Lady Irwin College, New Delhi

Lady Irwin College is a constituent unit of Delhi University and it is a women’s College offering courses with affiliation from the Delhi University. The college aims at holistic development of women students and their capability building through cautiously designed extramural activities and academic programmes. The college celebrated its 75th anniversary in the year 2007 and now the college is nearly its 80th birthday.

Courses offered:

The list of courses offered by the Lady Irwin College with affiliation from the Delhi University is given below:

Bachelor of Science in Home Science (pass)

Bachelor of Science in Home Science (honors) with specialization in

o Resource Management & Design Application

o Development Communication & Extension

o Fabric and apparel science

o Human development and childhood studies

o Food & Nutrition

Bachelor of Education in Home Science

Bachelor of Education in Special Education

Master of Science in Home Science (with specialization in)

o Resource Management & Design Application

o Development Communication & Extension

o Fabric and apparel science

o Human development and childhood studies

o Food & Nutrition

Ph. D in all five specializations of home science

Post Graduate Diploma in Dietetics & Public Health Nutrition

Short-Term Courses:

The institute also offers short-term courses in the following subjects:

Computer Aided Designing

SPSS 14.0

Basics of Computer

Retail Management

Eligibility requirement:

Eligibility requirements to be met by the candidates for seeking admission to different courses offered by the university are given below:

B. Sc Home Science:

For seeking admission to the B. Sc Home Science course (hons. & pass) offered by the Lady Irwin College, candidates must have obtained not less than 50% of aggregate marks in any of the following subjects at the +2 level (at least one subject must be from Group A)

Group A:

Biology/biotechnology

Chemistry

Physics

Group B:

Mathematics

Home Science

Economics

Computer Science

Psychology

M. Sc Home Science:

For getting into the M. Sc Home Science courses offered by the institution in different specializations, candidates must have completed their B. Sc (hons.) in home Science with appropriate specialization with not less than 55% of aggregate marks. Even candidates with B. Sc (pass) in home science with not less than 55% of marks with subjects like community nutrition & Dietetics, normal nutrition and food science are eligible to apply. Even candidates with B. Sc (Pass) in home science with subject like food science, nutrition and microbiology can apply. For detailed eligibility requirements, candidates can visit the webpage of the college at http://www.ladyirwin.edu.in/eligiblity.htm

PG Diploma in Dietetics & Public Health Nutrition:

For getting into this course, candidates must have completed their B. Sc Home Science (hons./pass) or B. Sc Food Technology (hons.) with not less than 50% of marks.

Contact Information:

Lady Irwin College,

Sikandra Road,

New Delhi – 110 001

Phone: +91-11-23711222

15 Responses to “Lady Irwin College, New Delhi”

1. 15
    manisha goswami:

i am manisha goswami from uttar pradesh,i have to finished my b.sc.h.sc. by 73% from narendra dev univ.of agriculture and technology,pls tel me what i have do for admision in m.sc h.sc.(communication dev.and extension edu.) from lady erwin college delhi..what i have to do for any entrance exam..how can apply for addmision,kindly give me more information hardly..

2. 14
    Pooja:

I want to take admission in dietician diploma course as i am doing my graduation….what’s the procedure for taking admission???

3. 13
    mansi bansal:

i want to know that what type of study i will follow for msc fabric and appalel science ?

4. 12
    kanchan joshi:

i want to know the process for taking admission in m.sc food and nutrition . presently i am persuing b.sc home science. and please tell me when the entrance test will be held??.

5. 11
    malvika:

i wanted to know that from where can i get previous years m.sc enterance examination question papers?

6. 10
    chhavi chouhan:

i want to know the process for taking admission in m.sc food and nutrition . i m qualified in b.sc home science.and please tell me when the entrance test will be held

7. 9
    shazia haque:

I want to know the process of for taking admission in p.hd food and nutrition. please tell me when the entrance test will be held and which type of question will be asked .plese tell me the all information as as possible

8. 8
    shilpi singh:

i want to know the process for taking admission for Ph.d in food& nutrition.pls provide all the relevant information as soon as possible.I m NET JRF cleared.

9. 7
    indu:

Hello mam. I have qualified m.sc in human development and have qualified ugc net also. Currently i am teaching in kurukshetra unibersity on contractual basis. I want to get enrol into phd and i want ti know that when will the phd admission start. Pls inform as soon ad possible. My email id is [email protected]. With regards. Indu

10. 6
    SHAOLI DE:

HOW CAN I ION FORM ADMISSION FORM
    IN MSC FOOD & NUTRITION 2012?

11. 5
    VISHAKHA MALHAN:

I HAVE GIVEN CBSE 12 BOARDS EXAMINATIONS BUT I AM FROM ARTS SECTION I WANNA ASK IS MEDICAL NECESSARY IN B.SC HOME.Sc [hons].IS THERE ANY ENTRANCE EXAMS FOR IT.

12. 4
    L.Manileima:

I am completing my masters degree in Foods & Nutrition can i know the selection procedure for admission in P.hD and when will be forms available for it?

13. 3
    Annapurna singha:

I have finished my MSc in life science in 2o11 by 71%,what i have to do to get admission in bed this year?plz inform me when the forms for bed admission will be out and how much % is required?

14. 2
    Neha:

I have done M.Sc. in clthing and Textiles from Govt. Home Science College ,Chandigarh..And What i have to do for admission in Ph.D. From Lady Irwin college.Is there any seat for outsider candidate? i heve to give any entrance exam for Ph.d. admission?

15. 1
    Monika prajapati:

I am from Bhopal (M.P.).
    what i have to do for admissions in M.sc(food and nutrition) from lady Irwin college.Is there any reserve seats of m.p. students? i have to give any entrance exam for this?.