Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur

The IITK or Indian Institute of Technology is a part of industrial Kanpur and was established in the year 1959. IITK is a part of IITs in India and forms one of the most advance institutes of technology in India. IITK has a campus spread over an area of 4.3 square kilometers and has the largest campus among all the IITs in India after IIT Kharagpur. The campus has facilities for all the students, staff, and faculty. There is a Hospital, sports field, swimming pool, residences for all including the hostel facilities. The institute actually got shifted to this campus in the year 1963 i.e. 4 years after its establishment in Harcourt Butler Technology Institute.

The IIT Kanpur offers both Undergraduate and Post-Graduate programmes for the students with a primary focus to engineering and research work. The Under Graduate programmes have simple B. Tech. or the bachelor of technology and B. Tech, M. Tech Dual Degree program which are for 4 and 5 years respectively. The institute also offers an Integrated Course for Master of Science for five years. The Post-Graduate courses include M. Tech and PhD degrees.

The IITK has various departments which are CSE or Computer science and Engineering Department, Chemical Engineering Department, Aerospace Engineering Department, Civil Engineering Department.

The admission to IITK is done on the basis of JEE or the IITJEE which is a joint entrance examination conducted every year by IITs for admissions. The students can give this exam and can qualify to get admission in any of the IIT. The student can appear in the exam immediately after completion of 10+2 studies.

The various facilities in the campus of IITK include a Central Library which offers more than 3 lakh volumes of various books. It is now known as P K Kelkar Library. A computer centre has about a hundred and fifty Linux terminals and more than a hundred Windows terminals which are well supported by PARAM 10000 supercomputer. There is availability of Internet facility everywhere and the students have access to Ethernet and LAN facility even in every residential room.

5 Responses to “Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur”

1. 5
    Ganesh Nangare:

m Ganesh Nangare from mumbai… I want to know about phd statistics course from IIT Kanpur…. M pursuing my msc statistics from vinayaka mission university on distance mode,,, m in second year ,,, I got 69 % in first year…now I want to know that can I apply for phd statistics if m doing msc statistics on distance mode ? I did my Bsc statistics ( april 2008 )from mumbai university on full time basis…pls guide

waiting for ur kind revert

2. 4
    velu:

Hello sir/madam,

Now I am doing my B.E(E.C.E) final year and eager to write the GATE examination. How and where can I get the material or notes of related my subjects for preparing the exam?

3. 3
    Tejus:

Can we go for IIT through GATE exams..

4. 2
    ashu:

hello sir me ashutosh.i m doing m.sc. with electronics under the campus kanpur university campus.i wnt to get addimision in m.tech. .how many percentages are requre to take addimision in gate exam.

5. 1
    kishore kumar:

how to get a seat in this(IITK) college.
    please give me full details