24th May 2015, 01:33 AM
Unregistered

Am I eligible to do Ph.D in Maths after completion of B.Com Hons. course?

Dear Sir/Mam,

I'm in my final year of B.Com hons. and i want to pursue with a maths phd after this. Please guide me with the best possible route for this. Since i don't have a b.maths or msc degree, am i eligible for a maths phd ?

I'll be highly thankful if anyone can solve my query.

24th May 2015, 07:43 PM
BISWARUPYOGI
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Am I eligible to do Ph.D in Maths after completion of B.Com Hons. course?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Dear Sir/Mam,

I'm in my final year of B.Com hons. and i want to pursue with a maths phd after this. Please guide me with the best possible route for this. Since i don't have a b.maths or msc degree, am i eligible for a maths phd ?

I'll be highly thankful if anyone can solve my query.
No, B.Com degree holder candidates are not eligible for Ph.D in Mathematics.

Those candidates who have completed masters degree from a recognized university are eligible for Ph.D entrance exam. General and OBC candidates should hold 55% and above marks in masters degree. For SC/ST candidate its 50% and above in masters degree.

Your age should be below 28 years for JRF post.
24th May 2015, 09:32 PM
ajayrocks007
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Am I eligible to do Ph.D in Maths after completion of B.Com Hons. course?

You have to complete post graduation in maths or its related subject with at least 55% marks to become eligible for Ph.D admission in India. Admission will be only possible if you study maths in your post graduation. As you have a B.Com degree which means you haven't studied maths and this will be against the eligibility criteria for admission.
26th May 2015, 02:50 PM
kunalroy89

First of all,you are NOT a post graduate.So you are ineligible for Ph.D as of now. The process is Graduation or Bachelors>>Post Graduation or Masters>>Ph.D.