8th March 2018, 11:12 AM
Unregistered

Science or Arts, which is to study in 11th standard to become an IAS Officer?

Hello, I want to become an IAS Officer. I am studying in 9th standard of CBSE Board. My sister is taking Arts in 11th and she also want to become an IAS Officer. But I have heard that I have to take Science for this. I don’t understand why? So, I want to know which I study Arts or Science?

11th April 2018, 06:51 PM
Career Expert
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Science or Arts, which is to study in 11th standard to become an IAS Officer?

No, there is no need to take any specific stream for pursuing your higher studies. You can pursue your higher studies in any stream of your interest to become an IAS officer. You have to appear in UPSC IAS examination and clear all the rounds of the recruitment process to get selected as an IAS officer.
11th April 2018, 11:54 PM
Ishaquekhan
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Science or Arts, which is to study in 11th standard to become an IAS Officer?

It all depends upon candidate's own choice as there is no fixed stream required to become as IAS Officer. So, you can opt any of the stream in between Arts and Science in class 11th.
Candidates those who have completed their Graduation in any discipline from a recognized University can appear in the IAS examination conducted by UPSC.
13th April 2018, 12:54 AM
ranjan Ayush
Senior Member+++++

To become an I.A.S Officer one have to qualify for Civil Service Examination. The examination is conducted by UPSC.

The eligibility to appear for examination is that candidate must have passed bachelor degree in any discipline from a recognised university.

The age limit to appear for examination is 21-32 years.

So, you can pursue any stream in bachelor degree to appear for examination. Candidates have to qualify in Preliminary, Mains and Interview for final selection. For more information regarding the examination visit at www.upsc.gov.in.
13th April 2018, 04:14 PM
ranu shahi