21st September 2018, 05:13 PM
Unregistered

Commerce or Science, which is to study in 11th standard to become an IAS Officer?

Hello, I want to become an IAS Officer. I am studying in 9th standard of CBSE Board. My sister is taking Commerce in 11th. But I have heard that I have to take Science for this. I don’t understand why? So, I want to know which I study Commerce or Science?

22nd September 2018, 09:28 PM
ranu shahi

Default Re: Commerce or Science, which is to study in 11th standard to become an IAS Officer?

It is not compulsory to pursue intermediate from Science stream to appear in UPSC entrance examination.
You can pursue intermediate from any of the stream. It should be either Science or Commerce.

Eligibility criteria for UPSC entrance tests are mentioned below:-
Aspirants must holds a graduation degree from a recognized university in any discipline.
Aspirants must have scored a minimum of 50% aggregate in graduation.
Aspirants age should be in between 21 years to 30 years.
For OBC it is 21 years to 32 years.
For SC/ST it is 21 years to 35 years.
22nd September 2018, 10:21 PM
taputanya
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Commerce or Science, which is to study in 11th standard to become an IAS Officer?

In order to become an IAS officer, a candidate can choose the stream as per his or her choice in 11th and 12th standard because in order to appear in UPSC examination no particular stream is required.
Only thing that is required the candidate must have completed graduation in any discipline from a recognised University.
22nd September 2018, 11:56 PM
queen199
Senior Member+++++

I.A.S is Indian Administrative Service. To be an I.A.S officer you have to appear and qualify in Civil Service Examination.

Civil Service Examination is conducted by UPSC. The examination is conducted in three stages.

There is no limitation on discipline of bachelor degree to appear in the examination.