List of Courses in A.P. University of Law, Visakhapatnam


With the increasing importance for quality legal education, the number of law schools in India is also increasing. To meet the needs of students of the state of Andhra Pradesh, the state government decided to establish a new law university according to the decision of the Council of Ministers meeting held on 30th of June 2008. As a result of this, The Andhra Pradesh University of Law Ordinance was promulgated on the 8th of July 2008.

Subsequently, the Andhra Pradesh University of Law Bill was approved by the cabinet on the 4th of August 2008 and the bill was passed on the 28th of August 2008 by the State Legislature and it was converted as an Act after approval from the Governor on the 23th of September 2008. Thus, The Andhra Pradesh University of Law came into existence with its main campus at the city of Vishakhapatnam and two branches each at Nizamabad and Kadapa.

Objectives of Andhra Pradesh Law University:

Andhra Pradesh University of Law was established with the following objectives:

The main objective of the university is to build on the traditional ethos of the state of Andhra Pradesh and to create a temple of learning. The university aims at imparting quality legal education and organizing advanced research and studies in different branches of law. The other objects of the institutions are:

To offer quality multi-disciplinary education in legal studies by keeping in view the demands of the domestic society as well as global economy

To impart and evolve comprehensive legal education at different levels for achieving excellence

For promoting ethical, legal and cultural values with a view to foster and promote the rule of law and objective enshrined in the Indian constitution

For promotion of legal awareness for achievement of economic and social justice for all

For promotion of inter disciplinary study of law pertaining to technology, management international development and co-operation

List of Courses offered by A.P. University of Law:

The list of courses offered by the Andhra Pradesh University of Law is given below:

Five Year Bachelor of Arts- Bachelor of Law (honors)

Doctor of Philosophy in Law

Post Doctoral Programme in Law

In addition to the aforesaid courses, the university is also planning to introduce diploma courses in the faculty of law. Admission of students to the integrated course offered by the university is done based on the merit secured by the student in the CLAT examination.



Do you have any question? Please ask:

Questions will be answered on our Forum section