9th January 2021, 05:06 PM
Unregistered

Commerce or Science, which is to study in HS to become an IAS Officer?

Hello Sir/Madam, I want to become an IAS Officer. I am studying in 9th standard of Andhra Pradesh Board. My brother is taking Commerce in 11th standard. But I have heard that I have to take Science for this. I don’t understand why? So, I want to know which I study Commerce or Science?

11th January 2021, 10:45 AM
honeyroy
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Commerce or Science, which is to study in HS to become an IAS Officer?

To become IAS Officer you can complete HS with any stream .

Candidate must be graduate from recognized university to be eligible to become IAS.

12th class marks or stream won't affect anything.

Only your performance in UPSC Main exam should be good to secure position.

Final selection of candidate will be done through interview.
11th January 2021, 03:25 PM
ranjan Ayush
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Commerce or Science, which is to study in HS to become an IAS Officer?

To become an I.A.S Officer, you have to appear and qualify in Civil Service examination.

The examination is conducted by UPSC. The eligibility to appear in the examination is that candidate must have passed bachelor degree from a recognised university. The age limit is 21-32 years with relaxation in upper age limit for reserved category.

So, you can pursue any stream in std 12th or bachelor degree to become eligible to appear in the examination.

Note :- Candidates are eligible to select the optional paper for Mains examination other than one in which they have passed bachelor degree.

For more information about the examination visit at www.upsc.gov.in.
11th January 2021, 04:14 PM
Doctor Tom
Senior Member+++++

°°° IAS stands for Indian Administrative Services. Civil services examination is conducted by UPSC every year for selection of candidates to different services like an IAS, IRS, IPS etc.