest Officer. Please tell me how can I get job in Forest Department? Waiting for your response.

14th April 2016, 03:07 PM
jagrity7
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How can I become a Forest Officer being an M.Com student?

Anyone wishing to become a Forest Officer should appear for UPSC IFS exam.

UPSC conduct IFS (Indian Forestry Services) exam for recruitment in forests of India.

The eligibility criteria to join IFS are as under :-

-The candidate must be an Indian.

-The candidate must posses a graduation degree from a recognized university with at least one of the subjects namely, Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor’s degree in Agriculture or Forestry or Engineering or equivalent.

-Candidates in the final year of their degree course can also appear in the preliminary exam.

-The candidate age limit should be in between 21 years to 30 years. There is age relaxation for OBC candidate by 3 years, SC/ST candidates by 5 years and upto a maximum of ten years for PWD candidates.

-IFS Exam Pattern

Paper I - General English-300 Marks

Paper II - General Knowledge-300 Marks

Paper III, IV, V & VI - Any two subjects to be selected from the list of optional subjects. Each subject will have two papers of 200 Marks for each paper.

Total marks for written examination is 1400 Marks.

Interview for Personality Test -300 Marks
14th April 2016, 08:30 PM
Rab Rakha
Senior Member+++

No, you are not eligible to join Indian Forest Service after qualifying in examination conducted by UPSC.

The eligibility to appear for examination is candidate must have passed bachelor's degree from recognised university in Botany, Chemistry, Zoology, Mathematics and Animal Husbandary or Agriculture.