How to Prepare For the NDA?

The NDA Entrance Exam is carried out by the National Defence Academy for the admission of students into the 3 wings of the defence services. This exam encompasses a written exam, GD, PI and a medical test. The exam is held twice annually. The eligibility needed to appear for this exam is a pass in the higher secondary. Aspirants must be unmarried and medically fit when they apply.

Structure of the NDA Entrance Exam

The exam has 2 parts:

• Paper I carries - 300 marks
  • Paper II carries - 600 marks.

The first paper has a time period of 2 ½ hours and paper 2 has 2 ½ hours. The total marks carried combined is 900 marks. The total score of the SSB interview is 900 marks.

Syllabus of the NDA Entrance Exam

Paper I - Mathematics

• Algebra
  • Analytical Geometry of 2 and 3 Dimensions
  • Differential Calculus
  • Integral Calculus and Differential Equations
  • Matrices and Determinants
  • Probability
  • Statistics
  • Trigonometry
  • Vector Algebra

Paper II - English and General Ability – 2 sections

English - 200 marks

• Comprehension
  • Grammar and Its Usages
  • Vocabulary

General Ability - 400 marks

• Chemistry
  • Current Events
  • General Science
  • Geography
  • Physics
  • Social Studies

Reference Books for the NDA Entrance Exam

• NDA NA Exam Guide National Defence Academy
  • NDA/ NA Topic wise Solved Papers
  • Previous Years Papers of NDA
  • The Pearson Guide to the NDA Examination

Study Plan for the NDA Entrance Exam

Students must have covered all the necessary basics. They must make sure that they have not left anything unstudied. They must study everything from right the beginning. They can also seek help from their teachers or friends. Reading newspapers, journals and other news magazines will help them a lot. They can also refer to their class 12 science notes. Besides this, numerous guide books by reputed authors will be available for the use of students. The internet is another good option. They can keep themselves updated about the news and also know more about the syllabus and pattern of the exam they are about to appear. Sample question papers can also be got from the internet. It is recommended for the students to keep on practising on this. It will give them more confidence. One other thing students must keep in mind is to never overwork. They need a calm mind to study and prepare. Creating a fear about the exam will lead to boredom and misunderstanding of the concepts. They must remain confident and be prepared to answer any questions that might come their way.

110 Responses to “How to Prepare For the NDA?”

1. 110
    Raja swain:

I am reading in class 11 cbse board i am securing 80%of mark can i join nda after 12 th please suggest me some good points which will help me to crack nda. and also can i give nda exam reading in 11th class..

2. 109
    gaurav siwach:

what are the frequent question that are asked in interview of nda

3. 108
    ashutosh tripathi:

Sir my son is in ninth standard.is it possible to guide him for NDA from now onwards.And if yes how??/

4. 107
    vitthal gawali:

sir I am from Hingoli . plz give me a suggestion how to pass in nda exam?

5. 106
    MD Moquim uddin:

sir I am from Bihar .plz give me sugation in NDA piolot

6. 105
    gunjan kumar pandey:

Sir,I’m in science stream of ICSE school and willing to approach for NDA after my 12th….so,how can I prepare for NDA without changing my syllabus pattern?
    For this problem I have decided to have a coaching class…
    So,can an engineering coaching class provide preparations for NDA….If no,then please suggest a coaching centre for NDA…
    It will be better if the centre will be in jamshedpur,jharkhand..
    Thank u…hope u will reply soon…

7. 104
    sunil:

sir i am in class 11th now with arts stream and i wanted to ask that what are the preparations that has to be done by me to crack nda exam can u tell me pls ……..

8. 103
    Anurag Sharma:

Sir, I am in 11th class having commerce with IP can i give the NDA exam . If i can give than what should i start doing now onwards for my practice ……….????

9. 102
    Ankit Mehra:

Does preperation for NDA require the concept of basics of our class 10th?what are the sports involved..?

10. 101
    sahil sharma:

sir please give me previous years question paper of ganeral ability

11. 100
    nayanaavhad:

my son is in 8th standard i want him to study in NDA . I KNOW THE EXAME IS AFTER 12TH BUT FROM NOW ON WARDS I WANT HIM TO PREPARE FOR THIS EXAME SO PLEASE GUIDE ME FOR THIS

12. 99
    jaideep:

how i select in nda this is my last chance

13. 98
    roshan:

i am in class 10+2 in this year.i have a ncc so how to basic tips to prepair the nda exam ?

14. 97
    sagar:

it is compulsory that total score of 900 marks is only eligible to give SSB interview

15. 96
    paryant:

sir i wanted to ask if any professional training like iit coaching is required to clear d entrance xam or studying 11 and 12 properly i.e. Cbse level is enough?? and i also wanted to ask if the exam can be given after engineering?? Will it be worth??

16. 95
    Monu yadav:

If nda paper-1 and 2 carry negative marks

17. 94
    Krishna Kant Singh:

How to start preparation of nda from class 9?

18. 93
    Raghav singhaniya:

i have no any idea to chose the place for nda preperation. I am living in patna but my friends are going to delhi. I am cofused to take decision to go delhi or patna ,sir i humbly request to you please give me some idea to where i should go.. Thank you sir.

19. 92
    Rahul:

In which year nda first exam was held…

20. 91
    chandan kumar:

how to prepare NDA

21. 90
    Arvind Chaudhary:

how to prepare for SSB interview?

22. 89
    Ankit kumar:

PLEASE help me in qualifing NDA xam as i m giving final xam of class 11 th so plz help me as i havn’t studied class 12 th……… i m in complete sad and depressed…. so plz help me.

23. 88
    yash mundra:

i would like to know about the form’s that i need to fill up.
    please any one can help me with this.
    i am very intrested for the admission, i am in present 12 and took up commerce.

24. 87
    Madan:

How many percentage reqiured in HSC ? To get addmission on NDA

25. 86
    Sandeep Hembram:

Sandeep hembram-
    Sir i want to give NDA exam please give me some tips as i m going to give final exam of class 11.

26. 85
    Rajan kumar gautam:

please give me details about nda exam.

27. 84
    shubham:

sir, how i prepare self without coaching as i am in class 11

28. 83
    vedavyas:

sir, give me tips for preparation of nda exam

29. 82
    chintoo:

my bdate is 16/6/1993
    can i apply for nda Exam??

30. 81
    abhishek:

sir i am a studentof biology but i want give a exa of nda to aap merco bataye ki m ye exa kashe du pluse tell me

31. 80
    avinash:

sir,i m in11th class.may i apply for nda before passing 12th

32. 79
    Akshay PAkhale:

Suggest me book for Genral Ability NDA Exam?

33. 78
    salman pinjari:

how many section in nda?

34. 77
    Ravi:

not appear nda after 10 pass

how to peppered nda

35. 76
    rohan:

how to prepare for nda math and from where

36. 75
    Salam Roshan singh:

What is the minimum percentage to appear for nda exm?

37. 74
    Nikhil:

iS maths paper is compulsory for NDA Entrance Exam for army ??
    If the student don’t want to give maths paper then what can he do???

38. 73
    sandesh gidde:

friend I m in 11th std now how to join or prpare NDA entrance exam …..?my 12th per will be at least 70%…..plz help me…

39. 72
    ashish:

”i want to know some good tips about ssb preperation ”

40. 71
    yugansh katoch:

sir i complet my 10+2 in commerce stream is this possible for commerce student to give NDA test

41. 70
    vaibhav:

if I am in class10 now so can i join nda

42. 69
    Arpit sain:

I m in class 10. I want to join nda to become pilot in air force. I m 14.5 years old. I also have a gold medal in maths olympiad. So please give me advice.

43. 68
    ravi:

my DOB is 12-10-1994.
    so can i apply for nda exam in 2013 now i am studying in 12th class.

44. 67
    lal singh shekhawat:

i become 18 on april 2012 ,,,can i fill the aplication form of nda..??

45. 66
    nakul:

my date of birth is 11 march 1993 i belong to sc ,may i appear for NDA

46. 65
    Gopal singh rawat:

I have passed my 12 class with 88.60 marks . i want to join nda, give me advice

47. 64
    Kamal sharma:

I have entered 11th std. Now can you please tell me what should i do to join National Defence Academy ? And what should i do for its preparation ?

48. 63
    shubham dalal:

i am in class 9. i want to be a pilot in air force

49. 62
    Ajinkya Kayarkar:

i am in class 10. i wanted to join nda and to become a poilet.

50. 61
    ankit:

i am in class 11th.How i start preparing for the nda exam from now.i am from patna,bihar,give me some good tution centre name for preparing.
    thamk you!!!!

51. 60
    LFTENET Ashu:

vande matarm

52. 59
    K.Kavi raghul:

Now i am studing in class X and iam very intrested to join NDA to become a piolet so what kind of
    preparation should i have to do to score good marks in entrance exams,from now to achieve my target?

53. 58
    kumar aditya:

i am in class 11th.How i start preparing for the nda exam from now.i am from patna,bihar,give me some good tution centre name for preparing.
    thamk you!!!!

54. 57
    biswajit:

I am admitated for air force,plz tell me about group discution,out door palnning,…etc

55. 56
    vikas kumar:

hello respected sis
    kya main december k exam de sakta hun

56. 55
    sauravrawat:

PLZ TELL ME ANY TYPE INFO ABOUT NDA SYLLABUS AND I DONT NO………. ONLY FOR ARMY

57. 54
    shubham raturi:

can we give the entrance exam when we are in our 12th class?
    what is the date of next entrance exam?

58. 53
    INDRAJIT PAL:

will i am able to appear for nda air force if i am securing 65-70 percent in class 12?

59. 52
    Rajat Rana:

what percentage should i got in class xii to qualify in NDA

60. 51
    Mandavi Dubey:

Iam about to pass class 11th examination .Am I eligible to appear in the upcoming NDA examination ?

61. 50
    Basil:

When will this exam start??Which place is suitable for writing the exams in Kerala??

62. 49
    Piyush raja:

Is there any way to complete nda without joining institute?give me some idea or trick for study

63. 48
    krishna bhati:

If I will get more than 70% marks in 10+2 exame than any relecation in ent.exam

64. 47
    pushkar sharma:

what is the minimum score for nda entrance test

65. 46
    dev:

what is the minimum marks to be scored to get selected for NDA

66. 45
    shshank yadav:

nda me pass hone ke liye kitne number chahiye

67. 44
    ALBIN JOSE:

Did i get previous NDA question papers in my Email id..?

68. 43
    ABHISHEK AR JUN RAKSHE:

How to apply for the online exam of nda? As i want to apply for the INDIAN ARMY.

69. 42
    solomon:

please am going for psychology at this year NDA entrance exam.,please i want to know if am writing mathematics that day
    thank you sir

70. 41
    shubham yadav:

how many % i get in12 for nda

71. 40
    deepak chauhan:

how many marks i need to pass nda test?

72. 39
    Dinesh Tripathi:

FOR CLASS 9 I WANT TO PREPARE MY SON FOR NDA.PL. SUGGEST COACHING MATERIAL

73. 38
    vikrant:

please tell me the websites for help me a lot for the preparation of the NDA written exam

74. 37
    pankaj:

can IIT exams be clear after 12th class without carfully pass

75. 36
    Pratik:

For example. if a candidate attains the age of 19 in the month of march then can he appear For NDA in the month of April?

76. 35
    manabendra:

1.After selection in entrance what type of cours iwillgive?
    2.if ihave get any stipens?

77. 34
    Mast saini:

Sir kya mi december mi nda ke farm bhar sakta hu

78. 33
    Rajat Awasthi:

Can i fill the nda form 2012 which is gonna held on april 2012?

79. 32
    Yadav singh:

I have some problem..
    I have knock-knee and my arms are little diflected from elbow. Am i able for medical test in any upsc exam? Pls pls tell me its importent for my career .

80. 31
    ayush kumar singh:

nda me pass hone ke lie dono paper me kitne mark chahiae pleas yell me

81. 30
    deepak kumar:

how to prepare for ssb interview

82. 29
    vikash kumar gupta:

nda ka exam kab ha.nda exam ki birth limt kya ha kya 12maths bala is exam ko ba sakta ha

vikash

83. 28
    Chinmay Chaudhary:

how to prepare for the physical test of nda…

84. 27
    chirag choudhary:

kaya me NDA ka exam de skata hu. d.o.b- o1/07/1993 12th passed with PCM with total 79% h. tell me .

85. 26
    harshit:

nda ka exam kab ha.nda exam ki birth limt kya ha kya 12maths bala is exam ko ba sakta ha

86. 25
    md. salman:

My date of birth is 12 dec 1993 did iam eligable for nda

87. 24
    Ankit:

I am in class 11. Can i appear the upcoming NDA entrance exam?

88. 23
    JAGTAP SURAJ SUNIL:

I AM FROM MARATHI MEDIUM CAN I PASS THE NDA EXAM?

89. 22
    Imran chachi:

My d.o.b is 01.05.1993 did i am eligable for applying in cds written exam 2012

90. 21
    Ganesh Ramawat:

Plz send me information about date

91. 20
    ganesh prasad:

how to prepare for interview ?

92. 19
    AMAN SAINI:

NDA ME KYA KYA JOB HAI

93. 18
    challa.raju:

how to prepare interview

94. 17
    milan:

I’vgot 53.8% in 12 board cbse exam.,so i am eligible for NDA and my date of birth is 08/02/1993

95. 16
    Devendra Parmar:

I born in 13/9/1994
    kya mai NDA EXAM dene ke liye capeble hu ke nahi .me ab 11th class me hu or much ko kab exam kab deni hai .Pleas send the message.
    thank’s

96. 15
    dusyant attri:

how to prepare for ssb

97. 14
    babaljeet singh:

i filled nda and na 2 (2011) online and my reg. Id is 11111502470 .but my registration data is not coming on upsc’s official website

98. 13
    Sajjan Mehla:

what is the criteria for filling application for army on merit
    base numbers of 10+2

99. 12
    arunjyoti:

what kind of question ask in the ssb exam?

100. 11
    Abhinav:

Can i give the nda exam between 12th class and on which date nda exam will be held in december and where do i can get nda exame form

101. 10
    anmol singh:

Is physical education also necessary in class 11th and 12th for entrance exam of National Defense Academy?

102. 9
    sachin patel:

which institute is better for me with study of 11th and 12th?

103. 8
    Ashwani kumar:

please tell me that how should i prepare myself for GDPI and as well as traning also

104. 7
    vasudha:

wat are d physical strength requirements 4 entering defence?

105. 6
    shubham pusadkar:

is the cbse pattern helpful in nda examination?

106. 5
    VINIT:

I WANT TO KNOW THE TYPE OF QUESTIONS ASKED DURING THE SSB ,I NEED ALL INFORMATION DURING THE SSB

107. 4
    susheel sharma:

What is criteria and last date for filling up application for direct entry in Army without examination after 10+2 purely on merit basis.

108. 3
    AFSAR:

sir,i want to ask a queition that what is the date of UPSC NDA 2011 paper-1& 2. and also tell me about the books of prepriation to NDA 2011.

109. 2
    Abhimanyu:

just i cleared my11th and i appeared in 12th . from child-hood i have passion to become a fighter pilot. But no one is here to guide me correctly so please help me and say the way to get my dream……

110. 1
    arjun:

can one become an aerospace engineerafter the training in nda?